Keywords Studios - Avis

Trouvé 24 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 67 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A Sweatshop disguised as a Progressive Tech company
Certification Quality Assurance Tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC2 octobre 2019
Keywords Studios' goal is to acquire multiple service lines around the world, strip them from all benefits and essentially turn themselves into THE premiere Sweatshop of the video games industry.

I have worked in multiple departments within the company (FQA, Console Certification and Virtual Reality).I was mainly a Certification Tester throughout my employment, and I cannot stress how anti-worker the company is.

If you're familiar with Rockstar/Riot/Activision/etc in the news, expect the same expendable/harassing treatment from management throughout your employment.

Certification Testers are paid the ABSOLUTE minimum and not compensated extra for their extensive commitment to their department. As individuals who are verifying titles for end-user release for Microsoft/Nintendo/Sony/VR, we were constantly spoken down to and threatened for talking about workplace conditions.

Speaking of conditions, the Virtual Reality department is the biggest offender in my opinion. I am not sure if they have improved the lab, but when I was working there, we were squeezed closely together using VR headsets and constantly hitting each other with no solution in sight. Furthermore, the lab is literally unfurnished with concrete flooring, just desks and PCs with carpet only situated for management. I am pretty sure the CNESST would have a field day with the room.

Do what I did, get your experience and find a company that would actually appreciate you.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Keywords Studios
11 octobre 2019

Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

We are very sorry to hear that you felt expendable and talked down to in your time with us. We value our employees and encourage them to raise any issues so that they may dealt with accordingly.

Our business is built around our teams. Wiithout our teams there is no business to offer. We are proud to hear when our staff goes to work for clients and partners, even to the competition, should the right opportunity arise. This proves that our staff is progressing, regardless if their career growth occurs within Keywords or externally. Though our goal would be to find opportunities internally, we are proud to say that within the past year we had an organic growth of 50%, which included many opportunities for our existing staff.

We are happy to hear that you have seen improvements and we are committed to continue them, especially in regard to staff retention which is the core of our business. We wish you well with your next endeavors.

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I enjoyed working with them.
QA Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Burnaby, BC19 août 2019
Was a wonderful place to have to begin my career, since I was straight out of college it was a tremendous boost to my own personal growth. Downside is very low pay.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 12Signaler
Réponse officielle de Keywords Studios
23 août 2019

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time at Keywords. We wish you the best in your future endeavors!

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Only recommend for experience, don't stay here
Tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC9 août 2019
This place is great for getting experience and getting into the game industry, but there are way better opportunities and jobs out there that won't treat you like a number and actually value you. Get in, get some experience, get out.
Points positifs
It's a stepping stone.
Points négatifs
Hours, contracts, lack of trust, management, sad company culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 30NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Keywords Studios
29 août 2019

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy that your experience with Keywords Studios led you onto your desired career path in the games industry.

While new employees often begin to work on-call, we are pleased to say that an increasing number of projects are full-time, long term and we offer flexible scheduling according to employees requests.

Our Survey Focus Groups have been hard at work over the past months reviewing all Keywords employee feedback, updating and adding new initiatives for our employees to know that they are appreciated and heard. We are also proud to offer perks, such as quarterly studio-wide events, free fruits every day, and discounts with local businesses including gyms, gaming facilities and restaurants.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. We wish you the best on your career path.

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a good 3 years
Planning Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC8 août 2019
I started as a tester and moved up to the Planning Department. As a tester you're treated as entirely disposable and getting regular shifts is more about pure luck than skill, and getting in with the right people. As a Planning Specialist, I was horrendously overworked, and voiced this many times to completely uncaring higher ups, but despite burning out repeatedly and having a series of mental breakdowns, it took nearly a full 2 years for anything to change.
Points positifs
Benefits, insurance, wonderful team
Points négatifs
Pay, favoritism among leads, lack of respect, lack of concern regarding mental health
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 29Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do not apply here
Quality Assurance Tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC30 juillet 2019
I worked at Keywords for a few years as a certification and QA tester.

When you start you make bare minimum wage and are forced to pray for hours. I recall having a week where in total i was scheduled 6 hours, 3 hours each on 2 stress tests. The most frustrating thing was seeing people absent or not available and yet not getting scheduled for a shift. The worst thing is you never feel valuable because they are constantly hiring more people and if you have worked for a longer period of time you are expected to coach and mentor other testers because leadership cannot be bothered to do so.

This company confirms your attendance DAILY. as in you get an email every day for what time you are working. There is no consistency with the schedule you are given and you are forced to constantly adjust your sleeping patterns to whatever time they give you. The planning department is completely useless and will constantly schedule you for

1) weekend shifts (that you did not sign up for)
2) shifts at a time you TOLD THEM you could not work
3) shifts on a day that you organized to have off

You are then penalized for not showing up or you need to go talk to HR for a mistake that was not your fault but you are punished for regardless.

There is an extremely large amount of NEPOTISM here and very little opportunity for growth as a consequence. The only pro of this job is that the people you work with are usually very nice and easy to get along with being that most people have the same interests and hobbies.

You are not a person here but rather a number, your sole purpose is
  plus... to fill a seat and that is all you are viewed as. Miss 2 days in a month because you were ill or an emergency occurred and you will likely get a written warning. This company weighs late's the same as a full on absence. HR is utterly incompetent and only has the views of the company in mind with whatever interaction you have with them. They do not care if you have valid proof as they will just dismiss it as many of the reviews have already pointed out.

Do not make the same mistake that I did for 3 years. Testing video games is enjoyable for a bit but you have NO guarantee of getting work at all. They over hire and do not care about their employees, they do not care about the loyalty you show to them, the work you put out or your job security.
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 38Non 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Keywords Studios
26 août 2019

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

While starting positions can be on call, an increasing number of employees at Keywords Studios are on permanent and fixed term contracts.

It is true that a project contributor's absence one day may not always be filled. Training for a new project can take time and secured accounts are created by clients for individuals. Swapping someone out can take as long as a week to set up, so occasionally you may see an empty seat if someone calls in sick.

We are sorry if you experienced issues with Planning. Due to our rapid growth, Planning went through a difficult period. Processes have since been revamped to improve the strain that you mention. Employees are never penalized if they cannot take shifts outside of their offered availabilities, nor are they penalized for absences with relevant proof of reason.

Additional training is being offered to reduce strain, as well as promotions, particularly for more seniors and leads.

We are glad that you did enjoy testing video games and we do take your feedback seriously. We are continuously working on offering an increase in channels in which our employees are encouraged to share feedback, and provide suggestions to improve our work environment.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hope you don't have to work here
Player support (Ancien employé) –  Poland23 juillet 2019
NOT RECOMMEND
The management is bad with no possibility of promotion
Efficiency of communication is rather low
They would fire people all of a sudden
No job security and no promised benefits
Hope no followers would come to work here
You will be regretful like me
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unreasonable company
FQA Tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC26 juin 2019
Even though it says on the contract that they will let you know 1 week in advance if they're terminating you, they won't. No warnings no nothing. Was absent for a couple days because I was sick and just got fired from HR with no warning. Reached out to provide doctor's notes as well as even told them to call the doctor to prove I was going in and out of his clinic hence could not come to work. HR said decision was final and irrevocable. Will not even try to listen to you. I can handle the undetermined hours of work, having to wait until dinnertime to know I'll be working the next day as well as the minimum salary but seriously? No respect for the employees. Probably has no regard for their employees because they have so many of them to the point people who worked there longer has problem securing hours. They're still hiring though which fascinates me. The "benefits" are not that great too, offering bixi and stm discounts when you can get them from their respective websites, Telus employee discount which only works on certain plans, no healthcare insurance unless you want to talk to a social worker about how hard your life is then you'll have that benefit.
Points positifs
Free fruits maximum of 2 per day lmao, playing games
Points négatifs
Undetermined hours, can't make plans because they'll only let you know you'll be working the next day at 5 to 7 pm, goodluck reaching out to the management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hopefully you don’t have to work here.
Tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC21 mai 2019
Not a good place to work. Inconsistent hours, no guarantee of work. Minimum wage.. the other reviews have covered it. I did however appreciate the fruit provided (really, it makes a difference saving 30 cents a day when you are being paid so poorly)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 45Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This is not a real job!
FQA tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC18 mai 2019
There's a lot I could say about this job but let's keep it brief. Its a contract job which they try to sell you as a positive. "You get to be flexible with your hours and choose when you work!" Except that this isn't true at all. It's just an attempt to sell precarity as some sort of positive, and you don't really get any rights as a worker. Here's what you should know:

-you have no permanent hours. I went several weeks at a time without shifts and worked other jobs to make up for it.
-you're on call every day that you've put as available and they only let you know at 6pm the night before if you're working or not.
-they pay minimum wage so if you lose a few shifts and have no backup income source you're pretty stuck,
-there's basically zero room to move up and even the highest paid position you can reach after several years doesn't pay a living wage. They gave a bunch of people a 25 cent raise the week before the minimum wage was increased so even if you work hard its not like it makes a difference.

I will say that they at least pay for the training which I appreciated. I've been told by other employees that HR essentially sides with corporate at all times and will drop you at the sign of any contention. This is probably why they have a strict "no politics" rule during work and break time. Again they try to sell all of this as fun and competitive (look we have a video game area where you can wait for 3 hours and see if you have a shift or not today!)

Avoid this job if you can and don't get caught sitting 2 weeks behind on your bills wondering if you're going to
  plus... get a shift or not!  moins
Points positifs
work itself can be fun depending on the project
Points négatifs
bad wage, no confirmed scheduling, no career advancement, toxic management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 51Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A company that cares about its public image more than its employees
FQA Tester (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC22 avril 2019
This company has potential to be decent, but toxic management and corporate brainwashing has actively kept wages and employee morale low.

As a "freelance" worker, you're subjected to strict attendance and workplace policies that are made to keep your mouth shut about the company.

Management scans your public Facebook/Twitter/Instagram accounts and reprimands you for any negative comments about the company. More so, they have implemented a "whistle-blowing" policy to actively sweep responsibility under the table and to keep their public image clean.

HR will always side with management, no matter what kind abuse of power or conduct. HR actively discourages testers to pursue claims, and in some cases, punish you for being "unprofessional" if you show emotion. As far as I know, its another "leak" for them to plug.

As of now, the company is very well aware of its issues (due to a mass survey sent out) but are still hesitant to provide any noticeable action or changes to fix them due to the manpower and money needed to do so.

It's an absolute shame, this company has the potential to provide a proper career path, but constant jealously and greed from management and corporate are making sure that employees are rotated often, keeping responsibility at a bare minimum, and just plain incompetence are holding it back.
Points positifs
Depends on the project, can range from fun to redundant
Points négatifs
Scheduling, wages, management, questionable policies
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 48Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Textbook example of why the Video Game Industry needs Unionization
FQA Tester (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC5 avril 2019
If you can accept a care-free gig knowing that you will not advance further within the company, by all means apply here and just do the minimum required to stay afloat.

Management is pretty atrocious and the company highly favors "yes men" due to unreasonable crunch times and awkward scheduling. HR is not your friend here when it comes to harassment and misconduct from management.

The workplace culture is like every other entry level tech job. You're expected to treat your position as "more than just a job" and willing to be overworked and underpaid.

The hardest part of the job is working around the constant incompetency of management. The lack of communication and transparency is a trademark sign of freelance contractor companies.

On the flip side, if you accept your position as a freelance worker, you can leverage it to decline awkward schedules and overtime without repercussions.
Points positifs
Very easy job, easy to stay afloat
Points négatifs
Low wages, incompetent management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 36Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Im happy here
Player Support (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC23 février 2019
Keywords Studios is an overall good place to work. However, a lot of people end up leaving due to the salary, which is alot lower than the competition.
You also never hear positive feedback from your managers, or direct supervisors, so you just have to know you did a good job that day if you don't receive any negative feedback, I guess.
The work environment is fun and you get to meet people from all over the world and the projects are fun as well, but honestly, they should pay their long term employees alot more than they currently are. After 6 months, I got a 25 cent raise per hour. It's a joke.
Points positifs
Fun environment, get to meet people from all over, job security
Points négatifs
Low salary, feel like a number instead of a human, no positive feedback
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 13Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don't waste your time.
Compatibility Tester (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC25 janvier 2019
Management tries to pass this place off as a super-positive place to work, claiming that they're the best so on and so forth, when really they treat it like a revolving door; paying employees as little as possible, hiring new people when the experienced ones get fed up and leave for somewhere else that actually treats them like a human being.

0/10.
Points positifs
Some people are cool.
Points négatifs
Inconsistent scheduling, low wages, toxic environment for women
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 38Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Toxic Management and Cheap Labour, No Career Advancement
FQA Tester / QA Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC11 décembre 2018
This company is a people mill. It functions as long as new employees are constantly being hired and older ones are being forced out. Hours are tough, either beginning at 7am or running until 11:30pm. Quite a large culture of "gamer guys" who make it difficult for female presenting employees to be taken seriously.
If you are looking for an easy going summer job, it's not a bad place. It's air-conditioned and has a comfortable staff room with great views of the city. If you're looking for anything serious, keep looking. You will be asked to do way more work than they pay you for. You will be asked to do constant overtime. It's an on-call kind of place, so at any time they will just stop scheduling you. If you're lucky, you'll get a t-shirt out of it.
Points positifs
Free training, info on developing games, large nerd culture
Points négatifs
Overworks employees, huge gender disparity, minimum wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 54Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you have any self-respect, work somewhere else
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC29 novembre 2018
Working Customer Service at Keywords Studios is essentially slave labour. The pay is low, and would be lower if they could get away with it and the work is grueling and repetitive and soul-crushing.

Of my many jobs worked, I have never seen more inept management. Training is just an info dump, most of which becomes obsolete a week into the job and guidance is not offered to employees. Contract workers are fired in large groups in order to not be kept long enough to be eligible for benefits.

But hey, if you like working for poorly trained managers and alongside essentially the dredges of society (because they hire literally anyone. They need gristle for the mill) and ocasionally get some free rotten fruit, be my guest.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Long hours, every action constantly tracked, slave company culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 49NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Keywords keeps hiring but offers little to no hours to current employees.
FQA (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC20 novembre 2018
this is a minimum wage, on-call job. You may get lucky and get out on a project right away and have job security for at least a few months, or you could be stuck with replacements shifts (going in waiting 3 hours and if you don’t get picked for any projects you go home), or no shifts at all. The shorty part is that the company keeps hiring all these new testers yet they don’t have enough hours for the testers they already have. The structure of the company needs a complete overhaul. The work, however is super fun and most other testers are very friendly. There’s is possibility of moving up and getting « guaranteed hours » contract, but most people have to work there for a while before it happens. The vision of the company is great, though poorly executed.
Points positifs
Fun work, friendly staff
Points négatifs
Minimum wage, no guaranteed hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Summary
Quality Assurance (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC1 novembre 2018
This job is VERY VERY boring, You don't learn much if anything. Management is alright and could be better. Salary is horrible and there are zero benefits which is probably the main reason why everyone quits.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Look for work elsewhere
LQA/FQA Tester (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC26 mai 2018
I only had bad experiences with Keywords. I was an LQA and FQA tester for a couple of months there but I didn't get to work a lot. You are on call, meaning you have no guaranteed work and often you won't get any work in weeks. Then they have a project for you and you have to work multiple shifts at once because the organization is absolutely terrible. The management is the worst I've ever had to deal with. There's a 50% chance that when you come to work they will tell you that your shift or the project has been canceled so you will wait for 3 hours in the cafeteria (you get paid the laughable $13 an hour) and then you are told to go home. I did not do this for the money. I wanted to have fun with games because I really love gaming and video games but I have to say that because this company has no structure whatsoever and because everything is super chaotic I mostly just sat in front of my PC doing nothing because something got canceled or a build was overwritten or some other bs.
You will not enjoy working for them. I had more fun working as a construction worker and waiter than here.

Most of the testers and the people working on the projects are awesome people tho and if you go up the ladder it might be better.
Points positifs
Other testers are great people
Points négatifs
Management, Salary, Organization issues
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 62Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Just avoid
Testeur (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC24 mai 2018
To avoid giving raises and promotions, they put existing, well-trained on-call and hire new, untrained employees. When they puts you on-call, they give you little to no notice (usually a day or two), meaning that you have no time to find work. As such, most employees (even the best workers) are constantly worried that they'll be unemployed by next week. Workers are often pressured to work overtime for long stretches of time. There is almost no opportunity for advancement. The team leaders are wonderful and good at their jobs, but the company structure is toxic and exploitative.
Points positifs
Testers are cool
Points négatifs
Shameless favoritism, low salary, employee turnover and 0 level staff retention
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 53Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A great place to make friends
Quality Assurance Specialist (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC10 mars 2018
One of the largest establishment in the game testing industry.
If you love video games, this is your second home.

The minimum wage though will remain consistent on your payslips for a very long period of time.
Points positifs
Culture
Points négatifs
Salary
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Keywords Studios. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,6
D'après 67 avis
57
414
312
211
123

Notes par catégorie

2,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,4Direction
2,9Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu