Imperial Oil - Avis

Trouvé 254 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 263 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tense Work environment
Maintenance Planning Requisition Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 octobre 2019
Great place to work with lots of opportunity for growth and movement in the organization. I had a racist co worker who mocked my accent and laughed with others about where I was from and nothing was done about it by management. Basically you are on your own where these things are concerned.
Points positifs
free lodges at camp sites
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great company with high levels of integrity
Instrumentation Electrical and Controls Technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB27 septembre 2019
Great business and operating systems. Very safety oriented. Good team atmosphere great benefits and pension. Very supportive of advancing the employees to higher lever you feel like you are actually part of the business
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hi stress with little chance of advancement.
Assistant to Right of Way Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON24 septembre 2019
I have been working for Imperial Oil for 3 years on contract. Little chance of being hired full time. Work is interesting and the people are fantastic.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent place to learn
Process Engineer (Ancien employé) –  Sarnia, ON18 septembre 2019
Imperial is part of the ExxonMobil family, and can access world-class resources and provide opportunities for foreign assignments as well as across Canada. This can be stimulating, but at the same time immerses you in bureaucracy.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Work Schedule for a fly in/out position
Remote Site Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Fort Mackay, AB17 septembre 2019
They mainly hire on contract. Incredible on site safety standards and culture. Very team and family oriented. Great work incentives. An overall great place to work. I would definitely go back.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Imperial Oil
Training Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB14 septembre 2019
Great pay and benefits.
Otherwise, Leadership who do not understand their specific business, manage by intimidation and under-resource their Teams. Zero work life balance (I worked well over 100 weekends/stat holidays - many of which were 12-13 hour days in Northern Alberta - in less than 5 years). My Career was undermined by a coworker (likely because yearly appraisals by design pit co-workers against each other) and I was physically threatened by a Contractor. No action taken in either case despite my reporting. Good times!
Definitely a Toxic work environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stressful place to work
Well site supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Cold Lake, AB21 août 2019
As a contractor you job is constantly in jeopardy and there is no job security! The work force is strangled by paperwork. Just a terrible place to work
Points positifs
Home every day
Points négatifs
No job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Maintenance Planner (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB14 août 2019
I feel lucky to have the role that I do. I feel appreciated and supported by direct supervision. Opportunities to improve are not only heard but directly supported and fully encouraged at all levels of management that I have engaged.

Programs are available to support your educational / professional growth and highly encouraged. More then reasonable holiday / personal days are provided to ensure a positive work / home life balance.

The thing that stands out the most is the people, The environment created by the company overall has attracted some of the brightest, positive and hard working people I have ever worked with. As such I find even the most challenging situations or circumstances manageable knowing that my co-workers / managers are eager to help when its needed.

There will always be a few people who detract from the overall but they seem to be few and far between.
Points positifs
Educational growth support, positive work / personal balance, great co-workers
Points négatifs
Being a large business change can be slow
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Easy going place to work
System Support Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB18 juillet 2019
But too much politics, management need to grow up from childish behaviour. Issues not discussed openly. Contractors are considered second class citizens.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible company to work for.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Strathcona Industrial Park, AB18 juillet 2019
You’ll only advance if you’re a “yes” man. This company favours those who know someone and there is a lot of inbreeding. Everyone at this company has dated or had an affair with someone else who works at the company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellen work enviroment.
Architectural Technologist (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB1 juillet 2019
Excellent professional team and well balanced job culture with many opportunities to advance in different projects. Your contribution to the project is well recognized and you received support to achieve all project's goals.
Points positifs
Excellent Team build events.
Points négatifs
Long hours but fairly paid.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
self serving management
well versed in all aspects of oil and gas (Ancien employé) –  Whitecourt, AB24 mai 2019
dont get paid until u reach the first well in the field?? yet they want you to stop and grab supplies on your own time, sending you to wells with bottom home LSD's then get mad when u cant find them?? expect more for less, try to explain that this isnt working and they need to try a different way, their answer, your fired?? hiding incompetence, unfriendly office staff, trepidation is the norm, they want you to run your equipment into the ground without compensation,..xto whitecourt, DONT work there its a joke
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
bad environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unethical
Project Manager - Development (Ancien employé) –  Nanticoke, ON15 mai 2019
If you believe that people are honest and good by nature, then this is not the company for you. Based on personal experience this company has a large number of unethical, unqualified, and incompetent managers. On one occasion a manager proudly proclaimed to me and a co-worker “I use the fact I’m a woman and a visual minority to my advantage every day.” She also demonstrated this through her behaviour.

When assessing employees’ performance, Imperial Oil uses a ‘ranking’ system (rank 1 to 5 with 1 being good, and 5 being poor) where people are compared to a group of people within the company. Based on this model someone has to be ranked first and someone last. It’s like the olympics. The time difference between first and last place can be milliseconds, yet someone must be last even though everyone has done their job successfully. It’s a secret who you are ranked against so there is little or no recourse to dispute a poor ranking. If you receive a poor ranking (4 or 5) for two years in a row you are put on the ‘performance improvement plan’. The performance improvement plan is a formality used by the company to claim it had identified issues and gave people the opportunity to improve, but they inevitably let these people go.
If everyone is doing their job then how and why can someone be ranked low? A manager who quit the company confided in me that “the ranking system is nothing more than a popularity contest” and that he was disgusted with it and disturbed by what he witnessed. Based on personal observation, young people with lots of energy who eagerly participate in
  plus... running the United Way Campaign and are involved in volunteering outside of work are more likely to receive good rankings. It’s like Facebook has invaded HR. Your personal life is examined by the company. On one occasion a co-worker was let go and their manager said to me that that person had rented a basement apartment from an old lady in a small town not far from work, thus demonstrating a lack of commitment to the company. I was stunned to hear such an unethical and unprofessional comment from a manager.  moins
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
lots
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and safe place to work
Field operator (Employé actuel) –  Norman Wells, NT29 avril 2019
Very nice people to work with and who make the work place stress free and as safe as possible. equipment is aged but reliable to work with. The area is very unique and unto itself.
Points positifs
safe and friendly work environment
Points négatifs
long shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Safe secure and rewarding and challenging place to work.
Plant Operator (Employé actuel) –  Cold Lake, AB7 avril 2019
Imperial oil takes a slow thinking, long view to employees and develops them for a long term career. The training is extensive and and in depth in all facets of change management and work management. State of the art sentient Permit to work and Isolation Certification, and Temporary defeat escalation systems are used online.
Points positifs
Integrated and extensive worldwide support.
Points négatifs
Hard to influence change at times.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Quite nice!
Engineering Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  Cold Lake, WA4 avril 2019
Cold Lake is a nice place. Field experience was good. Again, lots of hands-on experience, as well as professional office work experience! Driving and following safety protocols was a big part of the job and learning experience!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable place to work, amazing peaple
Contract Terminal Operator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB20 mars 2019
Although a contractor, I was treated like an employee by most.
I was continuously challenged to be the best version of me as I could.
IOL allowed me to receive all the same training as full time employees.
I felt a sense of family within my group, where if we had differing opinions, all had equal say in all matters.
Yes, having free lunches from time to time were fantastic, but I think the people I met during many of those meetings are what I enjoyed more.
Typical day involved interaction with fuel truck drivers, sampling fuel products, safety meetings, daily inspections, security inspection, and some maintenance. A job I hope to have again.
Some down side to this is the turnover in management, each has their own spin and different expectations on how things should be done.
Points positifs
Safety culture.
Points négatifs
Management turnover
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good knowledgeable people with a great safety culture
HSE Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Cynthia AB8 mars 2019
Typical day always starts with a safety meeting and briefing. All workers are made aware of what tasks the various trades will be doing, their locations and the hazards involved. Every day presented a challenge and a learning lesson. Management ensured that communication was paramount for safety reasons. All workers participated in safety meeting sharing their issues and resolutions. Most difficult part of the day was navigating the extensive oil fields and locating the workers who would be at multiple sites. The people themselves were from different walks of life and were always interesting in their approach to the work while striving to achieve the same results.
Points positifs
Excellent safety culture
Points négatifs
Hazards in the work area every day
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great
Gas Plant Operator/ Heavy Oil Operator (Ancien employé) –  Cold Lake, AB3 mars 2019
Worked for( Esso Resources) Imperial Oil from 1979 to 1996. Great to work for, unable to get employment with them now.
Need to improve interview process.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great learning experience
Reliability Engineer (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB24 février 2019
In my co-op term at Imperial as the reliability engineer, I learned a lot from my mentor and gained experience working with an interdisciplinary team or highly professional and experienced engineers. Management is very friendly, and senior engineers are always there to help mentor the young.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Imperial Oil. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,1
D'après 263 avis
5114
490
338
213
18

Notes par catégorie

3,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,7Direction
3,8Culture d'entreprise