Logo Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals
La note de bien-être au travail s'élève à 69 sur 100
3,3 étoile(s) sur 5.
Envoyer un avis

Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals - Avis

Evaluer cette entreprise
Titre du poste
Tous
Lieu
Canada56 avis

Notes par catégorie

3,6Équilibre vie privée/professionnelle

Trier par

PertinenceNoteDate
56 avis correspondant à votre recherche.Voir les 59 avis

Great place to work with room from growth

Avis en vedette

L'avis le plus utile, sélectionné par Indeed
HMER is a great place to work and learn new things along the way. Great staff and managers.Great pay and benefits.Top of the line equipment and facilities.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

2 avril 2024
We appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We continually strive to provide an environment where people come to work because they want to, not just because they have to. We are thrilled to hear that you had learning opportunities, room for growth, appreciation for your pay, benefits, equipment, and facilities, as well as the great teams you worked with. Should your circumstances change, we would be happy to have you on the team once again. All the best to you!

I've never worked for a company that treated there employees with no respect

What is the best part of working at the company?All there equipment is junk and unsafe What is the most stressful part about working at the company?Trying to get proper PPE . Safety means nothing What is the work environment and culture like at the company?Everybody there will back the bus over youWhat is a typical day like for you at the company?Very unorganized and no communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Highly recommend to work here

Depending on the field your are in you will always find a some one that supports you. From labour to technicain so you never feel left out. Really welcoming bunch of guys and top management team.

Points positifs

Good pay, fast growth

Points négatifs

No camp/not the best accommodation for FIFO
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Very stressful from day one and every moment of every day you wonder if you will have a job tomorrow

What is the best part of working at the company?The pay is the highest, will give you all the training needed to get working with them.What is the most stressful part about working at the company?They treat you well in the beginning, but their safety program goes to the extreme when they do their investigation and find fault they punish hard and even fire people who could have been trained or mentored better. Their biggest problem is they grew too fast and they can’t hire enough support staff to help the Supervisiors do their job properly.What is the work environment and culture like at the company?They don’t support their people and if you screw up they look to fire you so it is very high stress.What is a typical day like for you at the company?A typical day is same as anywhere, morning meeting, get the job or tasked handed out and then make sure you do all you paperwork or trouble comes calling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

2 avril 2024
Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that this position was not the right fit for you. We are hopeful you will find somewhere more suitable to you, where you can fully utilize your skills and abilities and enjoy your position. A supervisory position in the Oil Sands is very demanding, with high volume and many moving parts. It takes a very dynamic individual to be successful in this environment; unfortunately, it is not a fit everyone. Safety is of the utmost importance and not something we take lightly. Working in this industry has team members facing numerous hazards on any given day and it is our responsibility to ensure the safety of all. While we are looking for individuals who are safety-minded and lead a positive culture, we also strive to provide working environments where people can grow and develop both personally and professionally. Therefore, utilizing our safety program for learning opportunities and future prevention. The success of the program is dependent on the participants’ ability to be receptive to feedback and coaching.As an organization we are continually evaluating our environments and programs, looking for ways we can improve our services to our internal and external customers. Again, we appreciate the feedback you have provided and will refer to it strengthen our relationships going forward.

Safety, loyalty and respect.

What is the best part of working at the company?The opportunity to grow within a new thriving company.What is the most stressful part about working at the company?Nothing is overly stressful if the job is planned out.What is the work environment and culture like at the company?Very diverse. Safety is the culture.What is a typical day like for you at the company?Plan my work, work my plan. Alot of interaction with the workers and supervision to maintain a safe working environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

2 avril 2024
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with Heavy Metal; we appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear that Heavy Metal is the place for you! It sounds as though you fit in well with your team, your responsibilities and share the same values of the organization. We are proud to have you as part of the team!

Informations sur Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

Sur la base de 44 réponses au sondage

Points forts

  • Flexibilité des horaires et du lieu
  • Absence de stress
  • Rémunération juste par rapport au travail effectué

Points à améliorer

  • Soutien du responsable
  • Confiance vis-à-vis des collègues
  • Sentiment d'appartenance

Great place to work

HME is a great place to work and grow your career. Really promotes and provides a family culture. Great pay, benefits. Has a strong safety culture which starts at the top
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

23 janvier 2024
We are so thankful to receive your feedback. We work very hard to provide an environment where everyone belongs with a primary focus on safety. We appreciate the team’s attitudes and contributions to help on us our journey to achieve these goals.

Great Growing Organization

The company is growing and has a lot of opportunities not only for employment but for advancement as well. The wages are in line with other companies in the region. It is good team environment where people look out for one another.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

23 janvier 2024
People are our most valuable asset, and it is important to have a great culture where we can grow our teams from within. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Should circumstances change, we hope that you would join us once again.

Good

Good place to work for good people and management good pay long drive but nothing to serious just wish there was some king of pension in place that would be awsome
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

23 janvier 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that you are enjoying what Heavy Metal has to offer. It is essential for us to know and understand what is important to our team members as we look for opportunities to provide additional supports and resources. Your comment is valuable and will be forwarded to our executive for future consideration.

Don't Do It!!

If you are applying for a job in the oil sands and you're making the company money or are an executive, they pay well. If you're admin, especially anywhere outside of the oil sands, the pay is terrible and inconsistent. Bullying and harassment is common place company wide and is accepted by HR and the higher ups. They are well aware of it and nothing is done about it. If you speak up, you'll be fired. HR can't seem to keep people which says a lot about the company. So if you're asking yourself why they are always hiring, it's because they are a terrible company to work for. Employees stay when a company treats them well.

Points positifs

None

Points négatifs

Poor management, accepted culture of bullying & harassment, poor work life balance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

23 janvier 2024
Thank you for your response and feedback. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time with us; sometimes we are not the right fit for people. We work hard to add members to our teams that not only have the skill set and technical abilities, but for those who also will thrive and succeed in our demanding environment. We do take workplace harassment and bullying very seriously and investigate any occurrence thoroughly to determine the appropriate response and course of action.2023 is a very exciting year for Heavy Metal and our teams as we celebrate 54 individuals receiving long service awards, for 5, 10, 15 and 20 years of service!

Great place to start or advance your career

This is really a small business atmosphere. Heavy Metal will go out of their way to accommodate you. Work on the biggest equipment and learn from the best mechanics. In the field or in the shop, this is where you wanna be.

Points positifs

RRSP Medical and dental great hours with overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
Heavy Metal takes pride in our family environment, where each person is an integral part of our team. We are glad to know this is something you appreciated while you were with us.Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment

Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.

A great place to learn and grow

Started with HMER as an apprentice. I had a lot of good guidance and experience on my side. I grew from an apprentice with some experience to a confident journeyman. Excellent crew to work with, I really could not have asked for any better. Ultimately I left because of the instability at the mine in Labrador where they have a contract, they did offer us work in Alberta with company housing rather than taking a lay-off but after I completed my apprenticeship it made it hard to justify flying to Alberta and back on my own dime. No fault of the company but it was frustrating nonetheless. When I put in my notice my supervisor made me feel like I was appreciated, the maintenance manager - who I never spoke to before (based in AB), called me and wanted to know why I wanted to leave and if there was anything they could do to make me stay. The only real complaint I have is that HR/payroll was understaffed while I worked there so if you had any inquiries it would take a while to get a response - although they were helpful when they did get back. If the situation was right I wouldn't hesitate to work for this company again, I felt appreciated, work was challenging but rewarding and the pay/benefits were on par or better than most places.

Points positifs

Pay, work culture

Points négatifs

Instability at the mine in Labrador
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
It is very exciting that you had the opportunity to learn and grow with us into a Journeyman Heavy Equipment Technician, and you got to do so with a great team. Congratulations on all your hard work! While it is unfortunate for us, we can appreciate your frustration with the frequent changes within the mine site. We are currently working to provide the necessary resources to meet everyone’s needs. Thank you for your feedback. Wishing you the best!

Lots of variety of work.

Solid work environment, lots of work to do you stay busy throughout the day 12 hour shifts do not tend to drag. Pay is fantastic, lots of variety in terms of what you can work on. you get shuttled to and from the work site to some pretty decent accommodations. Take the negative reviews with a grain of salt honestly. Co workers are all friendly and willing to help when ya need it. Give it a shot, glad I did.

Points positifs

Pay, variety of work, co workers, supervisors, work/life balance.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
We are glad you joined our team too! It is important to Heavy Metal to provide an environment with meaningful work that allows you the opportunity to take pride in what you do. Thank you for all efforts. We look forward to many more years together.

Poor senior management

Worked in fort mcmurray shop. The manager there is extremely condescending and rude. No people skills and all colleagues agree. Most leave for that reason. I sure did

Points positifs

Company name

Points négatifs

Manager
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.We encourage you to reach out to our HR Department to discuss any concerns you may have. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience. It is always our goal to provide a positive work environment; your feedback is important to us.

Great guys, poor management

The guys on the ground and most supervisors are fantastic, upper management is another story. Constant chaos with parts, equipment, general flow of work. If you can look past that, it is not a bad place.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your teams. Heavy Metal is continually working to streamline our processes, create efficiencies and improve the flow of work. If there is something specific you feel we should address that we have not already, we invite you to connect with Human Resources. We value your feedback and look forward to opportunities where we can improve.

Great Team Environment

I work in planning and love coming to work! We work collaboratively and are always looking at ways to improve as a department. Our days are a little longer than the average (10 hours a day) but we are compensated for that. And don’t forget about fun! We all get along quite well. It’s sure nice when you don’t dread coming to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
We are so happy to hear you love what you do! It is Heavy Metal’s goal to provide a positive environment that provides opportunity to be on the team because you want to, not because you have to. Keep up the great teamwork.

Good place to work

A good place to work. Paid on time. Never have to worry about that. Always a lot of work going on. Easy to keep yourself busy. Safety is more of a key factor.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
We are happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. Safety is our number one priority; we never want to hurt anyone and want to ensure that everyone makes it home safely.Thank you for contributions to Heavy Metal!

Great place for the right people

I am a long tenured employee with this company, don't let the reviews fool you. The negatively leaning reviews are from disgruntled former employees who didn't work out for many reasons, either they didn't have the work ethic HMER is looking for, were not team players or didn't agree with the way HMER does things. There are alot of great things about this company, you won't find very many places where the ownership is involved at such a high capacity with the day to day, are very engaging and friendly with all their employees. If you aren't scared to put in a hard honest days work, and work with a great bunch of people between all our locations from the oil sands, Camrose/Edmonton area, our labrador location to our operations in Nevada,USA. Come play and see for your self and don't take the word from people that didn't work out.( as most of them didn't work out at their previous employers also)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
Thank you for your contributions and dedication to Heavy Metal! We truly appreciate the opportunity to be your employer of choice and that you have been with us for the long term. We look forward to many more years together!

Good pay and burn out culture

Very unsupportive management a make due with what you have mindset. Every position is lacking the tools for success. No training and excel based no software to support a very busy company. Very people based and unstructured. Everyone is making due and rapidly burning out. Lack of structure makes for an overworked culture. Safety is enforced by firing anyone that is involved in an incident. Good place to learn the basics and enter the oil sands. Housing is provided in Fort McMurray but continually moving mid shift. Decent pay and some positions get travel allowances.

Points positifs

Decent pay and travel allowances

Points négatifs

Overworked culture and lack of experienced people
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
It is Heavy Metal’s goal to be a service provider and employer of choice, providing high standards of quality and service to our members and clients. It is no mistake that we have been able to successfully grow our business into what it is today. We continue to improve on the processes and resources that are in place. This is also a testament to the number of support roles we have added to our organization. Some of the systematic additions do take a little longer; Heavy Metal is committed to providing the proper resources but taking the time necessary to do it properly.We are, however, not willing to compromise safety. We have a healthy safety program with clearly defined expectations and limitations. We encourage feedback, and remain solution and prevention focused with the support and participation from all our team members.It is unfortunate that you did not feel supported in your role while you were here with us. We appreciate your feedback and will use the information you provided to improve our levels of support going forward.

terrible management

promise you what you want to hear but never do they keep that promise hence very high turnover rate there other workers are great but again management is terrible forget if you have an incident may as well just quit because they will fire you anyways
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
We are sorry to hear your time with us was not enjoyable for you. We would like to learn more about your experiences and encourage you to connect with Human Resources.It is true that safety is a top priority within our organization. But that doesn’t mean that incidents translate to terminations. It is important that we respect our team member’s privacy, which also means we cannot share specific details regarding a person’s performance with you. Sometimes, inaccurate conclusions are drawn in the absence of receiving all information. Regardless, we award these same courtesies to all our team members because it is more important for us to protect a person’s dignity and respect their privacy.

Best work life balance top notch wages

Great culture great wages good people the best shift around the 7x7. With constant work lined up heavy metal will offer employment for years to come. They know how to treat the employees with the best Xmas parties and golf tournaments around. Your not a number here

Points positifs

The shift and wage

Points négatifs

The long drive to and from
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
It is exciting to know you love where you work! Our teams are the ones that make us great. Thank you for all you do.

Safe, Clean & Fun place to work

Loving overhauls. Machine comes in run down, beat up and rusty. We tear it down repair/replace/repaint and turn it into a brand new machine that looks like it’s fresh from CAT. The pay and schedule is excellent for living in the city. Our crew has fun and our supervisor gets us what we need to keep rolling.

Points positifs

Nice shop, great pay & days off

Points négatifs

Supply chain issues
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?

Réponse officielle de Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals

1 août 2023
What more can we say?!? This environment is a testament to the great team you are a part of. We can see the pride you take in the work you do. Workplaces like this make the job so much easier. Here’s a huge shout out to loving what you do!

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.Poser une question

Note globale

D'après 59 avis

Notes par catégorie

3,6 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
3,7 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Salaire/avantages sociaux
3,0 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Sécurité de l'emploi/évolution de carrière
2,9 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Direction
3,3 étoile(s) sur 5 pour Culture d'entreprise

Comparer Heavy Metal Equipment & Rentals à