Halifax Public Libraries - Avis

Voir les 10 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of room for improvement job is more difficult than it looks
Library Assistant 6 (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS28 mai 2019
Some branches are very stressful to work at as most are short staffed and currently many unsettling changes taking place. Management isn’t transparent in their goals and administration have no interest in the type of daily situations staff are exposed. Cuts are taking place and the general public isn’t aware of this as when someone retires their job is remaining vacant. Front line deals with violence verbal abuse and threats of violence but management refuses to take it seriously and staff is encouraged to not call police as the face shown to the public should not be marred under any circumstance.
Points positifs
Money benefits
Points négatifs
Management refusal to take threats seriously.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Volunteer Work
The World on The Street Event (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS26 avril 2019
Typical task: give proper information to people about the event.
Management: Unfortunately, it was very poorly managed. Some of the volunteers did not have any task to do because they were hired after the registration was already closed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Youth Volunteer Perspective
Teen Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Dartmouth, NS31 mars 2019
Active community, with challenging yet fun activity preparations and hosting, Friendly and helpful staff who are always willing to lend an ear or help out.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Halifax Public Libraries Review
LIBRARY ASSISTANT (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS27 août 2018
I love working for Halifax Public Libraries. I work in circulation and children services. My day starts with working in children services by preparing and participating in the program for that morning. I work along side my colleague to ensure the program runs smoothly. In the afternoons I am in circulation. There I work on the desk helping patrons with any inquiries they may have, processing their accounts and checking materials in and out. Out back I process requests, holds and any other tasks asked of me. I love my job because I enjoy the work, the community and my colleagues. I find my job fulfilling and love being in the library environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place
Library Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS1 janvier 2017
Great place with a lot of support systems in place. Welcoming staff and positive environment. It is a joy to work there and a calm outside of my regular routine.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
None
Book mobile driver /Librarian Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Bedford, NS20 octobre 2016
I love the working at the library but not enough hours. The job requires great working skills to work with people of all nations and background I have to be able to deal with many different issues daily and able to come up with solutions on the spot to correct things.
Points positifs
Great people to work with
Points négatifs
Not enough hrs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent starter job
Library Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Cole Harbour, NS17 mai 2016
Seasonal position to register children for summer reading program. Nice learning environment. Slow paced. Enjoyable environment. Typical day included returning movies back to their proper location and helping make crafts for summer programs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed my years at the library. Good experience.
Technical Assistant 4 (Ancien employé) –  Dartmouth, NS13 septembre 2014
Usually had a very busy work day. Great co-workers, some whom I still see even though I'm retired from that job. The best part of the job besides the people, was seeing the new library materials come in on a daily basis. I was the first person to handle them! Hardest part was during our down time, when work would be slow. l like to keep busy. Being idle is hard for me. I like to be active.
Points positifs
Flexible working hours.
Points négatifs
Salaries are so-so unless your management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing, if not the best, place for youth to volunteer!
Teen Volunteer (Employé actuel) –  Dartmouth, NS24 août 2014
I've been volunteering here since January (a little over seven months), as a Leading Reader volunteer which I plan to continue being as long as possible and also as a general Teen Volunteer. This has been my first volunteer experience, so, needless to say, I was a little nervous at fist, especially since I was going to be constantly working with children.

However, my anxiety proved to be completely unfounded from the first session. Before we even started, my group of volunteers attended an orientation session which was very helpful to us and gave us the tools to succeed at what we were doing. We work with reluctant readers, making books fun through one-on-one reading, games, and other activities. The hardest part of the job would undoubtedly be occasionally having to work with difficult children, but this really isn't as big a problem as you might think. Most of the kids we've all worked with have been great. The most enjoyable part of the job is easily the pure joy you feel getting a child excited about reading, when he brings in his favourite book to share with you and won't let you read because he wants to!

Our supervisor is lovely, cheerful, and is always there to help us. Indeed, as volunteers, we're treated very well and you can truly feel the gratitude HPL has for its volunteers. They host the occasional Volunteer Appreciation party for us with pizza and a movie (doesn't sound like much, but believe me, it's the best), will write killer reference letters, are understanding when you can't make it and genuinely care about you. My "co-workers", my fellow volunteers,
  plus... are great people as well, and the veterans have all grown close.

Simply put, this is a fantastic place to volunteer. And for those of you looking for employment, well, all I can say is that I know I would absolutely love to work here. I'm sure the work environment is just as rewarding.
  moins
Points positifs
Amazing environment, well-treated by staff and supervisors, so rewarding - you can really feel the gratitude from everyone involved, cute kids, Volunteer Appreciation parties!
Points négatifs
Difficult children, tiring work!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Halifax Public Libraries. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,3
D'après 10 avis
55
43
32
20
10

Notes par catégorie

4,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
4,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
4,0Direction
4,3Culture d'entreprise