Great Canadian Casinos - Avis

Trouvé 97 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 99 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No HR support for sexist boss
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Gananoque, ON8 septembre 2019
Food and Beverage manager is sexist and entitled. Expects top performance but doesn’t give proper training. It’s a learn as you go job but you get written up if you do it wrong. No compassion for personal life events. Over works staff with minimal breaks. HR won’t stand up for you, manager has them all in his pocket and you will get no support once you encounter this boss. His entire department hates him. ZERO work life balance, you’re just expected to work all time and he will enjoy time off. Does not support your decisions infront of other staff or guests. Belittles you instead of teaching you. Terrible place all and all.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If a certain person and GM like you, you are golden, if not say hello to the chopping block!
Marketing (Ancien employé) –  Nova Scotia16 juillet 2019
You are expected to work overtime and not get paid and you can’t bank your hours. You are also expected to volunteer on your days off with no appreciation from Management. Management talk about staff members and nothing is confidential. No cost of living raise for years and years. GM picks favourites and protects them while the rest of the staff are afraid to speak. Being lied to and promises made that are always broken.
Points positifs
Staff are amazing
Points négatifs
Never see a manager on the gaming floor
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tough hours and understaffed
Various Positions (Ancien employé) –  Port Perry, ON10 juillet 2019
Recently coming under the Great Canadian ownership has meant a cut in staff ..more work for everyone ... moving work responsibilities around to reduce other deapartments .. I guess this would be normal growing pains but the cuts are too severe .. operating without enough staff and the stress levels have climbed .
Fair pay and benefits so far thanks to union negotiations. Supervisors run at 1.5 bodies for work that used to have 4 bodies completing. Mandatory early outs can cut your hours but some departments have more than others
Points positifs
Hot buffet cafe charged to our pay, Fair pay if you can hack the shifts, paid sick days, Only for union staff though
Points négatifs
Day shift 4am start !!!, Night shifts, must be very flexible, 24 hour operation .. must work holidays .
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work environment
Accounts Payable Administrator (Ancien employé) –  Coquitlam, BC9 juillet 2019
Super busy and sometime might need to stay over time. Coworkers are friendly. Can get very busy with invoices and vendors by making many phone calls. Overall, a good place for a starter.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you get along with management you're in
Head Cook (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC7 juillet 2019
The workers were great but some managers did not want to hear of issues brought to their attention. Staffing issues and management issues were all I had problems with.
Points positifs
Good benifits and pay
Points négatifs
On camera all day very high security. But hey its a casino...😁
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
no work/life balance, management cares more about schedule than your well being
Guest Services Representative (Ancien employé) –  Richmond, BC28 juin 2019
everyone you work with is friendly and you build friendships with co workers, which is nice. expect to work full time even when you apply for casual/on call. if you value your social life, i don't recommend applying here. when you get hired, you work night shifts up until someone new comes in because you are the lowest seniority, which could take up to 6 months or more. management will act like they care about a situation you bring up because you're concerned, but will not do anything about it. i do believe that favouritism plays a role in this company, so treatment can be different. you only start getting benefits if you have the job title of full time, even if you work full time hours when you're on 'call/casual'.
Points positifs
friendly co workers, decent pay
Points négatifs
night shifts for months, poor management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive
Housekeeper (Employé actuel) –  Richmond, BC13 juin 2019
+i have already worked at River Rock Casino for almost two years.It was a great experience working there. The whole team was very supportive and skilled. Th staff was so helpful and professional.
Points positifs
great facilities
Points négatifs
hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Brantford Elements
Server/Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Brantford, ON3 juin 2019
Dissapointed & Confusing; Took a month & a half after interviews were conducted. Lengthy process - need money up front to get your background gaming license. Took about 3 weeks. Nonsense process. Then 2 horrible computer training days that is so outdated & left to figure out your own problems when something goes wrong. Too many Supervisors & Bosses. Someone tells you to do something one minute then someone else tells you something different the next. Don't expect to work your Rear off & do your job & get any tips - They won't let you & neither will the people that are Trying to Train you. Which is another joke !! You'll get 3 -4 people training in One shift & they all do it one way - next shift same thing. Your head is Spinning around ! Supervisors are really not there for you like they say. You can go anywhere people & make the same money & actually make your own tips. As u can see there's a big turnover ! Employees that have been there for years are tired of training people & getting nothing in payment for it - Union doesn't care - big surprise! You will not get anywhere fast - takes months to be on ur own - ridiculous ! Very Dissapointed in the New Elements & Unifor!
Hence - why there Always hiring - Big turn around !
Points positifs
Cant think of nothing !
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun working environment
Assistant Poker Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Richmond, BC10 mai 2019
Set up daily dealer schedules
arrange tournament startups or ending procedures
mentor staff on dealing technique
customer service
set up major BCLC tournaments
register and take payment for BCLC tournaments
maintain customer data base
deal with issue
Points positifs
high paced energetic job
Points négatifs
the hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice people
Dealer (Employé actuel) –  Flamboro, ON27 avril 2019
Fun job. Crazy hours as they are open 24 hours. Lots of room for promotion as expansion happens. They promote from within and within their sister companies.
Points positifs
Excellent benefits
Points négatifs
Difficult hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Slot technician
Slot Technician (Employé actuel) –  Port Perry, ON18 avril 2019
This job is easily one of the best jobs in the casino. Great team in the department. Great department supervisor and manager. We are currently in a transition phase so work is a harder at the moment but once things are up and running it will be smooth sailing. This is a position that is very hard to walk away from for anything else once you are in it.
Points positifs
Good pay, good benefits, good team, relaxed
Points négatifs
Can be tiring on night shifts.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible Experience Don't Waste Your Time Applying
Employee (Employé actuel) –  Ontario8 avril 2019
They paint you a beautiful picture, they hype the job up to be this awesome thing, and it could be but....

Do You Love Politics? LOL people have egos and try and run their own show there vs the companies. If you don't side with those people they will bury you.

There are some good people there and I feel for them but this place will break them, and it will break you too if you stay there for long. This place doesn't have any systems in place, they train you to do things one way, and give you trouble for doing it that way and want you to do it another way. They don't care about anything but their budgets, and making $$$ and trust me they make tons of money. The longer you work there the longer they will ride you if you let them, with no respect or appreciation.

They live to Fake it Till They Make it...
Points positifs
Meeting New People
Points négatifs
Politics, Bad Management, No Respect
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrific death sentence
Table games dealer (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON7 avril 2019
The pay is minimum wage at $14.00 an hour. They mess up everyone’s pay constantly. tips are not what they say they willl be expected to be. They hire everyone off the street they can find then weed them out and keeps the suckers there. This is why they are constantly hiring people. The management and supervisors are uneducated. They start you on a few mandatory games then they add a bunch more once they have you sucked in. They tell the emloyees they have their back then when they get on the floor with minimal training they just let the patrons abuse the staff. The supervisors have little training Stay away from this place
Points positifs
Good co-workers
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst place you could work.
Can’t say (Employé actuel) –  Can’t say6 avril 2019
Obviously someone from management writing the reviews? My advice run away, as fast as you can.
Too many relatives, husbands supervising wives. Friends supervising friends. Pretty ridiculous.
The worst management team ever experienced at any job!
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Too many to list.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
challenging place to work with, especially at front line serving customer service is my joy helping people
main bank/cashier (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON5 avril 2019
when working n fast pace industry you learn to respect , trust people whom your working with, compensate things and be a team
player with them
helping each other. submission to your supervisor as needed , listening to your co- workers be open and transparent and knowleadgle with your work , share ideas to your group as sign and help growth with the company. sharing is fun be happpy and avoid being grumpy.management wise fallow policies and procedures be submissive to every individual
work a a team.the hardest part in job if you are not open with every individual share what you know have an integrity and act about it just do what is goo with the company and xo-workers, and when your shift is done everybody enjoy going home without huddle because they feel that it’s thier second home to work with smile , and happy heart felt that they were
love.
Points positifs
n/a
Points négatifs
n/a
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 11Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive
Room Attendant (Ancien employé) –  Richmond, BC26 mars 2019
fun environment

the hardest part of the job when was bz on high season

I learned how to make a nice bed and how to deal with a very tough customer.

Management and all colleagues are all nice to me.
the most enjoyable part when were get together and did have lot's of fun
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible
Dealer (Employé actuel) –  Ontario16 mars 2019
This is going to be long but if you’re serious about working for this place you need to know all this. I currently work for great Canadian gaming as a table games dealer. Let’s start with training, they cut all training by half the time. When you start you’ll get 2 weeks to learn blackjack. When I stared, we got 4. Poker? A week. Roulettes? 2 weeks. Craps? 2-3 weeks or as soon as they can shove you on the floor for any game. Bac you get a day. Supervisor training is a single day then they throw you on the floor with literally no idea what to do. You might get a supervisor to help you for a night or two if they have the staff. No limit poker and tournament was trained over a slideshow in preshift. A new blackjack game coming in is being taught over a slideshow. I’m not even sure any of that is legal but if you try to say you won’t sign for the games because you didn’t even get to deal or learn them they will harass you, withhold eos, force OT, take you off the floor constantly and STILL not train you, just keep asking you WHY you don’t get it and WHY won’t you sign it. They took over almost a year ago. I work 4-5 days a week and I own 2 shirts. They “haven’t been able” to set up a system where we can PAY for more uniform shirts, but they set up free gift give aways and events 4 days a week for players. My pay cheque is off almost every pay, hour or two missing, sometimes an entire shift missing, it isn’t just me, it’s well over half the table games department, which is suspicious and I’m starting to think someone is skimming us because we are part time and they think we won’t  plus... notice. I have to track my hours to the minute and if you fight them on missing hours be prepared to wait months for your money. We rarely get pay stubs on time and once we didn’t even get paid our tokes (paid to us with our paycheques direct deposit) and we’re forced to come in and pick them up via paper cheque. They have not once paid me my lieu time for working holidays (good luck proving it because the pay stubs look like a 7th grade math project, confusing, inaccurate, unprofessional.) I should have been done paying benefits 8 months ago, but they still take 100 dollars a month for sunlife (double what I used to pay.) They are so incompetent I changed my address and phone number last June and they still haven’t updated it in their system. They cut so many staff and departments they are barely functioning. They hire non stop but we are constantly short staffed because they’re trying to cut our hours down to the point part time is unable to get benefits. I have Split days off and work days and nights in a single week. I’ve worked here 3 years and have many many people below me in seniority and no major games, so imagine those schedules below me or those who have major games. They will promote anyone to supervisor. I know more about the games, payouts and general running of the casino than about half of my immediate superiors who are supposed to be supervising ME. The atmosphere is miserable, cold and uncaring. We all know all this company cares about is money. Money money money. We can’t even eat at work anymore because they cut out the staff ordering system and make us buy our food with the players upstairs. That means your whole break is spent waiting in line for someone to spend their comp money so you can order a premade boxed sandwich since we can’t eat from the restaurant in our own break room like we used to. Half the shufflers are broken and they just never fix them. Hand shuffle it or just switch the broken one with one from a closed table and worry about it later. The players will harass you, treat you like you’re worthless and wear you down and they will not care. I know 1 single pit boss on my entire shift I can go to when a player is unbearable who will actually help. Sometimes. I brought up being sworn at, harrassed and threatened by 2 male players on blackjack one night. They were standing up and hammering their fists onto my table so hard the chips were jumping out of the tray. Nothing was done, they moved me and I have since dealt with dirty looks and sarcastic comments from the same men for weeks now because I was moved off the table and they seen me talking to my boss. Clearly they know I tried to have something done and now they laugh in my face and make comments about it every time I’m forced to see them. When I asked them to stop swearing at me they said “I can do whatever the eff I want.” And they can. I was seconds from tears and honestly afraid and the first few times I seen them walking around my table I was in genuine fear for when I left or comments that might be made to me. That’s not even the first time a player has forced me to tears from hours or days of constantly harassment. The only person who was penalized in that situation was my supervisor. Pay is decent but if you work for your tips and do your job properly the shifts that don’t work and employees who have no players and do nothing to work toward tips get to reap your benefits. You get penalized for telling the truth. If you call in sick less than 2 hours before your shift they consider you late for work which has serious consequences. I’ve almost been fired from being late twice and “late sick” once in a year. So you have to lie and say there’s an emergency if you start feeling sick an hour before work or if you are going to be late. The union does basically nothing. If you have a complaint the response will be “operational needs” which is basically the response the company has to give that allows them to do whatever they want to you. I’ve never been so miserable in my life but I need the money and the shift time. I’m sure I could think of so much more but this is already huge and I just feel like if I as a single person can’t do anything to this huge corporation that’s stepping on its employees I can at least warn the people who are thinking about applying.  moins
Points positifs
Decent money, free coffee when it’s not broken and pop
Points négatifs
Bad shift times, unreliable payroll, uncaring money hungry company, players treat you terribly company doesn’t care, won’t provide adequate uniform, strict rules and expectations for employees and no one else, unreliable hours, untrustworthy greedy company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
decent, more cold and corporate by the day
Dealer (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC1 février 2019
ive been there for a long time, cant be that bad. decent benefits, pension etc. seems to be annual cutbacks tho.
a lot of fun perks that previously existed are no more. even something as simple as sports on tv in the break room, or a foosball table. all gone. still a fine job. opportunity for advancement if youre driven enough and smart enough.
Points positifs
staff becomes pretty tight, working same shifts, and having a break together every hour, a lot of cool people, to spend a lot of breaks with
Points négatifs
draining, will eat your soul, after so many hours of abuse, from grumpy guests, which your not permitted to defend yourself against.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Was fun but not experienced management
Manager Table Games (Employé actuel) –  Port Perry, ON31 janvier 2019
Preference only to Canadians, all Europeans got laid off recently, long hours with overtime without appreciation, less educated ppl & not skillful managers are more welcome in this company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Zero work life balance
Attendant (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON28 janvier 2019
If you have a family and wont drop everything for your job, this is not the job for you. If you have no life, perfect job for you.
Part time (which is what you will be for many years to come) are expected to come in for sick calls etc. You will be scheduled anywhere from zero to 40 hrs a week. When they have enough ppl you get 3 shifts and expected to come in on demand. Shift work is terrible for part timers. You could work an early shift one day, then swing then grave..off for one shift back in for a day shift all in one week. Dont expect to ever get one week days, one week swing one week grave..you are filling in the gaps of the full timers. No weekends no long weekends off. You work Christmas Eve Christmas day etc. They are open 7 days a week 365 days a year. Starting wage is not much over min wage to start.
Points positifs
Tips
Points négatifs
Shift work, no life.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Great Canadian Casinos. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,2
D'après 99 avis
522
427
320
212
118

Notes par catégorie

2,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,8Direction
2,9Culture d'entreprise