Government of the Northwest Territories - Avis

Trouvé 22 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 23 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Managers on power trips.
Addiction Counsellor (Ancien employé) –  Fort Liard, NT22 juillet 2019
Management are aloof and unable to cooperate with employees to do anything outside of the mandate, As a result an inflexible system of services that only maintain a status quo and lead to a continuation of the same issues and problems.

The North will be the same in 20 years as it is now as the band-aid procedures and the cover your butt mentality continues to support those in power. Any new ideas are quickly seen as threatening despite the science behind them For example they still advocate for 12 step addiction treatment.
Points positifs
Pay is good.
Points négatifs
Feels like a police state, they monitor you facebook, control your every action outside and in work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not what it’s cut out to be
Financial Planning Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT4 juillet 2019
Micromanaged, have to request vacation a year in advance, have to call all senior managers until you get an answer if you are sick or cant make it in to work. People who actually work, also do the work for those who are there to just collect a paycheque
Points positifs
Salary and benefits
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Casual Sub Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Casual) (Ancien employé) –  Fort Providence, NT1 mars 2019
Very good benefits. I enjoyed working with the children. The wages are exceptional. GNWT treats their employees with proper respect and has positive ethics.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Outdated hierarchy structure. Union set to go on strike.
Admin (Ancien employé) –  Nwt9 novembre 2018
Opportunities internally for some people. For other people not part of the clique you are in a dead end job. Bonus for the unlucky ones is is putting up with bullies, egos, ostracism. Everyone trying to get ahead at the expense of others. No flow of Information like everything is top secret.
Points positifs
Christmas off
Points négatifs
High cost of living so salary appears much better than it is.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The best all around employer
Department of the Executive, Yellowknife (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT12 septembre 2018
A very liberal set of benefits, pension, paid time off. There is much room for advancement, a perfect place to meet people and you won't have to work more than 37.5 hours per week, not unless you want to
Points positifs
Work Life Balance
Points négatifs
It's cold up there
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very open to self creativity workplace
Regional Recreation Coordinator and Youth Officer (Employé actuel) –  Fort Smith, NT25 juin 2018
Opportunity to develop capacity and provide program funding for municipal recreation departments, schools and youth serving organizations in the N.W.T.
Points positifs
Duty Travel - allows for in person capacity development
Points négatifs
At times a little too much bureaucracy.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Experience
Office Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT5 avril 2018
I have learned a lot from this job and gained a lot of experience throughout my time as an administrative assistant. I believe I was a great asset to their establishment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 7Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent workplace with great people
Intern (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT6 novembre 2017
The Government of the Northwest Territories, particularly Environment and Natural Resources, is an excellent workplace that provides a variety of learning opportunities and friendly groups of people to consult with.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great pay
data entry (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT22 août 2017
You will never have to worry about being poor and get to buy a house in the north. Work is repetitive people are easy to get a long with most of the time.
Points positifs
you get to buy lots of things
Points négatifs
location
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 13Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Administration
Motor Vehicles Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT1 août 2017
Was an enjoyable work environment with many opportunities to educate and learn.
Fast paced customer service,
Hardest part of the job was unruly clients not having proper paperwork. But being able to solve their problems with a smile was enjoyable.
Points positifs
Great hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 5Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good working relationships, friendly organization
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT11 juin 2017
Excellent organization to work with. Excel in training and furthering you career. Special projects with time constraints and willing to help in all area.
Points positifs
Excellent co workers, happy work place
Points négatifs
Short deadlines can be consuming
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 10Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Boss wasnt that great
Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT12 avril 2017
Maybe it was just my luck that the boss I had was a mean person.

Other people seemed nice, but seemed closed off in their cubicles.

I would work here again only if I was assigned to a different supervisor.
Points positifs
Free Coffee
Points négatifs
Poor Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and hard work
Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT2 mai 2016
I would go into work by 7 am and attend morning meetings with the crew who is on shift and night shift. We would then get the patients dressed and feed them breakfast and lunch. I would then attend to the daily chores, and then do the afternoon activities with the patients. My co workers were extremely supportive and helpful in helping me fulfill daily tasks. I most enjoyed doing the social activities.
Points positifs
Getting to know the patients
Points négatifs
Going to work early
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23Non 9Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Can't ask for a better employer!
Licensed Practical Nurse (Employé actuel) –  Fort Smith, NT23 avril 2016
Practical Nurse in the NWT working in a nursing home in Fort Smith. This little community is beautiful. The NWT government pays great and have excellent benefits and incentives. Locum work can be anything as short as 6 weeks and you can stay as long as you can. Permanent placements even give the option to bank 20% of your pay each week and after 4 years you can take an entire year off - paid!! Just one of the many perks that make NWT one of Canada's top employers.

As with anywhere, you will find people both easy and hard to get along with. However, if your only reason for working north is money, you may have a hard time getting along with your co-workers, as many hate southerners coming north only to "win the lottery," then leave as soon as their bank account is full. If you take time to know your co-workers, residents, patients, neighbours, cashiers, etc., you will find it more rewarding. An adventurous spirit goes a long way.

As for the weather - it's actually beautiful this far south while still north. It's right on the Alberta and NWT border so you're surrounded by trees rather than rocks and January and February are the only months that become extremely cold, though it's a dry cold.

Oh, and northern lights on almost any night without clouds!
Points positifs
Seeing Canada's great white north, good people, excellent work environment
Points négatifs
Alcoholism, abuse, street people, summertime bugs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 67Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard work but enjoyable
Records and File Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Inuvik, NT19 mars 2015
My time with Health services and Health records is where I learned my skills as a office admin. I worked front line positions as well as behind the scenes. I always had a good rapport with staff as well as knowing how to deal with the public. I learned that doing a good job the first time and accuracy with my filing is very important in the health field. We were often commended for our accurate filing.
Points positifs
good pay, great staff.
Points négatifs
paper cuts, hard on eyes looking at screen.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 46Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Salary and benefits are great but, getting an indeterminate posting is virtually impossible outside of the very remote communities.
Teacher/Facilitator (Employé actuel) –  Hay River, Northwest Territories4 mars 2014
The geography and scenery are spectacular and the salary and benefits are amazing. This is all used up though, paying utilities and buying decent groceries. Thankfully the people Up Here are kind and generous and more than willing to share and help out.
Points positifs
Amazing people and places.
Points négatifs
Crazy expensive to get out to visit far away family and friends.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 78Non 15Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A professional operation to work with.
CONTRACTS MANAGER (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT5 janvier 2014
A typical day was busy and exciting. There were challenges and issues to deal with.
All of the department directors had their own mandate and or agendas for the short and long term periods. I managed to obtain copies of every mandate and I studied them so I was prepared when it was time to act.
I was a part of the Financial - Administrative section of the GNWT working with two departments. My co-workers were mostly the financial officers, however I did have a purchasing officer who reported directly to me.
Every job has its difficult areas, and to be successful one has to overcome the diversity of issues that arise and still keep within the Governments Policies, Procedures, and Guidelines.
The most enjoyable part of my position was the win win situation. Everything was done in a transparent, concise and accountable fashion.
Points positifs
Learning as much as I could over the years. Being respected by my piers and by my vendors
Points négatifs
Employees who would try and get around the proper procedures.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23Non 13Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Liked it in the summer time
Marine Deckhand (ferry) (Ancien employé) –  Fort Providence, NT27 octobre 2013
Didn't like it in the winter freezing months. Water drops, making it hard for ferry to dock.
Points positifs
3-4 days 0ff
Points négatifs
Sleep at work site after shift ends.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 14Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Educational
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT19 septembre 2013
Provided me with an understanding of different cultures and gave me the opportunity for professional growth.

The hardest part of the job was leaving the North in order to further my education.

The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and learning something new each day.
Points positifs
The unique conditions of the North.
Points négatifs
The amount of day light during the extended winters
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 13Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work and learn
plumber (Ancien employé) –  Hay River, NT20 février 2013
too many stories to tell.
My best friend died during this time, so did my dad. It was my co workers who helped me through it all.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 25Non 22Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Government of the Northwest Territories. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 23 avis
513
43
33
21
13

Notes par catégorie

4,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,6Culture d'entreprise