Government of Nunavut - Avis

Voir les 40 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terribly run health centre
Community Health Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Cambridge Bay, NU16 septembre 2019
Not any support
Nepotism
Unrealistic expectations
Too many on call nights
Management unqualified
Support and union non-existent
Bullying
Discrimination
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
different based on the community, good pay
Community Social Worker (Employé actuel) –  Cape Dorset, NU14 juillet 2019
Good place to work, depending on the community and department you work in.
Points positifs
great pay
Points négatifs
away from home
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing place to work. Best place I have worked at.
Chief Financial Officer (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU3 juin 2019
The Government of Nunavut provides a second to none employee benefits package and compensation. The work is fulfilling and provides great opportunity for growth.
Points positifs
Great work environment
Points négatifs
Some units are too laid back.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Opportunities in the North
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU7 avril 2019
The Government of Nunavut is recognized as an employer where people can make a difference and are given opportunities to put their skills to work. Overall the camaraderie amongst the workforce is very positive.
Points positifs
Team spirit
Points négatifs
remote northern setting
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun work place and excellent area to work at.
Mental Helath Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Nunavut25 janvier 2019
Rewarding to work with people from the Inuit culture. Employer provided opportunities to learn about the culture. Lots of satisfaction working autonomously.
Points positifs
Learning the dynamics of a different culture.
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great environment with opportunity to grow.
Employee Relations Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU28 octobre 2018
When I started employment as an Employee Relations Analyst, I was in the middle of completing the Human Resources Management Program at Algonquin College. I found this to be very helpful, as the two seemed to coincide a lot. I developed so many skills in this role. As the ER Analyst, I provided support to the ER Consultants within my division. Some of my typical job duties included:
- drafting of disciplinary letters
- researching jurisprudence
- aiding in grievance resolution
- drafting of executive summaries
- sitting in on disciplinary meetings as the HR Representative

I thoroughly enjoyed my position with the Government of Nunavut and am grateful for the opportunity to develop and strengthen my Human Resources skills.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great learning opporuntity but Ill prepared
Supervisor of Home and Community Health Care (Ancien employé) –  Kivalliq Region12 octobre 2018
Great opportunity to learn and push yourself, but I felt very poorly prepared for a very big position that had been being run by its employees without management for a long time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive work place
Senior Public Trustee Officer (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU28 août 2018
I worked with clients from all 27 communities in Nunavut by dealing with deceased estate. I learnt how to deal with clients in proper matter. I learnt how to do legal accounting.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Arctic Hamlets
Regional Environmental Health Officer (Ancien employé) –  Pangnirtung, NU24 août 2018
I would fly into different communities in Nunavut to conduct inspections, meetings, evaluations, and investigations. It was definitely a worthwhile experience. I got to experience Inuit culture first hand. It was amazing.
Points positifs
Cultural experience, good work experience and life experience.
Points négatifs
Very Cold in the winter time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Wonderful place to work for
Case Worker (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU8 juillet 2018
Good pay and good benefits. It is a wonderful place to work for, You have to be able to put up with the cold.
There are many communities, about 27 but Iqaluit is a very nice place to work for.

Currently, the north is growing rapidly and this is the time to join the great white north of Canada and share in the growth of the Inuit communities and leave a positive mark on the new generation. The Inuit are very friendly and welcoming people.
Points positifs
Friendly community.
Points négatifs
Too cold
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Work Place
Registered Nurse Manager (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU7 mai 2018
Very beautiful place to work. Amazing staff and support system. Would definitely consider working there again
I had the opportunity to work with many nurses from all over Canada and enjoyed this immensely.
Working with Inuk patients was a true pleasure...in my position, I not only felt very appreciated by my patients but also by the whole family.
I enjoyed my time in Iqaluit and feel that it is a welcoming town and place of work
Points positifs
Friendly workplace, competitive salaries
Points négatifs
Expensive to leave for vacation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Govt. of Nunavut
Project Officer (Ancien employé) –  Rankin Inlet, NU6 avril 2018
Community & Govt. Service department of Government of Nunavut provides basic facilities like Drinking Water, Waste Water Disposal, Roads, Bulk Fuel Storage, Building etc. to Aboriginal Peoples of Canada in Nunavut Territory. The CGS Professional Team has the expertise to work under extreme cold temp. (upto -55 degree Celsius) and in parma frost soil. CGS provides very good salaries and health benefits to its employees.
Points positifs
Daily free tea and coffees
Points négatifs
Free Christmas Party
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
bad managment
Director (Ancien employé) –  Nunavut16 mars 2018
Good money but it will be used up in rent and food and airplane tickets to get back down south. So it ends up being the same or worse than working in southern Canada. Really bad management in the department of health and wasteful of money - millions.
Points positifs
job security
Points négatifs
everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 53Non 7Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Really Bad
Health (Employé actuel) –  Iqaluit, NU13 mars 2018
Health department has Really bad leadership, large waste of taxpayers money. Lots of turnover people leaving. Can't fill jobs and a terrible culture from the top
Points positifs
tax relief
Points négatifs
the management is TERRIBLE
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Typical day working in educational setting in nunavut
School Administrator/DISTRICT SUPERINTENDENT (Ancien employé) –  Nunavut15 janvier 2018
Each day began at 6:30AM. Usually I would do a facilities check to ensure all was ready for incoming staff. Email and phone calls were promptly tended to. When staff/students arrived they were greeted and issues discussed promptly to ensure the day began in a positive manner. During the day I would circulate throughout the building conducting bother formal and informal observations of staff and student engagement. After school hours, I would meet with individual staff members, lead small and large staff meetings and/or attend community. Departmental or Regional meetings or conference calls.
At times, travel was expected to represent the school, community, regional office or Dept.
All my years in Education provided me with an opportunity to develop as a leader, mentor and evaluator. I worked hard to establish a positive, caring climate within the organizations for which I worked.
The hardest part of my work to having to spread myself very thin. Time management was essential to ensure effective management was provided. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people. I am a people person first and foremost. I enjoyed bonding with the community members, staff, students and my employers while at the same time providing high but achievable expectations.
Points positifs
Development of effective management skills
Points négatifs
Challenging environment of there Canadian Arctic
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great job.
Environmental Protection Officer (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU3 janvier 2018
I loved the job, it had a great balance of working in the office and working out on the field. The management was decent as well. The hardest part of the job was letting responsible parties know that they have to do the clean up, as well as letting them know what the costs might be.
Points positifs
Great staff
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun days to learn the culture
Service Desk Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Igloolik, NU2 janvier 2018
work was pretty awesome and we were given paid days off to learn about the Inuit culture. Co-workers were very willing to engage with you and make you feel welcome
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 6Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nurse in nunavut
Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Nunavut20 décembre 2017
payscale was top but expenses are same too. Extream weather make you feel tired of life, you need strong mental health, You should be people person, no phones,internet are limited, tv services are limited, people are rude. The best is the norther life experience, animals, cultural experience , wild meat and fish. Good start for career but be cautious to do not make mistakes. You may lose Nursing license with small incidence and you dont get any support from top management.
Points positifs
Good pay, Remote experience, cultural experience
Points négatifs
Isolated, stress full work enviornment, extream weather related issues, No work life balance, poor administration, difficult to deal with people behaviour, some times donot get paid for the job you do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 66Non 10Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not good
Manager, Quasi Judicial Boards (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit, NU10 septembre 2017
Overly bureaucratic, no clear direction, lots of useless fat. Uninformed, inexperienced management. Decent salary, no extensive experience required to start. Benefits and work life balance is adequate, but stressful and inefficient workplace culture.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok.
Social Services Statistics, Manager Finance (Ancien employé) –  Iqaluit and Cambridge Bay9 août 2017
Expensive place to live. Gov't subsidized housing necessary. Good experience with Inuit staff but above manager positions seem to be politically motivated.
Points positifs
Interesting work.
Points négatifs
Frustrating never cracked manager barrier despite advanced skills.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 2Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Government of Nunavut. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 40 avis
518
410
37
22
13

Notes par catégorie

3,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise