Government of Newfoundland and Labrador - Avis

Trouvé 60 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 63 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to work
Youth Corrections/Youth Servces Worker (Employé actuel) –  Marystown, NL24 avril 2017
Organized branch of government
very professional
good atmosphere
supportive staff
trained well
kept informed
stress importance of self care
safe environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good pay Bad Bureaucracy
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Newfoundland and Labrador13 avril 2017
Many good co workers with and good pay. And some good training was provided.

Management and the union to slow to make any decision, even time sensitive issues. Common for management to pass the buck and play games than make a decision.
Points positifs
Pay rate
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The people are good, but work environment is poor
Director (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL12 avril 2017
Ongoing cutbacks have increased pressure on remaining statf, as the overall demands to provide a quality service have not declined. Staff continue to do their best, but the resources and supports are just not there

These is significant instability in employment at this time, with little potential for increases in compensation, and limited opportunities for advancement.
Points positifs
Good people to work with
Points négatifs
Increasing demand for service with limited resoures
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tedious
Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL1 avril 2017
Could of been where I was a Summer Student, but I felt the entire summer kind of dragged on due to the amount of work I did that was similar to one another
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ocio
Office of the Chief Information Officer (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL17 mars 2017
General Computer Support Duties and Responsibilities included Desktop troubleshooting, VPN Connectivity issues. Minor Active Directory work. Also responsible for Time and Service Request Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall A Good Place To Work
Clerk III (Employé actuel) –  Newfoundland and Labrador7 mars 2017
PROS - Overall this is a good place to work
Decent hours

CONS - Pay is low
Put in positions that have nothing to do with work experience or education
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I loved my job and the people i worked with.
Social Worker 1 (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL25 février 2017
Although i was not required to be to work before 8:30 i was usually there befor 8 am, i rarely left the office before 5 pm. The extra time allowed me to catch up after a busy day. Most management supervisors were very supportive. My co-workers were the absolute best. We worked closely as a team and were always there for each other, a must when you work in a difficult and stressful environment. The hardest part of my job was removing children from their parents, even though i knew that it was necessary to ensure their safety and well being. The most rewarding part of my job was when a 6 year old looked and me and said "I only trust you because you always tell me the truth". Over the past 12 years as a front line social worker i have learned to "think outside the box" and "trust my instincts".
Points positifs
Doing team activities outside office hours.
Points négatifs
The long hours, trying to keep documentation current.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
N/a
Payroll Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL24 juin 2016
too long ago to be relevant. Government was very busy and required staff to work long hours for very minimal recognition.
Points positifs
na
Points négatifs
na
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor management or a total lack of!
Peeon (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL21 juin 2016
Worked there for a number of years had to quit it was killing me. The most backward screwed up place to work, or as I called it, doing time!
Points positifs
Weekends and holidays
Points négatifs
Monday thru Friday
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved working here !
Registrations (Employé actuel) –  Charlottetown, PE9 juin 2016
Loved working here but it was for a term as it was to construct the Confederation Bridge in Borden, Prince Edward Island. I would have loved to continue working for them but they weren't here permanently.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I enjoy what I do
Information Management Technician II (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL14 avril 2016
The Department of Advanced Education and Skills gave me an opportunity to learn new techniques and an ability to voice my opinions on processes and best practices
Points positifs
Working
Points négatifs
Job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Occupational Health and Safety Student (Ancien employé) –  Grand Falls-Windsor, NL27 janvier 2016
Spent most days putting together health and safety binders for employees. spent most of my time on the internet researching.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dirty, dusty warehouse
Shipper/Receiver (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL15 janvier 2016
Unloading trucks, filling orders. Good co-workers. Physically taxing, good pay at the time, learned that I didn't want to work that way any more.
Points positifs
Regular snack truck
Points négatifs
Hard work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Co-op Experience
Materials Engineering Co-op (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL4 novembre 2015
This job allowed me to gain knowledge into the materials side of engineering. My supervisor was a really nice guy and more than helpful with anything I needed. Sadly, the position wasn't the most challenging but I did enjoy my time while I was there.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place with and great people
HEAVY EQUIPMENT TECHNICIAN (Ancien employé) –  Deer Lake, NL15 octobre 2015
a great place to work, clean, safe. and there plenty time to do the job right . lots of training , and understanding from the management. the only hard task is winter working out side when the equipment is broken down on the high way. Safety do play a big part in the task.
Points positifs
all over good place
Points négatifs
but is no big pay cheque
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
office work
Office Administartor (Ancien employé) –  Happy valley goose bay, nl1 octobre 2015
Fun place to work with supportive management .
Not all about the numbers but how you grow personally and develop.
Decent amount of positive,which is to be expected form this company!
Points positifs
benefits
Points négatifs
no overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You can do better
Data Analyst (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL29 juillet 2015
Be prepared to come face to face with managerial incompetence, government red-tape, and rampant double standards. I suppose that's par for the course for any government job.

The data entry work was tedious and monotonous, like it always is, but the standards were never made clear. The only excitement or surprise inherent in the job is how your numbers were either ahead or behind, based on arbitrary standards that are never communicated.

If you're looking for a place to distinguish yourself, innovate, make friends, or be exposed to new methodologies/technologies, you're looking in the wrong place. Managers regularly take credit for work they had no hand in doing or didn't even know it was being done. They're completely ignorant of the technical goings-on, but they'll happily take the kudos for a job well done.

Innovation is frowned upon and almost punished. I came up with several process enhancements to streamline employee performance metrics, but was told to reverse them - even though mine calculated all metrics more accurately than the manager coded ones. I also overwrote a manager's mis-coding of a validation field that had our error rate skyrocketing well beyond acceptable limits. I was fired two days later.

The place is full of gray drones. If you're interested in talking to human beings with feelings and ambitions, you'll have to cultivate a healthy social life outside of the office. Fraternization often turns into a gripe fest that does little to improve the atmosphere.

Government is perpetually 20-30 years behind the curve in terms of any technological
  plus... or methodological revolutions, so be prepared to watch your modern skills rust and molder from disuse as you pore over operation manuals for applications from decades past.

The best and worst parts of the job are the same: the work is predictable. If you have zero ambition and aren't interested in any vertical movement internally, then going to work and doing exactly the same thing every day there is for you. Otherwise, you'll find the prospect of dragging yourself out of bed to spend your day, plagued with ennui and talking to cardboard cutout government drones, very difficult to stomach in the long term.

The management style is entirely incompetent. "I don't like it, change it" is about all the feedback you'll ever receive, even if you directly ask for assistance or more in-depth criticism to assist your growth. Management also asked a series of inappropriate questions regarding the frequency I went to use the rest room. Any of my requests for ergonomic accommodation were ignored. Apparently, offended and uncomfortable workers are sufficient to get the job done.

Unless you're wiling away the final few years of your working life, stay away at all costs. Unless you want to get ahead by backstabbing colleagues, never do any real work, and be decades behind the curve, you owe it to yourself to find something better. It's not even worth it as a stopgap job.

Government work just isn't for me. From what I've seen, it ends up sucking the life out of everyone.
  moins
Points positifs
Consistent work tasks
Points négatifs
Little/no feedback, poor direction, incompetent management, very little opportunity to advance, behind the curve technologically, no opportunity to refine existing skills, rude and inappropriate managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Long days however helping people very satisfying.
Executive/Constituent Assistant (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, Confederation Building12 juillet 2015
Day starts early, ends late. A lot of travelling. Great satisfaction when I can help people.Learned alot about government policies.
Points positifs
helping people
Points négatifs
long hours and travelling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive
Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL20 juin 2015
I learned about time management and completing tasks. It was fun to work on certain tasks such as phone calls. It was a 8-4 job as well.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall Satisfactory
Project Management Engineer (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, NL21 mai 2015
Knowing that you are contributing to the Public Service and making things better is rewarding. Amount of red-tape and limitations on implementations are challenging and forces individuals to be more creative but slows down the progress of the organization. Nature of the environment, politics, play a role in direction as well as decision making on a daily basis. Learning to navigate around these challenges take significant time and effort.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 63 avis
516
424
316
25
12

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise