Avis des employés pour Government of Newfoundland and Labrador - St. John's, NL

Trouvé 34 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 63 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job
Mailroom Clerk (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL5 juillet 2019
Working at the Provincial Goverment mailroom was a thoroughly positive experience. Not overly strenuous, good pay. Only flaw is the unionized nature of the workplace, very easy to get bumped from a job.
Points positifs
Fairly Easy, Good Pay, Comfortable Environment
Points négatifs
Slight Lack of Job Security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Management and great pay
Clerk Typist III (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL18 mai 2019
While working with the government of newfoundland, I had a great experience. My manager not only showed me new things but she was also very supportive. I would gladly work there again. In the run of an average day, the hours were fantastic, environment was comfortable. The only complaint was that was that it was very far to get to and from.

The team I worked with were amazing.
Points positifs
great pay, very supportive environment, lots to learn.
Points négatifs
only temporary. other than that it was a fantastic job!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job
Engineering Co-op Student(Former Employee) (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL28 juin 2018
People are nice and respectful of others. A good place to work. Stable, secure and reasonable pay. At times it became repetitive and boring. The work is not exactly fun so make sure you're being located with people you like.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Summer Student Employment
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL26 mars 2018
Great working as a administrative assistant for a couple summers. Very easy to get along with staff and they are very appreciative of all the things you do for them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and great leaning envirnment
Engineer Technologist Assistant (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL6 février 2018
My summer spent at Transportation and Works was a work term experience. I was not only given the opportunity to work in the lab but I was also given a good taste of what happens in the filed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Professional Work Environment
Occupational Health & Safety Student (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL7 novembre 2017
Great place to work, very flexible on work hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was visiting departments and meeting new people. Great management and mentors.
Points positifs
Summer hours
Points négatifs
parking
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work experience, continually learning new skills, safe work environment.
Administrative Assistant (Contract) (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL3 octobre 2017
A typical day started at 8 and finished when all the work was done.
Management encouraged upgrading of computer skills.
Interacting with people was the best part of the job.
Not being able to help everyone who contacted our offices was the hardest part.
Most important thing I learned was to treat the janitor with the same respect as management and to thank people for their efforts at the end of every day.
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work days are very busy and time management is critical.
Social Worker 1, Department of CSSD (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, NL10 août 2017
The department of CSSD is a great place to develop a broad range of social work skills. It is also a place to familiarize yourself and other services that are available in the community.
Points positifs
You can make a positive impact on some of the most marginalized people in the province.
Points négatifs
The work is never done
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A day at work
clerk IV (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, NL2 juin 2017
Well there is quiet a variety of duties these days with all the cut backs, but we still do our best to "enjoy" our day. Everyone is encouraged to take a little stretch of the legs so it gives us the opportunity to have a little chat as well..........how was your weekend.......how was your evening.......how is your family, etc. this being said, work is very busy and I enjoy as I usually don't realize its time to head home. We could be expected to process a variety of applications, serve the general public, issue permits. Every day is a new work day. I enjoy this as much as I enjoy doing just the one job. I have done both ways since starting here. I feel I'm ready for a change.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The people are good, but work environment is poor
Director (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL12 avril 2017
Ongoing cutbacks have increased pressure on remaining statf, as the overall demands to provide a quality service have not declined. Staff continue to do their best, but the resources and supports are just not there

These is significant instability in employment at this time, with little potential for increases in compensation, and limited opportunities for advancement.
Points positifs
Good people to work with
Points négatifs
Increasing demand for service with limited resoures
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tedious
Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL1 avril 2017
Could of been where I was a Summer Student, but I felt the entire summer kind of dragged on due to the amount of work I did that was similar to one another
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ocio
Office of the Chief Information Officer (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL17 mars 2017
General Computer Support Duties and Responsibilities included Desktop troubleshooting, VPN Connectivity issues. Minor Active Directory work. Also responsible for Time and Service Request Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I loved my job and the people i worked with.
Social Worker 1 (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL25 février 2017
Although i was not required to be to work before 8:30 i was usually there befor 8 am, i rarely left the office before 5 pm. The extra time allowed me to catch up after a busy day. Most management supervisors were very supportive. My co-workers were the absolute best. We worked closely as a team and were always there for each other, a must when you work in a difficult and stressful environment. The hardest part of my job was removing children from their parents, even though i knew that it was necessary to ensure their safety and well being. The most rewarding part of my job was when a 6 year old looked and me and said "I only trust you because you always tell me the truth". Over the past 12 years as a front line social worker i have learned to "think outside the box" and "trust my instincts".
Points positifs
Doing team activities outside office hours.
Points négatifs
The long hours, trying to keep documentation current.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
N/a
Payroll Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL24 juin 2016
too long ago to be relevant. Government was very busy and required staff to work long hours for very minimal recognition.
Points positifs
na
Points négatifs
na
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor management or a total lack of!
Peeon (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL21 juin 2016
Worked there for a number of years had to quit it was killing me. The most backward screwed up place to work, or as I called it, doing time!
Points positifs
Weekends and holidays
Points négatifs
Monday thru Friday
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I enjoy what I do
Information Management Technician II (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL14 avril 2016
The Department of Advanced Education and Skills gave me an opportunity to learn new techniques and an ability to voice my opinions on processes and best practices
Points positifs
Working
Points négatifs
Job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dirty, dusty warehouse
Shipper/Receiver (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL15 janvier 2016
Unloading trucks, filling orders. Good co-workers. Physically taxing, good pay at the time, learned that I didn't want to work that way any more.
Points positifs
Regular snack truck
Points négatifs
Hard work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Co-op Experience
Materials Engineering Co-op (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL4 novembre 2015
This job allowed me to gain knowledge into the materials side of engineering. My supervisor was a really nice guy and more than helpful with anything I needed. Sadly, the position wasn't the most challenging but I did enjoy my time while I was there.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You can do better
Data Analyst (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL29 juillet 2015
Be prepared to come face to face with managerial incompetence, government red-tape, and rampant double standards. I suppose that's par for the course for any government job.

The data entry work was tedious and monotonous, like it always is, but the standards were never made clear. The only excitement or surprise inherent in the job is how your numbers were either ahead or behind, based on arbitrary standards that are never communicated.

If you're looking for a place to distinguish yourself, innovate, make friends, or be exposed to new methodologies/technologies, you're looking in the wrong place. Managers regularly take credit for work they had no hand in doing or didn't even know it was being done. They're completely ignorant of the technical goings-on, but they'll happily take the kudos for a job well done.

Innovation is frowned upon and almost punished. I came up with several process enhancements to streamline employee performance metrics, but was told to reverse them - even though mine calculated all metrics more accurately than the manager coded ones. I also overwrote a manager's mis-coding of a validation field that had our error rate skyrocketing well beyond acceptable limits. I was fired two days later.

The place is full of gray drones. If you're interested in talking to human beings with feelings and ambitions, you'll have to cultivate a healthy social life outside of the office. Fraternization often turns into a gripe fest that does little to improve the atmosphere.

Government is perpetually 20-30 years behind the curve in terms of any technological
  plus... or methodological revolutions, so be prepared to watch your modern skills rust and molder from disuse as you pore over operation manuals for applications from decades past.

The best and worst parts of the job are the same: the work is predictable. If you have zero ambition and aren't interested in any vertical movement internally, then going to work and doing exactly the same thing every day there is for you. Otherwise, you'll find the prospect of dragging yourself out of bed to spend your day, plagued with ennui and talking to cardboard cutout government drones, very difficult to stomach in the long term.

The management style is entirely incompetent. "I don't like it, change it" is about all the feedback you'll ever receive, even if you directly ask for assistance or more in-depth criticism to assist your growth. Management also asked a series of inappropriate questions regarding the frequency I went to use the rest room. Any of my requests for ergonomic accommodation were ignored. Apparently, offended and uncomfortable workers are sufficient to get the job done.

Unless you're wiling away the final few years of your working life, stay away at all costs. Unless you want to get ahead by backstabbing colleagues, never do any real work, and be decades behind the curve, you owe it to yourself to find something better. It's not even worth it as a stopgap job.

Government work just isn't for me. From what I've seen, it ends up sucking the life out of everyone.
  moins
Points positifs
Consistent work tasks
Points négatifs
Little/no feedback, poor direction, incompetent management, very little opportunity to advance, behind the curve technologically, no opportunity to refine existing skills, rude and inappropriate managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Long days however helping people very satisfying.
Executive/Constituent Assistant (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, Confederation Building12 juillet 2015
Day starts early, ends late. A lot of travelling. Great satisfaction when I can help people.Learned alot about government policies.
Points positifs
helping people
Points négatifs
long hours and travelling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 63 avis
516
424
316
25
12

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise