Government of Newfoundland and Labrador - Avis

Trouvé 58 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 61 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Service NL- messy inspection department
Boiler Inspector (Ancien employé) –  Service NL10 juillet 2019
I worked with SNL years ago as I boiler inspector and it was a decent job with a great learning curve and lots of exposure to industry. I left and worked private industry for 6 years and when things dried up I returned to my old job to find out it was 20x worse now.. I was offered a market adjustment of $4.95 hr extra-on my offer letter. I received it for a short time and was then removed. The hr department indicated they made admin error on my letter and the market adjustment cannot be paid hourly rather by a cheque at the end of the year ( non pensionable , non overtime , non travel time). In order to get the cheque you have to sign a contract and if you leave you have to pay it all back. None of this info provided prior to hire!! After learning this I went to the union with little luck and a gave up fighting as the atmosphere in the office was terrible and everyone is over worked and unhappy. There is supposed to be 4 inspectors on the Avalon and there was only 1 when I came. They are 3000 inspections overdue and the public contractors and owners struggle to get inspections what the manpower shortage. The department needs a serious overhaul. I left my position due to the money issue and poor, unorganized stressful environment. Anyone applying be weary of the offer and environment.
Points positifs
Hours / holidays
Points négatifs
Money poor/ misleading hr/ understaffed / poor morale
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job
Mailroom Clerk (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL5 juillet 2019
Working at the Provincial Goverment mailroom was a thoroughly positive experience. Not overly strenuous, good pay. Only flaw is the unionized nature of the workplace, very easy to get bumped from a job.
Points positifs
Fairly Easy, Good Pay, Comfortable Environment
Points négatifs
Slight Lack of Job Security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Management and great pay
Clerk Typist III (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL18 mai 2019
While working with the government of newfoundland, I had a great experience. My manager not only showed me new things but she was also very supportive. I would gladly work there again. In the run of an average day, the hours were fantastic, environment was comfortable. The only complaint was that was that it was very far to get to and from.

The team I worked with were amazing.
Points positifs
great pay, very supportive environment, lots to learn.
Points négatifs
only temporary. other than that it was a fantastic job!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Interesting, wonderful career
Program Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL24 janvier 2019
Flexible work hours with shift work and Monday to Friday schedules.
Interesting learning opportunities with a second language and multi-disciplinary team members.
Wonderful staff and students including other school teams in the same building.
Friendly cooperative work environment with state of the art building designed for maximum benefit to the students and staff.
Points positifs
Dietitian on satff
Points négatifs
Now closed
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work as a health professional. The office was small and quiet with a great working atmosphere.
Environmental Health Officer (Employé actuel) –  Marystown, NL31 octobre 2018
Approximately 50-50 with field and office work. Sometimes long distances to travel for field inspections and sometimes have to accommodate travelling on short notice.
Points positifs
Paid travel and accommodations when required.
Points négatifs
Use personal vehicle for work and quickly accumulate kms.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job
Engineering Co-op Student(Former Employee) (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL28 juin 2018
People are nice and respectful of others. A good place to work. Stable, secure and reasonable pay. At times it became repetitive and boring. The work is not exactly fun so make sure you're being located with people you like.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
very heavy workload
Client Service Officer (Ancien employé) –  Gander, NL12 juin 2018
There was not enough time for client interaction do to the heavy call and case load. I am a more hands on social worker and I did not enjoy the call center feel of the position
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Summer Student Employment
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL26 mars 2018
Great working as a administrative assistant for a couple summers. Very easy to get along with staff and they are very appreciative of all the things you do for them.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and great leaning envirnment
Engineer Technologist Assistant (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL6 février 2018
My summer spent at Transportation and Works was a work term experience. I was not only given the opportunity to work in the lab but I was also given a good taste of what happens in the filed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok place to work.
Maintenance Technician (Employé actuel) –  Burin, NL1 février 2018
Management is good where I work, the hardest part is not being challenged by the position. The most enjoyable part is the freedom we experience on a daily basis.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Review
Inspection Supervisor - Eng Tech II (Employé actuel) –  Grand Falls-Windsor, NL16 décembre 2017
Overall the staff are friendly, no room for advancement and no job security because working for the government and they're broke.

Good place too work for short period of time too understand how the government operates so that you can take your experience into the private sector.
Points positifs
Ability to learn new things
Points négatifs
Pay is not enough to live on
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Professional Work Environment
Occupational Health & Safety Student (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL7 novembre 2017
Great place to work, very flexible on work hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was visiting departments and meeting new people. Great management and mentors.
Points positifs
Summer hours
Points négatifs
parking
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work experience, continually learning new skills, safe work environment.
Administrative Assistant (Contract) (Ancien employé) –  St. John's, NL3 octobre 2017
A typical day started at 8 and finished when all the work was done.
Management encouraged upgrading of computer skills.
Interacting with people was the best part of the job.
Not being able to help everyone who contacted our offices was the hardest part.
Most important thing I learned was to treat the janitor with the same respect as management and to thank people for their efforts at the end of every day.
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work days are very busy and time management is critical.
Social Worker 1, Department of CSSD (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, NL10 août 2017
The department of CSSD is a great place to develop a broad range of social work skills. It is also a place to familiarize yourself and other services that are available in the community.
Points positifs
You can make a positive impact on some of the most marginalized people in the province.
Points négatifs
The work is never done
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed the work, my office and supervisors
Storekeeper II (Ancien employé) –  Clarenville, NL22 juin 2017
Started as a Stockhandler, Physically receiving and checking goods/restocking shelves/filling orders for garage and units. Physically demanding and not enough help. Good relationship with fellow employees

Advanced to Storekeeper I, Did internal ordering of goods for unit garages and stock rooms using Oracle Inventory system/filling orders electronically for main garage/occasionally pick parts for mechanics.

Advanced to Storekeeper II. Estimate stock needs and order same/receipt goods into system/complete surveys for Government Purchasing/matched invoices and packing slips with Purchase Orders and certified for payment/maintained expediting procedure to ensure timely receipt of goods on order/run various reports/Problem solving as needed/act as supervisor for stockroom. Very fast pace. No immediate Supervisor for stockroom meant I was the "goto person" and required much problem solving for stockroom employees, invoice department and outside companies as well. The hardest part of the job was dealing with employees less than eager to work. The most enjoyable thing was the construction of my new office. Since a new office had to be constructed, it was built to my own specifications and even though it was an office within the stockroom it still provided a quite and clean atmosphere. I also appreciated the relationships built with my supervisors over a period of time.
Points positifs
Good relationship with supervisors, give and take situation
Points négatifs
Not enough help
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Highways Maintenance Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Lethbridge, NL13 juin 2017
Learned a lot about equipment and equipment operation while working there. Decent management, excellent supervisor. Supervisor was well organized. Some good fellow workers, and some not so good, workplace culture was overall good. Not much of a life during the winter season. Most enjoyable part of the job was when I could do something good for the public.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A day at work
clerk IV (Employé actuel) –  St. John's, NL2 juin 2017
Well there is quiet a variety of duties these days with all the cut backs, but we still do our best to "enjoy" our day. Everyone is encouraged to take a little stretch of the legs so it gives us the opportunity to have a little chat as well..........how was your weekend.......how was your evening.......how is your family, etc. this being said, work is very busy and I enjoy as I usually don't realize its time to head home. We could be expected to process a variety of applications, serve the general public, issue permits. Every day is a new work day. I enjoy this as much as I enjoy doing just the one job. I have done both ways since starting here. I feel I'm ready for a change.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Data Entry Operator (Employé actuel) –  Newfoundland and Labrador31 mai 2017
Enjoy the day to day challenges.

A typical day consists of data entry and fact checking.

Workplace is ergonomic and safety is always a top priority.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to work
Youth Corrections/Youth Servces Worker (Employé actuel) –  Marystown, NL24 avril 2017
Organized branch of government
very professional
good atmosphere
supportive staff
trained well
kept informed
stress importance of self care
safe environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good pay Bad Bureaucracy
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Newfoundland and Labrador13 avril 2017
Many good co workers with and good pay. And some good training was provided.

Management and the union to slow to make any decision, even time sensitive issues. Common for management to pass the buck and play games than make a decision.
Points positifs
Pay rate
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 61 avis
516
423
315
25
12

Notes par catégorie

4,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,5Direction
3,4Culture d'entreprise