Bouton de lecture vidéo YouTube
Gordon Food Service
Recevez de nouvelles offres d'emploi et avis chaque semaine!

Avis des employés pour Order Picker chez Gordon Food Service

Intitulé du poste
Order Picker37 avis
Lieu
Canada37 avis
37 avis correspondant à votre recherche
Voir les 1 520 avis
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall Gordon foods is an excellent place to work if you have a strong work ethic. You have to work really hard but you are rewarded for. The only downfall is that there a few leadhands, supervisions and even the main supervisor who really are not good with employees at all. They in my opinion are why the turnover is so high; if you keep quiet do your work and just ignore their ignorance you’ll be ok
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I definitely learned to be more detail oriented. The management team were filled with good people and my co-workers were helpful and knowledgeable. The hardest part was the first month but then you get the hang of things. The most enjoyable part was how satisfying my pallets were. Would definitely work there again.
Points positifs
Staff BBQs, Incentive
Points négatifs
During summer you can expect longer hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable place, treated great and with respect, good wage. Tough job but the challenge makes it interesting. I really like almost every person I work with
Points positifs
Incentives, challenging and treated fairly
Points négatifs
Physical job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This role is very physical and your body doesn't get much chance to rest as hours are long. Work life balance can be hard to figure out but the benefits and incentives are a huge bonus and is worth the hard work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
7 février 2020
We appreciate your feedback and your rating!

The order selector role is a physical role, which is the main reason we have an extremely robust interview and selection process to ensure all candidates are aware of the physicality. Once in the job, order selectors go through an extensive training program to ensure they learn how to safely, and efficiently select orders.


GFS Milton also holds monthly warehouse council meetings, that allow management and HR to hear directly from employees on how we can improve work process, programs and benefits. Work-life balance is extremely important to GFS and we pride ourselves on being a family-run organization.


We appreciate your feedback and welcome any further suggestions.


Thank You
Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment
Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you need a job with a decent pay and benefits but you don't care about being treated like garbage come and work for this guy's , not to mention that if you are not white Canadian , you will never have a chance to move up




chance



white Canadian you will never have any chance to move up
Points positifs
Salary and benefits
Points négatifs
Operations manager is bias and racist
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
There's a learning curve to order selection, but if it's not your thing, there's other positions you can do. Good pay + monthly incentive checks that could reach $1400 net for selection. You get what you put in, go at the pace you're comfortable because with the amount of boxes you pick, it can wear out your back.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
7 février 2020
Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your personal experience and opinion.

You are correct in that there is a learning curve to selection and we take pride in provide a robust training program and continuously learning program in place to reduce that learning curve as much as possible. We also agree that order selectors are compensated fairly for their work. This is something we pride ourselves in at GFS.


The order selector role is very physical, which is why we have put several practices in place to help continuously train order selectors how to safely, efficiently, and accurately select cases. We also ensure that all candidates are aware of the physicality during our application process.


As always, we appreciate your feedback!
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The potential to make great money is there. However there are a few big risks you are taking, including the physically demanding time crunch that is involved with it. You essentially make the base pay per hour, however until you get on what they call, Formula, you are constantly bounced between zones and have to stay for your entire shift even if you pick the same amount they do. Once you are on Formula you are required to do essentially 12-16 hrs of Selection in an estimated time of 10 hrs or less with few errors in your selection process or they remove you from the system. If you are not a physically fit individual then the base pay is still great as well as the benefits, but if you are ready to put your body through it then i suggest pushing yourself safely to the formula role, i mean who wouldn't want to get paid for 14 hrs and only work for 10 or less.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review and feedback! We are glad to hear that you are happy with our compensation program. We believe our total rewards program is competitive within the market and we take steps to ensure we remain competitive year over year. We recognize the physical demands of the job, and we absolutely agree that safety is most important and comes before all else.

Thank you again and we appreciate all of your hard work!
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cannot stress enough about how bad this place is . The wage is decent as well as the benefits, but that is all . Morale is super low and the workload is too much . The expectations are too high , therefore people get burned out very quickly. The management style is push till you break and then replace you .
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I'm from fast paced environment, before i got hired as order selector the only hardest part for me is to locate which item you need, BUT! We have a machine that called "Zebra scanner" that will help you a lot from the day that you started, i enjoyed every second working here, people are awesome specially team leads ;) tbh not all of them but MOST of them! Trainer? Yes they have order selector trainers and Norm helped me a lot to understand every single thing! They'll teach you all the right and hard way ofcourse its all up to you to learn the fast and easy way. Overtime? Yeaaaah! You'll get overtime all the time but yhy don't force you to do it. To be honest i have a lot to say but i can't see what I'm typing right now because i wrote a lot.. Hahah Overall I'm so happy for my de ision that i applied here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you love working at Gordon Food Service as much as we do! We will be sure to let Norm know how much you appreciate how he helped you understand our processes. We appreciate all of your hard work in the warehouse and are excited to see our employees grow.

Keep up the great work and we look forward to the year ahead!
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Shifts aren't good. Company bring in seminars to help you balance your work and life as if they dont understand the shift hours that are forced upon you are the problem. You are just a number. Went from having a boys club leadership to a girls club leadership under the current President. Company experiences growth every year which would be good if the people running the company knew how to handle that growth. Morale is always extremely low in the warehouse and will bring you down. Your opinion is heard but doesn't matter. It's the illusion of your opinion mattering. Even if you have a note saying you cant work a couple days you will be written up for missing work. You can't be human and get sick or injured. Forced overtime.

You will be selling your soul to the company store. They will own you and treat you as such.
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Barely ever see your own family, You are just a number, Your safety is not really a priority as they claim.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
24 avril 2019
Thank You for your comment.

GFS takes pride in offering a family-friendly culture that balances both home and work life. While we appreciate your opinion, we must disagree on a few points. We pride ourselves in having a diverse leadership group, comprised of both men and women. This leadership group together, creates a balanced look at how to efficiently and profitably run an organization.


We must also disagree that 'morale is always extremely low in the warehouse', as this contradicts the results we receive from our employee opinion surveys. However, we do appreciate your comments and take them very seriously, and we will be looking into each of them.


Thank You
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
They promise you will have the best benefits after three month, but before 3 month they kick you out. I got injured there, I could not move my hand for 6 month. I applied in WCB and of course GFS said I did not accept that and also of course WCB supports companies always and they did not give me anything. They destroyed my life.
If you feel yourself a good slave this company is the best for you.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
the job is good here the thing i didn't like is when you ask to explain how to built pallets they won't explain to you not helpful i advise people not to work here.
Points positifs
great wage
Points négatifs
too much overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
i worked there for 2 years and they had a good lunch program, good training, i left because some of us found out someone who was there for 6 months was making more then us and talk to me super and nothing was done and i left the job
Points positifs
had a good lunch program
Points négatifs
super long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Your day consists of filling out orders and picking up boxes and stacking them the right way, the days usually go by pretty fast, you get a good amount of time for breaks

you constantly have to keep yourself working hard to keep up with quotas.


The majority of workers in the warehouse are good people and are quite friendly


hardest part of the job is continuously doing the same thing everyday,moving fast all day long and working long hours if needed


some enjoyable parts of the job are getting to know the other employees and honestly just working hard


working in the warehouse you have to start night shift so don't go in

expecting to get a day time shift
Points positifs
if you like overtime this is the place to be, great benefits
Points négatifs
expected to stay after long hours and looked down upon if you never take overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to work. It is a high paced busy environment which requires ambition and drive to complete to the job effectively. Trainers are always available to assist.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019
We appreciate this feedback and will continue to ensure that our trainers/leaders are available and always willing to assist and train employees in the most effective way.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
the hours and money was good but thats pretty much the reason to stay there the company has a high turnover rate and thats the reason why not many people stay there longer then 4 months
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019
Hello, and thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your feedback and concerns. We would like to correct the statement that we have a high turnover rate. While we will not disclose our official turnover rate, we can confirm that the statement regarding many people not staying longer than 4 months is inaccurate and false. We maintain our position as an employer of choice and one that embodies a great culture.


Thank You
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Rf scanners never function properly, forced overtime, 4-5 coworkers injured every week some minor like back strains others serious like torn biceps, nerve damage, permanent joint damage. Unsafe place to work, I watched an employee rush at another guy to fight him in front of the warehouse head and absolutely no disiplinary action was taken because the attacker was fast at his job. You don't matter to the company you are literally just your employee number to them.
Points positifs
There was an ice cream day
Points négatifs
Youre just a number
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019
Thank you for your comment.

We take your concerns and the concerns of other employees very seriously.


We would like to correct your statement regarding '4-5 coworkers injured every week', as this is not a fact the Company can support with any accuracy. We apologize if you felt it was an unsafe work environment. We take pride in our safety measures, and ensure all employees are equipped with safety training from the first day they are on-boarded with the organization. We also ensure safety is a key priority in all departments and roles within the organization.


We are unable to verify your comment regarding the employee that fought in the warehouse and that no disciplinary action was taken. Any and all disciplinary action is confidential and we strive to ensure the privacy of all employees is strictly kept.


Every employee at GFS matters and is important to the overall success and sustainability of the organization.


We regret you feel this way and wish you the best in your future endeavors.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Incentivised to go faster and perform better but some external issue can affect your ability to complete your job on time. Great pay and benefits but are real toll on the body.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
3 avril 2019
Thank you for your comment, and we appreciate your feedback. Please continue to bring forward any and all feedback to management and/or HR, so we can effectively and collaboratively work on providing you with the best employee experience.

Thank You
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
First day in the group interview and I was ready to walk out as soon as they said everyone starts doing graveyard shifts and advance from there. They also said the minimum grind is about 2 years before you can get regular shifts. I mean this may be perfect for some people given their circumstances and situations but not for me. As a company that promotes healthy lifestyle. You shouldn't have people running graveyard freezer shifts.. Also the performance based incentives bonuses is really bad as it focuses on individuals rather than a whole as a team.
Points positifs
Potential future growth
Points négatifs
Incentives based bonuses that focus individually.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Standard warehouse work with competitive rates. Very "yesman" orientated, meaning there's room for advancement If you have a robotic work ethic. Easy work for the pay but don't have a mind of your own or they will find ways to terminate you.
Points positifs
food discounts
Points négatifs
improperly managed, asvancement basee on who you know and not based on abilities.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management does not have a clue and micro manages, I would say moral is low but there is none. Very hard work and get treated like garbage. 90% of the shifts are at night and very toxic environment with very selfish peers. Work out of back of truck or in the warehouse and inhale toxins all the time from the pesticides, great place to get cancer. They have a revolving door and are constantly hiring.
Points positifs
None.
Points négatifs
Long Hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?