Bouton de lecture vidéo YouTube
Gordon Food Service
Recevez de nouvelles offres d'emploi et avis chaque semaine!

Avis des employés pour Gordon Food Service - Milton, ON

Intitulé du poste
Tous
Lieu
Milton, ON72 avis
72 avis correspondant à votre recherche
Voir les 1 520 avis
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The co-workers are amazing, the culture is really good, but the supervisors 1/3 are good and 2/3 are bad, be careful.

You are a number so beware of the "Hey Buddy/Pal/Big Guy" supervisors. They will try and bully you into taking extra shifts and overtime you do not want. If you help them out they will forget.


The training is the best you will get in the industry, other drivers are helpful and encourage you to stick with it
Points positifs
Overtime available, driver appreciation, good training
Points négatifs
Long shifts, supervisors are sneaky
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Im a a-z driver and I have had the best experience here. Everyone is ready to help you out and get the job done. You are getting paid to work out. Nothing bad to say at all .
Points positifs
Steady
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
this company tried to ruin my next employment due to the fact they were losing an AZ driver. That sidhu in HR and his team are evil. I got injured and bc i found a better job i moved on and let go of wsib. They called my next employer and said im a lier. Lol i still got the job mr.sidhu. for all those lifting 20k pounds a day and saying they make more than owner operators don't know anything about trucking. Hiring process is long and boring.
Points positifs
Free food
Points négatifs
everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The job is hard, but rewarding! Interacting with the customers, sharing laughs with your coworkers. A very friendly atmosphere. Management is very helpful, if you need to get a hold of anyone there is always someone waiting to answer the phone.
Points positifs
Great pay, great people, new equipment, great benefits, growth in company
Points négatifs
Hard work, long hours when you first start on your own
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment
Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Gordon Food Service changed my life and the way I view work. Driving with GFS developed my navigational sense of the GTA and they management cared about our wellbeing. The pay was fair and over-time was easy to get.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall Gordon foods is an excellent place to work if you have a strong work ethic. You have to work really hard but you are rewarded for. The only downfall is that there a few leadhands, supervisions and even the main supervisor who really are not good with employees at all. They in my opinion are why the turnover is so high; if you keep quiet do your work and just ignore their ignorance you’ll be ok
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
GFS is a national company and with that comes the complexities of such as large workplace. The leadership has a family-based leadership style that rewards employees who are hard workers and who are loyal. Because the workplace is so large, the usual conflicts happen but are usually a result of mis-communication and can be resolved easily if everyone stays calm and talks to each other. The workplace culture is a combination of family values, safety focus and productivity. It is an excellent place to work where you can do very well.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was always amazing working there. Nice supportive staff with enough opportunities of growth. They provide good salaries for the beginners and train the freshers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
7 février 2020
Thank you so much for your comment and rating!

We echo your thoughts around how amazing it is to work at GFS, and we work hard everyday to continue this engagement. We work tirelessly to ensure that employees have ample opportunities to advance and grow, ensure competitive and fair salaries, as well as well-rounded and effective training.


Thank You so much!!
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Orientation they say one thing, on the floor working is totally different. Very dangerous practices, that have zero consequences. Speed based job. No union = no job security. Zero safety and reckless environment
Points positifs
Quick days
Points négatifs
Management, culture, hours, industry, lack of safety, speed first-safety LAST Mentality.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
7 février 2020
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you felt this way during your time with us at GFS. As a company, we take pride in our safety practices and measures. Safety is our number one priority and our dedicated Health and Safety Manager, as well as our Safety and Wellness team review trends, injuries and preventative and proactive measures on a regular basis.


The feedback we have collected and receive do not reflect your comments above. Our policies, corrective measures, and disciplinary practices are reflective of an overall safe working environment. This is also reflective in our bi-annual employee opinion surveys where we review how employees perceive and feel about safety at GFS.


We do hope that you have shares specific examples with your direct supervisor prior to leaving, as we are always looking at ways to improve.


Again, thank you for your feedback and please do not hesitate to reach out to the Ontario HR team should you wish to discuss further.
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This role is very physical and your body doesn't get much chance to rest as hours are long. Work life balance can be hard to figure out but the benefits and incentives are a huge bonus and is worth the hard work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
7 février 2020
We appreciate your feedback and your rating!

The order selector role is a physical role, which is the main reason we have an extremely robust interview and selection process to ensure all candidates are aware of the physicality. Once in the job, order selectors go through an extensive training program to ensure they learn how to safely, and efficiently select orders.


GFS Milton also holds monthly warehouse council meetings, that allow management and HR to hear directly from employees on how we can improve work process, programs and benefits. Work-life balance is extremely important to GFS and we pride ourselves on being a family-run organization.


We appreciate your feedback and welcome any further suggestions.


Thank You
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
There's a learning curve to order selection, but if it's not your thing, there's other positions you can do. Good pay + monthly incentive checks that could reach $1400 net for selection. You get what you put in, go at the pace you're comfortable because with the amount of boxes you pick, it can wear out your back.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
7 février 2020
Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your personal experience and opinion.

You are correct in that there is a learning curve to selection and we take pride in provide a robust training program and continuously learning program in place to reduce that learning curve as much as possible. We also agree that order selectors are compensated fairly for their work. This is something we pride ourselves in at GFS.


The order selector role is very physical, which is why we have put several practices in place to help continuously train order selectors how to safely, efficiently, and accurately select cases. We also ensure that all candidates are aware of the physicality during our application process.


As always, we appreciate your feedback!
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The work is very hard but they pay good. I always enjoyed working in GFS. If you don't want to see your supervisor, GFS is good place to work. I start my shift by doing my paper work, pre-trip my truck and i will be on my way to do my delivery. I don't hear anything from my supervisor as long as i do my delivery properly. We usually work 4 days a week but you have option to do extra shift.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that you enjoy your position as a driver with us! Know that although you are on the road, should you wish, your supervisor is always available to you at any time.

We appreciate your hard work!
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The potential to make great money is there. However there are a few big risks you are taking, including the physically demanding time crunch that is involved with it. You essentially make the base pay per hour, however until you get on what they call, Formula, you are constantly bounced between zones and have to stay for your entire shift even if you pick the same amount they do. Once you are on Formula you are required to do essentially 12-16 hrs of Selection in an estimated time of 10 hrs or less with few errors in your selection process or they remove you from the system. If you are not a physically fit individual then the base pay is still great as well as the benefits, but if you are ready to put your body through it then i suggest pushing yourself safely to the formula role, i mean who wouldn't want to get paid for 14 hrs and only work for 10 or less.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review and feedback! We are glad to hear that you are happy with our compensation program. We believe our total rewards program is competitive within the market and we take steps to ensure we remain competitive year over year. We recognize the physical demands of the job, and we absolutely agree that safety is most important and comes before all else.

Thank you again and we appreciate all of your hard work!
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
culture is horrible although they post tons of pictures to make it look like it is amazing. teachers pets are the only ones who are ever promoted. Dont bother applying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time while you were here. We have a very strong culture here based on our cornerstone values and we regret that you did not experience this in a positive way. We pride ourselves in being consistent in our hiring practices and ensure recruitment is fair and equitable. We encourage applicants to apply directly online through our career portal, and one of our talented recruiters will review your resume.
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I'm from fast paced environment, before i got hired as order selector the only hardest part for me is to locate which item you need, BUT! We have a machine that called "Zebra scanner" that will help you a lot from the day that you started, i enjoyed every second working here, people are awesome specially team leads ;) tbh not all of them but MOST of them! Trainer? Yes they have order selector trainers and Norm helped me a lot to understand every single thing! They'll teach you all the right and hard way ofcourse its all up to you to learn the fast and easy way. Overtime? Yeaaaah! You'll get overtime all the time but yhy don't force you to do it. To be honest i have a lot to say but i can't see what I'm typing right now because i wrote a lot.. Hahah Overall I'm so happy for my de ision that i applied here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you love working at Gordon Food Service as much as we do! We will be sure to let Norm know how much you appreciate how he helped you understand our processes. We appreciate all of your hard work in the warehouse and are excited to see our employees grow.

Keep up the great work and we look forward to the year ahead!
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very good training but that’s where it stops. There are no routes for G drivers, for Majority of the time you will be a float driver, meaning you will be assisting other Driver’s off loading vans, trucks and trailers, occasionally get a route for yourself. The perfect example of this job is a warehouse on wheels. This is not a bump a dock or drop and run job. You will need to painstakingly Search, scan and load your dolly, down the ramp at the back of your truck. Pulling loaded dolly upstairs or down stairs into basement, whilst trying to catch your balance on slippery kitchen floors. Don’t be tempted by Free AZ upgrade, rather get your AZ prior and gain experience there. All the best......
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that your training was a positive experience. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time here. During our recruitment process, we ensure that our applicants are aware that our driving positions are physically demanding. We also make sure that our customers have a safe drop off area. We also ensure that all employees are trained how to do their job safely and efficiently. Safety is our number one priority. However, we regret you did not have the absolute best experience here, and we will therefore take your comments to our transportation team to review.

Thank you.
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company to work for.. I love GFS and would highly recommend Az licence holders to work for this amazing company...................................................
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoy working with us. We appreciate all of your hard work and dedication. We also want candidates to know that we offer a tuition reimbursement program where we will subsidize the cost of your AZ license to eligible employees.

Keep up the good work!
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management will tell you anything you want to hear. Then stab you in the back any chance they get to save their own mistakes. The ONLY good thing about this job is the money.
Points positifs
Free linches sometimes
Points négatifs
long hours, blamed for things you didn't do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
5 décembre 2019
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the compensation program. We ensure that we compensate all of our employees equitably and fairly. We are however very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with the management team. Our managers practice servant leadership, which is a philosophy where the main goal of our leaders is to serve their employees. We also believe there are more good things about the order selector role then just the compensation such as our comprehensive benefits package, our tuition reimbursement program, our RRSP matching program, profit sharing, vacation & Lieu days and our overall amazing culture which includes a number of family friendly social events throughout the year.

Thank you for your feedback.
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's true that the job of a sales-service delivery driver at Gordon Food Service is really physically demanding; but the compensation is beyond fair. I would even say it's extremely generous considering the work we do. I have been in the trucking industry for years and am aware of what else is out there. I do not believe I could earn more money anywhere else in trucking, unless I decided to take on the responsibility of buying my own truck, and ran it constantly. I make more money as a company driver at GFS than a few of my friends do who are owner-operators without the stress. Although our schedule is four days on/three days off, there are currently unlimited opportunities for overtime as we continue to grow and expand. I cleared six figures in my first full year at GFS. I definitely worked extremely hard to earn that; but it is possible. A big differentiator between us and our competitors is that GFS rewards drivers for their performance. We do not get paid hourly. All of our routes are designed to take 10 hours and every driver is home everyday. Our compensation formula takes into account number of kilometres driven, number of stops, etc. While safety is always our number one priority (safety bonuses are even paid to drivers quarterly) and our second most important priority is maintaining a high quality customer service experience, we do not miss out on any money if we are finished our route in 8, or even 6 hours. The drivers who do really well at GFS are those who are hardworking and self-motivated. The work is difficult but is very rewarding! Our benefits are top notch, - plus...
Points positifs
Generous compensation, rewarding work, support and appreciation
Points négatifs
Physically demanding, challenging and stressful at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
17 juin 2019
Thank you for your feedback and review!

We echo your comments surrounding safety, high-quality customer service, work-life balance and quality of life, and total compensation package. At GFS, we strive to ensure every employee receives a well-rounded experience because we are a family company!


Keep up the great work!
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Shifts aren't good. Company bring in seminars to help you balance your work and life as if they dont understand the shift hours that are forced upon you are the problem. You are just a number. Went from having a boys club leadership to a girls club leadership under the current President. Company experiences growth every year which would be good if the people running the company knew how to handle that growth. Morale is always extremely low in the warehouse and will bring you down. Your opinion is heard but doesn't matter. It's the illusion of your opinion mattering. Even if you have a note saying you cant work a couple days you will be written up for missing work. You can't be human and get sick or injured. Forced overtime.

You will be selling your soul to the company store. They will own you and treat you as such.
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Barely ever see your own family, You are just a number, Your safety is not really a priority as they claim.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
24 avril 2019
Thank You for your comment.

GFS takes pride in offering a family-friendly culture that balances both home and work life. While we appreciate your opinion, we must disagree on a few points. We pride ourselves in having a diverse leadership group, comprised of both men and women. This leadership group together, creates a balanced look at how to efficiently and profitably run an organization.


We must also disagree that 'morale is always extremely low in the warehouse', as this contradicts the results we receive from our employee opinion surveys. However, we do appreciate your comments and take them very seriously, and we will be looking into each of them.


Thank You
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good training programs. It was a good experience with this company as a new AZ driver . Benifits are good .I don't think pays really good but average. Employees are brain washed by management.
Supervisors are with fake smiles .

This job is good for year or two .

Back injured or shoulder s get injured.

It's a general labourer job .
Points positifs
Best training and benifits
Points négatifs
Cheap pay to get injured
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
24 avril 2019
Thank you for your comments.

We regret you didn't have an exceptional experience with us and decided to rate us 1.0. We thank you for commending our training programs and benefits. While we do not believe 'employees are brainwashed by management', and 'supervisors are with fake smiles', we will look into your comments regarding injuries. Safety is the most important aspect of our work and we will continue to ensure that it is at the forefront of all leadership and employee's daily work.


Thank You