Gordon Food Service - Avis

Trouvé 178 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 1 211 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great firm to begin with
District Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB23 juillet 2019
Amazing place to work at lots to learn and grow. Good benefits and great culture at Gordon Food Services. Fun productive amazing coworkers.
Sales team play a great role in motivating and leadership.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Treat humans like machines
Forklift Operator (Employé actuel) –  Amherst, NS19 juillet 2019
Dangerous place
Multiple injuries
They don’t have any care in the world about how the cases get out the door as long as it goes
Zero night shift rate
Zero cool climate rate
Management very disorganized
Never plan ahead
Extremely long hrs forced
Dirty / unsanitary
Work you till your injury is so bad you can’t work for a long period of time.
Points positifs
It’s a job
Points négatifs
Dangerous, long hrs, harsh conditions
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Sales Manager (Employé actuel) –  Alberta12 juillet 2019
Been with the company over 20 years in sales, came from the demanding world of food service. As everyone knows this industry is tough but if you like people, food and challenges this is a great place to make a great career. Being family owned and ran the values you believe are the same values the company wants you to bring to the industry and your clients
Points positifs
Good culture, good people great company to work for
Points négatifs
N/A
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast Pace and Good pay
Marketing Director (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB21 juin 2019
People are amazing to work with
Long hours but good pay
work hard and you will walk up the ladder
Great Benefits.
Hours varies due to job but usually flexible and they would accommodate your preference
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard Work & Big Money!
Truck Driver AZ (Sales-Service Delivery Driver) (Employé actuel) –  Milton, ON14 juin 2019
It's true that the job of a sales-service delivery driver at Gordon Food Service is really physically demanding; but the compensation is beyond fair. I would even say it's extremely generous considering the work we do. I have been in the trucking industry for years and am aware of what else is out there. I do not believe I could earn more money anywhere else in trucking, unless I decided to take on the responsibility of buying my own truck, and ran it constantly. I make more money as a company driver at GFS than a few of my friends do who are owner-operators without the stress. Although our schedule is four days on/three days off, there are currently unlimited opportunities for overtime as we continue to grow and expand. I cleared six figures in my first full year at GFS. I definitely worked extremely hard to earn that; but it is possible. A big differentiator between us and our competitors is that GFS rewards drivers for their performance. We do not get paid hourly. All of our routes are designed to take 10 hours and every driver is home everyday. Our compensation formula takes into account number of kilometres driven, number of stops, etc. While safety is always our number one priority (safety bonuses are even paid to drivers quarterly) and our second most important priority is maintaining a high quality customer service experience, we do not miss out on any money if we are finished our route in 8, or even 6 hours. The drivers who do really well at GFS are those who are hardworking and self-motivated. The work is difficult but is very rewarding! Our benefits are top notch,  plus... RRSP contributions are matched, and we are appreciated and supported. I am happy with my job at GFS and don't see myself doing anything else.  moins
Points positifs
Generous compensation, rewarding work, support and appreciation
Points négatifs
Physically demanding, challenging and stressful at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
17 juin 2019

Thank you for your feedback and review!

We echo your comments surrounding safety, high-quality customer service, work-life balance and quality of life, and total compensation package. At GFS, we strive to ensure every employee receives a well-rounded experience because we are a family company!

Keep up the great work!

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not Enough Training
Office (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB9 mai 2019
I found, like most big companies, just not enough training to feel confident in your position. Had there been more training, an employee would feel more confident and self-assured in his/her position.
When something happens, you aren't just hearing it from your boss, but about 50 others. Did not appreciate that.
Points positifs
Discounted product
Points négatifs
Too many chiefs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Getting worse
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Employé actuel) –  Delta, BC23 avril 2019
I want to start off saying that things used to be better when I started working here a number of years ago. The pay is still the same, the work is the same, the
change has been in Warehouse Leadership.

There was a time when we were staffed properly and leadership helped out the employees. If you're interested in working here, you'll find that they expect you to work until you drop from exhaustion and those same people won't move from the computer to help.

Their aim now is to get as many people in there, no matter what quality of worker you are. This has led to more injuries, more unsafe practices and more conflict in the workplace. This, coupled with the fact that you're already separated from normal people who work days, has led to more instances of open hostility between coworkers than I've ever seen anywhere else.

A couple of years ago, I would have absolutely recommended this place to start out a career. As it stands right now, I wouldn't wish this environment on anyone.

I was told when I first started that out here that our turnover rate about 1 in 3 people. Meaning 1 person in 3 new hires will not make it through the probation period. This was a flat out lie. The turnover rate is more accurately sitting around 4 in 5 people. Meaning that if you're new, no one who has been there for any amount of time will talk to you.

I could be writing this review all day. So in conclusion, I would like to just tell people to be wary of the lies they feed you and if you value your own happiness, just stay away. There are so many better career paths to take instead of
  plus... this one.  moins
Points positifs
Met some great friends along the way
Points négatifs
Too many to list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun people to work with, paycheque often miscalculated though.
Driver (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC22 avril 2019
I loved working here. My colleagues were mostly all great to work with. Enjoyed my route and all the connections I made. They often made mistakes on my paycheque and shorted me. It is very easy to rack up internal points and get fired, unfortunately. They will write you up for minor incidents whether your fault or not.
Points positifs
fun, positive environment
Points négatifs
paycheque errors constantly
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worker beware
Order Selector (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON20 avril 2019
Shifts aren't good. Company bring in seminars to help you balance your work and life as if they dont understand the shift hours that are forced upon you are the problem. You are just a number. Went from having a boys club leadership to a girls club leadership under the current President. Company experiences growth every year which would be good if the people running the company knew how to handle that growth. Morale is always extremely low in the warehouse and will bring you down. Your opinion is heard but doesn't matter. It's the illusion of your opinion mattering. Even if you have a note saying you cant work a couple days you will be written up for missing work. You can't be human and get sick or injured. Forced overtime.

You will be selling your soul to the company store. They will own you and treat you as such.
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Barely ever see your own family, You are just a number, Your safety is not really a priority as they claim.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19Non 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
24 avril 2019

Thank You for your comment.

GFS takes pride in offering a family-friendly culture that balances both home and work life. While we appreciate your opinion, we must disagree on a few points. We pride ourselves in having a diverse leadership group, comprised of both men and women. This leadership group together, creates a balanced look at how to efficiently and profitably run an organization.

We must also disagree that 'morale is always extremely low in the warehouse', as this contradicts the results we receive from our employee opinion surveys. However, we do appreciate your comments and take them very seriously, and we will be looking into each of them.

Thank You

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good company break your body
AZ Truck Driver (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON18 avril 2019
Good training programs. It was a good experience with this company as a new AZ driver . Benifits are good .I don't think pays really good but average. Employees are brain washed by management.
Supervisors are with fake smiles .
This job is good for year or two .
Back injured or shoulder s get injured.
It's a general labourer job .
Points positifs
Best training and benifits
Points négatifs
Cheap pay to get injured
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
24 avril 2019

Thank you for your comments.

We regret you didn't have an exceptional experience with us and decided to rate us 1.0. We thank you for commending our training programs and benefits. While we do not believe 'employees are brainwashed by management', and 'supervisors are with fake smiles', we will look into your comments regarding injuries. Safety is the most important aspect of our work and we will continue to ensure that it is at the forefront of all leadership and employee's daily work.

Thank You

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
They are looking for slaves
Order Selector (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC12 avril 2019
They promise you will have the best benefits after three month, but before 3 month they kick you out. I got injured there, I could not move my hand for 6 month. I applied in WCB and of course GFS said I did not accept that and also of course WCB supports companies always and they did not give me anything. They destroyed my life.
If you feel yourself a good slave this company is the best for you.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work at but watch for backstabbers
Az Driver (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON6 avril 2019
Gfs is a good place to work new equipment they pay for your AZ which is awesome but the handbombing will take a toll on your health , otherwise if you like it then hats off to you but I think they need to give there drivers a raise and be making more then $40/ hour
Points positifs
New equipment
Points négatifs
Not paid enough
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 3Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
8 avril 2019

Thank you very much for your comment and feedback. We do believe our total rewards program for drivers is competitive within market and we take steps to ensure we remain competitive year over year. We recognize the physical aspect of the job, however, have put measures in place to ensure employees are moving product safely and effectively. That being said, we take your comments seriously and always welcome suggestions for improvement directly from employees who are doing the job on a daily basis.

Thank You!

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fresh food services
Shipper & Receiver (Employé actuel) –  richond21 mars 2019
working here is great, they support you all the way and they have a great environment to learn. The best thing is that you learn a lot. People are very friendly.
Points positifs
fast pace environment
Points négatifs
no good wifi
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019

We appreciate your comment and will continue to ensure our environment is one filled with learning and support.

Thank you!

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Its a good job, flexible and pays really well.
Delivery Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB14 mars 2019
Just hard on the body. If you dont mind being outside everyday no matter the weather and possibly waking up 3 am shifts. Do it. The money makes it worth it!
Points positifs
Pays new drivers really well
Points négatifs
Hard on your body throughout the years
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019

Thank you for your comment! While we won't deny our transportation roles are quite physical, we can say with pride that we strive to offer a family-friendly culture and one that rewards for performance. We also ensure all employees are set up for success with proper training and tools to create a safe and productive approach to the physicality of the role. We appreciate your feedback!

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Environment for Self Starters
SALES CONSULTANT (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON10 février 2019
GFS is a great place to work of you are a self starter. It is important to understand that although you work alone there is a great network of support.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 juin 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we completely agree! We hold a very supportive culture that will assist employees who put in their best efforts. We like to use the phrase, that the role you are in can be anything you make it to be and self started typically do very well here given the space and autonomy to make it their own!

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
no life
Material Handler (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC30 janvier 2019
hard heavy work must be in shape typical day is like a big game of tetrus management is good couple issues work is very physical dont do it if you want to wake up feeling good every morning
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of money to be made if you don't plan on moving up
REACH TRUCK OPERATOR (Employé actuel) –  Milton, ON8 janvier 2019
You are able to make a lot of money during the peak season with overtime whenever you want, but standards never change even though the amount of congestion is constantly increasing. Management has the mentality that they've been there done that and you should be able to do it as well even though they were in your roll 10-15 years prior when the company was a tenth of the size. If you are good at your job, don't look for a promotion as upper management will try to keep you in the same roll to make themselves look good.

For the most part there are great people to work with, but because it has the kill or be killed mentality and everyone is trying to maximize how much they make without concern for other people or there safety.
Points positifs
Money, company appreciation, benefits
Points négatifs
Middle management, work-life balance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take the safety of our employees very seriously and apologize if you have ever felt your safety was at risk. We encourage you to bring your concerns forward to your supervisor, manager, or director or, directly to HR so we can assist in resolving your feedback in a timely manner. We appreciate all our employees and the feedback they provide us.

Thank You

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
i had fun
Swamper/Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Nanaimo, BC5 janvier 2019
i was in the trucks as a swamper and so i talked to a lot of long term and new drivers, there was not a lot of negative, they have fun and they get paid pretty decent. one of my favorite jobs ive had so far even though it was the definition of a lame temp job
Points positifs
employees seem happy
Points négatifs
long hours in trucks.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Sweatshop with no rewards
Project Manager (Contract) (Employé actuel) –  Milton, ON19 décembre 2018
Meh, IDK bro could be better. It's hard to soar with the eagles when you have to work with turkeys. Ah well, C'est la vie, back to the unemployment line.
Points positifs
Occasional free lunch, nice people working there
Points négatifs
sweatshop & cheap
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 6Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019

Thank you for your comment.

We regret you feel your time with us could have been better. We pride ourselves on our culture and our employees. We do not echo your comments and regret you have spoken about them in a less than professional manner. Our employees are what sustain us as a competitive organization and we work diligently to protect our culture and workplace. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Custodian
Custodian/Maintenance (Ancien employé) –  Milton, ON7 décembre 2018
Job as a custodian was ok at first but sooner or later it will worn you out because they would let you do everything. And sanitarian/custodians have big time back stabbers even the lead hand and managers.
Points positifs
Free food
Points négatifs
Back stabbers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 8Signaler
Réponse officielle de Gordon Food Service
27 mars 2019

Thank you for your comment and feedback. It is certainly not our intention for any employee to feel worn out, or not cared for. We take employee appreciation and concerns very seriously and strive to ensure all employees are treated fairly and equitably. We do feel that we have the appropriate leadership in place to foster a collaborative work culture.

Thank You and best of luck in your future endeavors.

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Gordon Food Service. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,6
D'après 1 211 avis
5336
4398
3240
2118
1119

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,2Direction
3,4Culture d'entreprise