GFL Environmental - Avis

Trouvé 138 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 153 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Truck Driver - Class 1 (Ancien employé) –  Red Deer, AB18 juillet 2019
Managers and coworkers at this location were great to work with. Very family oriented organization which provides an excellent work/life balance. I was very sad to leave my position however due to personal reasons I had to relocate to a different province. I will be applying to Gfl in Ontario in hopes it will be comparable to my experience at the Horn hill location.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Disrespectful - unsafe
wheel loader operator/ driver/ swamper (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, Alberta6 juillet 2019
I did an unsafe work refusal at their paint shop which had over 10 violations of a serious nature. I know because I was with the S.W. Alberta Safety Rep in the investigations. This made the supervisor unfortunately look stupid. I paid for that by in my opinion being pigeon holed.
Six months later I worked in a ergonomically unsound truck as a swamper and as a result after the 12 hour shift I spent 3 months on WCB. A week later the driver who was with me when my discomfort turned to injury was climbing into his truck using a 3 point contact when the steps of the truck gave way injuring him also. The last day of my WCB claim I was let go with no explanation. Never had a bad evaluation there. When I first started I was given Tim Horton Cards for doing a good job.
The employees I worked with were good people. High turnover and sad stories.
On several occasions it was reported that my passenger door was flying open on corners and bumps but nothing was done about it. I would go out as a swamper holding on for dear life in 13 hour shifts.
I feel safe in telling my story. I have not divulged any company practices as agreed by my signing just my story of 15 months there.
Further- the damage to my personal vehicle on their property 12 months ago has not even received a response with regard to what will be done -compensation or no compensation (DISRESPECTFUL)
Points positifs
nice fellow employees
Points négatifs
disrespectful / unsafe
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You have a guaranteed job as long as you can keep up with it.
Driver/Labourer (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON10 juin 2019
It’s a five star job for people who like working long days, typically 10-12, but you can pull in 14 depending on staff and weather, as well as your wants. Typically lots of overtime available. Monday-Friday work, other than the occasional Saturday, which you get a $75 incentive for.
There’s little to no room for advancement, and the advancement that becomes available typically isn’t worth it. Average pay per hour, great benefits package.
Stoney Creek location is unionized, however, the union is often not for the hard working employees that keep the place running. Location would be better off without a union.

People will say management is trash, but truth is, if you’re a good worker and good for them, they’re good to you. It’s a team job, but a lot of people don’t comprehend that. Everywhere could use improvement, but it’s a garbage company, it’s good for what it is.
Points positifs
Available, and paid overtime, guaranteed job.
Points négatifs
No advancement, hard on your body long term
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Toxic environment
Industrial sites services (Ancien employé) –  Bowmanville, ON23 mai 2019
Management will stretch workers as thin as possible, then expect more. They don't care about you or if you have a family only care about making money.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Everything about this place will suck you dry
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a good company especailly for the garbage division
Driver/ Thrower (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC23 mai 2019
I've been working for this company as a Waste Disposal Worker for about 11 months now and I have nothing good to say. This company allows the employees to run the opperations. All I have to say is..... if you are not liked, YOU WILL NOT LAST. There is so much work place harassment at this company that GFL should be investigated by the Labour Board of Canada.

Put it this way; If you are not willing to run while throwing garbage and are "stupid enough" to allow your co-workers to make you run because THEY ARE LAZY.... they will make your work environment TOXIC. Which in return will affect your personal life.
Points positifs
Hours (SITTING FOR 2-3 HOURS AT THE END OF THE DAY IS A BONOUS!!!!!!!!)
Points négatifs
This is something you need to find out for your self.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Greasy For Life
Operator (Employé actuel) –  Lethbridge, AB16 mai 2019
Worst company I have ever worked for. Poor management. Ran poorly by the CEO. Cut throat company with cut throat people. Everyone would throw you under the bus just to save themselves.
Points positifs
Flexible
Points négatifs
The entire company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
dont bother appying
Heavy Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB8 mai 2019
constantly expect everything for nothing.
management has no idea what the job entails and no equipment maintenance
atmosphere of garbage and ,sulfur and bodily waste.
no support
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Short stay, Great crew, still in development
Truck and Coach Technician Apprentice (Ancien employé) –  East York, ON7 mai 2019
I honestly didn't stay long, found it was not for me. The mechanics were great and were always willing to help. The East York depot is experiencing growing pains atm, but a great place to work otherwise.
Points négatifs
was given a night shift
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Illegal things happening below everyones noses
Specialist (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK2 mai 2019
Lazy Supervisors, no help is given whatsoever, management neglects to tell you issues and says it just isnt working out nothing further after politely asking. Water drivers are maxing out hours the surpassing them. Unsanitary work practices like supervisors urinating in an enclosed tent when outhouses are a short walk away.
Points positifs
Hours
Points négatifs
Spineless management, lack of
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Your life becomes 2nd priority
Driver/emergency responder (Ancien employé) –  Thunder Bay, ON1 mai 2019
Worse job so far. Horrible management, horrible staff, they play favourites. If they do you a favour itll be held above your head. Over worked and under paid. Expect you to run over your legal hours a day. Half assed process for everything. Do the job now and fill paperwork out later type of job. Nature of job is good. But seniority means nothing, one day hydro vaccing, next day delivering shitters. Management doesnt back employees up. Management takes credit for employees hard work. Barely ever a thank you. Expect no life with your family. Expect also to be owed a bunch of hours on every cheque. They expect the dog to do tricks, but dont give him any treats!!
Points positifs
Some other employees
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good work
Helped assisting trucks back out of small spaces (Ancien employé) –  Aurora, ON24 avril 2019
It is good work, good work out, good management, but it doesn't matter if the weather is good or not still got to go out for a full day. So sometimes you can be working in -30 sometimes you could be working is +40
Points positifs
meet new people, good work out
Points négatifs
poor weather conditions, hard labour, uneven breaks, not physically worth it to be a loader for a career
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay Away Not Worth the Effort!
Class 1 Driver (Ancien employé) –  Red Deer, AB18 avril 2019
Unfortunately when your hired on your told how good the company is blah blah blah. Your also told you would see raises after 3 months and then every year after that. This is not the case after working their 8 months I still did not see a raise and during a meeting we were told after running two trips a day 12-14 hr days that they wanted to see more effort from drivers to be considered for a raise. Hard to do when your running old equipment that is not maintained. The only time something was fixed was when the trucks or trailers were undrivable and it was taking from their pockets. The hours were good but with the new contract that all changed recently. Now your lucky to see 6-7 hours a day depending if you run the morning or afternoon shift, which means no overtime. Mornings your up any where between 2:00 and 3:00 AM. I also learned that the company does not follow their own policies and you can be let go for absolutely no reason at all. . The main management will delegate supervisor duties to whoever they think might be a good scapegoat and therefore makes it hard to know who to listen too as everyone seemed to think they were above you. The most enjoyable part of the job is not working their any more. Hard to run a trucking division with management who has no background in trucking!
Points positifs
some staff
Points négatifs
Shorter hours, smelling garbage all day, lack of maintenance on equipment, management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do not work here
FE Driver (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB16 avril 2019
Management is the worst. Reporting safety issues does you no good. Was told to just pick up your route or we will find someone else to do your job. Managers do not investigate incidents and tell drivers just to pay for them. HR does nothing to fix any problems you might have. If you have an issue that is making your performance go down, you better fix it yourself or they will find a way to fire you. Oh by the way, if you get fired, DO NOT expect to find another job because whoever answers calls from future employers will slander you. If you have personal issues that impact your driving, just put in your 2 week notice. You will be fired for having anxiety due to family life. They have no compassion for their employees, or do anything to help them. You are making a bad decision to work for this company.

Managers defiantly have favorites, and if your a immigrant...forget it.

Before you work here I suggest researching the Labour Board or Employment Standards.

The equipment breaks down constantly, but that is expected because you driving a heavy duty truck constantly hauling 8 tons to the dump 3 or 4 times a day (10 to 16 hrs a day).

Mechanic staff is the best part of the Winnipeg GFL. They are pretty awesome. They do the best with what they have. When I was there GFL could not pay for the outside work to be done on trucks, and I would go months without my assigned truck. Not mention they keep raising rates on commercial service and would not be surprised if that division was liquidated.
Points positifs
Mechanics are awesome
Points négatifs
everything else about this company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Finance
Accounts Payable (Employé actuel) –  Vaughan, ON13 avril 2019
Very poor management. No respect for employees. N9 career advancement. Don't quit your job over this company. Short vacation. Nothing good about this company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
working in all weather conditions
Driver (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON19 mars 2019
great job. working 4 days per week. Tuesday till Friday. but long hours are required and the ability to work in all weather conditions.
heavy lifting is required.
Points positifs
great pay
Points négatifs
long commute
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people to work beside, but hard work
Garbage Collector (Ancien employé) –  Aurora, ON19 mars 2019
This is a great place to work as employees all get along. The management is really bad and not understanding at all of personal life. Super hard work, but keeps you super fit. If you like hours you work about 50+ hours a week in 4 days.
Points positifs
Fun, keeps you fit, lots of money.
Points négatifs
Management, long hours, work in all weather conditions
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 7Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Another great job that is coming to an end , lack of job security.
Truck Driver (Employé actuel) –  Calgary Ab13 mars 2019
Wonderful job, people are great, work environment is wonderful. Unfortunately fluctuation in work availability, and poor equipment, make for inconsistent pay.
Points négatifs
Equipment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Current management are idiots and disrespectful!!
Supervisor/AZ/DZ driver (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON20 février 2019
Dont work here until management is replaced!!! Is a decent paying job with not so bad benefits but can all add to notta when you have such a disrespectful management team!! From the idiot district manager to the under achievement supervisors makes the job more demanding then what it is!!!
Points positifs
$ if yu like working long physical hours
Points négatifs
MANAGEMENT!! Back stabbers!!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 26Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No Respect
Applicant (Ancien employé) –  mississauga26 janvier 2019
I have applied for a job, with out a response. I understand that the job is labour intensive and may require some long hours. GFL seems to gain a lot of city contracts, but i question their hiring practices. I have yet to here from human resources. I have gotten a couple of emails for a telephone interview for a said date & time; I wait but no calls.. One can conclude this is how they value their staff..
If they value Not during my time, (waiting around for theme to call and beg them for a job) I question How do they value their employees?. Is it a safety a concern? will I be allowed to control my workload to prevent injury? It is a labour intensive job.

They promise a good pay after a year, I heard that before. I have worked union and non union jobs. and for good and bad employers.
If they cannot return a call or call when promised, > how trusted are their other promises.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 32Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
untrustworthy employment
Route Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Etobicoke, ON19 janvier 2019
GFL can be a great place to work, but sadly the upper management in the company do not care about its employees and simply work of the motto "what have you done for me lately". They have simply fired individuals under the "No Cause" rule due to hiding the fact they brake labour rules regularly but hide it well as they are not looked at by labour authorities. Safety is not enforced as they simply observe and report yet expect the District Managers to stop they same violations they are breaking so it is the purist form of insanity doing nothing and expecting different results. I would tell anyone who goes to be careful and try to get a union in place to ensure you are protected.
Points positifs
young man company
Points négatifs
lack of true leadership
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 26NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez GFL Environmental. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,5
D'après 153 avis
519
424
329
216
165

Notes par catégorie

2,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,1Direction
2,3Culture d'entreprise