Gateway Casinos & Entertainment Ltd. - Avis

Trouvé 157 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 164 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
match plublic house
match eatry plublic house (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC11 juillet 2019
managers are rude to the staff no breaks the cooks are rude the manage have no clue on how to be a good manager and there is no breaks the caisno only cares about money
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst place in the world to work!!
Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Point Edward, ON9 juillet 2019
The place is toxic with horrible people working there. You'll get lied to and used by management and most full timers will be rude to you so you won't stay.
Points positifs
There is not one pro to this job
Points négatifs
You will go nowhere no matter how good you are
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay Away - Former Security Officer
Security Officer (Ancien employé) –  Innisfil, ON4 juillet 2019
Stay away from Innisfil! A brutal work culture with stressed, angry employees obsessed with the union and Gateway taking over full ownership since the OLG sold the company.

I had to wear my own dress clothes for several weeks before I even received a uniform! Unbelievable.

Toxic management and some very interesting characters as co-workers. Again - stay away. You won't have a life outside of work. No wonder they can't hire good people who stay - they needed around 10 new guards when I left. A bunch of complainers - I'd had enough of the poor attitudes.
Points positifs
Decent pay
Points négatifs
Everything else. What a brutal work environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Never, Ever, Ever Again!
Bartender and Server (Ancien employé) –  Kamloops, BC12 juin 2019
If you're considering a job with these monsters, please don't. The Kamloops location was an absolute scam and sham. Two out of the TWENTY bartenders were decent and the rest were toxic, judgmental and were not afraid to harrass/insult you on shift. I turned up for my scheduled shifts 7 times, only to find them cancelled with no explanation. I get pleading phone calls from the joke of a manager trying to get me to take shifts after they pulled that on me - an absolute insult.

Run far, far away my friends.
Points positifs
NONE
Points négatifs
EVERYTHING
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing Experience
Slot Attendant (Ancien employé) –  New Westminster, BC19 mai 2019
I really had the best experience working here. The supervisors and trainers were very nice and helped me with the best possible way they can. Other employers were also very friendly and helpful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible ES
Server/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Penticton, BC6 mai 2019
What more to say. Hostile work environment, servers stole tips from other servers, HR or managers didn’t give two craps about them, did nothing to improve the work environment. Left all cause of that.
Points positifs
pfft no
Points négatifs
can be
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work life balance is rough
Bartender (Employé actuel) –  Innisfil, ON25 avril 2019
Job is until 2/3am, 6 days a week if not on restricted. money is good and so are the benefits, but you may as well not have a social life if wanting to work here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don’t get sucked in
Frontline (Ancien employé) –  Woodstock, ON6 avril 2019
This place will suck the life out of you. There is a reason the turnover is so high. Clueless people in positions they shouldn’t be in. When you raise a concern nothing gets dealt with, just swept under the rug. Cliques like crazy, bullying and harassment.
Good pay and benefits for what the job actually is. Still not enough to make it worth it though.
Don’t do it.
Points positifs
Decent pay and benefits
Points négatifs
Everything else. Toxic workplace
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
hierarchy culture, bullying and harassment is ignored.
Busser/Food Runner (Ancien employé) –  Burnaby, BC27 mars 2019
bartenders (who just push buttons and hand out beer/food) think they are superior to everyone. they treat bussers and servers like their personal workers. I've seen bussers being bullied and noone did anything. HR says go to manager.... Incompetent "managers" take side with the bartender/ servers. they don't give you a chance to advance. Either hire external or their favorites. I knew a great busser who had 4years bartender/ managing experience. guess what?! not even an intervew. one of the managers even lied to HR and said that she talked to the busser and the busser doesn't want the bartender position. barbacks/ bussers/ foodrunners are jobs noone wants, so they try to keep you in those positions.
Casino Managers are former servers/ bartender who didn't even go to college. some are ok, others have to work on their ego.
Managers also bully and lie.
servers are alright. most of them just work for the money and don't want to be here. their negative attitude affects you. if you're new they think they have to tell you how to do certain unimportant things and judge you if you do things your own way.
I worked twice a week, which was bearable. overall toxic and miserable coworkers who feel they are superior based on titles.
Points positifs
some fun coworkers, time gets by fast
Points négatifs
incompetent managers, toxic environment, no advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
team work
busser (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC25 mars 2019
if you work in the kitchen you probably going to learn a lot since they operate in union base... there is not pressure like regular kitchen I work before
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High turn over at Head Office
Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC13 mars 2019
I have worked at Head Office for almost three years. There is very high turn-over, they can't retain talent. For example, the entire development team has had to be replaced four times. Gateway can't retain professionals because of the toxic work culture that is created by the senior executive team. They don't care about the stress that is created by having to work with "leaders" who lack the education and insight to make decisions and are only driven by their ego's. All that matters is their profits.

Do yourself a favour, and just skip this place.
Points positifs
Your co-workers hate it at Gateway, just as much as you do.
Points négatifs
Low pay, toxic culture.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Stay away
Surveillance Operator (Ancien employé) –  Courtenay, BC10 mars 2019
They expect you to be a master or very close in three long ten hour days and will pile on a lot of information.

You will be expected to watch cameras, take online testing, and be quizzed periodically through your first three shifts which are ten hours long and well for myself were three days in a row. The book of all the stuff you had to know was about 25 pages and was a condensed version of a much larger one.
For a part time job it's a TON of responsibility as a surveillance operator. If you are thinking this is a casual thing you are mistaken. This job is not for someone who is looking to fill a resume until they figure out what they want in life. It's a career in itself. They expect a lot from you and again only part time and long hours. It's generally not worth it as part timer. Full time would be a different story, though the long hours, especially during the night shift would make me seek employment other places (you'll go home at 2 am).

Management:

The supervisor/person training me I found arrogant because they had the attitude of "Why don't you know this as well as me?" I had only worked there less than a week and was fired after three shifts

The general manager fired me, whom I had only met once at the interview.

Don't work here. Read the reviews on this company wisely and take it seriously. While I only worked in one area, I'm sure it carries somewhat generally. If you are looking to apply to this job, take what I have said to heart and understand the high standards that are expected.
Points positifs
free pop and coffee
Points négatifs
ten hour days, very high standards, terrible work and life balance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don't Bother
slot attendant (Employé actuel) –  Penticton, BC24 février 2019
Company used to be awesome until Gateway took over.
Union is in the pocket of the casino
Low pay don't be lured in with the tip potential. It's not their money it's the patron's generosity.
Turn over is unreal.Turn staff on each other company loves rats.
Company doesn't want you talking to one another or the patron's.
Under staffed which makes it very demanding which is how they like to run their businesses.
Constantly under surveillance can't even eat without someone watching what going in your mouth. Using surveillance to intimidate following your every move. Nit picking on your performance.
Accolades are always givin to those that come in when called never to those that help patrons.
Self exclusions are welcomed because they want their money.
Never feel like your doing a good job. It's always about what your not doing. Bottom line get rid of the old hire new no benefits lowest possible wages!
Points positifs
Wonderful customers>>free drinks
Points négatifs
Demanding intimidating negative management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Have not worked here long.
Occupation Cook (Employé actuel) –  Dawson Creek, BC22 février 2019
NA I haven't been working here very long yet so no opinion on anything as of right now. Fast paced. Lots to do. Fairly busy. Can be long hours that go by fasted.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Please dont apply here!!!!!!!!!!
Bartender/Server (Ancien employé) –  Point Edward, ON15 février 2019
They are heartless. They cut our hours so none of us can receive benefits anymore. Some have worked here 20 years and are getting their benefits ripped away from their families. This company made PART TIMERS work 40+ hours in the summer time with no leeway. We were absolutely worked to the bone. Sometimes they made us work twice in one day and framed the first shift as training so they got away with it. Multiple employees went on medical leave. Now in the winter time we are getting 6 HOURS a week. WE ARE BEING TREATED AWFUL! Constantly being watched by management who wont even introduce themselves to us. The higher ups don't care about us at all. The atmosphere is TOXIC from the higher ups constantly criticizing the wrong people. The workers are doing as their told and are scared to lose their families livelihood yet all the company wants is US, THE WORKERS to somehow fix their business? The reputation has been ruined by the company themselves. Not the bartenders & servers.
Points positifs
Nothing anymore.
Points négatifs
Managers are rude and impersonal, no hours, no reason to stay.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Server at Gateway Casino London Ontario
Food and Beverage Server (Ancien employé) –  London, ON9 février 2019
I would never recommend working here. The turnover is absolutely ridiculous. Expect to work 6 days a week consecutively on a regular basis because this department cannot keep staff. Staff are constantly and consistently undervalued and underappreciated. The managment is a complete joke and I have attended several food and beverage meetings where the staff are talked to in a very negative manner. Instead of addressing things appropriately and praising the staff for their hard work the food and beverage manager discussed all the negative things that she heard. Honestly being told " hey you are doing great job" goes a long way but the manager of that department cannot even do that. Staff members that have been working at this casino for more than 10 years have left because the environment has become so horrible. Gateway really needs to look at why they are losing staff in this department at such an alarming rate. I am happy that I was able to find a way better job my home and family life was suffering because I could never get any time off. My vacation days were constantly denied because of understaffing. There is no work/life balance. Its really awful when a place of employment drives out great employees all because they do not know how to manage a department. Teamwork is a thing and treating your employees like they are all disposable will get you no where. I know many people that have literally had a supervisor walk them out half way into their shift because they were treated so poorly that quitting their job here was way better than getting paycheque. If you are thinking  plus... about applying to any jobs at gateway i would think again... because this job with leave you feeling exhausted and miserable and youll more than likely be treated very poorly. I am greatful that I did have some great coworkers to get me through the bad days but that even wasnt enough to keep me working at such a bad establishment. Best of luck to anyone that works there... you'll definitely need it. Avoid working here at all cost.....  moins
Points positifs
Coworkers help you survive your work shift
Points négatifs
Poor management, toxic work environment, under staffing, bullying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
6 Month Contract Position
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  London, ON23 janvier 2019
Working at Gateway was a fun and exciting time. It was only for a 6 month contract, but it was a good 6 months. Gateway treats employees with equality.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 14Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor Managment and planning
Cage and Coin Cashier (Employé actuel) –  Woodstock, ON20 janvier 2019
The job itself is great, and most coworkers are amazing! Day to day is pretty easy count the money and make sure you balance at the end of the night, however we are continously under staffed which means we are being over worked and have little to no time off. They are NOT flexible with hours, like they claim. All processes are EXTREMELY slow here, if they say you'll hear from them within a week expect it to be more like 2-3 weeks. Also the system we run on continously crashes and our machines are down every other day with no one except supervisors to "fix" them. Gateway does not care about your mental health or you as a person, and they treat you as though you are VERY disposable. BUT they pay you decently.
Points positifs
Pay, coworkers
Points négatifs
NO time off and not flexible
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun work place with co-operative co workers
Cage Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC9 janvier 2019
I love working at Gateway casinos due to its fun environment. I have been working here since I came to Canada. I started as cashier and now I am Cage supervisor. My lovely co-workers are the reason that I learned so much there. I am always excited to go there on my Mondays. :)
Points positifs
free parking
Points négatifs
graveyard shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Think twice before accepting employment here!
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Ontario6 janvier 2019
Senior management is completely out of touch with the day to day operations.
Most departments are extremely understaffed leading to long hours on a regular basis where overtime is expected, and staff constantly working under pressure.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Gateway Casinos & Entertainment Ltd.. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,9
D'après 164 avis
529
436
336
219
144

Notes par catégorie

2,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,5Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise