Garden Grove

Garden Grove - Avis

Voir les 12 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent place to work
Construction Labourer (Employé actuel) –  Waterdown, ON22 novembre 2019
Decent place to work. Many hours $. Coworkers are awesome. Pay is really good for returning employee’s. I love coming into work and doing the things I love to do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about your current employment with Garden Grove. We value our employees and the work they do, and appreciate that you know and feel how much we appreciate our staff. As a company, we are passionate about what we do for our customers and employees every day! We provide fair and competitive compensation. We also do our best to provide meaningful work for our staff and development opportunities.

4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Expands my skills and career
Crew Leader (Employé actuel) –  Waterdown, ON13 novembre 2019
Working at Garden Grove Landscaping has allowed me to expand my skill set and come into myself and my career. Its a place that fosters ambition hardwrk and dedication to your career. It’s also a place that recognizes those qualities The culture and the people are great something that both the company and myself share a passion for.

I continue to look forward to the many great hardworking seasons, beautiful relationships and awesome experiences
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
14 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your current employment with Garden Grove. We are thankful our employees know they are so valued both personally and professionally. Its not just a job at Garden Grove, but a family, a great team, a career, a place to come and do your best every day. Our team has great ambition, works hard and are passionate which leads to providing the best possible service to our customers.

4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to Work and Grow
Production Manager (Employé actuel) –  Waterdown, ON1 novembre 2019
This industry is challenging. it's challenging physically, all summer with heat - fall with leaves and clean ups and then winter being winter with cold and long days and nights being a snow fighter! But if you work hard, show initiative, have passion and pride in the work you do and in who you are, you can do extremely well!

Garden Grove is no different and presents plenty of opportunity for someone to do all of the above and grow with the company!

GGL is a mid size company with an impressive roster of clients, the right equipment for the job, a great location and a solid team in place with lots of exciting change happening!

Come Join!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
14 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your current employment with Garden Grove. Our industry can be challenging yet so rewarding!!. We have a great team that works hard, shows initiative and has tremendous passion. We are thankful our employees experience growth personally and professionally in their careers and know as we continue to grow, so will the opportunities to better service more and more clients.

4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Building a nice culture
Crew Leader (Employé actuel) –  Waterdown, ON30 octobre 2019
The beginning of the year was a little shaky. But under new management things are pointed in the right direction. I feel there is more of a team environment with employees who care a little more about what they are doing.
I find they pay a little better than most companies as I think they want to keep quality workers around.
The company seems set on expansion and they have the systems in place, I just hope they are thinking about the support that is needed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
14 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about your employment with Garden Grove. We value our employees and the value they bring to the company - and we have amazing staff with a wonderful skill set. We do pay competitively and have leading edge compensation and bonus structures to attract and retain the best.

We are growing and expanding, and considering the needs to do that as well. Appreciate your feedback and we value the input from our staff as we continue to grow.

5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good company, heading in the right direction
Crew Leader (Employé actuel) –  Waterdown, ON29 octobre 2019
I’ve been in the industry for several years and have worked for a few different landscaping companies that primarily focus on commercial/condo maintenance. Garden Grove has been the best landscaper I’ve worked for.

Work/life balance is something that is very important to me, and GGL understands that and is very flexible with hours. As long as your work is getting done, you can go home around 345-430 most days. Or you can work later if you want the hours.

Management is great. My Production Manager and Branch Manager are great guys that I feel comfortable approaching about basically anything. They get problems solved quickly and do not micro manage. The HR lady is also very kind and helpful when needed.

They are a growing company and there is definitely room for advancement. Most of the managers have been promoted from within.

The majority of my coworkers are really good people who are easy to get a long with and share a passion for landscaping/horticulture. The bad ones seem to get weaned out quickly.

They are very fair with hourly wages and in general try to treat the employees well. They will invest in you if you show them you intend to stay.

The bad: They pass administrative costs onto the employees (drivers abstract, background check). They charge a lot of money for their uniforms which are mandatory. They don’t pay stat holidays which is an unethical loophole in my opinion.

Overall, a great place to work for anyone looking for a career in this industry.
Points positifs
Work/life balance, great management, great co workers, flexible, good pay
Points négatifs
Paying for clothes/admin stuff, no pay for stat holidays
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
14 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your employment with Garden Grove. We appreciate your comments about being one of the best landscaping companies you have worked for. We work hard at our culture and are constantly looking for ways to grow and develop our staff, build opportunities, provide competitive pay and benefits, and work/life balance and flexibility.

1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a company worth your time and effort
Lead Hand (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON20 février 2019
I have worked in the landscaping industry for a long time and was really disappointed with garden grove. They expect a lot from the employees - but will do the very minimum for them.
For example, I noticed a discrepancy with my pay. I had not recieved the correct pay for my hours worked. (I record my hours). I approached my supervisor about the issue more than once.
I approched HR and payroll/reception more than once. After weeks of being ignored I was accused of "time theft" (without any evidence or rational - I should add)
I was laid off/fired at the end of that season.

And - I should add this part! They asked me to purchase their winter attire at the end of the season. Was over $100 worth. Assuming I would be returning next season or plow\salting, I bought the gear. Joke was on me. They laid me off/fired me at the end of the week with no prior warning.
Points négatifs
Long hours, slave driving mentality - Image and profit focused above all else.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 11Signaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your previous employment experience. We value input from our employees past and present. I am sorry to hear your employment experience wasn't overly positive. We have a strong work ethic culture and abide by our company values. We also ensure we compensate our employees fairly and competitively and have a strong foundation of policies and code of conduct that guides are interactions within the workplace. Employees have often commented that we have an open door culture; should they have an concern they are welcome to share their concerns and we will work through their concerns and resolve.

1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst place i've ever worked
Maintenance Worker (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON6 février 2019
I am a former employee of Garden Grove, I am not one who normally leaves reviews but in this case it's only fair to warn people about what they are getting into...If you enjoy being a slave then this is the company for you...If you enjoy being underpaid and grossly overworked look no further, Garden Grove is for you. If you like someone preaching their ridiculous religious views on you then this is the place for you. I could go on all day but I think you get the idea....lastly, if you ever get sick and need a day off be prepared to be pushed out or fired. Owners come across as nice people in the beginning but you quickly figure out this is just an act.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
too many to mention
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 11Signaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your previous work experience at our company. We value input from previous and current employees. We are sorry to hear that you feel your employment experience was not overly positive. As you can see from other reviews, we do compensate our employees fairly and competitively and have compensation structures and guidelines in place. We abide by our company values and company policies as our foundation.

1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Aweful experiance
General Worker (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON29 août 2016
At first it was pleasant. Great atmosphere and great co-workers. That soon changed as the season went on. I realized more and more that employees left in droves. I could not understand it at first, why would a company go from treating you like gold and then turn around after 3 months and throw you under the bus? People were treated without respect. Soon it translated into disrupting personal time with emails and constant texts from the owner even on vacation time. There was no respect for off time. I can say it was one of the worst experiences I had working for someone. In my opinion, look for a company where employees do not want to leave. That will tell you a lot about the company.
Points positifs
Cant think of any.
Points négatifs
Non stop emails and texts disrupting time off.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about your previous employment experience with our company. We value input from previous and current employees. We are sorry to hear that you feel your employment experience was not overly positive. We appreciate our employees and have a strong team in place. We are also proud to share that over 30% of our team joined our company because an employee referred them to work here.

3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Stepping Stone
Construction Foreman (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON8 mars 2016
Small but growing company; personally was an asset to honing leadership and management skills. Projects from commercial and residential proved to be an important strategy as seasonal environment influences effective timelines and forecasting. My opinion; great onboarding procedure however employment policy founded to be bias and unconventional.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 7Signaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about your previous employment experience with our company. We value input from previous and current employees.

We appreciate the feedback on growing leadership and management skills within our employees. We highly value personal development and innovation, including personal innovation and will continue to develop and grow our employees and their careers. We are also proud to share that our on-boarding processes are innovative and leading edge in our industry. Our Employment policies are reviewed annually and we continue to ensure a clear code of conduct, safety and protection for our employees.

4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great people to work with.
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Waterdown, ON27 octobre 2015
I loved my co-worker they were amazing and I will miss them, they were the most enjoyable part of my day/job. I learned new systems that were put in place for message taking and timesheets. The hardest part was dealing with disgruntled clients but I learned how to handle those situations.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about your previous employment experience with us. We value input from previous and current employees. We are thankful that you appreciate our team and your co-workers as much as we do! One of the biggest things we hear is how great our team is - what is a testimony to our employees. We are also proud to share that 30% or our team joined the company through employee referrals.

1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
the employees rock but management sucks
landscape maintenance garden section (Ancien employé) –  Watertown Ontario14 janvier 2015
i am a medical cannabis user licensed by the government of Canada and i constantly felt singled out and belittled by management when i could do better work than most of the existing employees, according to the multiple people i worked with i was easily capable of managing a crew (i have a degree in horticulture so its really not hard to manage a landscape crew). and with all my experience i was paid less than the other employees who had less knowledge and experience than me. it was a complete joke to work there its a wonder they became the biggest contractor in the area oh well it is what it is. , at the end of the day i was fired for a "drop in productivity" but that is simply not true and the heavily Christian oriented managers simply didn't agree with the fact that i chose medical cannabis to help with my constant pain. aif you fit the way management wants you to be im sure its a fine place to work but if you are not exactly to their liking they will try their best to push you out in my opinion. While i did enjoy the work day management was a joke.
Points positifs
good employees
Points négatifs
overly religious Christian mentality with management that is bigoted
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 11Signaler
Réponse officielle de Garden Grove
27 novembre 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review regarding your previous employment experience with us. We value input from previous and current employees. We are sorry to hear that you feel your employment experience was not overly positive.

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Garden Grove ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,9
D'après 12 avis
51
45
32
20
14

Notes par catégorie

2,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,6Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu