G.B. Catering - Avis

Trouvé 24 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 25 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Learning exo
KITCHEN HELPER (Ancien employé) –  Stouffville, ON26 juillet 2019
I met a lot of good people at g.b and had the opportunity to grow outside my comfort zone. This helped allow me to be open to learning new things and enchanting my experience there.
Points positifs
Gaining new connections with people, trying new food, getting to stay in a new city, taking part in new activities, learning new skills and utilizing old ones
Points négatifs
Long hours, no holiday bonus, no pay for working overtime, hot kitchen with no A/C, lack of structured schedule
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Long hours, low pay
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Ancien employé) –  Sprucedale, ON10 juillet 2019
The condition in the contract are likely not what you will be getting. Ik it seems like you’ll be able to tough out the long hours and (extremely) low pay but be weary, some days would run up to 13 hours straight with maybe a small 10 minute break in the morning. The activities you’re able to do will depend on the camp, but chances are you won’t have time to do them anyways. The food isn’t even good, and (my kitchen at least) was unsanitary at best.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
the environment was fun
Dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Scarborough, ON10 avril 2019
working on the camps can be stressful but was fun. i had no problems working with this company other than when i got home sick. working there was like going on a vacation.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No Bad
Kitchen Helper/Dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON26 février 2019
Good first job to get your foot in the door but that's it. Liked the facted that we had a place to stay and free food. Long hours for less than minimum wage. Good learning experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fine Summer Job
Kitchen Helper (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON28 octobre 2018
The chef I worked with was great, made the job better as it included long days and hard work. The atmosphere was great, and the pay wasn't terrible. Overall a good summer job.
Points positifs
Free Food
Points négatifs
Long Hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It has its perks
Chef Manager (Employé actuel) –  Huntsville, ON1 octobre 2017
Good place to work. If you are looking for advancement I would look somewhere else. Once you meet the chef requirements, there is no other job beyond that. You could be stuck in the same position for the next 8 or more years until you decide to leave because you want to be more challenged.
Points positifs
the people you meet
Points négatifs
no possiblity of advancemnt
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent
Kitchen Helper (Ancien employé) –  Muskoka, ON10 septembre 2017
Long hours that could be worth it if you got the right pay. Living and food was accommodated but not worth it. overall an alright place but wont go back
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Job For Entering the Catering/Cooking Industry
Salad Bar Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON20 août 2017
This summer I worked for GB Catering for the first time, and I learned so many techniques and tricks when it came to cooking (coming from someone who has never cooked). They have the tools and people to teach new employees about cooking and serving. If you are looking for a steady job, with great pay, an intro into the food industry, and enjoy the summer camp aspect, this is the job for you!
Points positifs
Free Food, The job forces you to save money since you are away from malls, restaurants, etc, great for beginner cooks and expert cooks
Points négatifs
long hours, you can get unlucky with working at a not so great camp
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst experience of my life
Baker (Ancien employé) –  Ontario19 avril 2017
The hours are long, the head chef leaves early if they claim to be tired, leaving the clean up to you and your other co-workers. On average the work day is 15 h/day due to cleanup duties and prep for the next day (you are NOT paid beyond 12 h). Although required, the head chef DID NOT allow breaks most days, and every day, the shift began an hour early, again NOT compensated for. Daylight is missed almost every day, it is difficult to find the time to shower, and feed yourself. the workplace dynamic is TOXIC due to the low morale of the workers. Co-workers may even use manipulative tactics to keep you from leaving. Due to the manager not being present at all times, it can become hectic and the head chef is not a person to turn to if they are part of the problems/ if they previously worked with other members of the team and have a bias. NOT worth the low pay. Providing $6/h or less, especially when the work goes beyond 12h on a daily basis, and then claiming that the pay is low due to room and board is very unethical. Taking advantage of students seeking a summer job is immoral. I STILL have nightmares about my experience.
Points positifs
the rare days off (only if spent way from campgrounds)
Points négatifs
LOW pay, LONG hours, low morale causing workplace conflict constantly, manager not present, isolation, few breaks
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun environment
Kitchen Helper (Ancien employé) –  Arden, ON23 mars 2017
Depends on where you are placed.
Great to meet new people.
Busy environment, demanding.
Lots of food prep needed, for large groups of people
would recommend
Points positifs
free accommodation on lake
Points négatifs
not steady hours - depends on camp
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It wasnt a bad place to work and the pay was good
Waitress, and Customer service, Open and close (Ancien employé) –  Duncan BC18 mars 2017
The management was not good, they were very hard to deal with.The staff was great and they pay was not bad. But I am not sure that I would work for her again
Points positifs
overtime
Points négatifs
rude customer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great first Job
Baker (Ancien employé) –  Mactier, ON22 août 2016
Working for G.B. Catering was a new experience. You work under intense circumstances and sometimes isolated from your home. However, the staff and other workers are amazing and you learn so many skills in the kitchen in 3 months that will aid you in your future cooking.
Points positifs
Board, food, and utilities are provided, advancement opportunities
Points négatifs
challenging work space, jumping around to different camps, male dominated field
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High intensity with a good environment
Kitchen Assistant/dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON7 juillet 2016
Lots of work but enjoyable.
Learned a lot about the workings of a kitchen.
Hardest part was the long hours.

Overall my experience was good. A good job for someone interested in gaining experience in a kitchen and who enjoy being around friends.
Points positifs
The food
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poorly Managed
Dining Room Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON8 novembre 2015
Work was manageable, and I learned valuable lessons about how to manage employees, and I made some good friends over the summer. I had some issues with a coworker though, and tried to bring it up with her and with our boss, but nothing was changed. I brought it up with the company and they did nothing to change it. Two other coworkers noticed as well and talked to GB about it, but still nothing was done.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
if you like kids for here
Sous chef (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON4 novembre 2015
really cool place to work, go to travel and see a few different summer camps, each camp was different with its own challenges would work here again for a summer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good job for a teen.
kitchen helper (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON6 mai 2015
i enjoyed working there but it is LONG hours and the pay isn't very great. There is not job security and no forgivness for anything, your sick? too bad your working that 12 hour kitchen shift.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 4Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don't Work here
Baker (Ancien employé) –  Muskoka, ON15 février 2015
While the experience was worth it (The camp) the position was far from fair, pay taken away because of "lodging and food" when in reality the lodging was a hot small cramped, mouse infected space above the Ovens making it blistering hot, the ONE shower so small it was hard to use, and you are basically making your own food if you can find time to eat. The hours expected were unrealistic the overall quality of environment for someone who has never been in a similar one was rough and unforgiving, I would describe it to anyone as being thrown to the wolves. Worst of all was your lack of fair pay, the treatment that comes with the food service industry and the lack of patience and care about your well being, being more focused on the food and thats it. I would warn anyone that it is a very depressing and grey atmosphere, and that it might of just been the Camp I was at, but I found myself yearning to go home, at the verge of quitting if I had not been a dedicated worker.
Points positifs
The People (coworkers): Most are like you, they understand your plight
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Kitchen staff were mistreated by campers and counsellors.
Salad Chef (Ancien employé) –  Rosseau, ON21 octobre 2014
Through G.B. Catering, I worked at Camp Oochigeas. The place was beautiful but for such long hours the pay was not much. The kitchen staff was basically outcasted and told not to socialize with campers. Some of the other kitchen staff were very inexperienced. A lot of fights broke out between my co-workers. We went through 4 sous chefs and lost 3 dishwashers because of the workload and demands of the camp. I had a great summer because the kitchen staff was like a family but I would not do it again.
Points positifs
Free room and board.
Points négatifs
Long hours. Huge workload. Many special food requests.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
environnement agréable
Aide cuisinière (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON19 septembre 2014
Très belle expérience à vivre, belle ambiance de travaille.
Points positifs
divertissant, enrichissant, belle équipe
Points négatifs
travail 6 jour sur 7
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great summer jobs for students
Baker (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON3 août 2014
this was a great job but because im an adult and not a student it cost more to keep me so they laid me off and did not require my services anymore
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez G.B. Catering. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 25 avis
55
49
34
25
12

Notes par catégorie

3,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,4Direction
3,6Culture d'entreprise