First Choice Haircutters - Avis

Trouvé 112 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 134 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast paced and friendly environment
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC22 septembre 2019
Great place to work, pays higher than minimum wage. Advancement and raises available. Safe and fun work place. The workplace culture is diverse, which allows you to experience new things you may not have before. Management was good all the way through my journey with FCH, as along my path I did become an assistant manager.
Points positifs
Flexible hours and closed on statutory holidays
Points négatifs
Possibility of having to work different locations, and working split shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I was a general stylist
General Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS21 septembre 2019
I used to work there.
My manager made fun of a miscarriage I had. The assistant manager was a rude and horrible person. They pay min wage, expect you to work as fast as possible. They expect you to work on your break. They fired someone I know because she was looking for a new job. They don't care about their staff. The location I worked at bolted the fire door closed so we could not use it if there was an emergency. They only give chemical services to the management staff as that's where the big tips come in. We got in trouble for blow drying clients hair during Canadian winters about a week after we got in trouble for not drying clients hair. You can't win with them. You are literally working in a place that sees you as the trash of the hair dressing world. Owners wouldn't let us run the washer and dryer at the same time because it cut into their vacation money. The managers only give promotions to their hairstylist buddies. Literally the worst place I ever worked, it made me quit hair dressing. I DON'T CARE HOW DESPERATE YOU ARE, DON'T WORK HERE!
Points positifs
It's a job
Points négatifs
Everything else.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Master Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Sydney, NS9 septembre 2019
Worked there for many years. Had a great experience. Met lots of great people that still remain friends to this day. Work/life balance. Hourly pay could be better.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoy working at Corporate First Choice location
Hairstylist (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON23 août 2019
Worked at First Choice for the last 11 years. Enjoyed meeting a lot of people. Gained a lot of experience with cutting all different types of hairstyles and textures. Great Environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast past work environment.
Store Manager/Owner (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville16 août 2019
Cash count
Staff Schedule
Product Order
Inventory
Training of Staff
Cutting
Sales
Coloring,
Some odd foils
Keeping the Staff calm was not easy and not enjoyable
One of the hardest part was the Cooperation to work for/ with
some of my Client's what was getting regular Client's was a lot of fun and keep me going.
Points positifs
Clients and some of my colleagues
Points négatifs
Pay and working hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Your Pay Will Not Reflect Your Hardwork
Hairstylist/Manager (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON18 juillet 2019
As a former employee I would have to do 3 haircuts per hour as the average tip at that location was 2.50 to reach 22.00 per hour to get that extra 8.00 per hour on tips. The selling of product will give you very little in return I know from experience.

Regis takes 60% and pays you 40% is the short virgin

If you are at high level of success time to open your own business!!! And do one haircut per hour for 25.00

This is legit math right here take the time and get a real visual.

Math you need to see on a 7.5 hour shift

7.5 x 3 cuts per hour = 22.5 hair cuts for the day

22.5 haircuts x 20.00 per cut = 450.00 that you made for the company for that day.

Now take your 22.00 per hour and times that by 7.5 hours that equals 165.00 that you made for yourself.

450.00 you made for FCH - 165.00 is your days pays = 285.00 is what FCH will pocket from you for that day.

The Company pays you 105.00 for your day
Here in Ontario minimum is 14.00/hr x 7.5hrs = 105.00

Your tips at 8.00/hr x 7.5 = 60.00 that is hoping everyone tips you and can afford to tip you.

Your commission is based on a 2 week performance/productivity. If you have any down time your hourly rate will go down and oops surprise no commission.

The questions you should ask yourself

Can you physically handle 22.5 haircut a day?

Is the Salon busy enough for you to get 22.5haircuts a day every day? Demographically is the area poor or rich, is the salon busy.

Are you ok bringing in 450.00 per day, 5 days a week = 2,250.00 per week is what your are bringing in for FCH

Are you ok to just
  plus... get paid 40% from 2,250.00 = 900.00/week is what you will be making before tax. That 900.00 divided by 37.5 hours= 24.00 per hour that you are now making, so now you are commissioning at the this rate, 10.00 more per hour Congrats!!!

Are you ok when looking at your entire months productivity to visually see that you brought in 9,000.00 to get paid 3,600.00 for that month by the company? And maybe your tips are 1,200.00 for the month. So maybe you actually make 4,800.00.

At 4,800.00 ( that includes your tips) dived by 150 hours your are at 32.00 per hour. Wow you are on your way of breaking your back!!! And you HAVE NO WSIB coverage if you injure your back and need physio.

But you brought in 60.00 per hour and FCH paid you 24.00/hr your clients gave your 8.00 more per hour to now bring you to 32.00/hr

In the end you killed your body to do 22.5 cuts a day that is 450 cuts per month to get paid 10.66 per cut including tips. 4,800.00 divided by 450.00 is 10.66.

Like I said if you are at that level of success??? you are actually paying Regis 1350.00 rent per week if you really think about.
  moins
Points positifs
You learn alot
Points négatifs
Pay sucks for the amount of work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very productive and fun place to work at.
Hairstylist, specializing as a color technician (Ancien employé) –  Shawnessy, AB17 juillet 2019
Really good company to work for. Very inviting staff and management is just wonderful!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Could careless
Hair stylist (Ancien employé) –  Port Elgin2 juillet 2019
Management is 0 out of 10. This included owners and beyond. Don’t care about employees and only them selves and they make that well known. They don’t care about anything as long as they have money coming in.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great staff
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Orleans, ON27 mai 2019
The company is not to bad to work for, the clients and staff are great.. Management tries to work around everyone's schedules .Staff is always willing to help each other out
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
still dial up
STYLIST / MANAGER (Ancien employé) –  Chilliwack, BC6 mai 2019
the place is still dial up.has many location that are all conected. it works well if you want in and out. min wage tho with low standards. just kinda what happens
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Feels like a fast food haircut joint
Stylist (Ancien employé) –  Barrie, ON22 avril 2019
My expirience with managment was great, the only reason i stuck around as much as i did.
Youre always guarenteed your fulltime hours, but your hours are long. You will be closing and opening the next day, and first choice doesn't have a cut off time for taking customers, so if someone comes in at 5 mins till close, you have to take them. Regardless whether or not theres a huge line still. Weekends are particularly bad for this, not made better by the fact that saturdays are mandatory. There are people who have had funerals, weddings, even their own weddings on these days, and still have to work it. Trying to make appointments anywhere is a joke, the hours are so sparatic you're better off just booking the day off to do it. On top of the all over the place hours, they also like to ship you around to other first choice stores in the area. Big turnover in girls all the time so expect to cover on your days off or work longer on your shorter days.
Your wage is not great, but thats normal for a hairstylist, tips are good. Benefits is $700 a year for everything, including eyes. It doesnt keep adding up if you dont use it that year, it will just reset back to $700.
Really the most you can advance in this company is management, but all the responsibility for only a little bit more is not worth it. They throw apprentices on the floor right out of school after a week of basic training on just haircuts, and expect them to do anything from highlights to perm winding in record time. Many girls are working without their license. They'll send you to a yearly class reminding you of the
  plus... basics of each service they offer. One year its barbering, one year its colour, ect.. but its not enough to make stylists comfertable with someone walking in for a balayage or an updo. None of the girls or comfortable or trained enough to really grow and stay on trend as a stylist.
The environment changes from store to store, some are more miserable at their job but get along with co workers for example, some are more bubbly but really catty.. it all depends.
I've worked in multiple minimum wage retail and fast food jobs, and for the tiniest bit more I was making, it didn't feel rewarding enough to stay, especially considering I went to school for it.
  moins
Points positifs
Managment, co workers
Points négatifs
Long hours, half lunch on busy days, no growth, big turnover
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Rough time.
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Prescott, ON10 avril 2019
When I was there, I couldn't seem to get along with my manager. I did have a lot of stuff going on in my life at the time though. It is a Firstchoice, you're to get through a cut quickly.. Co-workers were very helpful and encouraging, I would say the company is a good first step.. Just had bad experience with this location.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cheap, lies and dirty
Lisensed hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Barrie, ON2 avril 2019
Horrible company, who lies in a RECORD OF EMPLOYMENT and even to the EMPLOYMENT INSURANCE to benefit themselves! CRIMINALS, CHEAP who hires apprentices, and when comes to tell the truth when they laying off the lisensed hairstylists, they First Choice lyes in a ROE putting "Quit". Disgusting!! There such better places to work in!
Points positifs
good place to come right after the school
Points négatifs
as soon you get some experience run from there!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was an okay job
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON9 mars 2019
I felt like i was being used and that the company was greedy with how they payed their stylists. i dont think that its right to have a stylists comminsion dates for 2 weeks. if there is a slow day that completely screws people over with the amount of money they could be making. its hard enough being a stylist, but not getting payed your worth in commision is wrong.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very fast paced company to work for.
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON5 mars 2019
First Choice is the place to go if you want a really fast pace, busy place to work at. If you have any questions, the ladies there are always willing to help.
Points positifs
Lots of shifts and hours
Points négatifs
Long hours, barely any time for other things around work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
meh
STYLIST (Ancien employé) –  Duncan, BC3 mars 2019
wasnt the best but was okay i met some great people learned some thing practiced what i went to school for but then i realized hairdressing isnt for me
Points positifs
tips
Points négatifs
hair. everywhere. rude people
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A Hairsalon that takes walk-in off the street
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON13 février 2019
Former employee that could never get the hours needed. The manager has been replaced 3 times in the past year. If the manager doesn't approve of how fast you can cut hair then you are no good to the company. I have seen many talented stylists come in and last a week and find a new employment. The schedules are all over the place. It is not a job for anyone with small children or those that like to volunteer in your spare time. You are on a team but they make you feel worthless, untalented, unskilled. There is more criticism than there is any success or applaud for hard work. This is a stressful environment. It's not for the faint of heart. If you are unlicensed for the apprenticeship of hairstyling, they will still hire YOU out of highschool. It's not fair for the stylists that have gave the hours required for the trade. But this job doesn't ask you to be skilled or qualified. Just cut hair and do it well. This company undermines and breaks a lot of laws that are illegal in the work place. I put in enough years to get a full picture of what goes on behind the scenes. And the gossip talked.
Points positifs
You build clients, make friends and learn as well as stay on top of trends
Points négatifs
You lose dignity, self worth. There is next to no training.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Franchise and CEO treats their employees unfairly
hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON17 janvier 2019
I worked during my lunch without pay, the Franchise automatically takes half an hour out of your pay without you signing out, I worked 8 hours straight without breaks and when I tried to have lunch the manager would demand me to come back on the floor. They made me promises that were never kept The Franchise take advantage of the new girls coming out of school and make them work like slaves. Once franchise took over from the Regis Cooperation most of the employees left because they were treated unfairly. The worst experience I I ever had.
Points négatifs
worked during lunch time without pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Met great friends!
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Welland, ON16 janvier 2019
I loved the girls I worked with at First Choice. It was a great place to gain experience. The management needed work. Met some long time friends there!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive hands on and allways learing
Hairstylist (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC15 janvier 2019
I liked the group attitude and the other staff where very helpful with helping each other in the shop always learning new tricks and new skills. fun to work for
Points positifs
free training
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez First Choice Haircutters. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 134 avis
535
436
330
216
117

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,1Direction
3,3Culture d'entreprise