Farm Boy - Avis

Trouvé 275 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 282 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Manager Makes All the Difference
Grocery Department Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa West, ON6 septembre 2019
If your manager is someone who has worked with Farm Boy a long time, they have a better understanding of the Farm Boy work culture and be more accomodating than managers just joining the company.
Working with Farm Boy is a great experience if you are surrounded by the right people and it is very important for an woman working here to maintain a professional face due to the misogyny that still exists in this company. It is also important that they stand they're ground with workplace decisions.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable workplace
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON3 septembre 2019
Farmboy was my first job and it was honestly a quite enjoyable experience. Management was good for the most part. Scheduling, at least at the store I worked at, was great. We were given as little or as many hours as we requested. We were also given quarterly raises dependant upon our performance reviews. Each department had the opportunity for advancement into either a supervisor or management position which was nice.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON24 août 2019
They want to you work for minimum wage and then do not even give you the training required to do the job. The amount of times I was told that I was not being fast enough at a job I had no idea how to do was ridiculous. When I asked to be shown how to do it I was told “you’ll figure it out.”
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Everthing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good place to start a job.
Chef and Deli Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON13 août 2019
It's a good place to start something for beginners. They welcome diversity which is very nice. They're not very picky in choosing employees. Even people with disabilities are welcome to work there.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High school job
Service (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON6 août 2019
This job is a dead end. Great for high schoolers, not great if you have bills to pay. Don't expect a raise or respect here, it's not going to happen.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
enjoyed working in the cheese department.
Hard worker, quick learner, poliet, enthusiastic. (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON23 juillet 2019
The environment there isn't really that bad. co-workers are respectful and nice to work with. the only problem I had was not getting enough hours.
other than that nothing is wrong with it.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a good workplace
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Cornwall, ON13 juillet 2019
Terrible communication.
Terrible management.
Terrible people.
Terrible prices.
Unsafe work environment.
Unsanitary.
Overall not a good place to work..
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Relaxed atmosphere but proffessional
Service Manager (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON8 juillet 2019
Lots of opportunity for advancement.
Store Manager always willing to support you
All staff are friendly
Great staff
Managers required to work long hours
Points positifs
advancements
Points négatifs
work and life balance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great workplace
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Kanata, ON5 juillet 2019
This was my first job and enjoyed it very much. Good management and staff.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent Work
Produce Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON28 juin 2019
A fairly average minimum wage experience, what really made it was the coworkers who were an interesting cast of characters. I learned more things about produce than i think ill ever need to know in my life but i enjoyed it nonetheless
Points positifs
people, customers, location, management
Points négatifs
store owners
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Farm Boy Meat Team Member
MEAT TEAM MEMBER (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON28 juin 2019
Farm Boy has many things to offer, but I feel as though my skill set would benefit them if it were put more to use. I learned how to make sausages, properly package meat, and restock shelves.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Order Picker at Central Warehouse (9 months)
General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON26 juin 2019
To start off with my main point I would say that this is a job that could work really well for somebody who has a talent for labour jobs. However, there are a couple of issues. Like most places you'll find that management tends to put the shareholders' interests above everything, even the customers. The wages can be good because of yearly bonuses, but don't expect a premium for driving a forklift. Supervisors tend to spend most of their time in the office chatting, while pushing the workers hard (because the higher ups want results and don't care how they get them). Don't expect to be allowed to leave until your picking is done. And they will pile on the quotas after you pass the "rookie stage". Learn the hand scanner system, too, because it's pretty much what separates the "lasts two weeks" guys from the "stays for a while" people.
Points positifs
Competitive wages, good work/life balance
Points négatifs
Unhelpful/lazy management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast-paced fresh food experience
Assistant Bakery Manager (Employé actuel) –  Kanata, ON26 juin 2019
Basically, the job is running the sales floor and the department through various hands-on tasks, filling stock and handling/storing freezer shipments, and controlling inventory through the order guide provided. Other responsibilities include: adjusting sales trend/plan daily, counting inventory weekly, setting up displays, ensuring baking quality, ordering, and responding to IT and specialists via email. It's a fast-paced, hard working environment, but the people you work with end up staying with you, as they did with me through 9 different locations I've worked at. The hardest part of my job was probably being moved stores 6 times, but the most enjoyable part of the job is the relationships developed with fellow staff. I've found almost everyone I've shared my time with have been kind, decent people, and when we're happy working with each other, the fruits of our labour shine.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Jokes
Produce Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON24 juin 2019
Great product, poorly run company!
The store manager at the Kitchener location is total class jerk!
They treat you like slaves, make you work 3 weekends a month, and the best part, they will lie to your face about their own company policies
Points positifs
Can't think of any
Points négatifs
Too many to list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace because of the employees
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Leslieville20 juin 2019
I learned how to approach and help customers with their needs. Whenever a customer is complaining about something that is beyond my position, I was told to call a supervisor or a manager to deal with it. I learned to do my best to satisfy every customer and be of assistance when they need one.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's easy for a young local experienced
WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON13 juin 2019
Management in chaos, which causes more problems to the rest of the team. Job is easy, everybody seems to be afried from doing small tasks. Person in charge is venomous, and goes from the supervisor to the administration office worker. Co-workers are positive, but it's strange how poor the environment is, because of the lack of multiculturalism. Who knows?
Points positifs
Breaks
Points négatifs
Racism
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Sucks
Meat Associate (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON13 juin 2019
I hate this place. They don't care about their employees and will fire you for no reason. They treat their employees like garbage and they won't let you go home if you are sick. Never work here unless you hate your life!!!
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good as a first job
SUPERVISOR (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON11 juin 2019
Good managers are overworked bad managers are terrible (alot of them). They really don't appreciate employees, they will offer you promotions if you're good at your job. I've been with the company for around 2 years and have seen over 30 people come and go, thats including supervisors, assistant and regular managers. including one store manager.
Points positifs
you choose availability, you can move up fast.
Points négatifs
Company is very greedy, and unthankful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
the environment
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  London, ON7 juin 2019
I loved the environment farm boy has, the customer type that shops here are a lot kinder than previous jobs I've worked.
Management really cares about making sure you as a person are okay, and willing to help in an way that is possible
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No proper Directions lead to not able to do the job Right
Bakery Part Time (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON4 juin 2019
I had said in my interview that I was looking for a job that had proper guidance with no "pooping on the next shift" as my last job had done multiple times. Was promised that there would be none of that.

My first month went by well I was picking things up and getting it all done. Then came my first solo close. I tried to follow the list we had and went to pull reductions at the time the list stated to do so. Boss said "don't do that people might still buy it!" So I was like "umm okay..lemme do the bun bin then" Again told not to until customers left...at close which was 2hrs later. So here where 2 chores that where supposed to be done before close being forcibly pushed until after close, in which then I would have 30 min to do them plus 2 more.

Then as the shifts kept coming more odd chores from the previous shift would be piled onto my closing duties, I tried to talk about this with my boss but was basically told I had to deal with it and pick up my pace (as I was never getting off on time due to having to essentially do all closing duties AFTER close). The final day was a Sunday, was supposed to be off by 7:30 (closes at 7), my secondary co-worker left at 5:30 without taking the garbage out, dishes in the sink, and pastries that where supposed to be packaged up. I basically was flying horribly solo for the remainder of my shift; trying to get the chores done plus serve customers. I made a mental note to discuss this with HR and my boss on my next shift as this was just too ridiculous for me - they should have made sure I nailed my closing duties down before adding
  plus... on more. Clocked out almost an hour after I was supposed to.

Anyways come in for my next shift determined to figure this out, as I am a decent worker and felt I was progressing in every other aspect just these closings needed to be dealt with. Instead I get called into HR and slapped with termination because I "wasn't progressing as they would have liked me to be" EXCUSE ME!? Just on my last review you said I was doing fine! I was too shocked to really respond with any of my issues and just left frustrated. I didn't want to cut corners (I did on the last shift only because I was really tired of leaving later than I wanted to). I didn't know what was I supposed to do about the situation at all and no one seemed to want to tell me what exactly was I supposed to be doing.

If you ever get hired at Farm Boy in Kingston Ontario, be prepared to document anything and bring up issues immediately. I feel like if I had done that I would still be employed but never know now. They are supposed to know what they are doing so you respect them and just think "oh well they know what is right and what is wrong so I just gotta suck it up" NO - report anything you feel is off okay?
  moins
Points positifs
my coworkers where nice people I didn't mind them aside from the one mentioned in the story
Points négatifs
poor management, lack of proper training, lack of following their own chore list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18NonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Farm Boy. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,2
D'après 282 avis
564
467
366
234
151

Notes par catégorie

3,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,7Direction
3,0Culture d'entreprise