Durham District School Board - Avis

Trouvé 76 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 78 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you are a visible minority you will feel alone here
Clerical Work (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON8 avril 2016
I was interviewed by a group of people who do not represent the community at large. I was shocked when I received the job because I was unrepresented in the interview process. Once in, I feel isolated and alone and I have received some comments that separate me from others based on my ethnicity.
The DDSB employees and higher level management do not reflect the students that they are working for, which I find disheartening. I think more visible minority students would feel comfortable reaching out to the employees if they were more representative of their uniqueness.
Albeit, the employees are very kind and friendly and I enjoyed my time here.
I kind of felt that a lot of the staff is unhappy but just working to get their pension, which is unfortunate. I would rather work for a company that I am happy to be there and make a difference, not just looking for security in retirement.
Points positifs
casual Fridays and summer Fridays
Points négatifs
A lot of changes within a year, overpaid management and underpaid casuals, no ability to work from home.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 7Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Occasional Teacher
Occasional Classroom Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Pickering, ON22 mars 2016
A typical day starts at 5:00 am, while I wait by my phone to receive a call for the day. I can teach from Kindergarten to Grade.12 therefore, I can work at an elementary school, junior school or highschool. Once I receive the call with information about grade, location and school I hop in my car, turn on my GPS and I am on my way. When I arrive, I sign in at the Main Office, where they give me information about my classroom, students and other key information that will help me have a smooth transition for the day. Once, I get to my classroom, I read the lesson plans for the day and start organization what needs to be done to ensure success for the students. At the end of the day, I leave detailed notes for the regular classroom teacher, such as what we completed, students behaviour, and any other special notes that the teacher might need to know for the following days.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Theatre Technician (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON9 mars 2016
You would come in early before the permit is set to start. Introduce yourself to the permit holder, ask for any specific requests such as, extra mics, cables, extention cords and etc. I learned more about myself and what i am capable of doing. I also learned a lot about sound and lighting and a lot of it came from my co-workers.
Points positifs
Learn new things
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great atmosphere
Secretary of Insurance (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON27 janvier 2016
The people are really nice, welcoming and friendly. The atmosphere is great. Amazing work life balance as majority of employees have children in the school board. Really enjoyed my time working here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Substitute Teaching
Substitute Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON19 novembre 2015
While it is difficult to obtain a teaching position, substituting is a great alternative. It prepares you for all types of classes and age groups, also helps to hone your skills as a teacher.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall great place to work.
Speech-Language Pathologist (Employé actuel) –  Durham Region Ontario6 septembre 2015
Work during the school year is very busy, but balanced by excellent holiday time. Coworkers are generally supportive and collegeal.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
DDSB
Early Childhood Educator (Ancien employé) –  Whitby25 juin 2015
I Loved working at DDSB, meeting new people each day and interacting with the children. I was able to easily adapt to new environements each day and assist the teacher in any way i could.
Points positifs
Meeting new people everyday
Points négatifs
no job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lunchroom supervision
Lunchroom Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Ajax, ON20 avril 2015
a typical day at work is greeting all staff and students, and creating small talk before getting to work. I am always learning something new on the job, whether it being how to approach students depending on their mood or given a new task to work one on one with a student. My management team is very straight forward and always is pushing me to exceed my best. My co-workers always set a great example for me to lead off of. The hardest part of my job is being able to be in fully control of the students and for them to follow instructions, the most enjoyable part of my job is being able to enjoy what I do.
Points positifs
Work Inside school
Points négatifs
Miss hours due to school trips with the class
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good
Occasional Teacher K (Employé actuel) –  whitby, ont1 décembre 2014
Full time job is difficult to obtain

Hardest part is being on call never know what school you will be working at
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Never a dull day at work
Acting Payroll Officer (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON10 février 2014
Learning new systems daily has been a challenge and very interesting.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
CHALLENGING, INTENSE, BUT PERSONALLY REWARDING
TEACHER (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON23 janvier 2014
AN 8 - 3 DAY WHICH I DESCRIBE TO PEOPLE AS WRITING, WORKSHOPPING, AND PRESENTING A ONE ACT PLAY EVERY 40 MINUTES OF THE DAY FOR 5 DAYS A WEEK FOR 200 DAYS EACH YEAR. IN ADDITION THE JOB DOES NOT END AT 3: PLANNING ASSESSING IS AN AFTER HOURS RESPONSIBILITY. THIS IS PROBABLY THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB--AN IN BASKET WHICH NEVER EMPTIES. CO-WORKERS WHO UNDERSTAND THE NATURE OF THE JOB PROVIDED MANY MOMENTS OF LAUGHTER ABOUT THINGS ONLY PEERS WOULD UNDERSTAND WITHOUT TOO MUCH EXPLANATION. MANAGEMENT AND MANAGEMENT SKILL AND STYLE WERE AS VARIED AS HUMAN BEINGS.
Points positifs
ALTHOUGH CLICHE, IT'S THE "AHHA" MOMENTS WITH STUDENTS AND THE HEARTFELT "THANK YOU" FROM A PARENT.
Points négatifs
ALL PERVASIVE NATURE OF TEACHING TASKS/EXPECTATIONS, AN ANNUAL 10 MONTH RUN WITHOUT OPPORTUNITY FOR SELF-DIRECTED DOWNTIME
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good place to be if you like children.
Lunchroom Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON9 janvier 2013
Watch the children during lunch time.The children sometimes have their problems but for the most part the job is great.
Points positifs
the children are great.
Points négatifs
your out in all weather.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lacking work and opportunity for advancement recently
Occasional Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON7 janvier 2013
Due to the political climate, teachers are not taking sickdays, therefore, as a supply, I have had hardly any work. Also, there are few postings as well internally or externally for new applicants. Most positions go to experienced staff.
Points positifs
good schools
Points négatifs
lacking work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Busy place to work
Educational Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Pickering, Ontario24 octobre 2012
A typical day would involve working with students n their classes. My primary role is to ensure that students stay on task and are able to understand and complete assigned work. Often this is difficult as many of them have learning disabilities. My role is to help them understand assigned work using various methods. ie. chunking the material down
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 4Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
learning more about students though facing a challenge of teaching a new class everyday.
Occasional Supply Teacher (Employé actuel) –  Whitby on.22 octobre 2012
It is a good fun filled atmosphere to work with. As I work as a supply teacher so,get to know the students of different grade levels.It is a varied experience and a perfect opportunity to learn different teaching strategies.Over all I like working with this board.
Points positifs
opportunity to use different teaching methods.
Points négatifs
challenge to deal with the new class everyday.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler

Voir plus d'avis pour Durham District School Board

Vous pourriez essayer :

Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Durham District School Board ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,3
D'après 78 avis
535
431
310
22
10

Notes par catégorie

4,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,7Direction
4,0Culture d'entreprise