DSL Ltd. - Avis

Trouvé 17 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 18 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Technicians beware!
Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB3 mai 2019
Get ready to suck up to everyone in the office. Otherwise you're not getting work or support. They undervalue good technicians while overvalued line towers are glorified.

If you're the kind of technician who fixes soldered electrical connections with tape, or have no problem bypassing safety interlock devices for the sake of keeping your job, then this is the place for you. Tow that line and you'll be fine.....unless you're needed as a sacrificial goat.
Points positifs
Free coffee
Points négatifs
Everything else.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 5Signaler
Réponse officielle de DSL Ltd.
21 mai 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review DSL. We are an organization that takes pride in its supporting and caring for our technicians. DSL’s technicians are not only provided the opportunity to go to school and apprentice with DSL, they are also guided on pathways to learn new skills. It is unfortunate that you felt unsupported. We conduct several company culture surveys a year to gauge employee satisfaction and to give them an opportunity to express their opinions and ideas for improvement at DSL. We take these surveys seriously and use them as a guide to help make DSL a better place to work.
We aim to constantly recognize and provide room for growth at DSL to ensure technicians always feel valued and appreciated. We are proud of the fact that we are a privately-owned family business and our best practices for hiring or promotion are always based on the best candidate available. In addition to putting many technicians through apprenticeship programs, we have also promoted a team of quality leads in the field, as well as having promoted several recent Service Managers from roles as technicians in the field
At DSL Safety comes first, we ensure this by providing free safety training for all our technicians. Health and safety are a main priority that is constantly assessed and evaluated through spot checks and checklists that are required of technicians and management. We have a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to not following health and safety requirements. Please contact us with accurate examples of these dangerous activity’s so that we can be made aware of what may happen  plus... and take the necessary corrective action.  moins

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Opportunities for learning
Technician (Ancien employé) –  Western Canada9 février 2019
It's okay. Good to get started and learn about commercial appliances. On-call sucks, management typically doesn't know what to do so make friends with other techs
Points positifs
Company vehicle, dispatch is great, travel (if you like that sort of thing), support to go to school
Points négatifs
Nepotism is rampant amongst management, Difficult to advance, Lack of monetary recognition after years of work and training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 2Signaler
Réponse officielle de DSL Ltd.
1 mars 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review DSL. We are happy to hear that your experience with our dispatch was great along with our company vehicle, travelling and school support. Our on-call is scheduled in a rotation to make it as fair as possible for everyone. Sometimes with unforeseen circumstances it can change due to someone being off sick or on holidays or emergency situations. At DSL are proud of the fact that we are a privately owned family business and our best practices for hiring or promotion are always based on the best candidate available. In addition to putting many technicians through apprenticeship programs, we have also promoted a team of quality leads in the field, as well as having promoted several recent Service Managers from roles as technicians in the field

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You have been warned
Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB7 février 2019
Says full time employment but It should be.
On call full time. Called as needed.
When your bank time runs out in slow times you must pull your holidays if you want to get paid. The company Is more important than anything in your life. So even if a family member was to get hospitalized you are required to ditch them for the customer. (They did it to me and lots more) You are expected to do extras for the job on your time. They pay you a flat rate called in house to cover it. That was $4.00 a day. Not fair for what they expect.
Points positifs
Its a job.
Points négatifs
Your life does not count.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 3Signaler
Réponse officielle de DSL Ltd.
1 mars 2019

Yes we do offer full time employment for our Technician’s at DSL. Yes there is an on call as we are a 24/7 full service business. Our on-call is scheduled in a rotation aims to make it as fair as possible for everyone. Sometimes with unforeseen circumstances it can change due to someone being off sick on holidays or in emergency situations. As a proud family business we understand that family comes first. If it is communicated to us that a family member is hospitalized we expect you to be there with your family in their time of need. Banked time is set up for our technicians, when a technician has reached the 80 hours worked over two weeks the remaining hours are put into banked time. Banked time is used for top up purposes (if a technician doesn’t work the 80 hours per pay period or has a time off request). In-house is paid at a flat rate, anything reasonable that falls outside of what is expected for in-house will be paid. Each employee at DSL starts with 3 weeks paid vacation, you can pull from your holiday days if you need to take a paid day off. Once you use all your vacation in a year as well as your banked time, you can take an unpaid day off when needed.

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Culture
Service Manager (Employé actuel) –  Port Coquitlam, BC21 mars 2018
Great culture focused company! DSL's core values focus on everything from the customer to its staff. Is a great place to work with some pretty good perks. On any given day there could be a slush or ice cream machine running in the office and there is always great coffee! Have been here many years and look forward to many more to come!
Points positifs
Fun place to work, great people, great culture
Points négatifs
Gets very busy, but is expected in this industry
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 21Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Free Ice Cream
Sales (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton9 mars 2018
Under the new President, things have vastly improved. The current Pres is the most qualified guy for the position as he has had experience in almost every position within the company and he is implementing great changes.
Outside of management, the company is a fun place to work. The people are amazing and there is free slush, ice cream, and coffee regularly.
It does get hectic during the summer but that is to be expected in this industry. Ultimately, DSL strives to best serve its customers.
Points positifs
Free ice cream/ slush, fun people, cool products
Points négatifs
Hectic summers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 27Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nepotism Central
Administration (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB6 mars 2018
This company has the potential to be great again but not with current management.

Disorganization and lack of communication are rampant in the management team who advance family members over qualified staff. Serious offences by family are repeatedly over-looked (i.e. drinking and driving, harassment, verbal abuse of fellow staff etc.)

Staff have increasing demands placed on them but are refused the resources to complete these tasks.
Points positifs
Good people to work with on the ground level
Points négatifs
Nepotism, pay (particularly for women), sexist management, lack of communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 40Non 15Signaler
Réponse officielle de DSL Ltd.
4 avril 2018

We are sorry you feel that way about our current management here at DSL.
As you know, being a former employee, our current management team has undergone lots of changes in the last year, all for the betterment in putting the right person in the right seat. At our leadership level we have four people who are directly related to either of the owners which means 87% of the leaders and supervisors in our business are not family.
We conduct several company culture surveys a year to gauge employee satisfaction and to give them an opportunity to express their opinions and ideas for improvement at DSL. None of which your opinions have ever been expressed or reported to HR for that matter. We take these surveys seriously and use them as a guide to help make DSL a better place to work.
Regarding your very serious accusations against our management team, we would never accept these offences by anyone in the company. We give the autonomy to each of our employees to bring up any serious offense and we deal with those matters in the upmost professional way. We have a zero tolerance policy for all of the offenses named and under no circumstances is this okay in our organization, please contact us with any real examples of these offences so that we can be made aware of what happened and take the necessary corrective action.

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of Opportunity
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB13 juillet 2017
Definitely a place for hard workers only. But there are tons of opportunities for training and advancement if you put in the work.
Some really great managers and the coworkers are a lot of fun.
Points positifs
Great coworkers and managers
Points négatifs
Stressful in summers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 24Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to Work
Service Technician (Employé actuel) –  Port Coquitlam, BC12 juillet 2017
This is a great place to work. Flexibility to work longer hours if you want to make some extra OT. They have a banked hour program so that you still maintain a steady paycheck during slower times. Good team environment where your fellow coworkers help you out. Customers are generally pretty grateful when you help them out.
Points positifs
work with great people, really fun place
Points négatifs
can be longer hours in busier periods
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 20Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dont waste your time here. If your already a journeyman its a step backwards in your career.
Refrigeration Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB11 juillet 2017
Bad place to work don't waste your time here
Management treats you like garbage.
Office staff get treated well.
All I learned here was if your not related to the CEO or someone high up then you will always just be a worker.
Points positifs
Work vehicle so you can go out of town for days and days.
Points négatifs
Too many to list
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35Non 14Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Twrrible place to work
Customer Service Representative / Parts (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB14 avril 2017
Not a good place to work. Management is constantly changing. Four service mangers I a year. Company does not have proper documentation on police's ie how quartly bonus payments work. No room for over time. Any overtime is not paid out but banked till the slow seasons. Job security nonexistent while employed for about a year and half I saw 40 plus people let go. Mostly to that person's surprise and to the surprise of coworkers. Supervisors never know the answer to you questions and concerns, due to the change in staff all the time it feels that you have to teach you supervisor their job. Who is paid more the you. No room for advancement. Ask all the non supervisors position people there and most people have a fear of being the next person to be let go. All in all they do not put their employees 1st. Their customers are always 1st to the point where the employee suffers from this. Also if you are a person or morals, you have to tell half truths to customers on a daily basis. After a year and a half I took one thing away from DSL. They only concern is their books at end of month and nothing else. There is absolutely nothing positive to say about this company and if you are looking to be their customer of their products and services look else where. Their markup on price and what they charge is insanely high.
Points positifs
Free coffee.
Points négatifs
Everythibg else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 45Non 16Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive workplace
Marketing Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB30 janvier 2017
Really learned a lot through this job and was given many opportunities to try new things and be mentored in many different positions. Taking time off was easy and you were always provided with the opportunity to make up lost hours if you'd like.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 29Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Work Place
Finance (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB8 décembre 2016
DSL Ltd has been a great experience working for them. Great atmosphere. Very professional all around. The employees are all great to work with.
Points positifs
Great atmosphere
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 30Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard Workers
Support Staff (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB5 décembre 2016
DSL is a company that rewards hard work and hard effort. Being a reactive service company can sometimes require overtime but it is always paid well and is fair.
Worklife balance can be difficult if you are not used to a tech or technical support lifestyle.
The people at DSL really care for the company and are very friendly, but tend to be quite busy.
Points positifs
Great people. Not effected by local economy
Points négatifs
Long hours during busy times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 27Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great coffee, lots of laughs, slightly old fashioned.
Accountant (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB2 décembre 2016
Office life at DSL is characterized by the great coffee served up by the automatic espresso machine, laughter shared by co-workers, and some older style policies and procedures. A lot of the office work is manual entry or review of data, but new systems mean more and more automation will be implemented as time goes on.

The company isn't large enough for most positions to have a set career path, but it is small enough for people to make their own paths as opportunities come up. The managers spend more time on e-mail than is healthy, and as such organizational change is slow. We have recently implemented new technologies, and slowly we are adopting new methods and approaches.

The finance department is an excellent team, with a good blend of people from different backgrounds. The management group in this department is strong and is capable of setting goals and making the changes that they commit to. Finance team members are encouraged to further their education and the company is willing to financially support employees pursuing designations or degrees. The Controller is approachable, knowledgeable, and willing to help people learn.

During my time I've learned a lot about industry accounting, office communication, and presentations. My typical work day has a healthy amount of laughter, a good amount of interesting work, and probably too much time spent on e-mails and in meetings. The hardest part of the job can be balancing the demands of different people in the office while accomplishing my own goals. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I can make a
  plus... difference in the company every day and that I have the opportunity to continue to learn new skills and take on new challenges.

My experience with DSL has been great, I've learned a lot, grown as a professional, and enjoyed some great coffee. The finance department is a great team and can be a great place to work.
  moins
Points positifs
Free Coffee
Points négatifs
Old fashioned policies
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 21Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not very good
Service Technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB14 octobre 2016
Long hours during summer, no over time paid. All time is banked for winter when it's slow. Different pay scale for appliance techs versus refrigeration techs .Even though you work on the same Equipment. They will not sign you up for the Refrigeration apprenticeship. So at least you could with time get paid they same.
Points positifs
Working inside most of the time
Points négatifs
long Summer hours, on call a lot, over time not paid
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 46Non 7Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
not great
refrigeration tech (Ancien employé) –  winnipeg20 août 2014
long hours, they expect you to have none of your own free time
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
a lot
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 47Non 23Signaler

Voir plus d'avis pour DSL Ltd.

Vous pourriez essayer :

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez DSL Ltd.. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,0
D'après 18 avis
53
47
31
21
16

Notes par catégorie

2,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,8Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,0Direction
3,1Culture d'entreprise