Designer Brands Inc. - Avis

Trouvé 492 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 2 171 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Typical Retail Job
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Vaughan, ON22 octobre 2019
Working over here was nothing special. It was a very typical retail job. My managers and employees were great so it made working here a blast. But nothing out of the ordinary.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This is not the copmpany I meant>>>thanks ineed
Part-time Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Sherwood Park, AB9 octobre 2019
I worked at DSW Designer Shoe Warehouse Company. Specifically the shoe Company branch.
I had a great time here.
You can tell its a big company that only cares about money.
Points positifs
30% regular priced shoes
Points négatifs
Only getting 30% off regular priced shoes...customers can get a better deal then staff
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive And fun work enviroment with lots of friendly people
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB6 octobre 2019
Productive and fun enviroment with really awsome management and employees. Its nice to interact with all these new people you get to see everyday and all the friends you make
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst Experience I've Ever Had
Store Manager (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC30 septembre 2019
I was hired as a store manager for this company. My training was pathetic, the first week was a bit of product knowledge, and store routines, the second week I was used as a cashier so the "training manager" could work on her snake flow. I was then placed in my store while the existing store manager was still there, and bitter to be leaving, so that was very uncomfortable. I then took over this completely broken store. I had to hire all new staff, so at that point everyone in the store was brand new, during their busiest time of the year. The DM was pretty new, very disingenuous, and either had no idea about the condition of the store or was dishonest about it when she hired me. At first she said that we just needed to get through bts and then we would worry about getting the store cleaned up and the standards in place, but then she found out that there would be a corporate visit. Two weeks into my time in the store she told me that I had to have the entire store 95% cleaned up and all standards in place by her visit the following week. We did try, but with it being back to school, everytime we would get a section completed it would get completely destroyed again, and with all new staff, they were not trained on the standards, because there wasn't time to do so. There was also a huge focus on the rewards program, the expectation was 70% and anytime it would drop I would be told that I needed to take over on cash to get the score back up, so with that said, it is impossible to clean up a store from the cash desk. I was let go exactly one month after taking over the store,  plus... I did not see it coming at all. I wasn't even given the opportunity to get the store cleaned up and running properly. I caution anyone considering a job with this company, clearly to these people all managers and staff are just to be thrown away on a whim.  moins
Points positifs
Not there long enoughto see any.
Points négatifs
More than I could list.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good management and fun work place
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB28 septembre 2019
Management is excellent, work environment is good, though lots of work and less time, minimum wage and too much work, no benefits and no job security. Much hard working environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
ok place to work as a part timer
Stock Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON24 septembre 2019
constant micro management of how you deal with customers i.e. using their phrases like "shoe lover," "if you need anything let me know I'm here for you." they prioritize getting customer signups so you'll be forcing people to sign up when cashing them out. the less sign ups you get, the less time on cash which means less shifts. other than that, the people are good to work with and the atmosphere is good.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good In the beginning
Key Holder (Employé actuel) –  Vernon, BC24 septembre 2019
Very good when I started working there. Lots of everyday theft.. suprise meetings with head office. Rude customers, overall a fun job but not worth it at all.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
There are a lot of wonderful people. The company was undergoing significant change, creating a very stressful work environment.
Director, Human Resources (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON18 septembre 2019
The most enjoyable part of the job were the wonderful people that worked there.

There has been significant change in recent years, moving from a private, family owned company that was hugely successful and wonderful to work with to being the Canadian subsidiary of Designer Brands. This transition came about via two acquisitions, resulting in a massive restructuring of the senior management team and changes to systems and culture that were very disruptive.

Hopefully everything as settled down and they are once again the fabulous company and retailer that was loved by employees and customers!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace.
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Nisku, AB17 septembre 2019
Productive and fun workplace. Great people, reasonable sales goals, great location, low theft, close to home, and kept busy with tasks. Get to look at shoes all day.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, ON29 août 2019
This is a Good place to work. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The manager worked with availability.
Not much room for moving up within the company, though.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work, except for high theft
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB18 août 2019
Good selection of shoes, sandals, boots, bags, socks and shoe care products. Good staff to work with. Main problem is the high rate of theft by local shoplifting rings. Unfortunately the high rate of theft shows no sign of abating and is in fact escalating.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
nice experience as acashier
Senior Service Associate (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB11 août 2019
i learned all about food ,how to give best customer serve and find the best food for them
time management with lined up customers with handling grill and cash simultaneously
Points positifs
free lunch
Points négatifs
short hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Relaxed Environment
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON1 août 2019
Very laid back environment , extends your knowledge in the fashion industry . Keeps you aware of the trends that are in and out. Lets you interact with clients beyond their needs
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good for a first job, bad as a long term job.
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB30 juillet 2019
My day starts off with either opening the store or coming in the afternoon for a closing shift, where i either prepare for the start of the day by handing out tasks for employees or checking in with the other management. As a supervisor my job is to watch over the employees every move and call them out on anything the company does not approve of all the while I have to stand up near the front of the store and greet every customer coming in to the store as though I am just a greeter.

Workplace culture is great, the people are great that work there, they are fun and incredibly nice but the management brings the company down. You must be available a minimum of three shifts, morning and night plus one weekend but you will never actually get the schedule you want.

Overall it is a decent place to work if it is just as a second job or a first time job for a teenager but long term it is boring, stressful, and there is no room for advancement.
Points positifs
Great associates
Points négatifs
No room for advancement, boring, bad management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Store Associate (Ancien employé) –  Saskatoon, SK24 juillet 2019
Getting the opportunity to work at the Shoe Company was primarily a great working environment. I enjoyed the people I had worked with and helping customers pick shoes they love. Management was great for the most part. There was long shifts and Miscommunication. I really enjoyed being part of there team for time I worked there.
Points positifs
Discounts on shoes
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not caring, poor management
Sales Floor Associate (Employé actuel) –  Chilliwack, BC18 juillet 2019
Company never really offers much for advancement or wage increases. Manager has difficulties understanding requirements of their associates and their other commitments. No benefits or rewards/approval and very double sided expectations.
Points positifs
runs on mall hours
Points négatifs
no benefits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
normal workplace
Trinity Commons, part time associate (Employé actuel) –  Brampton, ON18 juillet 2019
its okay but the management is not great and the hours are bad.
Points positifs
easy job
Points négatifs
bad hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
There are better Jobs out there
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC17 juillet 2019
Poor upper management. Very high expectations for the tasks at hand with the massive payroll cuts. My store was cut hard, despite being one of the highest volume stores in BC. Challenging to keep up to the enormous shipments, promo changes every weekend, tagging, merchandizing, condensing, web orders, etc .. Despite everyone being completely burnt out... Despite the unrealistic sales targets, if you don't make target, your store will be cut hours the following week. Which creates MORE stress for everyone in the store. Part timers leaving because they cant get hours, and management burning out due to lack of payroll hours and increased workload.

If you want a thankless stressful job, that pays terrible.. Go for it. But seriously.. There is a VERY GOOD REASON why Shoe Warehouse and Shoe Company are ALWAYS hiring.

High turnover is the norm in this company.. Perhaps if they respected and paid their associates better, then they would retain more of their hires

The particular store I was in, was toxic. Mall is close to a tent city, mall management/mall security do next to nothing to keep retailers safe. Having to deal with dangerous crackheads and junkies every 15 minutes is hard on everyone.

Just keep scrolling! There's much better out there!
Points positifs
30% off staff discount, Good training and ongoing learning modules, Asst. Managers and first key holders are eligible for sales bonus if the store makes target
Points négatifs
Stressful as you are working alone much of the time in a very large store, The amount of tasking required does not balance with the payroll hours, Management usually ends up doing most of the tasking, on top of our own roles, as there is literally no payroll hours to have an associate do it.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great learning experience
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  London, ON4 juillet 2019
Helping customers find exactly what they are looking for and helping people be confident in their purchases always put a smile on my face. However, the pressure and expectations by managers is a bit too much for most employees to be comfortable with.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Shoe Company
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Oshawa, ON30 juin 2019
Loved my manager, was the best part of my job
Worked with my best friend
Hours were set times and rarely had to stay past the time
New manager isn't very good
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Designer Brands Inc.. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,6
D'après 2 171 avis
5556
4698
3534
2206
1177

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,0Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,2Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise