DECO Windshield Repair - Avis

Voir les 26 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work if you like being independant
Site Operator (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB4 novembre 2019
you would start your day setting up a site tent and customer will than come to your tent and you must sell repairs and repair plans. Wish they would compensate for gas and mileage though.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace
site operator (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB19 septembre 2019
A great atmosphere to work, the management team are great people. You are able to make as much money as you want depending on your sales. You learn lots about sales and it is a great place to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great summer job for students, and those without a life
Site Operator (Ancien employé) –  Saskatoon, SK8 juillet 2019
I worked for DECO for two years in various cities, and I find this to be a great employer for students, as they rated high in that respect - they offer plenty of hours, ability to work outdoors all the time, great sales incentives, and you could easily pay off your tuition over the summer. You also get to work independently, but also apart of a team. You’re also given all the tools and training needed for the position, but sometimes not enough.

But saying all the good things, there are negative aspects of working for DECO, so to each their own when deciding to work for them. The biggest issue is having to use your own vehicle - even though you’re using your vehicle to carry around their tent and the supplies, they don’t compensate for your mileage. Another big problem is weather calls - it could be hailing, raining, snowing, or whatever else, and it takes forever before management will FINALLY call the day.

Some other issues include supervisors who ego-trip and speak down to you, not open to suggestions or feedback of their own. You’re also required to work almost all long weekends and don’t like to honour days off requests, not matter how far in advance you’ve requested them.
Points positifs
Work independently, plenty of hours, outdoors, good co-workers, tools and training provided
Points négatifs
Working outdoors even in adverse weather, poor communication with management, no days off sometimes, no compensation for vehicle.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent summer job
SALES TECHNICIAN (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB6 mars 2019
Deco has provided me with a well paying seasonal job during the summer and spring months. My favourite part of the job is being able to work outside (getting a sick tan) and meeting new people everyday. Management is relatively flexible with hours and booking time off, however, they do expect you to work 6 days a week including weekends (the busiest days = more commission for you) I Recommend this job to any students or anyone seeking seasonal work!
Points positifs
Flexible hours, great pay
Points négatifs
expected to work weekends, unexpected flow of customers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Summer Job - Highly Recommend!!
Site Operator (Employé actuel) –  Calgary29 janvier 2019
Been working with this company for a few seasons now and love working here.

I like the competitive culture that rewards performance, I also like being able to have an impact on my personal earnings every day. You get paid minimum wage + commission and I averaged $25.00/hr for the whole season.

I love working outside, working independently and talking with customers all day.

The hardest part of the job is two things:
1) Bad weather - which is just part of an outdoor job. It was frustrating some days but overall it did not affect my total earnings over the whole summer.

2) Fluctuation - Some days would be super busy and then some days would be slow. You have to be okay with fluctuation in day to day earnings and be comfortable focusing on what you're making on average for the week/month etc,

Overall I highly recommend this job to anyone looking to improve their people skills, who want to work independently and who are motivated to earn money.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great. Fantastic opportunity for college/trade/university students and individuals entering the workforce while going to school .
Repair Technician (Employé actuel) –  Calgary, AB4 janvier 2019
Gotta love this company. So fun. Reliable Management.

Not only are you helping everyone but you are the shoulder. You are the listener. You know how to fix glass as you are given expert direction from training staff and management that care about a professional job, safety and value of a repeat client. I get to meet so so many wonderful people and the kids love it when they can close their eyes and count to 50 while the UV light is on the windsheild when it’s sundown or cloudy. I find that adults try to peek more than children... hmmm?

Definitely a company to work for.
Points positifs
Meet people. Put yourself out there. Never know who you are going to meet.
Points négatifs
The ONLY thing is the weather.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fantastic summer job for anyone young and sociable!
Site Operator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB3 janvier 2019
A day consists of you getting to site, setting up the tent and repairing windshields, followed by taking your tent down at the end. You handle every single part of the job yourself on site which is nice so you aren't reliant on anyone.
The only hard parts about the job would be when the weather became difficult or when you got swamped with customers, but that's a positive thing in the long run for money's sake.
This job does a great job of teaching it's workers how to do customer service, building confidence with strangers in the process, as well as social and technical problem solving skills both with customers handling issues as well as handling potential hiccups in the repair.
The culture is good, everyone is kind and upbeat with one another and encourages and spurs each other on to do a good job and to work hard.
In general I have no complaints about the job besides when the weather was sucky, but that's uncontrollable. Plus, if it's so rainy, you get a free day off which is nice sometimes!
Overall it's a fantastic job for college students and young people looking for summer work and pays great if you work for it as you're paid both an hourly wage and a commission. Oh and you get a sweet T-shirt tan, and who doesn't want one of those!
Points positifs
Your salary reflects the work you put in, easy to work with schedules, get to be in the sun all summer, get to chat with people most of the day, even get some relaxing downtime between customers, you're independent and don't rely on anyone
Points négatifs
It's weather dependent, slow days happen sometimes.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great summer job, have returned for multiple seasons!
Site Operator (Employé actuel) –  Calgary3 janvier 2019
DECO has been a great summer job for me. I am able to work outside, run my own orange tent and I've been able to meet some great people that were co-workers as well as customers.

You have gear in your car and go to your site daily and setup your tent. You get customers and fix their windshields and help them get repair plans. The only thing I don't like are the slower days but you are still outside getting paid so it isn't the worst thing ever. I have been able to gain sales experience that I wouldn't get anywhere else and this has helped me grow personally and I am a more confident person.

The management team has been understanding that I am in university and have given me the tools I need to excel and make as much money as I possibly can. It's a great job as well as I can work part time in the spring and fall when I am in school and still make money.

This is a great job that I will be returning to for the third straight season!
Points positifs
Work outside, great pay, great management, great experience
Points négatifs
Slower days, bad weather days
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Solid summer job
Windshield Repair Technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB13 décembre 2018
Fun company, flexible hours, pay is decent (part of it is commission, so some days are better than others). The culture is great. Would recommend to anyone looking for summer work. Slow days can be very boring though.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great workplace with an amazing environment
Site Operator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 avril 2018
Deco is a great job and for students especially because it has the ability to equip the workers with many relevant skills to be used for the future. Having the responsibility of managing your own kiosk outside provides a lot of freedom but also includes a lot of self-motivation. One of the best parts of the job is being able to work outside in the summer and interacting with numerous people daily. The management is great because they're young and understand how it is to be a student so I was able to build good relationships. To me, the most difficult part of the job is having to carry all the equipment and having to set-up and tear down every day but at the same time, it's not even that hard. Overall, the company has a great workplace culture with many encouraging managers. It's fun being able to hang out with them as well outside of work and going to trampoline parks as a company.
Points positifs
good pay
Points négatifs
long days without customers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent summer job but dont count on managers to help you out alot.
Windshield technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB4 avril 2018
I worked here for a while and not one year did I have a manager that should have been a manager. Student job defiantly pay was good until they introduced repair plans where you may go an entire day only on minimum wage which hurts when they have some locations and days that only run for 4 hours.
Points positifs
Grouo events
Points négatifs
Bad managers, below satisfactory pay, alone for 8 hours of the day.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Workplace
Site Operator (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB14 février 2018
You work on your own at a site and sell windshield repairs/windshields. The money you make is slightly influenced by the amount of sales you make (base hourly wage + a small commission, but it usually adds up on busy days).
Points positifs
Outside all day, your own lunch breaks
Points négatifs
Kind of boring, you have to be a salesman
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Active workplace and innovative people
Labourer (Seasonal) (Ancien employé) –  Winnipeg, MB4 février 2018
It was a great company to work for, plenty of shift opportunities and flexible hours which I need while I was in university. It was a great place to work and get to know the people in the city of Winnipeg and the different areas.
Points positifs
The company provided me with an ipad used for gpsing locations and free company clothing
Points négatifs
driving own vehicle and nothing to compensate for wear and tear on vehicle
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good pay, high expectations
Repair Technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB26 septembre 2017
Deco is a high paying summer job, but not high enough to keep many students for numerous summers.

The people you work with are often fantastic, and there is a competitive work environment with fun benefits for those who succeed. That being said, the job at Deco is rough on your vehicle and exhausting. Hauling >100 lbs of equipment in and out of a vehicle daily is a lot of work, and set up and take down time are not paid. You are expected to start your shift after your site is set up, and end before it is taken down, which equates to about 30 minutes of unpaid time. There is also a mandatory in-class training event which runs about 8 hours and is also entirely unpaid.

It is a company expectation that you work at least 6 days per week at 8 hours per scheduled shift with no overtime pay, and no stat holiday pay (i.e. no time and a half for either). They expect that you're up and walking around for your entire shift (not completely unrealistic) and do not encourage taking lunch breaks. It is in fact expected that you remain at your tent if you do take a lunch break as it is paid, and therefore you must be able to still serve a customer should one approach.

At the beginning of the summer, they take a very fair $200 deposit for the equipment you will use for the job. That being said, you are forced to sign a contract stating that should anything happen to the equipment you're using (Dremel, iPad, etc) you are responsible for the cost of replacing it. This also applies to cash. If your cash from the day's sales is stolen (even if of no fault of your own) you must replace
  plus... it in full out of your own pocket. There were also times were payroll was not correct and amounts had to be added on to other cheques, or cheques were being mailed/collected in person at the office instead of through direct deposit with little to no notice.

Finally, management is indecisive and intimidating. One week you are told you're no longer allowed to give out discounts and the next you're being told to do "anything to make the sale". Management also uses scare tactics to get employee's sales percentages up. One such example is my territory was told a story of someone in another territory in Calgary who was fired because they couldn't get repair plan sales >65%. The expectation of that sales target was highly unrealistic given the company average was sitting around the 45% mark.

Overall I enjoyed my coworkers and the team building events we got to do together, but I would never return for a second summer. My understanding is that most of my coworkers also did not plan on it either given their experience at the management level.
  moins
Points positifs
High paying summer student job
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok job
Glass Technician (Ancien employé) –  Private19 septembre 2017
Okay job, management wasn't the best work time can seem okay at first but you only get Sunday off so it becomes long not over all worth it for what you're paid.
Points positifs
Work by yourself, good training
Points négatifs
Long hours long days poor management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed the freedom
Site Operator (Ancien employé) –  Lethbridge, AB15 juin 2017
This job provided plenty of workplace freedom. I enjoyed having my own inventory to keep track of, equipment to maintain, and money to manage. When you're working a site, you make all the calls, you make all the repairs, you handle the whole deal. At the end of the week you take your boss the cash you made and go for a weekly team meeting discussing how all the sites are operating and making sure everyone is on the same page for marketing promotions and things like that.
Points positifs
Dealt with customers without someone looking over your shoulder
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyable
Mascot (Ancien employé) –  Prince George, BC1 février 2017
I found it fun to be a mascot, dressing up for the kids and handing out merchandise. Though it was a one day only job it was one of my favorites to this day.
Points positifs
Fun work environment
Points négatifs
only one shift
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good
Site operator (Employé actuel) –  Alberta3 septembre 2016
Great company and managment awesome team meetings typical day is great and easy going i learned customer service and a typical work day the job has no hard parts at all
Points positifs
awesome
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fantastic
Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB5 juillet 2016
Great work ethic from all of the employees and the managers themselves. Great experience with customer service and handling of tough customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Experience
Site Operator & Technician (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB30 juin 2016
Typical summer job, work from 10:30 am to 6:30 pm, and 10 am to 6 pm on weekends. Get a nice tan working outside, a lot of customer service or talking to people. Get to do repairs outside. Be prepared to fight the elements. Your biggest enemy is the wind, make sure you won't get blown away. Be sure to keep ALL of your inventory checked and NOT STOLEN because the company will not reimburse your stuff, in fact they will charge you for getting their stuff robbed. You are accountable to it all. There are mandatory tuesday morning meetings, with the same old thing: don't do repairs with the windshield facing the sun as it will crack, and always upsell upsell upsell on glass treatments (full service package). Managers are nice, well the ones I've worked with. Just don't be lazy. You're working by yourself literally every day. If you wanna make it big, then sell on those glass treatments, but again with all aspects of sales, if you are willing to give up your morals/business ethics, you can be a great salesperson by setting those things aside and just do you.
Points positifs
great managers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez DECO Windshield Repair ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,1
D'après 26 avis
511
49
33
23
10

Notes par catégorie

4,0Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,9Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise