Dana Hospitality - Avis

Voir les 90 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amateurs
Server/Bartender (Ancien employé) –  Jasper, AB15 novembre 2019
Since coming to Canada I’ve worked some horrible jobs. This was the worst by far. Understaffed to a critical level to save money. It could be the middle of summer and they know full well they have 4 buses of tourists arriving to the hotel and the kitchen would have 1 line cook and 1 prep guy. 3 servers max and one of them had to serve the bar at the same time. Serving most days I had to explain to guests why half of our already tiny menu was unavailable. In March they got busy with schools of children on ski trips and they wanted us to work breakfast (5.30 - 11am), then go work at the ski hill (11.30 - 3.30) and then come back down to serve the dinner shift (5-10.30pm), multiple days in a row. I refused and got told they’d cancel my ski pass if I didn’t. I’ve never experienced such a high turnover of staff. Pay check was regularly light and always had to fight to get it rectified. Incompetent HR and all upper management, I personally know at least 5 people who never had access to pay stubs. They’d take our grats from pre paid vouchers and only gave us a portion with no breakdown of which event they were from so we were constantly robbed. Overheard regional manager telling another upper manager to work the salaried staff like dogs and send home the ones on hourly. Luckily now Pursuit has taken over all the prior “Dana” restaurants in Jasper and you only have to see these dogs at the ski hill.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad management, no training
Cashier/Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Montréal, QC13 novembre 2019
This company has very little to offer its employees. No real training and from what I've seen prefers to come down on new employees who never received the proper info or training. Supervisors who can't even do simple voids on a cash. Managers who don't leave the office and play on FB all day. I've seen a supervisors belittle untrained baristas for not knowing what they are doing, but again no training because its sink or float.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Engaging workplace, involved on the spot learning.
Food Service Worker (Ancien employé) –  Waterloo, ON31 octobre 2019
-Working there provided me with adapting a lot of new social skills and developing a better relationship with time management.
- Management was understanding and guiding with any needs or concerns I had.
-A fast-paced job that was fulfilling at the end of each day
-Good team environment & friendly co-workers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive
A great place or organization to start with and great company to work with. Decent pay and gifts cards provided on Christmas eve. Welcoming each and every one from different community and nationality.
Points positifs
Free lunches
Points négatifs
overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Coworkers
CASHIER & BACK OF HOUSE (Ancien employé) –  Abbotsford, BC29 septembre 2019
Coworkers are fun to be around, management is good. In down times, there's always something to do, and if you are unable to find something, the chefs are always able to make something to do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very good place to work specially coworkers dont have a any ego to work anything.
Kitchen Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC28 septembre 2019
I love to work there. Because we make different menu every day . And cooking from scratch. So its fresh every day . And management and staff is very helpful and cooperative.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Busy during lunch
CASHIER (Ancien employé) –  Ric17 septembre 2019
I learned that I can work well under pressure. The management wasn't very efficient in getting back to my about questions. The head chef was very laid back and for the most part professional. I enjoyed interacting with the customers, they made me feel part of their community. I didn't like the fact that we weren't shown how valuable we were to the company in regards to rewards, Christmas dinners etc. There was no room for advancement and they pay was not so great.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Endless scope of learning
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Oakville, ON14 septembre 2019
I had a lot of freedom on what I cooked [my FIRST AND LAST manager was very cooperative and understood my potential]. I learned every small details of how to run a cafeteria. Most of the key people that I worked with were very helpful. Workplace culture was above average. Hardest part of the job was to see some customers not happy, you cannot everybody happy but my enjoyable moment was to see the long line waiting for my food. customers appreciated my work ethic and love of food. Ultimately my passion got me to where I am today
Points positifs
free food
Points négatifs
compromising on break
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
a great work life balance
Chef Manager (Ancien employé) –  Burnaby, BC11 septembre 2019
I worked with them for more them two year and it was really a great exposure to enhance my skills. The Company has a very good work culture but some obstacles.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Opportunity
Chef Manager (Ancien employé) –  Vaughan Ontario20 août 2019
Dana Hospitality Was An excellent opportunity and was a pleasure to work in a challenging location.

Although in these tough Economic times is was no surprise that the management tier I reported to was let go.

Also a reorganization in structuring allowed me to pursue other opportunities..
Points positifs
Work on your own
Points négatifs
Poor goal orientation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very poor company to work for
Food & Beverage (Ancien employé) –  Alberta8 août 2019
Some upper Management does not listen to concerns. Solution is to fire people and not to build staff up. Pay is sub par.
Would not recommend working for this company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Cook (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON6 août 2019
I've been with Dana 6 months and it's one if the best jobs I've had yet.
Everything is fesh from scratch and I have the freedom to create what I want.
The people I work with are motivated but also know how to enjoy what they do.
Overall a really positive kitchen environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Minimun wage and getting sent home early
Cook (Ancien employé) –  Burnaby, BC3 août 2019
This company licks balls. Starting wage is 14 bucks an hour. And you work 6 hours a day. Be prepared to get a second job to pay your rent. My paycheque was always short. I would have to get them to fix it over and over. Overall pretty lousy. If you work for dana you will be broke and come everyday stressed out.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management
FOOD SERVICE SUPERVISOR (Ancien employé) –  Squamish, BC24 juillet 2019
The Head chef stays all day in the office, doesn't care to his staffs even if they are already struggle during operations because most of the times they don't have enough staffs and he doesn't help. He comes in and goes home any time he wants.

This company hires management that lacks care for staffs and this is the main reason why people doesn't want to work here and why so many quit. The rating proves what I am trying to say, not just here but all over Canada.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun staff to work with
Prep Cook (Ancien employé) –  Squamish, BC21 juillet 2019
Good staff to work with, management not so much involved in ground work. Lack of hours during slow season. Smart and creative ideas from around the world on the plate especially during breakfast and lunch.
Points positifs
free lunch and uniform
Points négatifs
lack of hours during slow season
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Literally the worst management on earth
Barista and Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Jasper, AB12 juillet 2019
I was hired as a barista, told I would be getting certain hours and days, so quit my other part time job as this place was closer to my home, and I've been a barista for 10 years.

I had let them know my 5 days off way in advance, wasn't a problem. Then suddenly the company gets taken over by Pursuit and I literally never heard back about any hours or days I would be working, yet was never fired!

I never did anything wrong, just basically was ghosted by the company and never had any shifts ever again. I'm not sure what's going on but truthfully I think I dodged a bullet because this place is frustrating to work for.

And even when I worked at the cafe, management was incredibly disorganized. Never had enough stock, it was like pulling teeth to try and get any supplies.

Look elsewhere for work, even McDonald's lol you will be much happier anywhere else.
Points positifs
Free coffee
Points négatifs
Everything. Terrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
worst company i have ever worked for
Custodian/Janitor (Ancien employé) –  Castle Mountain, AB29 juin 2019
management was terrible, got verbally abused by my superiors. they failed to provide me with pay stubs for the first 3 months. very unprofessional in general. failed to resolve issues that all staff were facing on a daily basis even when fixing the issues would not be difficult. if you gave them feedback on things they were doing a poor job on or complain about real issues you got fired. they took over a location that i worked in for a year prior and they fired or drove all my friends to quit after 3 months. they cut my staff meals. they modified my time sheets after they were signed off on and to this day i have not got the money that they owe me. they made my mental health very poor. i was always stressed working a job that before they came in i loved and had no stress. If any business is reading this do yourself a favor and find a different hospitality company as this one will disappoint you in every way and your employees that you love will all quit.
Points positifs
they payed for my food safe course.
Points négatifs
over worked. under payed. abused. unprofessional.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent company
Chef (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON22 juin 2019
In my experience, working for Dana hospitality has been a great
Management is always looking for opportunities for you to thrive, advance and move up. The teams of staff you work with can vary from very skilled to very unskilled, but the individuals that don't have a lot of skill are usually very receptive to coaching and learning.
Work-life balance is good, it is a chef life still but it is much better than many restaurant kitchens. Your two days off will vary depending on the needs of the location you are at, but the majority (90%) of the time you will always have your weekends off - also chef life so those weekends might not be Saturday and Sunday, but you will get two consecutive days. Keep in mind that's environments, coworkers and management vary from unit to unit.
Benefits are decent, pretty standard for a larger company. Travel compensations are available. Salaries are average for the industry and positions, bonuses are given. Excellent job security and lots of room for development and advancement under proper management, although management isn't always proper in every unit. I've seen poor management lead to a lack of the team morale when they are not teaching or providing necessities to allow the employees to thrive. Majority of locations have excellent management and therefore an excellent team to follow, teach, grow and succeed.
Overall awesome job culture, focussing on talent and food quality. Soups, sauces, meals, jams & pickled items galore, all fresh, all local, all from scratch!
Points positifs
All scratch cooking using fresh, local ingredients. Work-life balance. Always growing (as a company and individual)
Points négatifs
Occasionally poor managers, lack of a leadership.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 5Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Company, Good Opportunity
Customer Engagement Specialist, Social Media (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON30 mai 2019
Has proven in many ways to be a very good company. I thoroughly believe in the product and service we bring to our clients and students.

As a manager having visited a variety of Dana accounts, this company is very serious about creating from scratch and creating a quality experience. Head Office management has always been kind, receptive and willing to listen to all concerns I've ever raised.

I've both experienced and seen mobility in this company, both for me and my co-workers and Dana is serious about advancing talent. Fantastic opportunity in many ways!
Points positifs
Strong Mentors both at DM and Head Office Management, Great Product, Free Meals
Points négatifs
Extremely fast paced, can be overwhelming at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 6Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun, Busy atmosphere. Get creative
Chef Manager (Employé actuel) –  Waterloo, ON29 mai 2019
Worked here as a chef manger for a little over a year. I love it, I get to make what I want everyday, it’s never a boring set menu I’m forced to produce. I get to make everything from scratch from jams to pickles to even being able to make and bottle my own kombucha.
The only advice I give to people is...stay within your budget, plan carefully and keep up on your health and safety It’s simple, if you do that you will never hear a word from upper management.
Points positifs
Great staff, atmosphere, creative freedom
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 4Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Dana Hospitality. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,7
D'après 90 avis
518
411
320
29
132

Notes par catégorie

2,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,6Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise