Dalhousie University - Avis

Trouvé 135 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 142 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Facilities Management is horribly run!
Facilities Management (Ancien employé) –  Dalplex23 août 2019
I was a term for a year in Facilities Management. I never took a day off, worked hard and tried to take pride in my work. There was only 1 supervisor who ever gave me a chance. I was used to cover for vacations, chewed up then spat out. I'm sure it would have been great if I could have gotten past the term stage, but I feel my term wasn't extended due to me going to the union over a previous issue. If you are starting out you have no rights! They cut me down from 40 hrs a week to just 16 on weekends. One of the supervisors even lied, saying I turned down work when she never offered me anything to begin with! I would have loved to stay there and be part of the team. The workers all seem so great but management and HR are hard to deal with.
Points positifs
Good pay, pension and benefits
Points négatifs
Management and HR sucks and they lie with no repercussions
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work with fantastic people
Video Conferencing Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS8 août 2019
Coordinating and overseeing resources (equipment and scheduling staff) for all video conferencing events at the University. Determining resources (rooms, bridge ports, network connections, technical resources) required for sessions and assign resources based on availability and program policies.
Identifying and making recommendations related to the implementation of new technologies and services that present opportunities to increase the overall effectiveness of video conferencing use in the delivery of distance education.

The work place culture us great and the people are great. the hardest part of the job is the salary and the monthly pay cycle.
Points positifs
the people
Points négatifs
salary
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Student - TA
Language Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS29 juillet 2019
As a Teacher assistant and Tutor for French at Dalhousie University I can safely say that it is a very professional and serious faculty. I loved working with the department, specifically the French department in the Faculty of Arts. They provide lots of support for their students!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive workplace but poor management culture
Tier 6 Desktop Support Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS26 juillet 2019
My typical work day consisted of me arriving to my cubicle in ITS and checking work tickets and my notes in One Note from the previous day. I would then go about checking on statuses of outstanding tickets in the ticket system as well as work orders i submitted to other departments like Networking group.

From there i would go about working on the highest priority tickets in the Queue or ones that had been languishing in the system for months for some cases even if it meant stepping on toes in order to make sure things were done orderly. I would even stay on campus after work hours multiple cases until midnight working on tickets and notes.

I learned how to install Xtender and configure a scanner to scan into Banner and how to work on Fusion point of sales systems at Dalplex by setting up a sand boxed virtual machine of it on a spare pc in my apartment and practicing with the point of sales software all night until i was confident in me configuring and creating accounts in it.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with angry clients who felt like ITS was ignoring their issues and coworkers who had no customer service skills. Lack of resources was another issue i had along with too many people who were managers for projects that had conflicting views.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was helping and teaching my clients about the products and devices they were using.
Points positifs
Work with some awesome people
Points négatifs
too many managers and lack of resources
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not bad if you have good faculty
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS25 juillet 2019
Overall, my particular bosses were great. I find that the position largely depends on the faculty you're working with. Dal as an institution isn't great at compensating/ensuring people are happy when they're not faculty.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A great opportunity in change management
Director of Strategy & Marketing, FOM (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS22 juillet 2019
There was no typical day at work in this role. Worked as part of a small marketing/strategy/communications team where we were responsible for highlighting the faculty's accomplishments to a wide range of key stakeholders.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work environment really good
Customer Service Representative at Dalplex (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS17 juillet 2019
I loved working at Dalplex. Its fun place to work and interact with customers on daily basis. Also there is lot to learn as you interact with different kinds of people. Never feel bored at work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dal is Great
Business Analyst (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS13 juin 2019
Dal is a great organization. Good systems is place and people are friendly. It is a place i can recommend for one to work. good vacations days and flexible work arrangement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Highly Competative
Research Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS7 juin 2019
Working there is very beneficial, and highly competitive. The environment is very supportive and productive. I liked working there with a very professional assistant.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A learning work place
Assistant planner (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS16 mai 2019
Great people, great team and fun work place. Team member always ready to help. Productive and efficient team, learnt new software without stress from team. Nice place
Points positifs
flexible hours
Points négatifs
NA
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and intresting place to work.
Laboratory Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS8 mai 2019
I was a full-time student at Dalhousie University. I also worked as a laboratory assistant for part-time. It was a great experience and got so much learn.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cleaning
Custodian (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS5 avril 2019
Great place to work, staff were friendly and helpful, deadlines were tight but manageable , moral was good, staff appreciation was recognized and celebrated.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work as a student
TA (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS26 février 2019
Always loved coming into work. Employers made it easy to accommodate any school-related time conflicts. Learned how to manage my time better and how to act in a professional environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It all depends on your faculty, department and management
C5 Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS14 février 2019
It's great that most jobs are Monday to Friday, no evenings or weekends. Nice variety of offices/faculties to be employed. Union and pension are great to have. Most difficult part is that there is no room for growth financially.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great professional team to be apart of
Clerk, Office of the Registrar (Employé actuel) –  Halifax, NS13 février 2019
Various responsibilities included a lot of attention to detail and repetitive tasks that help train your eyes to read information quicker and type faster with more accuracy.
Opportunities to learn new systems and how to utilize them to better help the students and faculty alike.
Provides the chance to better understand the importance of handling each conversation you have with the utmost care.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Depends who you are working with
Teaching/Research Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Canada11 février 2019
I am blessed with a very supportive professor who is willing to provide as many opportunities as possible as long as I am doing my job. My work is always appreciated.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Part time job at Unieversity
Systems Manager (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS6 février 2019
I was a system admin for Dalhousie while being a student. It was mostly fun and provided extra money for school and fun. I'm sure they would still offer part-=time postilions to students and it could be a good choice.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work environment
Sustainability Analyst (Co-Op Student) (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS21 janvier 2019
Great place to learn while you work and contribute to many intelligent ideas in the scope of making a better society. Great work-life balance and salaries and overall welcoming campus environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great.
Teacher's Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS22 novembre 2018
It was great working as a TA for the professor at the time. It was a while ago, but I enjoyed learning from the experience and getting to work with the professor and students.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Organized and Friendly Environment
Manager, Ancillary Services (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS25 octobre 2018
Great supportive co-workers and upper management. The atmosphere is fun and exciting and helps to mitigate the mundane tasks of the position. Work is not challenging.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Dalhousie University. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,2
D'après 142 avis
561
460
316
24
11

Notes par catégorie

4,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,8Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
4,0Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise