Avis des employés pour Dairy Queen - Ottawa, ON

Trouvé 37 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 13 000 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place
Team Member (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON30 septembre 2019
I liked everything about the job. I worked at Dairy Queen for few months, and the treated me with respect. The salary was well paid with no complainning on my side.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great management
Cashier/Cook (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON1 septembre 2019
Very great staff, management, and owner. Very fun and positive work enviornment. Also, great training, benefits, and hours. It was a pleasure to be apart of the team.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Coworkers but Tense Work Environment
Staff Member (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON27 avril 2019
I worked part-time for Dairy Queen for a little over two years during high school and overall I had a great time. The job itself is like a regular fast-food job: working at cash, making the food, and helping customers. I learned to work in a very fast-paced environment as well as customer service skills. There was great flexibility with shifts and with taking days off. The hardest part was the unrelaxed environment. There were many restrictions, not many benefits, and one was always uptight because the store managers would constantly watch us on the security camera's. The breaks were also 15 minutes every 5 hours, and the rest of the time one would be on their feet, so I would come home with leg and foot pains. The most enjoyable part was interacting with the customers, each with unique personalities, and my coworkers. I made good friends by working there.
Points positifs
Nice and outgoing coworkers, 50% off food during shifts, flexible hours
Points négatifs
Very little breaks, many restrictions and at times uptight environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
really good place with great co workers
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON18 mars 2019
when i worked at dq everyone was incredibly understanding and relatable, especially the coworkers, they always had my back and are down to help you whenever you need help with making food or customers, i think the hardest part was delivery day, the boxes were heavy but other than that it was all good
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast-paced, valuable job experience
Cashier Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON13 janvier 2019
I would arrive at work for afternoon shifts (11am) or evening shifts (4pm) and immediately start working to prep food, hop into working on cash, or clean. This was my first cashier job, so the environment felt unforgiving at the start. Rush hours were hectic, but I quickly learned how to multitask between drive-through, front cash, stock, and food prep when required. The workplace culture was fairly friendly if you fit with the team members. It sometimes felt like a small family, which was really nice.
When I worked there, the management was really hectic. Scheduling was very messy, writing down schedule changes with pen on a weekly sheet of paper taped to a wall. Shifts in scheduling would happen at any time. I only worked there for a few months, so management has likely changed since then.

The most enjoyable parts of this job was how quickly the responsibilities taught me how to multitask and approach challenges head on. They also gave you discounts on food.

The hardest part of the job was interacting with some of the upper management, dealing with physical exhaustion of multiple rush hours and 8h of standing sometimes with short lunch breaks (15-20min).
Points positifs
Food discounts, generally friendly staff, tight-knit team
Points négatifs
Disorganized work environment, poor team-coordination, physically demanding
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Starter Job
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON10 décembre 2018
A good starter job. I learned the basics of customer service. It is a repetitive job that can be boring at times but I loved the management and my co-workers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Super tiring but nice experience
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON19 novembre 2018
I worked during the summer so it used to get extremely busy, you never got a moment to breathe. If you had nothing to do, you were making cakes otherwise cleaning or making ice creams or setting the place for rush hours. Hardest part was managing all the duties, easiest was free lunches.
Points positifs
Free lunches
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice Owners
Seasonal Employee (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON1 octobre 2018
The workplace culture was primarily young people with a hard-working attitude to their jobs. Management were fair and conscientious. We were a large group of people working in a tight environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fine Job but Owners Do Not Care About Their Employees
Shift Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON11 août 2018
The job itself is okay. It is a fast food restaurant where it can get very busy and you must move fast. You will be making blizzards or food (if your location has food as well). At the location I was working at the owners did not care about their staff, they would understaff us and not listen when the staff gave their feed back. As a supervisor the meetings would not get anything accomplished because they would ignore anything we would say. I loved my coworkers and my manager tried to support us the best she good but the owners gave her a hard time too. I worked my butt off at that place for 2 years only to be rewarded with nothing.
Points positifs
Half off food while working
Points négatifs
Long shifts, No support from Owners
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Really good learning experience
Crew Member (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON26 juin 2018
This job at DQ gave me valuable experience in the fast-food department. It requires hard work and to be efficient due to the amount of customers going in and out. The manager is a very nice guy, and genuinely cares for his employees.
Points positifs
Free lunches
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good starting job
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON24 mai 2018
this was my first job in highschool. it was okay but the hours at the time wouldn't allow me to get school work done. summer days were busy which was more enjoyable over the winter season.
only worked a few months as due to being in school it did not allow me much time.
Points négatifs
hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
it was fun loving place
co worker (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON16 mai 2018
it's really busy in summer but it's good to work there. Ice creams are good. Most of the time place is surrounded by jolly people and cute kids all around. I recommend this place for fast foods too.
Points positifs
good ice cream
Points négatifs
really busy in summer
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unorganized
Food Preparer (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON10 mai 2018
The structure was alright however it was rare that a senior manager or owner would be in-store and it was often just ran by kids. Although this created an enjoyable work ethic it compromised productivity.
Points positifs
Freedom
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Work
Cook/Server (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON24 avril 2018
By myself cooked and prepped food and cleaned equipment on a daily basis, Manager was unquiafied to run the store and would not requment her to work in a food industry
Points positifs
easy going
Points négatifs
under equiped
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This is more of a place to eat, than work
Cashier/Fry cook/Maintenance (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON22 avril 2018
I really hated this job. Your co-worker have no respect for you. They don't help new employees, you're on your own to learn everything. The management is complete trash that don't care for their workers needs.
Points positifs
Discount
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
bad schedule
General Worker (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON5 avril 2018
not a good place to work. The one on bank street Ottawa have some bad staff and hours are irregular. The hardest part of the job is being a new staff and having to do all the work while the other staff hang around.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High Stress, Good Staff
Cashier (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON27 février 2018
A typical day at work really depends on the time of the year. In the summer it's always a busy, stressful day. The most valuable skill I learned while working here is the importance of communication. Without proper communication, it is impossible to get the job done fast and efficiently. My favourite part about the job was definitely my co-workers. They make the fast pace, high stress environment so much more comfortable.
Points positifs
Good Management, Easy to Learn Skills
Points négatifs
Short Breaks
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast paced working environment
Manager/Cake Maker (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON30 janvier 2018
I am the manager at the Walkley Dairy Queen location which is one of the busiest Dairy Queen locations within Ottawa. Often times I am working on making their ice cream cakes while managing the staff throughout the week. Often times I put down making cakes to help the staff with customers to the best of my ability without falling behind on my cakes. The workplace culture feels like family and has taken a lot of time to get to this place. With perseverance and constant feedback and prep talks before and after shifts, it has helped us go from awkwardly working together to cohesively working together.

The hardest part of the job is not where we are located which often people think must be the hardest thing. the hardest thing is coming across people who are not from the area and pass judgments on the people there and on the staff. Often times people assume me working in this location is a lack of education on my part which is entirely untrue. The customers are great people and I do what I can to make them laugh and enjoy their time there. The best part though is working with the staff I do and seeing the regular customers the know me by name and love and care for me even when they do not need too.
Points positifs
amazing staff that support one another despite differences
Points négatifs
mean customers at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun and friendly place
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON5 août 2017
fun and friendly place to work at workers treat you like family good hours . i learned how to make ice cream cake and also designed them a typical day at work would be fast paste around 6 it would be rush hour around 8 it would be slow paste but gives you time to start closing.
Points positifs
long hours
Points négatifs
working alone
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hard job!!
Server/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON18 juillet 2017
Okay as a first job, but seriously needs a lot of improvements within the business. Always busy, always understaffed expect minimum wage salary, owner isn't invested in her own business.
Points positifs
50% off chill and grill products
Points négatifs
hard to book off time; poorly managed
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Dairy Queen. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,6
D'après 13 000 avis
53,7 K
43,8 K
33,4 K
21,2 K
1993

Notes par catégorie

3,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,4Culture d'entreprise