Crowe MacKay LLP - Avis

Voir les 17 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work with great people and management
Director (Employé actuel) –  Kelowna, BC26 juillet 2019
12 years is a long time to stay with one employer these days. Crowe MacKay has been an excellent place to work. The office culture is great, the management is wonderful, and the work/life balance is top notch.

I would 100% recommend Crowe MacKay LLP to anyone looking for a career with advancement opportunities.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent mid-size accounting firm
Senior Accountant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB3 mai 2019
- Decent mid-size accounting firm, friendly managers and partners, good client mix between tax, private and junior publicly traded companies. Gain good exposure to many accounting areas and overall it is a good work and learning experience.
- Bloated at the manager/partner level and growth beyond senior accountant at the Calgary office is rare. This also makes it difficult because other offices in the country have sometimes rapid advancement and you can easily find yourself lagging in career development behind otherwise similar peers in other offices.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The worst corporate culture I've ever experienced
Office (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB3 mai 2019
Hands down, the worst job experience I've had in 30 years. Management are ignorant, misogynistic, rude, and often outright cruel. Even if they have zero knowledge in your practice area, they will not consider your professional opinion, and force you to perform tasks to their specifications, which are usually wrong, and when there's an issue, you are to blame.

The culture is poison. I've never met a more unwelcoming bunch; and this all stems from upper management. Management is happy to tear down an employee, both to their faces and behind their back.

Crowe will never maintain quality employees if they do not make some changes to their culture and work environment. They need to get rid of the cocky, arrogant management team, and actually bring in a professional HR and Benefits team, instead of hiring their buddies from previous offices, who are neither educated nor experienced in their field. When they DO have a staff member who can made a positive influence, they smother them with their poison.

Terrible.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Best work place in NT
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT31 mars 2019
Crowe Mackay is the biggest CA firm in Northwest Territories, with several branches in Canada. To get better exposure for student on NTR, Review, and Audit, Crowe Mackay LLP is the best Chrtered Professional Accountant firm.
Points positifs
Best Learning place
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very stressful work environment
Senior Accountant (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT18 novembre 2018
I worked here for over 2 years. It is one of the most hostile work environments I have encountered.

No constructive feedback was provided even though it is a training office... only condescending comments were provided or no feedback at all. The partners would rather talk behind your back and not to your face.

You are told that you will only have to travel 3-4 weeks during busy season.. which was a lie. I had travel assignments 7-8 weeks in the spring to remote communities.. two to three weeks away at a time from your family and friends. And then I was reprimanded when returning to the office for not returning a client phone call. Not sure how I was supposed to check my voicemail when I’m not physically in the office.

I was also reprimanded for not meeting my chargeable hour budget even though I communicated on multiple occasions (and proactively) that I needed work.

The partners picked favourites as well and made it very obvious to the rest of the employees. This caused significant hostility and unhealthy competition between the staff accountants.
Points positifs
Salaries and benefits, vacation flexibility during slow season
Points négatifs
Firm Culture, travel
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of growth and opportunity
Manager (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton13 novembre 2018
Career advancement opportunities seem plentiful. They do promote some flexibility. Always giving back to their community no matter what market they're in.
Points positifs
Fridays off in summers, paid OT (depends on market)
Points négatifs
Long hours during busier seasons
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace and room for learning
Administrative Assistant / Receptionist (Ancien employé) –  Kelowna, BC10 septembre 2018
It is a great place to work. They believe in working as one big team and helping others to grow. They always believed in me and wanted me to grow. They taught me many things.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Some good experience but very political environment.
Accountant (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT2 juillet 2018
They were very supportive of the CPA Program. They sent you to remote communities. This could be a good or bad thing. On one hand you had a chance to travel and discover the North. On the other hand you would not get your per diem until the next fiscal year and a lot of times people left prematurely as they could not put up with the environment. The working environment was bad. You went to work every day with the fear that your boss would get angry with you for no reason. Your hard work may or may not get recognized. Too much politics. Pay was ok but not as good as the other places in the North.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Challenging and Supportive Work Environment
Marketing Manager (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB15 novembre 2016
- Daily tasks are varied and challenging
- Leadership plays an active role in making sure new hires are welcomed
- Coworkers create a supportive and nurturing environment
- Processes are in place to facilitate continued learning and success
Points positifs
Wide variety of challenging tasks
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Crowe MacKay LLP Yellowknife
Senior Accountant (Employé actuel) –  Yellowknife, NT26 octobre 2015
I'm not originally from Yellowknife but I decided to apply and then accept a job with Crowe Mackay as an opportunity to try something new and different.

Like most accounting firms you are required to work in teams that change weekly therefore it is essential to be a team player. The ability to work with others and keep a positive attitude is a pretty big determinant of success.

I've found the firm very supportive of students working on CPA, I've attended three separate Densmore prep sessions, all have been informative and helped me pass the modules. They also pay for all expenses to attend the module workshops.

The work/life balance varies, during the busy season you are expected to work a significant amount of overtime while during the slower periods you can take Fridays off. I've always found them to be very understanding and accommodative when it comes to taking vacations as well.

I have had many opportunities to advance quickly within the firm and also had the opportunity to do a secondment at another firm within the Crowe Horwath network. I've always found the firm supportive of their employees which can be seen by sponsoring different teams to play on and hosting events/parties above the norm of other firms I've worked at.

Overall it's been a great experience and I'd highly recommend reaching out to current employees through Linkedin if you are interested.
Points positifs
Flexibility
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 13Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible
Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT18 octobre 2015
Like most of us, we chose to go to Yellowknife for the adventure, and for the higher salary. Generally speaking, most get recruited from the East, but this was not my case.

I was a Supervisor for a while, but do caution anyone who may choose to work for MacKay Yellowknife.

In your first year of working for MacKay, you will owe the company on average $9000. It is normal practice for CA firms to add the cost of modules on a forgivable 1 or 2 year loan. What is not normal, is to add the cost of Junior staff member 'in house' required training they send you on in the South. Add your initial travel to Yellowknife, one or two modules, -you get the picture. If you leave, they will just keep your pay and offer you no other way to reimburse.. this is also not normal.

Retention in any CA firm is not great, but MacKay Yellowknife has taken this to another level. They will blame retention on the north, but the majority of designated accountants who have left them will still be working in Yellowknife.

I have never worked at a place with such a dark culture. It was a terrible place to work for, and I should have decided to leave much sooner than I did.

I highly recommend anyone considering MacKay Yellowknife to get in contact with a former employee over Linked In. There must be a better option for you out there, especially with this CPA merger. You don't need CATO time, so do yourself a favour and pass on this "opportunity"
Points positifs
Higher salary
Points négatifs
Poor firm culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 22Non 16Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Endless Opportunities, Skilled and Knowledgeable Staff, CPA/CA Support, Continuous Development
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Yellowknife9 octobre 2015
Originally recruited from the East Coast, I saw the potential for adventure and opportunity in the North and have never looked back on my decision.

I originally began my career with Crowe MacKay LLP as an articling student in 2012 and have continued to work with the Company for the past three years, now a Supervisor.

The opportunities I have been given to grow within the firm have been invaluable. The skills and knowledge I have gained over the past three years have made me a rounded Professional. I have grown to be able to provide valuable support to clients and staff members alike to help businesses grow and see other individuals succeed in the accounting field. I have been given opportunities to work in a wide variety areas, including for-profit, not-for-profit, financial services, consulting, tax and government projects alike. I have also been provided with the opportunity to travel the North exploring many parts of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Crowe MacKay has gone above and beyond my expectations as a articling student to ensure that I was given all the support and guidance through the CASB process. Ultimately I was able to pass all six modules and the UFE on the first time which is attributable to both the support of Crowe MacKay and my personal work ethics which were supported by their values.

Completing the CASB/CPA courses is always going to be a daunting task to create work/life balance. Crowe MacKay LLP provides all CASB/CPA students with support through this process with experienced mentors who have recently completed the process themselves
  plus... and are able to guide and assist through the process. Crowe MacKay truly wants everyone to succeed through this process and the time and monetary support provided are outstanding.

Beyond the CASB/CPA process, Crowe MacKay continuously develops their staff and continues to invest in their growth. Crowe MacKay has provided me with extensive professional training and support to ensure that professional standards are adhered to and I am up to date on changing professional standards.

Crowe MacKay LLP has created a culture based on their values and beliefs of caring, sharing, investing and growing in both their staff and clients. The Yellowknife Office hosts many staff events on an annual basis which assists in creating and maintaining a team environment where members are committed, supportive and respectful.

I continuously feel supported by management and staff alike and feel my work is valuable to the Company as a whole. While no one ever said a career in accounting would be easy, Crowe MacKay LLP sure does make it worth it!
  moins
Points positifs
CPA Support, Staff Events, Fair Wages, Supportive Staff, Potential for Growth
Points négatifs
Busy Season, Long Hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 17Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Yellowknife's Revolving Door
Staff Accountant (Ancien employé) –  Yellowknife, NT24 avril 2015
I worked for MacKay Yellowknife for a very short time (a couple of months). I was recruited from the East, as the salary in Yellowknife was much higher. Unfortunately, I should have listened to my gut feeling when I read about their 30 min policy for "Cake Day".. in their employment contract... and yes I'm being serious....

An example of their culture, which stands out to this day, was when I received a one-line email in July stating "Tell me why you didn't you obtain 200 chargeable hours, and don't give me a childish excuse".

I obtained 197 chargeable hours as a Junior (3 hours short) and just found out I had passed my first module in the CA program. I was disgusted, in fact, I still have that email, and I show it to students when explaining 'firm culture' to this day.

Anyway, I finished my articling with a different firm.. that actually had CA's that I could learn from, and happily passed the UFE away from that place.

Over the years it's interesting to watch the "well known" Yellowknife MacKay revolving door get good use. Before you choose to go there, do yourself a favour and ask a previous staff member their experience.
Points positifs
Higher salary than southern firms
Points négatifs
Very poor culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 28Non 19Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fill in later
Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Yellowknife, NT7 août 2014
Fill in later
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive, knowledgable and organized mid-sized work place
Accounting Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, Alberta19 juillet 2014
In a typical day I would encounter a variety of duties, such as:
-preparation of financial statements, both review and notice to readers
-preparation of corporate and personal tax returns
-government remittances
-payroll
-bookkeeping
-client relations
-account reconciliations
-management of AR and AP accounts
-preparation of T4/T5
-some administrative tasks

I learned a great many things here such as review engagements and corporate tax.

Management and my peers were enjoyable and easy to work with.

The hardest part of the job were the long hours required during tax season, however, this benefited me with Fridays off during the summer months.
Points positifs
Social committee and the office was a learning environment
Points négatifs
Communte to downtown Edmonton
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 15Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Okay place to work
Staff accountant, full-time (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC6 juillet 2014
Good to learn as a student. Not a very busy firm, most managers were pretty good to work for.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 13Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Crowe MacKay LLP. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 17 avis
54
47
31
22
13

Notes par catégorie

3,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,1Direction
3,1Culture d'entreprise