Connor Homes - Avis

Voir les 33 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Advancing the Individual
Current Employee (Employé actuel) –  London, ON14 janvier 2020
Connor Homes has had an incredible success rate with assisting the growth of Children in care. Offering them a safe, secure family environment when some children have no one. Their foster parents are above all others, their dedication and determination always amazes me and goes above and beyond for children they consider theirs when no one else does. Their ability to in still positive self esteem and self worth really does make a difference. There are times where employees struggle with issues all other companies have, gossip, feeling overworked and unrewarded. There is no doubt this is a thankless job as the kids suffer from trauma and mental health issues however after being with the company for a long period of time, those same kids have shown their resilience and we celebrate their successes, they reach out to share their lives, sometimes to apologize for their childhood behavior. Overall this company has a real family appeal and right from the top of the the ranks, every member of the team is a valued member.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Kids are amazing, Management is not
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Campbellford, ON14 novembre 2019
Although the youth you work with are amazing and full of life, those in management are incompetent at their job and frankly rude. Many applied for time off MONTHS before and still did not receive. management have often ignored staff on job when an issue arises and create an often hostile environment for employees.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
worst company to work for.
CYW (Ancien employé) –  London, ON8 octobre 2019
This is by far one of THE WORST companies to work for within the field of social services. Area supervisors treat the clients in support as cash cows and do not care one bit about staff. Area supervisors make staff feel as if they are less of a worker because they don’t have a “psychology” degree like certain managers. They provide little to no support to both staff and clients and work staff until they burn out.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Child and Youth Worker
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON21 août 2019
I had the opportunity to work in three different types of programs: group, staff model and foster care.

The supervisors were somewhat flexible with my availability, and always ensured I was comfortable with my scheduling. We received monthly schedules and were able to put in our monthly requests the month prior.

I did find it difficult to manage at the beginning as you are paid once a month, yet this does occur at other organizations.

Some days were challenging, as some youth had extensive behaviors, as other days were difficult to complain as you were fishing or going to the movies with youth. The kids were always involved with recreational activities which was nice to keep busy throughout your shift.

Wages were a bit low- but I did receive a raise throughout my year I was there
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall awful
Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Kingston, ON4 août 2019
The supervisor was more interested in making friends to drink with then caring about the clients. If something happened it was automatically your fault when you were never trained to know how to handle the situation. Pay is awful and if you are assaulted by a youth, supervisor tells you if you press charges you will lose hours.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Long hours, can’t call in sick, horrible pay with no raises
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unprofessional Management
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON9 mai 2019
Very immature and unprofessional upper management. Anyone that goes against the grain, or that actually goes to bat for the children in any way shape or form, is pushed out the door, and in a hurry. This is a cut throat agency, that beg and beg for staff, but don't value when they finally have reliable ones. There is a miscommunication between the front line staff, to upper management, facts get lost somewhere in the middle. Assuming supervisors....
Points positifs
N/A
Points négatifs
How much time do you have?
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This is not your typical review
Mulitple Job Titles (Employé actuel) –  Multiple Locations6 février 2019
The employers and employees are from diverse backgrounds. This in turn helps the youth who also come from diverse backgrounds.

My belief is that one’s innate talents and fit with an organization matter more than one’s personal skill set when it comes to one’s happiness and ability to be effective at one’s job.

We are workers, parents, spouses, friends, caregivers of difficult behaviours and volunteers. It’s not easy to achieve balance among all these competing priorities.

Self-awareness is essential for the workplace because every person has a different work style. If you want to maximize your happiness, productivity and fulfillment in the workplace it is important to identify and understand your work style.

You work in a place where your boss is your friend – that’s pretty amazing! Remember that, when you feel like complaining about work to your boss or when your friendship seems complicated and frustrating. Being friends with your boss can certainly add challenges to the everyday workplace experience.

I previously worked in an unhealthy organization and found that regardless of the task I was doing, it was miserable being there. Happiness at work is not as much about the work as it is about being respected by your co-workers and supervisors. Working in a healthy organization makes me actually want to come to work. I am happy to pick up extra tasks or work a little longer because I like what I do and whom I’m working with.

This is not your typical review. I have not come here to lay blame, point fingers or be disrespectful.

I always have and still do
  plus... enjoy my time at Connor Homes and I accredit that to my own ability to make my job enjoyable.  moins
Points positifs
Positive co-workers, open door policy, adequate training (some with costs covered partially or in full), variety of people, variety of hours to work, professional growth, empathetic supervisors/regional directors
Points négatifs
Long/unexpected hours, balancing work/personal time, negative/disgruntled employees, little room for advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad place to work
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Trenton, ON28 septembre 2018
Connor homes is in it for the money not the kids. Staff do not receive adequate training. Understaffed and under appreciated. Youth do not get proper treatment because of low funding. Bad place to work.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Low pay, under staffed, no support from management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Child and Youth Worker (Employé actuel) –  Huntsville, ON14 septembre 2018
I’ve had a great experience working with Connor Homes. They give high risk youth an amazing opportunity to grow up in a home-like atmosphere. There is nothing more rewarding then watching these youth grow and succeed and knowing that you were apart of this success.

Pros:
Co-workers are excellent
Great management in my area
Very rewarding job
Great kids
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 6Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible company
Child & Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Huntsville, ON30 août 2018
Do not work for this company. Management is terrible. Terrible pay, no benefits, no work life balance. Upper management is very wealthy and gives nothing to their staff but problems. Foster parents smoke in the houses with the children as well. Its such a terrible place to work.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 2Signaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
unsupportive
Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON1 août 2018
this company was very unsupportive. they struggled to have staff teach the children life skills, such as cooking , public transportation and how to teach the kids responsiblity
Points positifs
nothing
Points négatifs
unsupportive
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 4Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Company to work with!!
CYW (Employé actuel) –  Multiple locations18 mai 2018
Yes the job is challenging but the fact I can help be a positive role model to kids who come from so much pain...worth every crisis moment!
People who bad mouth this company probably were not in it for the right reasons. To be so selfish and rude to a company who is trying to help our children and youth. Shame on you.
I love working here and have for years. I am fortunate to have a mature team of staff who are professional and supportive.
Training is great and I feel supported. Managment has always been there for me.
Points positifs
Helping kids
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Messy chain of command with lack of focus on youth
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Ontario2 mai 2018
This agency had a very high turnover rate with staff while I was employed here. The chain of command is sloppy with any real results being hard to come by unless it directly affects them. Many employees reported delayed or lost wages which could take months to sort out if ever.
Seemed to place youth in homes based on space and money over wellbeing and proper fit every time. Many cut corners, especially for being an "accredited" agency, including paperwork and individual care plans. Some supervisors and staff claiming hours they haven't worked due to pay structure, leaving youth with less treatment and care.
Many genuine and caring individuals sprinkled throughout the agency, but not the majority from my experience. Largely run by seemingly fake people pretending to care in order to make a killing.
Becoming more thorough and focused on paperwork since the fire, but seemingly only in the face of their closure.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 1Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst place to work
CYW (Ancien employé) –  Ontario24 mars 2018
Very little training and preparation for the level of behavioral children you would work with. The children would cause damage to your personal property and you would be left to pay for it out of your own money. The pay was very poor for the mental and physical exertion you would endure. You had no support, and I feel that there was no proper help given to these poor children. The foster parents were overworked and paid very little with never any increase in pay. The homes were all falling apart with excessive damage done to them. Fostet parents were given 1 weekend off a month for relief but were expected to leave their own homes and pay for a hotel room out of their own money (or go a friend's house) but workers always cancelled so foster parents were never given proper relief. Overall a very poor company to work for.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
See aboove
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good place to get experience.
Child Youth Worker (Employé actuel) –  Thunder Bay9 mars 2018
This is a decent starting point for someone to ease into the field/ no benefits/ no vacation time/ hours fluctuate/ positive outlook on the future/ It is what it is.
Points positifs
potential to make good money
Points négatifs
read above
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bad experience
Child Youth Worker (Supervisor) (Ancien employé) –  Belleville, ON6 mars 2018
I had a very bad experience working here. There was always more kids then staff in the house. Training was very poorly done. I do not recommend working here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 19NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lacking management support, Low pay
Child & Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Campbellford, ON6 janvier 2018
Untrained foster parents, untrained coworkers, long hours, management is less than supportive. no benefits, no WSIB coverage if you are hurt on the job or your personal property, vehicles are damaged that is your loss Employee morale is low
Points positifs
clients and foster parents
Points négatifs
long hours, low pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
educational unique experiences
Area Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Campbellford, ON25 juillet 2017
Connor Homes provides opportunities for unique and intense work experiences with a wide variety of clientele in a variety of different settings.

Amazing support for continued learning and trainings
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 6Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Opportunity.
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Campbellford, ON21 juin 2017
Connor Homes provides a good opportunity. Allows people to see if working in a group/foster home is for them. A lot of people learn it's not for them and tend to leave people short staffed causing longer, unplanned hours. If you can get passed the bad days, and have a true dedication to better and help children know their full potentials it'd be a great place for some.
Points positifs
You get to work with Children.
Points négatifs
Long Hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 5Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
terrile
Child and Youth Worker (Employé actuel) –  Corbyville, ON16 juin 2017
management is terrible, the youth were fantastic to work with and the employees were great. Communication was awful and i didnt feel that the youths were the main priority in the company
Points positifs
nothing
Points négatifs
poor management and communication
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 16Non 4Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Connor Homes ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,7
D'après 33 avis
55
45
39
22
112

Notes par catégorie

2,4Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,6Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise