City of Surrey - Avis

Voir les 77 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun staff and awesome supervisors
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Guildford, BC4 décembre 2019
Employees at guildford rec are welcoming and very helpful especially to new hires. Since i am a new hire that really helped me transition into a new workplace. Our initial training excluded items we needed to know in order to complete certain tasks like; bulkhead moves, moving flags, sauna steam room clean, fecal matter procedures, dolphins, little things like that. However, it was manageable because all the existing staff were super helpful and took their time to teach you and supervisors were very understanding. Because of my low seniority it's normal to not get scheduled any shifts for your first season but there are plenty of shifts to pick up which is great. Overall, super awesome work environment!!! Some cons, programmers and head guards often make a bunch of mistakes when covering shifts which can be stressful. For example, I RFL (request for leave) a day and it got confirmed but on that day they called me and asked why im late for my shift but it was supposed to be covered, turns out there was miscommunication. Another time I picked up a shift they texted out for example, 5:00-9:00 but on the way to work they were like why arent you here you shift starts at 4:30 im like but they sent out 5:00 and then you have to provide all this proof like the voicemail whatnot when it's not even your fault. I wish they would have a better system that would prevent all these errors. great pay, great people, super fun!!!!!!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Really competitive for shifts
Program Assistant (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC22 novembre 2019
Its stressful working at a place where you don't know if you'll be working for them for weeks on end. The culture is geared toward being a yes man for your supervisor so they will maybe give you a pity shift.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cos
Director- Public Safety Operations (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC12 novembre 2019
Great place to work , good environment, staff and support. Challenging and rewarding. Good culture . You must enjoy the public service as this place is all about that
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No job security within the Parks Department
Community Service Assistant 3 (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC8 novembre 2019
They only hire auxiliary positions within the Parks department except for upper management. This creates lots of employee turn around and difficult working conditions.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
gopod
Clerk typist 2 (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC4 novembre 2019
A very nice place to work at. people are friendly and very team oriented. I love working for the City of Surrey. It is one of my favorite places to work compared to all my previous jobs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Union environment
Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC28 octobre 2019
Was a great place to work. I loved my co workers and the pay was good. Paying for parking was the only part I didn't like about working there. Room to grow.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Keep ten toes down and watch your back
Lifeguard/Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Surrey26 octobre 2019
The job itself pays well with clear identifiable tasks - however, there is a tendency for staff, particularly auxiliary to feel overworked. Management style is fear based and due to the system utilized, most of the management staff have previously been promoted from unrelated positions, and therefore aren't necessarily suited to managing employees. Everyone is trying to watch their back and avoid punishment - being likeable and having strong leadership skills (genuine or not) can avoid punishment where it is due, and result in undeserved promotion. The City staff occasionally make strong efforts to implement the City's values through various initiatives, staff meetings (sometimes disciplinary). Staff must stand up for themselves and take precaution when performing tasks as sometimes City staff are asked to perform dangerous duties for which they are not trained/equipped - for example, mixing litres of bleach and splashing it around to clean facilities etc.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Room to Be Challenged
Adjuster / Insurance Analyst (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC2 octobre 2019
Work on the files in our area is varied and holds my interest on a daily basis, files are challenging and help expand my experience and education.

Being able to collaborate with my colleagues directly is a wonderful way to review and talk out more complex claim situations.
Points positifs
Extended Benefits & Pension
Points négatifs
Lean Staffing Levels
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not the best employer
Sr. Lifeguard/Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC29 septembre 2019
Auxiliary employees are not represented well and are treated poorly. 1/10 would not recommend. Management is picky on who they promote and it's not always based on skill. They make choices that will lead to unsafe environment based on who they like and how to save money.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun place to work with children and staff
Early Childhood Education Assistant (Part-time) (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC11 septembre 2019
Supported and assisted children 3 to12-year-olds in Preschools and Before & After School Care with daily activities, playtime, games, life skills, and communication skills to provide an excellent learning experience to help achieve their goals
Instructor - Instructed and assisted children 5 to 12-year-olds in Clayworks and Creative Writing.
I worked and enjoyed learning the many different cultures in people and artwork.
My most enjoyable part of my job was the smiles on the children and parent's faces, and when they all thanked me for a wonderful day.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun place to volunteer
Volunteer (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC28 août 2019
the atmosphere is good and comfortable there and I feel safe volunteering there. it is mostly full of youth so we get to do cool things and have lots of fun
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Mediocre
Lifeguard/Assistant Head Lifeguard (Ancien employé) –  Surrey19 août 2019
Show up do your job a leave type of employer. Little feedback good or bad. Staff are treated as replaceable and are not praised for going above and beyond.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing place to work and grow
Clerk II / City Hall (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC12 août 2019
I had amazing mentors and managers, co-workers were simply wonderful. I had the great opportunity to work with Youth Services and it was the most rewarding experience in my life. I learned so much, and truly enjoyed the vibrant community.
Points positifs
Training and Development Opportunities
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC6 août 2019
- I volunteered when I was in grade 10 with my school and I would love to work with The City of Surrey someday.
- I would recommend working with them because is a great way to gove back to your community
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A great place to Volunteer
Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC1 août 2019
I would go out to local parks with my class and we would either pick up garbage or cut down invasive species. The city of surrey told us exactly what to do and brought the tools to do it. Great experience!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Brain dead work but pay is steady
IT Specialist (Employé actuel) –  City Hall7 juillet 2019
Won't need your creativity here minion style management in their IT department but the pay is steady, no extras at all, just your basic pay and no bonuses EVER!
Points positifs
Steady pay
Points négatifs
Working in Surrey
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing overall
Youth Camp Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC30 juin 2019
My time at city of surrey is amazing! Wonder people, hours, money, and ambiance as well. Very good job for the summer and seasonal times. No doubt you will make memories that will last forever! :)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unsupportive management not a very flexible employer
Clerk (Employé actuel) –  Finance Dept2 mai 2019
No growth potential. Lower level employees are treated like a number, and it is evident that management doesn't care because employees can be easily replaced. Many employees work 5-10 years without advancing. Benefits are not any better than most employers (unionized or otherwise) despite perception being the opposite.
Points positifs
Pay is decent
Points négatifs
Poor culture, no opportunity to grow
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent employer - balanced and progressive.
Student (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC1 mai 2019
Very large organization, but management is well structured to ensure that all employees feel valued. Willing to consider the big picture, not just focused on making the bosses look good.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Auxiliary
CSA 2 (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC20 avril 2019
The pay is very good and there’s raises every year. It can be fun place to work, depending on your position. Unfortunately, the majority of jobs here are all Auxiliary so you’re stuck picking up shifts here and there without having any guaranteed hours. Health and dental benefits are only given to full time staff. Auxiliary is a very unstable lifestyle and it’s no wonder the turnover rate is so high. People come and go.
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Not enough hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez City of Surrey. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,3
D'après 77 avis
544
421
35
22
15

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,7Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu