Avis des employés pour Swim Instructor chez City of Ottawa

Trouvé 18 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 305 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and easy going but not a career
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON18 mars 2019
Great for a high school job or to get through university but hours are limited and there is no minimum shift length so you can be asked to come in for one hour which sucks. Pay is also not very good since minimum wage went up and the city did not increase wages at all.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Exciting environment
Lifeguard, Swim Instructor, Advanced Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Nepean, ON25 février 2019
No work day is typical - while there are regularities, there is always a new experience to be had. It's never boring, there are always tasks to be performed and patrons/clients to get to know.

Apart from it being the perfect student job due to the flexible hours, there is the fact that part-time staff aren't allowed to work enough hours (up to 24). In the current economy, this isn't sustainable.
Points positifs
Flexible work hours, paid recertifications, fun and exciting work environment
Points négatifs
Not enough work hours, current wages don't match qualification requirements
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lifeguard/ Swim instructor
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON20 novembre 2018
Lifeguard/ Swim instructor
Good pay
Good training
Benefits
Safe and fun environment
Lots of work and credentials required
Overall good job to have as a student
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Workplace
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON1 juillet 2018
People are very friendly and the community is all connected allowing us to stay interactive with each other and help each other when a shift is needed.
Points positifs
Making new friends
Points négatifs
Long Hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of policies
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON3 mai 2018
I worked programs with the city such as soccer,hockey and other activities. I was then offered a job at a pool. My first 3 months were good then my boss went crazy and started over demanding. I do not recommend working more than 2 shifts a week.
Points positifs
Money
Points négatifs
Very tiring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Job for highschool students
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON19 décembre 2017
withing the city of ottawa, specifically being a lifeguard and swim instructor was a good job when i was 16-18. As i got older i was primarily working with younger people which created a very isolated work environment.
Management was young adults who often didn't know how to act appropriatly in the work place and towards the people "working" for them.
The job paid well however there are two different rates for lifeguarding and teaching swimming lessons. if you are interested in teaching swimming lessons you are looking at working only evenings and weekends.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place for a student
Aquatic Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON7 novembre 2017
The lifeguard/swim instructor position offers a lot of good hours and flexible scheduling for a student who wants to work. Getting paid above minimum wage for fun work with like-minded young adults is great.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall a really fun job
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Kanata, ON21 juin 2017
Although the hours are a bit frustrating to work around, I had an excellent experience working for the city. They allowed me to gain a lot of experience in public relations and personal responsibility.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Wonderul community and supportive management
Lifeguard and Swimming Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON12 avril 2017
A typical at work involve teaching classes and then guarding a free swim. I was always learning at work and improving my swimming skills. The workplace culture was very positive and supportive.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Maintaining responsibility for customer safety.
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa South, ON17 mars 2017
Having to stay attentive and make responsible choices to prevent injury is the most important aspect to my job. Dealing with customer service issues and customer service payments and registrations.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work with great people
Lifeguard/swim instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON28 décembre 2016
Working as a lifeguard for the City of Ottawa provided me with extensive team working skills as well as building my personal leadership skills. My employers and supervisors were always helpful and always supported me and it was a very fun place to work. The staff were amazing.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON18 octobre 2016
Start it with the city during the summer session. I love it and decide it to stay on for the fall. Depending the pool you work at, it is a little family and teach you how to be confidence on your job. They are very strick on your training has you must stay in shape to be able to do your job well. In services are every months, so if you miss one, you have to find another one to go. The hardest part of the job is to en force the rules. Had to explain even if their child is taking swimming classes, they still need to stay at arms reach has an example (orange bracelet). The program coordinator is there to help you but do what he/she said.

Other then that, free recert and encourage to get more advanced qualification like NLS instructor or so.
Points positifs
Great staff, supportive, etc...
Points négatifs
Shift depends on senority, if hired in the summer months and want to work in the fall they have to reactivate you manual
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awesome place to work
Head Aquatic Supervisor/ Swimming Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON20 décembre 2015
Great hours, great pay, team environment, simple tasks, trainings to keep you sharp. The management is very friendly, helpful, and approachable
Points positifs
many breaks
Points négatifs
Long periods standing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Large Responsibility for the safety of Others
Lifeguard / Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON10 décembre 2014
The job of being a Lifeguard requires

- on going learning and teaching opportunities.

- There is an expectation that each individual is to work as a team in high stress situations

- Weekly Monthly an yearly practice and certify qualifications.

- Learn a lot about life saving, pool maintenance, paper work, community involvement and much more.
Points positifs
Great Pay, Fun and active, Work with others in team buliding excercises
Points négatifs
Constantly teaching in cold water, chlorine rashes, clean possible vomit, etc (pool follwings)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great job for students; has flexible work hours
Head Lifeguard, Lifeguard, and Swim Instructor (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON7 octobre 2014
As a lifeguard with the City of Ottawa, I have learned many valuable skills that can be applied in the workforce. I have learned how to work as a team and how to work with little supervision. As a lifeguard, team work is essential, as the facility is large and many lifeguards are working together to ensure the facility is safe. I also learned advanced first aid skills, included how to operate an AED machine and oxygen tanks.

As a head lifeguard, a typical day includes setting up the facility, ensuring my staff are performing their responsibilities, responding to public relations, opening and closing the cash, closing the facility, and writing daily reports. As a head lifeguard, I would say the hardest part about my job is balancing work and personal life. As the head lifeguard, I am responsible for the entire facility and my staff. This can be very time consuming and I often find it difficult to allow myself personal time and activities while not at work. The most enjoyable part of my job is working in a great community and getting to know the patrons on a personal level.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place to Work
Swim Instructor and Lifeguard (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON11 novembre 2012
Great hours and great support
you chose your typical day at work
you are always learning from others
management is great
my co-workers are great
the hardest part of the job is dealing with complaints
the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing people progress in swimming
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great working environment, coworkers are very easy to get along with. It feels like a big family.
Swim Instructor/Lifeguard/Attendant (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON27 juin 2012
You arrive at least 15 min. Hang around with coworkers, chat for a bit, get changed, then start guarding. Rotations are very 15 min. Everyone gets along very easily.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler

Voir plus d'avis pour City of Ottawa

Vous pourriez essayer :

Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez City of Ottawa. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,3
D'après 305 avis
5153
4103
339
26
14

Notes par catégorie

4,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,9Direction
4,1Culture d'entreprise