City of Ottawa - Avis

Trouvé 282 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 289 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great group of people to work with and for
Maintenance Worker (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON11 août 2019
The city of Ottawa is a great job to work at. The people are amazing and easy to talk and confide in. They are always there to help whenever its needed. They offer a wide variety of training which is all paid for.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice Perks, Awful Management , Awful training
Finance Specialist (Ancien employé) –  100 contellation1 juillet 2019
The City of Ottawa has many perks and overall is a great employer. However, the officer culture was quite toxic and I was ostracized by management. As a temp employee you have zero job security despite paying union dues, and it can take 2 years to get permanency. Before that time you can be terminated for any and no reason with no grievance process, again paying union dues.

Training was awful and incredibly short, however, my manager gave no leeway in terms of mistakes. My manager targeted me and my employment was doomed. Terrible experience that has left me considering moving from Ottawa so i dont have to contribute to the City.

Phone aspect of the job was awful and involved being a human punching bag for the City's inflexible and expensive policies.
Points positifs
overtime, good salary, nice perks (compressed work day, 1.5 hours break)
Points négatifs
awful managers, awful training, little job security until you are permanent
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun workplace
Operations Assistant/ File Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON6 juin 2019
Great Enviornment and Great people to work with. I have learned a lot about how the department works and the overall role that I play within the department.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
"Safe" Job
HEAD LIFEGUARD/INSTRUCTOR (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON22 mai 2019
I thoroughly enjoy working for the City of Ottawa. However, there are some considerations:
- It's a safe job, therefore many employees are incredibly lazy
- Management must trudge through a mountain of red tape to change anything.
- Don't have hopes of changing much or being appropriately recognized for going the extra mile.

With the union, the City does take care of its employees:
- Great counselling resources
- Adequate (sometimes slow-to-respond) compensation.
- Benefits
- Seniority system that rewards tenure and experience
- Protected and limited liability.

It takes a special personality type to enjoy a long-term career with the City. If you are ambitious and want a competitive career, look to the private sector. However, if you want a clear-cut, safe, protected, and transparent job, the City is perfect for you.
Points positifs
Compensation, Resources, Benefits, Time off
Points négatifs
Lazy staff, Red Tape, Cheap, Slow, Socially agonizaing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unqualified and Incompetent Managers
Bus Operator (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON16 mai 2019
It used to be a fantastic place to work, however, the management has all changed. Old managers were forced to retire or transferred out to make room for new management. This has changed the environment and moral greatly. They have continued to hire unqualified drivers and blame them even though it is a lack of training and support. I feel bad for new recruits. As a senior driver, the work shifts have worsened since I started. No time for family. No longer encourages and supports career advancement. Benefits are superb. Salary is superb.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and Good Place to work
Senior Procurement Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Ontario9 mai 2019
Solid organization to work for. Can be long wait to earn permanent positions but all in all the benefits, vacation and people are all pretty easy going. Would recommend working for this organization.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A very multicultural environment where you interact with a lot of good people
Transit Operator (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON9 mai 2019
The job is a good job. I prefer a position where I use my head more as opposed to just a daily routine. Although there are days where a great deal of problem solving is required. Te salary is good as well as the benifits.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
General experience
swim instructor and lifeguard (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON8 mai 2019
Good training with the city to learn the ins and outs of working with the public. Very easy going and works hard to help you in difficult situations. Wonderful experience overall.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great part-time job
Head Lifeguard and Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON29 avril 2019
-Great part-time job
-Possibility of training and moving up
-Flexible hours
-Fun environment
-Ability to use the facility to workout, swim for free
Points positifs
Great salary, free access to the pool and gym
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Positive environment
ARCHIVES ASSISTANT (VOLUNTEER/INTERN) (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON25 avril 2019
At the City of Ottawa Archives, I learned how to catalogue records into a database. In terms of management, the employees were all treated fairly. Everyone was nice to each other! The hardest part of the job was when my computer would freeze. The most enjoyable part of the job was the great balance I had with working, socializing, and taking a walk.
Points positifs
Positive environment
Points négatifs
Lack of structure
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A typical lifegard job
Lifeguard (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON25 avril 2019
-Very punctual
-Learned to effectively handle any customer service concerns
-Experienced in teaching all levels and ages
-Acquired an understanding for class discipline
-Assisted in a successfully handled major
-Organizing pool ran camps as well as camp counselling

Did not enjoy the pool environment
Points négatifs
Very poor hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
So much fun
Public Skating Attendant (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON22 avril 2019
The people, the management, the flexible/set hours. everything about working for the city is so much fun. Everyone was so nice and enthusiastic about their jobs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work for Student Opportunity
Student - Road Maintenance Worker (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa2 avril 2019
I got to work with great people, although some locations may be different atmospheres. Pay was good until the minimum wage went up. I got to learn how road infrastructure works and how hard city workers work. They provide all the training, and most of it can carry over to other job opportunities.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and Fun workplace
Art Assistant/Camp Organizer (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON26 mars 2019
Workplace culture was always friendly and acceptable. I was given lots of responsibility and always felt as though I was trusted. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with children
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed learning opportunities
Client Service Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON25 mars 2019
Enjoyable work experience, with many opportunities to learn through on the job training, various committee meetings and networking.

Great place to learn about municipal government.


.
Points positifs
On-site gym
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and easy going but not a career
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON18 mars 2019
Great for a high school job or to get through university but hours are limited and there is no minimum shift length so you can be asked to come in for one hour which sucks. Pay is also not very good since minimum wage went up and the city did not increase wages at all.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great atmosphere.
Soccer Instructor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON5 mars 2019
I enjoyed working this job as it was flexible enough to work around my full time job. I got to enjoy times with young children and be active! I would be careful though if you get told verbally that you could have a job the following year as I had that happen then just recently they said that the full-time position was most likely not going to be open.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lots of opportunities
Manager (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON4 mars 2019
Since there is so many business lines, there is lots of opportunities at the City of Ottawa. From administration, finance, HR, IT, health, engineering, skills trades, etc. etc.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun as a Summer Student.
Engineer assistant 7 Summer Student (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON3 mars 2019
I was working with the City of Ottawa in Infrastructure group as a Summer Student. I worked on many various projects, including Innes Road Widening. Staff, and Experience was excellent!
Points positifs
great group
Points négatifs
long days
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good PT job for students
Customer Service Representative (Employé actuel) –  Ottawa, ON1 mars 2019
Good part time job for students because of the flexible hours that can accommodate for a busy student schedule. Minimum wage job but it usually isn't that busy (depending on your complex)
Points positifs
30 min break, great coworkers, great management, lots of shifts available
Points négatifs
long hours (5-7 hour shifts)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez City of Ottawa. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,3
D'après 289 avis
5145
498
336
26
14

Notes par catégorie

4,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,9Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,9Direction
4,0Culture d'entreprise