City of North Vancouver

City of North Vancouver - Avis

Voir les 20 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Constant turn over, lackluster team
IT Manager (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC29 septembre 2019
If you enjoy working in at a place with constant management turn over and a lackluster and an unmotivated IT team, this is the place for you. No strategic direction, stale IT technology, typical unionized government atmosphere. My advice, stay away!
Points positifs
Good work life balance
Points négatifs
Leadership more concerned about feelings than performance, unmotivated team, frequent turnover of management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Intern
Experienced Quality Assurance Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC27 septembre 2019
Had nice time here, the company culture was good and work-life balanced. Did not learn too much stuff here, the working environment was cozy. A good place to work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good workplace, competitive wages and great team members
Social Media Consultant (Contract) (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC24 septembre 2019
Great organization with positive team members and lots of room for development. Many different departments and facilities to work in and all of the staff that I have met has been very friendly.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awful workplace
Labourer on multiple divisions (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC10 juillet 2019
Absolutely hands down the worst organization I have ever worked for. I worked on the streets division. The supervisor is an negative, insecure old man who is abusing the system by organising overtime to benefit him and the brown noser of the crew. They bully employees they hate to try and force them out. Good workers get punished and the lazy and system abusing employees seem to get whatever they want. Use alot of city tools for personal jobs on weekends and also charge certain materials to work jobs even though they bring them home for personal use. Embarrassment of an organization. Corruption at its best I guess. Glad I left when I did. I hope hr see this review.
Points positifs
Benefits and some nice people
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun
Building Service worker/ Custodian (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC16 avril 2019
Co-workers and supervisors are reachable. I've enjoyed working with co-workers and they helped you out if you need extra help. The hardest part of the job is if there's an event during your shift. But overall, management and co-workers are awesome!
Points positifs
Friendly staff and competitive wages
Points négatifs
It takes a long time before you become a full time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great experience and opportunity
Artist's Apprentice (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC30 juin 2018
Studio in the City was an opportunity to work with other young artists to create a mural in my community. We mostly worked outside in the summer heat.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Awesome
Volunteer Work (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC15 juin 2018
Volunteering with the North Van Rec is fun. You get to sign up for stuff you enjoy and you get to see all the people that live in the area. The environment is great.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Clerk (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC5 juin 2018
Excellent benefits. Good learning environment with in-house training and courses. Great location with banks, library, restaurants and shops close by.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 1Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very positive place to work. Enjoyable people and good attitudes
Assistant to District Safety Specialist (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC29 janvier 2018
Early start at 7:00 AM, but that means an early finish - 3:30PM.

Review the day's or week's requirements with my supervisor and plan the activities accordingly.

Always be aware that the people that you work with are your best resources for getting things done. Everyone has secondary skills that enhance their basic job description. This makes it fun to work with them.

Management has their quirks, but they are open to new information, and are willing to listen if the information you are giving them will provide solutions to problems that they are dealing with. The culture is really quite friendly and upbeat.

As with any organization, there are a few sticks in the mud, but they can be handled.

Some jobs are started on without a clear understanding of the scope of activities needed to complete them properly. This leads to time crunches as the deadlines approach.

The best part of the job was that what I was doing was benefiting the community that I live in, and you could see the results of your work on a daily basis.
Points positifs
Free, Good Coffee
Points négatifs
Time crunches on larger projects
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Positive and fun workplace with a great communal atmosphere
Day Camp Counselor (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC11 janvier 2018
Love working with kids, pays well, great fellow employees/ employers. Typical day involved leaving the rec centre for an outtrip with the camp which requires the use of public transit ie busses, skytrain, seabus etc.
Points positifs
Super fun and interactive
Points négatifs
Terrible traffic home due to location of rec centre
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Family Business by family members as staff
Pharmacy Technician Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC24 décembre 2017
The owner does not like to hire people except than the family. Even if the owner has to hire some staff for some specific leaves like her pregnancy, all the jobs are temporary.
Points positifs
Relaxing and slow paced
Points négatifs
Not having a chance to get hired or paid
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management sucks
Garbage truck driver/swamper (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC11 octobre 2017
You can never do enough to make them happy. And they have a way of bullying guys into doing things. Their safety rep is paid to keep people at work doing rediculous things even when your doctor tells you not to be there
Points positifs
Occasional free food
Points négatifs
Long days and have to fight to get paid for the overtime
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 3Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tennis instructor
Tennis Instructor (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC10 octobre 2017
Was left to my own initiative to run lessons. Learned I could produce work through self-teaching. Management was excellent. Job culture was fun working with children. Hardest part of job, time management. Best part working with children. Manageable days for lessons.
Points positifs
Great exercise opportunity
Points négatifs
Not enough hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Friendly Environment
Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC5 mai 2017
- Slow during August, but customers increase later on
- Customers may try to steal products
- Fun to work in a Halloween environment
- Customers can be pushy with policies
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive, organized, and caring work environment
Playground Leader (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC6 avril 2016
A typical day at work would be showing up to the rec centre to your assigned area and greeting the leaders and volunteers. When the day starts, us leaders welcome every child and parent that walks in the door by name. We start the day with setting up quiet activities, putting camp shirts on, camp bracelets, etc. Then we lead indoor games before we have a large camp "debriefing" of safety rules for the day. Next, we get the kids ready for the out-trip that's scheduled for that day (Science world, the park, etc.) and once everyone is ready to go we head out to the bus! The day ends with the camp returning to the rec centre for reading, arts and crafts, and quiet ball games until parents come for pickup.

What I learned from this job was a great deal of responsibility for the livelihood of young children. It is my job to ensure they are safe within whatever environment we are in and that they have a great time!

The management at North Vancouver Recreation is stellar. All the supervisors and program coordinators are wonderful and well-organized. They a great facilitators and I couldn't have asked for a better work family.

My co-workers are all extremely qualified leaders with awesome personalities. Everyone that has been hired by management has been carefully vetted and they all are terrific at their jobs.

The hardest part of the job is to make sure all the kids stay with their buddies when we are out in public to do activities (safety reasons). Although it is hard, it's always done.

The most enjoyable part by far is the interaction with the kids. Their enthusiasm
  plus... and excitement is what drives me to be the best leader I can be.  moins
Points positifs
Being outside
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good place to work
Supervisor, Engineering Development Services (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC2 janvier 2016
I found this place to provide an excellent opportunity to learn about community issues, and basically what it takes to get a city operating properly.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 8Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good job that had a small wage
Mechanic (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC5 mars 2015
I learned how too diagnose vehilce by the sounds they were making and the proper way to check what is wrong with a vehicle and what needed to be fixed and how. Dealt with customers about bills and received payments.
Points positifs
got toe make people happy by being respectful and well mannered
Points négatifs
minimal wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 3Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unleashing your Creativity
Beyond The Fountain Projects (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC11 novembre 2013
This outstanding art project opened the way for me to discover the power of group work in art. I learned so much and left two long lasting public art pieces for the City of North Vancouver.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work.....no complaints
Cement Finisher/Truck Driver (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC31 décembre 2012
I run a crew of 3, I am responsible for many concrete projects to be finished in a timely manner with an emphasis on quality. The work is fun, the guys are great....I enjoy it
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 8Signaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez City of North Vancouver ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 20 avis
59
46
33
20
12

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,7Direction
3,7Culture d'entreprise