City of Edmonton - Avis

Trouvé 320 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 327 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good if you like a lazy atmosphere
Labourer/Operator (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB20 août 2019
very lazy workers and management, if your a lazy person will be good however if you find the day goes by faster if you work through it you will find the day drags on. When i say lazy i mean no one does anything for the majority of the day, so you really get to know your coworkers and it can be fun if thats what your looking for. Also impossible to get fired or reprimanded aafter you work there two years, one guy would come in an hour late every single day and never got fired.
Points positifs
fun, work security
Points négatifs
not much money, boring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bloated ship ready to sink
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB14 août 2019
Decades of poor management and poor financial accountability has created this unique mess of a city. It is bloated with over 16000 employees. That's an absurd number for the population.

Deputy city managers run little fiefdoms and don't work together. This costs the tax payer money and results in poor service. In fighting is the common practice with everyone afraid of being challenged in terms of how and what they do.

Management stab each other in the back in order to safeguard themselves. People don't want to change things even though things are abysmal when it comes to wasted processes and resources.

Favorites are picked based on how well they put on a show! It's all about appearance... you don't have to actually deliver anything! In fact, make something, even videos that amuse senior management and you've got it made.

Staff contributions are ignored and credit is taken by managers. The CAO has no clue what is going on other than whether or not her contract will be renewed so that she can buy things for her retirement.
Points positifs
You can do nothing; if that's your game
Points négatifs
Zero satisfaction and growth for your career
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Political
Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB2 août 2019
Worked for city for 6 years. If you are friends with your manager great if not then dont plan on being advanced cause they already have that planned.
Hours and future are myth they change and anything happens. Its like highschool all over again with the culture at work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Best workplace
Agent (Clerk III) (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB21 juillet 2019
City of Edmonton is the best workplace I ever worked for. There is a positive environment all around and people are very supportive. I love the company and always be glad for the knowledge I gained there.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lacking Leadership resulting in toxic workplace
Health & Wellness (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB20 juillet 2019
High work volume with huge responsibility allowing little time for regular breaks which can affect ones health. Regular unexpected terminations of middle management resulting in regular chaos, miscommunication and actual "fist fighting" among business units as they are trying to do their jobs without proper direction. Bullying, harassment is common place and lack of supports prohibit one from doing a professional, stand up job (if this is what you desire)! Favoritism is also common place which may prohibit one from advancing internally despite possessing quals, just a toxic place to work in general if you "care" about your own personal performance! Lots of staff off work for stress so be prepared to pick up the pace! Senseless IT programs without value and the "We are One City" is a joke as you won't know what your own business unit is doing and those are always changing resulting in way too many little departments with lots of middle and upper management to run these department (ie.10 upper/middle managers, to run a little department of 10???) Top heavy in management all lacking leadership!
Points positifs
Salary and benefits
Points négatifs
Leadership, direction
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Typical day at work
ENGINEERING PROJECT MANAGER (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB10 juillet 2019
A typical day at work involves inspecting the entire job site. Addressing issues withe form work, reviewing construction materials, reviewing grades and elevations, meeting with the construction crew. Meeting with Planning PM to discuss updates.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very political
clerk II (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB9 juillet 2019
A good place to work for gaining experience but too political, you need to have a good relationship with management in order to be permanent or to move up your level. Unionized yet you can only get help if you are permanent employee, if you are temp no chance to get support. Too many favouritism, invisible discrimination. The saying is really correct, it is not what you know but who you know.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great for summer students
Labourer 1 (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB26 juin 2019
Finish work at 3. Friendly and fun employees. BBQ provided in the summers. Foremans are great, respectful and acknowledge hard working labourers. Over time is nice, as its double-time
Points positifs
Fun, friendly and double overtime
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great experience but the high pressure/ fast paced workplace is not for everyone.
Mental Health/ Healthy Living Consultant (Employé actuel) –  Century Place, Edmonton24 juin 2019
Lots of pressure. If you don't have multiple projects on the go, they act like your not working hard enough. Never had to work from home but it was often hard to shake off the stress after each work day.
Points positifs
Earned day off (EDO) program- every third Friday
Points négatifs
Management has had no raise in 3 years
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent Employer
Dispatcher (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB8 mai 2019
I enjoyed going to work everyday. There is plenty of training. I learned alot of different skills and brushed up on some of my skills I already had. It is a wonderful working environment.
Points positifs
Lots of training
Points négatifs
Long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Greta temporary job
LABOURER (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB6 mai 2019
An amazing job for students in the summer. Only last till September. Not very hard work and get to plant flowers and take care of them. Some gross parts when cleaning parks/litter up.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Little opportunity for advancement, dysfunctional mgt
Communications Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB5 mai 2019
Working here was an exercise in futility. Management is completely cut off from the work done by front-line staff. Advancement opportunities were few and far between. I had numerous toxic managers who were moved to other areas instead of being dismissed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good place to work
Foreman on pothole truck and worked on paving crew (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB2 mai 2019
enjoyed my time there. some people made the work enjoyable others did not. good leadership and good chances for advancement. hours weren't the best but they were acceptable.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good overall
Childcare Attendant Specialist - Part Time (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton13 avril 2019
Very good work culture and team leader, the pay is low and advancement opportunity is not too great. The job is part time basis so shifts are not always guaranteed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This job gave me added experience in an area I did not have in my life before.
Recreation Technician (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB9 avril 2019
This is a City owned facility and it's rolenis vital to the recreation provides for locals and tourists. The food is overpriced but there is plenty to see and enjoy. As an Indigenous Interpreter I wear a costume and help the visitor to back in time to imagine what lives people had in previous generations. Everyone has a family and Fort Edmonton does a great job in bringing some value to Canadian history.
Points positifs
Bannock, animals on site, artifacts.
Points négatifs
Overpriced admission, overpriced food, should no longer have wagon rides with horses and have no pigs or sheep.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
day in the city
Playground Inspector/Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB2 avril 2019
was always a very easy going place to work at. Pay was very good for a student who needed to save money during the summer months and couldn't work in the winter.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun staff and Management
311 Agent (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB22 mars 2019
My day at work involved working on the phones to help provide the citizens with various information. While it was a fast-paced job, my co-workers and managers always made sure the environment was stress-free as possible.

The compensation was more than adequate and allowed me to manage my expenses comfortably
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dying
Childcare Provider (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB22 mars 2019
I worked for the Greenshack program this summer during the INTENSE smoke outside. Levels were in the high 8's and 9's all day and only until it hit a 10 would the management let us go home. 8 hours in a level 9 is just as harmful as an hour in 10. Not just for me, but my kids as well. I should not have to hide in my car if working at my jo is making it hard to breathe or I feel sick.
Points positifs
Good pay
Points négatifs
Poor care for workers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Advancement is near impossible unless you know the right people
Job (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton20 mars 2019
Work is work. My co-workers are great. I have not learned much, I provide a benefit to the City for a salary. That's about it. Upper management and the City Manager are a complete joke. My direct managers are fine, although no one has the balls to do anything about any problems that may arise. The hardest part of the job is dealing with old farts that should retire or get with the future in the fact that not everyone has to be in an office from 9-5 now. There are opportunities to work remotely and save the City of Edmonton a ton of money. The City has become extremely cheap lately as well. Management hasn't received raises in 4 years and the Union is looking like it might be following suit. With the cost of inflation, not receiving a raise is actually a demotion or pay cut. The most enjoyable part of the job is the co-workers and the fact that we all hate working for the City and can agree on that. Advancement is near impossible unless you know the right people.
Points positifs
I get paid well
Points négatifs
Work is not in any way fulfilling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Dont waste your time on temp work!
Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Edmonton, AB19 mars 2019
Worse place to work. To much politics an favoritism. Supervisors are idiots and disrespectful also dont care about there employees!
Dont waste time there unless you wanna be fired afer 11 months contract. Stay away
Points positifs
NONE!
Points négatifs
EVERYTHING!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez City of Edmonton. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,8
D'après 327 avis
5119
4106
346
226
130

Notes par catégorie

3,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise