Children's Aid Society of Toronto - Avis

Voir les 21 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good work but stressful with high case loads
Continued Care and Support for Youth Worker (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON11 mars 2019
Caseloads are too high to effectively impact in a meaningful way. It is greaat work in helping children and youth overcome very difficult situations that they often have no control over.
Points positifs
High salary- great benefits
Points négatifs
High caseload and stressful situations
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great experience...Not so great environment
Legal Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON6 novembre 2018
The Legal department at CAST is very toxic! Non-stop complaining by employees and EVERYONE is STRESSED! The benefits are amazing and salary is okay, but the workload is very heavy and quite unrealistic. Great learning experience and opprotunity to be exposed to Child Welfare. Very talented group of legal professionals. You will be challenged daily.
Points positifs
Salary and Benefits
Points négatifs
Heavy work load, toxic environment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast paced enviroment
Law Clerk Field Placement Student (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON23 septembre 2018
Great place to work! I can honestly say I would work here again, the work culture is positive and staff get along with one another.
Happy I had this worked here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Rewarding workplace
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON11 février 2018
Worked with some very caring and professional staff who devoted themselves to the protection and safety of children at risk and assisted in supporting their families to bring them back together whenever possible.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun
Receptionist/ Front Desk (Ancien employé) –  Ajax, Ontario28 décembre 2017
Great place for a career. Fun and also very firm when it is time to work. The employees are always willing to assist in the unknown areas. As long as the work is complete the supervisors are pleased.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Doesn't recommend working in the HR department
HR Manager (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON20 octobre 2017
Benefits are very good however it doesn't make up for the lack of advancement, and communication.
People are not allowed to talk to each other.
Management doesn't communicate with employees only during department meeting.
Employees feel scared to loose their job every day so they never speak up about issues.
People are backstabbing each other to impress the management. The work environment is very bad and it's depressing to work there.
Points positifs
Benefits, Vacations, Work hours 9 to 5pm
Points négatifs
No communication, no collaboration, no teamwork
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amazing
Driver (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON29 août 2017
Everyday can be different ,but for the most part you drive the same child/children.workshops and mandatory car seat checks and Vulnerable Police Check and Driver Abstract
Points positifs
pick you own days and hours
Points négatifs
some late nights
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I mostly had good teams and supervisors to work with.
Child Protection Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON27 juillet 2017
I generally had good teammates and supervisors to work with. The team environment was very good and was the best part of the job. Having supportive supervisors was very important.
Points négatifs
stress from families you worked with
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great balance of home life versus work life
Family Service Worker (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON2 février 2017
Excellent place to work. I feel that there is job security and a general sense of caring for needs of clients as well as employees. It is a higher paying employer with this comes much responsibility and long hours at times. Overall, employer is fair in decision making.
Points positifs
Flexible hours
Points négatifs
Workload
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very difficult place to work at
Child Protection Worker (Ancien employé) –  Greater Sudbury, ON2 novembre 2015
I found that it is a very stressful environment and co-workers have very heavy caseloads. I was working on a contract and I found it hard to get some assistance and training as my co-workers where very occupied.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun
Centralized Camp Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON4 octobre 2015
There is a sense of job satisfaction and accomplishment.
Caring work environment and a fun place to work.

There is on the job training and workshops which re-enforce the knowledge of the job,
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A frustrating work environment
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON8 septembre 2015
It was not a very supportive environment to work in. There was no praise or direction when dealing with clients. Promotions were more based on the friendship with management rather than actual qualifications, I found my co-workers did not function as a team and were more interested in partying with the manager, a functional alcoholic, than focusing on the well being of the clients or became enmeshed with clients and created an unsafe working environment at times.
Points positifs
It was the best paying job for Child Youth Workers
Points négatifs
You often ended having to do double shifts because co-workers calling in on short notice
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 20Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Busy and demanding profession. Client contact and coworkers make experience rewarding.
Children Service Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON13 juillet 2015
Employment with the CAST has been a rewarding and challenging career. During my over 20 years of experience with the agency I witnessed many challenging organizational changes typically which were influenced and driven by economic influences (funding) and or as a result of recommendations from Inquests.

A typical day at work involved meeting the needs of Ministry mandated standards to see clients, document case notes associated with these contacts, supervising family access visits, complete at minimum quarterly reports regarding client progress, attend Child Welfare Court and complete necessary Court Documents associated, lots of driving across Southern Ontario, administrative paper work filing tasks and responding to crisis related matters (abuse investigations and or apprehensions).

What I learned was how to multi-task in this highly demanding and often fast paced profession.

Management at the CAST has gone through many transformations over the past 20 plus years. Approaches to management style and treatment of employees has varied also. For many of the years of my employ with the agency I had the good fortune to have highly supportive and caring Supervisors who mentored me and truly believed in and supported my work in Child Welfare. During the later stages of my career with the CAST a significant shift in style of management took place starting from the top characterized by a switch in title of the agencies head from being an "Executive Director" to calling himself a "Chief Administrative Officer". Coincidentally or not the culture of the agency became more "corporate"
  plus... in nature and treatment of clients and employees began, in my opinion, to erode.

Co-workers at the CAST are some of the most courageous and inspirational people I know. I am privileged to have met them and consider some of these people to be the dearest and closest friends I have. However it would be unrealistic to overlook that in an agency of this size and with the number of people it employs that there are not a few "bad apples" within who avoid their responsibilities and increase the burden onto the shoulders of their co-workers. I am sure that at times, because of my challenging nature, some considered me to be a "bad apple". But I prided myself on completing my work responsibilities and not being a burden to my co-workers. I had too much respect for them to do anything otherwise.

The hardest part of the job one might think was dealing with clients and witnessing the tragic and difficult lives they experience. But for me in fact the clients are a reward in that they show such incredible resilience and strength even if they are not successful in accomplishing their goals. I truly like and enjoy the clients I had the good fortune of working with and find them inspirational. The hardest part for me with out a doubt were the changes in management style and the associated "corporate" like agendas associated with these changes. The hypocrisy of this style of management within a helping care profession is upsetting to say the least. I also found it challenging to cope with the few "bad apple" co workers who avoided their responsibilities and burdened co-workers such as myself.

The most enjoyable part of the job was with out a doubt the challenges of client contact. I also value the many wonderful, highly intelligent and stimulating co-workers I had the good fortune to meet. And lastly it goes without saying that the compensation and benefits of employ with the CAST are some of the most competitive in the field of Social Work.
  moins
Points positifs
Compensation and Benefits
Points négatifs
Increasingly ridged corporate culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 21NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A pleasant, quiet, work environment with friendly co-workers.
Organizer (Ancien employé) –  Downsview Station9 juin 2015
I worked at the Toronto Children's Aid Society last summer. I arranged case files in chronological order, scanned them onto the computer system, and organized files. I learned what it is like to work in an office environment. The office is well managed and the co-workers are all very friendly and very helpful. The hardest part of the job was having to be inside all day when the weather was nice. I would have preferred working outside.. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers as they were all very friendly and helpful.
Points positifs
Friendly, pleasant work environment
Points négatifs
Being inside
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and great team work
Legal assistant (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON29 septembre 2014
Productive workplace. The team at the legal department worked well together. Good communication between supervisors, assistants and lawyers.
Points positifs
Training provided whether or not you have experience in the area
Points négatifs
Can be stressful just like any other law office
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun experiencing
Maintenance Worker (Ancien employé) –  cornwall ontario14 juillet 2014
it was alright the days where useually spent outside working with the mini tlb and cleaning the property up and installing a garage and other tasks when it was raining i worked inside.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun learning experience for me as well as the young people I work with
Child and Youth Worker (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON12 janvier 2014
Everyday is almost like walking into my comfort zone. All of our staff work well together to ensure the benefits of the young people we work with. The hardest part sometimes of my job is witnessing the crisis and break downs of the young people I work with. Listening and learning about what they have gone through as young people is difficult emotionally sometimes, however the enjoyable part of the job is being part of the healing and recovering process of the young people to get them back on their feet again.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
a difficult challenging job
Foster Parent (Ancien employé) –  Cambridge, ON24 juin 2013
everyday brought new challenges with children from all back grounds. each child had to be treated differently in their own unique way.
Points positifs
lots of training
Points négatifs
24 hrs a day job
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Foster care
Foster parent (Employé actuel) –  Rama ontario25 septembre 2012
Foster care that is ware I take in childreen to give them A safe home untill they go back to family or to A new family
Points négatifs
extremly long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
foster sister
was a foster sister with family (Ancien employé) –  Oshawa ON31 août 2012
helped mom with children and learened basic skills. was a foster sister for 11 years. i was a foster for many different age groups from new borns to 12 year olds
Points positifs
parents adopted sisters and my brother
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Demander l'attribution de cette Page Entreprise

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Children's Aid Society of Toronto. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 21 avis
58
43
37
22
11

Notes par catégorie

3,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,3Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise