Capilano University - Avis

Voir les 23 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Beautiful campus with great staff.
Model (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC7 août 2019
I really enjoyed working here as they are very friendly staff who is very understanding. The position I held here was part time but I was delighted to go into work everyday.
Points positifs
Pays well.
Points négatifs
Holding poses for long periods of time under hot lighting can make the job a little difficult
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
not a fun place to work
Line Cook/Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC18 mai 2019
do not work here for they are not there for there employes and you never get a raise and they just want you to work and no breaks and when threaten at work the bosses don't do anything.
work sometimes 12 hour shifts and no break and when sick they don't let you have days off or when family emergence come up you still need to go and work.

you have to pay for your lunches and they only give you 30 mins to eat and get back to work if is busy you get no lunch break.
Points négatifs
long hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Student Housing Assistant (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC10 mai 2019
Diversity and inclusivity are an integral part of Capilano University’s campus community. Our multicultural student body, faculty and employees enrich our learning environment and experience. CapU is committed to attracting and retaining a respectful and diverse workforce.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Volunteer & Community Experience
Welcomed guest employers (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC20 mars 2019
Spoke with guests to ensure that they found the career fair and answered any questions that they had.Directed guests to appropriate parking spaces and issued parking permits
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent experience, but extremely low pay
Sessional Instructor and Laboratory Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC2 mars 2019
I worked at Capilano University as a sessional instructor and laboratory supervisor (non-regular) for about a year. My colleagues and the management in my department were absolutely fantastic! There were lots of opportunities for faculty engagement and extracurriculars. In my experience, the students who attend CapU are generally intelligent, engaged and driven. I really enjoyed working there and the work itself was quite rewarding. The experience of working at CapU was very beneficial for my career.

However, the primary purpose of work is to be able to pay your bills, which this job did not do. After calculating for time spent preparing lectures, modifying labs, marking tests/assignments, and student contact time, the pay worked out to be approximately $20/hour (after calculating for the cost of travel to/from campus and parking, this dropped to about $16/hour). This is far less than what I was making in grad school and about five times less than what I was making for doing the same work at neighbouring institutions. I used my income at my other jobs to supplement my work at CapU.

There is superb potential at this school, but the non-regular employees' benefits and wages are egregious for the level of education (PhD) and time input required for these positions. (It is my understanding that regular employees receive a much higher rate of pay.)

If you're looking for a good experience and CV building, CapU is excellent! If you're looking for a livable wage/salary this may not be the place for you.
Points positifs
department management, job satisfaction, experience
Points négatifs
pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unmanaged change
CIO (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC17 décembre 2018
Capilano has been undergoing substantial change for many years, and has lost many, many good people. There's hardly anyone left in senior management who has been there more than a few years.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun learning environment.
North Vancouver - Producer and cook (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC2 novembre 2018
Working with other students was fun and memorable. The hours were early and all went home very late but I did not mind it at as much as others did. I will always remember the lessons I learned there such as how to make a film and the process to make one.
Points positifs
Learned a lot from professors and students
Points négatifs
Long work hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Too much work for so little pay. Rate is not at par with the industry
Payroll Clerk II (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC27 juin 2018
Pay scale is way lower than what other company offers for the same job/work.

System sucks. There is a system too many limitations that you would still need manual manipulations/spreadsheets. Simple jobs seem complicated. :(
Points positifs
near my residence
Points négatifs
traffic at 2nd Narrows
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to help others learn about programs on computers.
Computer Tutor (Ancien employé) –  Sechelt, BC4 octobre 2016
most enjoyable part of tutoring was giving people the confidence of being able to be productive on computers. I enjoy being a tutor and being able to help instructors when teaching MS Office. a few hours a week.
Points positifs
great food when at workshops.
Points négatifs
not applicable
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Capilano University
Computer Support Analyst 1 (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC16 mai 2016
Overall Capilano University is a great place to work. It's nestled in a very pretty area just off the highway. Capilano University has a large student body of over 9000 a year but it meets these demands extremely well with a very professional staff base. Capilano University was one of the largest IT departments I have worked with so far and despite it's size it remained strongly cohesive which I have to say impressed me greatly during the time I worked there. I was sad to leave and still keep in touch with some of the good people of CapU. I would recommend CapU to anyone.
Points positifs
Great People, Beautiful Campus, Tim Hortons, Quality Restaurant
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great
Tutor/Mentor (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC7 avril 2016
It was great to work with my peers who required extra assistance. The work environment was flexible and the pay was more than competitive.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice view. Thats about it.
Lab Technician (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC1 février 2016
Poor teaching quality in physics lab makes a demotivating environment. Students better off taking different course.
Points positifs
Beautiful scenery
Points négatifs
Everything is old.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Teaching Focussed University with a unique campus vibe.
Student Recruitment Officer (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC11 octobre 2015
A fun place to work with a management team dedicated to supporting employees to be the difference makers in students lives. The recruitment team loves their job of meeting with future students and educating them on why Capilano University could be an exciting post secondary educational experience for them. Unique campus with employees committed to providing service to the students that supports their academic and personal success.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Flexible and fun work environment
International Student Recruitment Ambassador (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC24 février 2015
- flexible hours
- learnt to represent my own school while working and completing my degree
- co-workers were very helpful and creative
- most enjoyable when I got to participate in decorating the office for occasions (valentine's, halloween, christmas, easter, etc)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Friendly Work Environment
Information Technology - IT Service Delivery (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC24 janvier 2015
It's enjoy to work at this place because working hours is 7 hours and after 4 pm only few people stay in the office. If working hours compared to my previous companies, I used to work until late around midnight and had tight deadline. Everyday was rush time, full of meeting and some reports need to be submitted. So, it's a good place to have more time for family or social activities outside the office.
I learned Canadian working style (actually depends on the character of the individual, office environment, work pressure in the office because it's similar with my previous experiences) such as communications if different ideas or giving compliment, handling the conflict, discussion, couching, etc.
I don't have any difficulty to accomplish my task. I enjoy to work in the company. No pressure and people like to smile :)
Points positifs
comfortable work environment, life balance
Points négatifs
limited work performance (refer to my roles)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Supervisor, Student Accounts (Employé actuel) –  North Vancouver, BC30 octobre 2014
A great place to learn. I learn something new almost every day.
Points positifs
A wide variety of extracurricular activities
Points négatifs
Open all year round
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Enjoyed working with the people around me
Maintenance worker (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC12 septembre 2014
My job was to fill work orders that i was given. the day consisted of going over my work orders and prioritizing the most important ones. I would go and work on my work orders on my shift, it would consist of fixing leaks,broken doors, leaking pumps. etc
Points positifs
4 on 4 off shift
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Volunteer experience helping students develop a business plan
Mentor (Ancien employé) –  north vancouver22 janvier 2014
Excellent experience reviewing the basis of a business plan on international markets while helping students find the tools to succeed
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun atmosphere
Computer Support Analyst (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC3 septembre 2013
A typical day at Capilano is filled with questions from students, staff and faculty.

I learned how to excel in customer service and patience.

Management is management, red tape and politics.

My co-workers are on of the main reasons i stayed so long, excellent group if people, like a family.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Facilities dept
Tradesman (Employé actuel) –  Facilities31 juillet 2013
The facilities dept is stuck in the 60's. No safe work practices and poor management of equipment.
Points positifs
Nice coworkers - fellow tradesmen, groundskeepers etc
Points négatifs
Micro managing by managers. Unsafe work enviroment, improper maintenance and care of equipment, no maintenance program, hard to get days off, repetative boring installs.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Capilano University. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,7
D'après 23 avis
58
47
32
24
12

Notes par catégorie

3,7Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,5Direction
3,5Culture d'entreprise