CN
Canadian National Railway
Recevez de nouvelles offres d'emploi et avis chaque semaine!
Intitulé du poste
Tous
Lieu
Canada532 avis
532 avis correspondant à votre recherche
Voir les 774 avis
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
J ai eu bc de plaisirs a travailler au CN a taschereau la securite est bien presente on se sent en confiance par contre la concilliation travail famille est inexistante j ai du quitter mon emploi apres etre devenue papa monoparentale... rien pour m aider
Points positifs
Salaire et avantages
Points négatifs
Gerance
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
26 février 2020
Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre avis. Nous vous remercions pour votre travail acharné et espérons que vous avez trouvé un emploi plus conforme avec vos attentes.
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management is continuously changing, no clear direction on the overall objectives of the Company
If you like the 80s and the way people were managed at that time you will be happy.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great pay, ok benefits, good people to work with. Horrible management, horrible home life and on call schedule. They hire you, treat like gold until you qualify, and then they actively look for reasons to give you demerits and/or fire you. It's a fear based management culture. If you like seeing your family and friends, stay away.
Points positifs
Money
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
10 juillet 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and hope that you shared it with our colleague during your exit interview so we can develop strategies to do better in the future.
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No work life balance & won’t give you holidays no Matter what weekend days you want off. Working New Years and Christmas and -45 they don’t care they just want their bonus
Points positifs
Pays good
Points négatifs
Lay offs lots
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
7 juillet 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. As with many organisations, the effects of the pandemic on our business led to a number of layoffs. We hope to welcome back many of those laid off as the economy recovers.We thank you for your hard work and helping move our business and the economy forward.
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent employees to work with
The benefits are very good.

The stability is not as it used to be.

Excellent working environment

Some managers need to learn more about the business.

Very cosmopolitan. Incredibly respectful and open to different cultures and backgrounds.
Points positifs
Open minded and updated. Respectful of People Variety
Points négatifs
Very huge organization with not a very centralized management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
7 juillet 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and for your hard work while at CN. With a 24/7/365 operation we could not function without our dedicated employees. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great benefits and strive hard to create a work environment where everyone feels good to work in, and where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
Notez une entreprise où vous avez travaillé récemment
Partagez votre expérience pour aider d'autres utilisateurs.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I enjoyed many of the years employed at the Railway. Seeing parts of North American while in Management, I would not otherwise have visited. Being employed there, allowed me to meet different people from different parts of the country. People I am friends with to this day. This employment allowed me the ability to afford a car, put food on the table, and keep a roof over my head.
Points positifs
Efforts to improve culture are ongoing
Points négatifs
Management hours can be demanding
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
7 juillet 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great compensation and benefits including the ability to learn and develop themselves. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for your hard work and helping move our business and the economy forward.
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I spent 35 years with CN. I started in the engineering department before hiring on in the transportation department. I eventually was accepted into the Rail Traffic Control function. The company paid me while I was being trained. At the time, it was over 3 months very intensive classroom training. I dispatched trains for about 5 years before accepting a promotion into management, where I finished my career.











CN. The money was excellespent 32 years in this function.
Points positifs
Excellent pay and room for advancement.
Points négatifs
High stress at times, at times due to erratic scheduled and shifts.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
7 juillet 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and for your hard work while at CN. With a 24/7/365 operation we could not function without our dedicated employees. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great benefits and strive hard to create a work environment where everyone feels good to work in, and where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If you want to make good money and dont mind not having a social life then it can be a good job. It can be dangerous at times and working on call doesn't have a lot of benefits i have gone over 30 hours with out sleep and have missed many things in life, which is the main reason why im quitting and going to another carrier. Also if you are a newly hired be prepared to be laid off a lot i have been employed by cn for about 2 years and have been laid off for about a year and a half in totally
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
25 juin 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great compensation and benefits including the ability to learn and develop themselves. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
always having a manager breathing down your neck to make sure your working efficiently and if something goes wrong theyll try and blame you even when its not your fault would not recommend working here bad work atmosphere no work squedule hours can be up and down especially now because they have a surplus of ment you will litterally be hired into a lay off or to try and relocate you into the middle of nowhere
Points négatifs
work life balance is bad
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
25 juin 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and hope that you shared it with our colleague during your exit interview so we can develop strategies to do better in the future.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
No review given. This is a mandatory field with a mandatory minimum character length. One two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
MY family retired there brenda donnelly ,owen Baker christ hudgins I'd love to make my mom proud getting a good job like she did she passed away I wanna make her proud.And it is a great opportunity for myself.i take care of a family I need to take care of them and I work very hard.Get along everyone.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
25 juin 2020
First of all, we convey our condolences and sympathy to you and your family. Thank you for sharing your feedback. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for your hard work and helping move our business and the economy forward.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Ok place to work. Little/no room for advancement outside HQ (my own personal opinion). Managers are very laid back. Work/Life balance is OK. Very traditional company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
19 juin 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive hard to create a work environment where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. Please share your thoughts on your career advancement with your manager. They will help you develop a career plan in line with your goals. We thank you for your hard work and helping move our business and the economy forward.
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The company is good to work for. Be honest, integrity and hard work should be your greatest asset. Being punctual and consistent in work ethic is also a big plus.
Working at CN takes you places you may never see. Work hard and keep your head down will open doors you may not expect.

Overall, CN is a good place to work.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
18 juin 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and for your hard work while at CN. With a 24/7/365 operation we could not function without our dedicated employees. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great benefits and strive hard to create a work environment where everyone feels good to work in, and where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not much to say, the pay is phenomenal at the cost of no home life. Dangerous job, but you truly feel part of a family on the ground.

Benefits, profit sharing
Points positifs
Pay, Benefits
Points négatifs
Work/life balance, dangerous enviroment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
12 juin 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Safety is a core value at CN and we pride ourselves on providing our employees with the necessary tools and training to work safely. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good money however, can be challenging to find a work and personal life balance. Definitely a good company to work for and has one of the best pensions in Canada.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
9 juin 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great compensation and benefits including the ability to learn and develop themselves. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unfortunately, I was not able to work at CN Rail for long enough to give a thorough review however I can say that they take work very seriously, and the jobs require that dedication and focus. Safety is extremely important and imperative for many of the positions available.

The hardest part of the job for some will most definitely be the work-life balance while others will find maintaining focused and safe to be their challenge.


If you intend on working for CN Rail, please consider losing much if not all of your personal time and also consider your lifestyle as this employer will require all of you and your attention. This is not a 9-5 job and if you go into with an attitude that you are only there for the paycheque maybe you should consider another career path.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
9 juin 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! Safety is a core value at CN and we pride ourselves on providing our employees with the necessary tools and training to work safely. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We thank you for your hard work and helping move our business and the economy forward.
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
CN has good benefits and Salaries are good. Work-life balance does not exist due to the nature of the job. This was my first job and I worked at CN for almost 22 years.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
2 juin 2020
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We pride ourselves on providing our team with great benefits, including the ability to learn, develop themselves and grow their careers. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for your hard work and helping move our business and the economy forward.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You are married to the company. You will exist only to keep the facility working so that the freight moves. If you do not move freight the share holders and company do not make money.
Points positifs
Very High Pay
Points négatifs
Always on call 24 - 7
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
27 mai 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work while at CN. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. When we recruit talent to our operations teams, we spend a lot of time going over the working conditions and the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We hope you have found a position that is more in line with your career expectations.
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The place is very nice. The colleagues are very nice to work with, and sometimes the meetings are not well defined. In my project there was a lack of good leadership
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
27 mai 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for your hard work and having helped move our business and the economy forward.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
CN was a very good company but recently the cuts have gone too far. The management is focused on cutting costs instead of customer service or innovation.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
27 mai 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback. With a 24/7/365 operation CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for having helped move our business and the economy forward.
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very stressful to work with this kind of company you have a lot of responsibility with no much pay, has to be equal but this is a big company doesnt care the culture for this company is old, all the work they doing there is like 100 years old.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?
Réponse officielle de CN
20 mai 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your hard work while at CN. With a 24/7/365 operation, we could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for having helped move our business and the economy forward. We hope that you have found a position that is more in line with your career expectations.
Profil attribué
Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?
Posez une question au sujet du travail chez CN ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.
Note globale
3,2
D'après 774 avis
5
163
4
210
3
171
2
90
1
140
Notes par catégorie
2,6
Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,1
Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,6
Direction
2,8
Culture d'entreprise