Avis des employés pour Mental Health Technician chez Canadian Mental Health Association

Trouvé 12 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 157 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor management
Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  Kirkland Lake, ON31 juillet 2019
Management team tries their best, but do not have a grasp of evidence based practice or skills to manage their team. However, very kind colleagues, and overall good work-life balance. Clients are great to work with.
Points positifs
Clients, Work life balance (no over-time, case load is reasonable)
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's an abusive workplace
Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON6 mai 2019
I have worked at CMHA for years now and it has been one of the worst experiences of my life. There is a sub culture of cliques and the gossiping is absolutely atrocious so always watch what you say as the work politics will DEFINITELY get around and you will be fired. They are constantly hiring because they cannot keep staff - high turnover is NOT good for a company as 'prestigious' as them. There are very few chances for progression within the company, especially in the Supportive Housing and Crisis departments. There is a hierarchy to this agency and they are not afraid to let you know. Managers are just that - they're business-like and don't understand their clientele or staff and expect your co-workers to go straight to management instead of actually telling you when they have an issue with you. It is an extremely toxic workplace. You are just a number to them and nothing more - they want full commitment from you but offer no loyalty. Furthermore, they never want to hire within the company. The permanent, full-time positions are always posted both internally and externally at the same time, which seems absolutely wrong. It logically makes sense to allow for internal applications in advance of externally posting the position. They always offer contract work, which does not provide benefits. Yes, there is a chance your contract can be extended. However, I can guarantee that you will not be hired full-time within a decent time span.

Be prepared to work a lot of overnights and weekends. If you have kids, good luck - you work shift work, so you will have to have a babysitter
  plus... all the time.

They will also let you go without letting you know why. Do not expect a response if you ask for feedback in order to understand why you may not be a good fit for the agency. Management never gives concrete examples of behaviours you have done wrong. Furthermore, if you ask how to improve yourself, they will shrug off your question and essentially tell you to figure it out yourself or they cannot give concrete examples as it might reveal the person (staff or client) who complained about you.
  moins
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Long hours, gossip, hierarchical workplace, managers do not listen or respect staff, clientele are treated poorly, policies are not followed (discharge due to drug use, etc., which is a zero tolerance policy is not upheld), willing to let clients abuse other clients, lack of professional development oportunities
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
rewarding
Mental Health Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC16 février 2019
Throughout my career I have focussed on the people I serve. While working in the territories, the people I served were distinct in many ways. They did not want non-Inuit people in their communities but realized that they needed more experience in dealing with the issues in their communities.

That being said, in each of the communities I worked in, I went out of my way to meet the members in the communities who wanted change for their people. Although it was sometimes met with conflict, the people were receptive to change.

In Igloolik, I managed to open a safe house for women and their children in the community. As expected there are few resources so finding people to help was certainly a challenge, and it took over a year to complete, but ultimately it was put together.

Finding rewards is always important and seeing change in these communities was a positive outcome.
Points positifs
Seeing positive changes in what appears hopeless
Points négatifs
Lack of resources
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Was a great company, now its not so much
Mental Health Counsellor (Employé actuel) –  Barrie, ON25 juillet 2018
When i started here this was a wonderful place, full of wonderful people, helping wonderful people. The pay was good, and so were the benefits.

The agency has become toxic over the years. There is a lot of deception and secrecy in management. There is little room for advancement, and special people are awarded with special benefits.

Pay is low for what we do and the raises are non existent.
Points positifs
Lots of holidays
Points négatifs
low pay for amount of work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Really enjoyed my time at this job.
Mental Health Clinician (Ancien employé) –  Orangeville, ON23 avril 2018
The people were great to work with and the management was very helpful and understanding. I would love to work there again if the opportunity ever came up.
Points positifs
Friendly staff, supervision meetings were helpful
Points négatifs
Not enough employees to cover the client list, so some were stressed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cmha
Mental Health Worker I (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC18 novembre 2017
great clients and staff, not enough pay for the work. i really enjoy it but i can not support myself with this job alone. Has been working for CMHA for the last three months starting date being September 12th 2016. As a Mental Health Worker I have been in charge of many responsibilities including promoting self-reliance and independence of residents living with multiple, chronic health challenges as they work to achieve the goals in their care plans. This involves building a professional rapport with residents during their activities of daily living such as attending exercise programs, volunteer shifts and doctor appointments, as well as coaching individuals in a manner that maintains and respects the spirit, dignity, inclusivity and individuality of others
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Meaningful work, great environment to learn something new everyday
Eating Disorders-Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON7 juin 2017
Wonderful opportunities of advancement. Working in an interdisciplinary team where there was always something new to learn from my peers and new ways of better supporting those who we supported.
Connections with other human beings who were vulnerable and it was very satisfying seeing people achieving their goals and living a meaningful life that went according to their prefences and plans.
Points positifs
Great benefits, good pay, payed vacation, working and making a difference in peoples lives
Points négatifs
Shift work, weekends
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I like it there....
Mental Health (Employé actuel) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON16 mai 2017
But it's not a sustainable position.
They are underfunded, not all staff are paid well, and there is no chance at moving up unless you start in management.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great house enviroment. Feels like home rather then a mental health facility.
Facility life skills worker/mental health worker (Employé actuel) –  Vernon, BC26 avril 2016
A typical day can rage from one on one counselling to administering medications to going on group outings, or working on daily life skills. Each day I learn something new about mental health, administering best social care methods and theories. I enjoy the teamwork environment and the cohesion Canadian Mental Health advocates for.
The most difficult days are when a resident is going through full psychosis, suicidal tenancies and when individuals want to leave the facility permanently without being ready to do so. The most rewarding and enjoyable part of my work and job, is to see people use new positive skills that they have learned from our facility. I find it extremely gratifying to watch residents move from our home and out on there own.
Points positifs
Group teamwork.
Points négatifs
Hours.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
AMAZING PLACE
Relief Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON26 avril 2015
I loved my time at CMHA. The staff and managers are very respectful and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend working here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work
Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  Simcoe, ON2 janvier 2014
I learned a lot and am ready to move on to something new. hardest part of the job....doom and gloom from clients. Best part...helping others. The good out weighs the bad, its worth it.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 4Signaler

Voir plus d'avis pour Canadian Mental Health Association

Vous pourriez essayer :

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Canadian Mental Health Association. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 157 avis
574
440
321
212
110

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,3Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,6Direction
3,9Culture d'entreprise