Canadian Mental Health Association - Avis

Trouvé 148 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 154 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Lack of respect for employees and clients
Overnight Support (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB21 août 2019
Lack of respect for employees and clients. I saw clients treated as the marginalized group that greater society sees them as. Rather than empowering and treating them as equals. And when employees Went that extra mile to show clients that they mattered they were scolded and said they survived before you and they will
Survive after you… In other words do your job and just your job.survive after you
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poor management
Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  Kirkland Lake, ON31 juillet 2019
Management team tries their best, but do not have a grasp of evidence based practice or skills to manage their team. However, very kind colleagues, and overall good work-life balance. Clients are great to work with.
Points positifs
Clients, Work life balance (no over-time, case load is reasonable)
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good enough
Transitional Community Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Sudbury, ON22 juillet 2019
very regimented at the main office, some managers easier to talk to than others. lacking an understanding of workplace mental health however they are always looking to "do better" and improve themselves. Staff are incredibly hardworking. Workload is demanding at times. Made a lot of great friends working here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Agency
Placement Student (Ancien employé) –  Greater Sudbury, ON10 juillet 2019
An agency that has a lot to offer the clients they serve as well as the staff they employ.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and Respectful
Summer Student- Peer Support (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB13 juin 2019
As a peer support worker, you were given the task to support others who are going through recovery with mental health, addiction, or both. Also as a peer support worker, you were to have history of your own recovery in one of the three areas.

It was a very personable and independent job role. You got to engage with clients through email, over the phone, or in person. At the time it was one on one or group settings.

The employer and employees mainly friendly, understanding, and showed a positive attitude.

The hardest part was the lack of work at times but all in all was a great environment to learn what they were trying to get across in the agency.
Points négatifs
Not very many hiring opportunities for full time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great
Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Therapist (Employé actuel) –  Barrie, ON12 juin 2019
I am new to this agency and I have received extensive training. There are quality staff here. I feel that caring for the staff is a priority for this agency.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Place
Internship (Ancien employé) –  Barrie, ON23 mai 2019
Great place to work and the staff are very friendly and supportive. The job requires moving around a lot, depending but its also great because youre not confined to one space.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working At the CMHA Provincial/Division Office
TELEFUND OPERATOR (Ancien employé) –  Regina, SK13 mai 2019
A great day, every day. Reaching out & contacting new people everyday. I have relearned the procedures of a call centre. The Team leader & our boss is a wonderful leader. It is a workplace that feels like family. The hardest part of the job is going home. The most enjoyable part of the job is the comradely; it always feels like family.
Points positifs
Good People
Points négatifs
Work is only from July to November 30th.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It's an abusive workplace
Mental Health Worker (Ancien employé) –  London, ON6 mai 2019
I have worked at CMHA for years now and it has been one of the worst experiences of my life. There is a sub culture of cliques and the gossiping is absolutely atrocious so always watch what you say as the work politics will DEFINITELY get around and you will be fired. They are constantly hiring because they cannot keep staff - high turnover is NOT good for a company as 'prestigious' as them. There are very few chances for progression within the company, especially in the Supportive Housing and Crisis departments. There is a hierarchy to this agency and they are not afraid to let you know. Managers are just that - they're business-like and don't understand their clientele or staff and expect your co-workers to go straight to management instead of actually telling you when they have an issue with you. It is an extremely toxic workplace. You are just a number to them and nothing more - they want full commitment from you but offer no loyalty. Furthermore, they never want to hire within the company. The permanent, full-time positions are always posted both internally and externally at the same time, which seems absolutely wrong. It logically makes sense to allow for internal applications in advance of externally posting the position. They always offer contract work, which does not provide benefits. Yes, there is a chance your contract can be extended. However, I can guarantee that you will not be hired full-time within a decent time span.

Be prepared to work a lot of overnights and weekends. If you have kids, good luck - you work shift work, so you will have to have a babysitter
  plus... all the time.

They will also let you go without letting you know why. Do not expect a response if you ask for feedback in order to understand why you may not be a good fit for the agency. Management never gives concrete examples of behaviours you have done wrong. Furthermore, if you ask how to improve yourself, they will shrug off your question and essentially tell you to figure it out yourself or they cannot give concrete examples as it might reveal the person (staff or client) who complained about you.
  moins
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Long hours, gossip, hierarchical workplace, managers do not listen or respect staff, clientele are treated poorly, policies are not followed (discharge due to drug use, etc., which is a zero tolerance policy is not upheld), willing to let clients abuse other clients, lack of professional development oportunities
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good environment to work in
Customized Employment Specialist (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC29 avril 2019
Great place to work and strong management team in place. There has been some change in management and the company needs to find ways to promote themselves, but the team there is more than competent do do just that.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great program to offer to the community. Great colleagues to work with
Bounce Back Community Coach (Employé actuel) –  New Westminster, BC13 avril 2019
This is a program that has been around for about 13 years and keeps growing in demand. The hardest part of the job is when we get referrals for participants that the program might not be enough for them because they are dealing with greater issues that the program can't reach. So participants get declined.
Other than that, participants get results and support for their mental health issues(depression and/or anxiety).Sometimes we deals with participants with risk to themselves so we assess that part too.
The job is rewarding when we see how participants used the tools that the materials provide and take forward.
We have a great team and we all share the same enthusiasm to support clients.
Points positifs
the team, the program, the job itself
Points négatifs
driving to work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work environment, but not great compensation
Coach, BounceBack Program (Employé actuel) –  Vaughan, ON1 avril 2019
Great place to work in terms of people and work culture, but poor compensation leads to high turnover rates. They also expect you to go beyond your role and do lots of extra projects that are never compensated for besides faint praise.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Canadian Mental Health Association
Student Employee (Ancien employé) –  Cornwall, ON15 mars 2019
Check emails
Assist with intakes/referrals
Meet with clients one on one
Establish goals with client and steps to achieve them
Discharge clients
Most Enjoyable part of the job is seeing success in clients, and working in the peer resource centre
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Benevolent Bosses and Co-workers
Support Staff (Ancien employé) –  Medicine Hat, AB10 mars 2019
My time with Canadian Mental Health Association was spent in Medicine Hat working permanent supportive housing. My favorite aspects of the job were my bosses and co-workers. Work life balance was incredibly accomodating and everyone treated me with respect. My resignation had nothing to do with the management or lifestyle. The job itself seemed unsuited for me over time.
Points positifs
Great Coworkers and Bosses
Points négatifs
Emotionally Taxing
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don't trust anyone
Key Worker (Ancien employé) –  Kelowna, BC8 mars 2019
CMHA hires seemingly randomly, unless you know someone within. The branch I was part of was "an old boys club" so my future was doomed from the start. Loved the role, but had zero support from anyone about some extremely troublesome and dangerous things I encountered. Squeaky wheels will be shown the door.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It’s an awesome angency to work for. They are very clients centred!
Peer specialist (Ancien employé) –  Orillia, ON5 mars 2019
I loved working at CMHA in the past. They are very client centred and good at listening to their staff when their is an issue. They are good and looking at the big picture. The management always have an open door policy that they respect and use every day. The clients are well taken care of and the staff is well taken care of.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
HR & Management Stinks but Clients & Staff are Great
Mental Health Worker (Employé actuel) –  London, ON3 mars 2019
HR & Management have a biased and judgemental attitude when it comes to staff - they definitely have their favorites and try to pretend that they don't. As a result if you cozy up to them, you are likely to get farther ahead. (HR loves cat videos)

The clients & staff and work are great. Lots of interesting and meaningful work with a fair rate of pay, pretty good benefits and OK vacation amount. There is alot of different depts so you should be able to move around but it's kind of hard to do. Pay your dues and start with casual or overnight shifts and you will get a better job soon enough (as long as you don't get HR or management mad!).
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Part time worker.
Janitor (part-time) (Employé actuel) –  Regina, SK26 février 2019
I worked there part time, I enjoyed this job because I got along well with other workers and management,

working part time I had lots of time to take care of other things.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Walking on eggshells
Nurse (Ancien employé) –  Oshawa26 février 2019
They have a huge problem with management bullying. They have the highest turnover rate that I have ever seen with an agency. They love to preach how they are so staff focused however that is the farthest from the truth. This place needs to be investigated for the turnover and its not what management tells people. They like to get away with telling people that everyone is leaving related to money. Not true. People are leaving because of terrible management.
Points positifs
The clients
Points négatifs
Bullying, Manipulation, lying
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
rewarding
Mental Health Coordinator (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC16 février 2019
Throughout my career I have focussed on the people I serve. While working in the territories, the people I served were distinct in many ways. They did not want non-Inuit people in their communities but realized that they needed more experience in dealing with the issues in their communities.

That being said, in each of the communities I worked in, I went out of my way to meet the members in the communities who wanted change for their people. Although it was sometimes met with conflict, the people were receptive to change.

In Igloolik, I managed to open a safe house for women and their children in the community. As expected there are few resources so finding people to help was certainly a challenge, and it took over a year to complete, but ultimately it was put together.

Finding rewards is always important and seeing change in these communities was a positive outcome.
Points positifs
Seeing positive changes in what appears hopeless
Points négatifs
Lack of resources
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Canadian Mental Health Association. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,0
D'après 154 avis
573
440
321
212
18

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,4Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,7Direction
4,0Culture d'entreprise