CANADIAN FOOD INSPECTION AGENCY - Avis

Trouvé 80 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 81 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Summer job
Inspector (Ancien employé) –  Placentia, NL12 décembre 2019
It was a summer job I worked at for 2 years straight
Good job just was underpaid and had difficulty getting paid I inspected vehicles and washed them so they could travel on the marine Atlantic ferry to Nova Scotia
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Plant Surveyor (Ancien employé) –  Moncton, NB11 décembre 2019
The pay is based on your level of education/experience. Family-feel in the office but hard-working coworkers. Great experience for students! Could offer better training however.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fastpaced at times but rewarding and easy work
Assistant Inspector (Ancien employé) –  Port aux Basques, NL4 décembre 2019
The Canadian Food Inspection agency was an incredibly entertaining and rewarding job with an excellent salary and agreeable work weeks and overtime wages. The work was relatively easy with a low learning curve, even though the work itself could sometimes be fast paced and even stressful.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Scientific Support Officer (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON2 décembre 2019
Great place to work if you are trying to get a government job or into the government. They allow you to move ahead and the management is relaxed. I did my co-op term here and would love to go back to work full time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great work environment
Invasive Plant and Insect Survey Student (Ancien employé) –  St. Catharines, ON1 décembre 2019
Was a summer student doing invasive plant and insect work. absolutely loved it.A great learning environment lots of flexibility and responsibility at the role
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work
Placement student (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON4 novembre 2019
The CFIA is a great place for anyone to get a job, with the right background and skills you will have no problem fitting into the job, overall great place to work!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great
Research Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON14 octobre 2019
Excellent organization and wonderful team. They respect work-life balance and coordination of care for patients. All staff treated equally and honoured.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Disorganized workplace. Very difficult to advance
Meat Hygiene Inspector & Animal Programs Inspector (Ancien employé) –  Saskatoon, SK1 octobre 2019
Employees have very little job security. Expect to be a term employee for a number of years before receiving a permanent position. Management manipulates and shoves workers around with very little concern of employees needs, desires, or opinions.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Constantly changing agency priorities
Food Processing Specialist Inspector (Employé actuel) –  Nova Scotia14 septembre 2019
The agency has been in a constant state of change, since the beginning. Which is fine, if you like that but it can also give some staff a feelng of instability and uncertainty.

Hiring policies prevent most levels from being promoted into higher positions. You have to compete for those positions. People not already working for the agency are only offered term positions that are 12months or less. To become a permanent employee, you have to compete again, against other internal employees.

The role as a food processing specialist inspector is a great job if you like constantly changing priorities and you don't mind having to completely drop what you have planned to respond to a food safety investigation. And if you're comfortable dealing with difficult or demanding people (public or industry representatives).

Some days can be very busy and hectic other days more relaxed, where you can actually get some of your routine work done.

There are flexible work arrangements that support a healthy work life balance. Rates of pay and benefits are reasonable. There are opportunities for training to support professional development, if you choose to take advantage. From my perspective, the culture is more collaborative than competitive.

Overall, it's been an enjoyable working experience for me.
Points positifs
Training and professional development, salary and benefits
Points négatifs
Constantly changing priorities, new hires are only for short terms (12 months or less)
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very toxic work environment
retired supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Burnaby, BC6 septembre 2019
The office is toxic to work in. The operational staff is encouraged to spy on their colleagues and report them to management. Management also expects the operational staff to donate to (unnamed charity). However management does not donate a dime. The staff work overtime and the management receive performance bonus.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Depends on the what part of the season you work for them
Summer Student Internship (Ancien employé) –  110 Country Hills Landing NW6 août 2019
During my internship I shadowed Animal Health Inspectors and I got to see a lot of the perks of the job like the benefits and flexible hours, but I also saw a lot of the stress that came with the job. These people have to put up with a lot and just because the agency is unionized doesn't necessarily mean it's a good thing. Being protected means that there is less motivation to try harder or to search for a challenge in the workplace. Essentially, there's never going to be a fire lit under your end unless you've just been ordered from Ottawa to do thousands of TB tests in the span of a couple weeks. If you work for the government, get ready to see a lot of people who work hard for their job and agency and get ready to see people who don't. These people who don't also will never get fired because that's the reality of working for a union. All in all, good luck.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great place to work
Developmental Meat Inspector (Ancien employé) –  Lethbridge, AB19 juillet 2019
low - stress, focus on team building. great hours, above average pay. co-workers were easy to work with. Open communication between management and staff.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Inconsistent hiring criteria
Primary Inspector (Ancien employé) –  British Columbia18 juillet 2019
Was twice hired as a full-time term inspector (5-month terms) and fully vetted (medical, security/crim checked, hearing tested, DL abstract reviewed -- the whole nine yards). Tons of online training throughout the term. Lots of work with no overtime, but great work nonetheless. Loved it and excelled at it; got along well with f/t permanent inspectors. Thought I'd found my dream job, especially after the stressful first few months of getting used to the 1200-km trapping route driven every two weeks.

Prior to applying for Year Three, was told that the B.Sc. requirement would now be enforced (I have two Arts degrees), and that a younger colleague from another office would get my former position. Total bummer. I won't even mention the Phoenix debacle -- oops, I just did. Well, I had some hassles with an errant paycheque which was corrected thanks to the office's stupendously competent and proactive clerk -- but these hassles weren't anything like one of my colleague's.
Points positifs
social lunches, cooperation/mentorship, lunch allowance when away from office on job-related duties
Points négatifs
favouritism, inconsistent hiring criteria
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
CFIA a workplace where you can make a real difference in the health and welfare of Canadians
Fleet Administrator (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC17 juin 2019
CFIA promotes work and life balance, depending on the position, many people have the opportunity to work from home. Work hours are flexible and the opportunity to work compressed hours is a nice bonus.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Administrative Assistant CR-04
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Truro, NS8 juin 2019
I loved my job as a CR-04 at a busy CFIA office. I loved assisting my supervisor, colleagues, and clients. My co-workers, supervisor, and colleagues were amazing and always so helpful and let me know that my work was appreciated. It was nice to work in a positive, laid-back environment.

Unfortunately, due many lies and confusion, my contact was not renewed. First I was told that there wasn't enough work at the office to have a full time Administrative Assistant, and then I was told that were budgetary constraints, and that my salary was not included. This made no sense, and when I questioned and spoke up about it, I wasn't given a proper answer. I literally begged for my job and no one seemed to have any empathy or understand my situation. I later found out that about a month after my departure, that the budget was "magically" fixed and that a friend of RCI was being transferred from Calgary, to fill the position. I went to union and the union asked the RCI about it, and she placed the blame on me, saying that I didn't apply for a job pool that I couldn't find the job ad for.
Points positifs
Salary, Medical & Dental Benefits, Pension, Amazing Co-workers
Points négatifs
Term contracts, job pools, conflict of interest
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Colleagues and Management
Assistant, Office of the Executive Director (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON24 mai 2019
An enjoyable government agency to work for. In my experience, everyone from my colleagues, to management to senior management were a pleasure to work with.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Many employees start on short term contracts.
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Calgary22 avril 2019
Many employees start on short term contracts, which can be renewed. If you make it beyond those it's a great place to work. Overall, most people are kind and caring. I would recommend it if you're ok with initial job insecurity.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Supportive work environment
Executive correspondence editor (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON18 mars 2019
Although each editor in the department had a particular area of expertise, there was opportunity to work on other files and issues. Opportunity to acquire a broad, general knowledge of agricultural issues.
Points positifs
Friendly co-workers
Points négatifs
Short-term contract
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I have learned a great deal in a short period of time
IT Deskside Support Technician (Employé actuel) –  Belleville, ON12 mars 2019
Warm and friendly staff, if you like a fast paced environment then you will enjoy the technology department here.

The majority folks, especially your peers you work with are all genuine and are willing to help when you need assistance.

Local staff in the office I work in are all fantastic, great people that would do whatever they could to make you feel welcome and part of the team.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very good place to
ELECTRICIAN (Ancien employé) –  Halifax, NS26 février 2019
Education was a big part
Everyone was understanding
Great place to build a knowledge base.

Loved the culture, and everyone’s respect for one another.
Points positifs
Great place to work
Points négatifs
1 year contract to start
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez CANADIAN FOOD INSPECTION AGENCY. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

4,1
D'après 81 avis
530
434
313
23
11

Notes par catégorie

4,1Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
4,1Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,5Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,6Direction
3,8Culture d'entreprise