Boathouse/ Blackwell Stores - Avis

Voir les 20 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
poor management
Assistant Manager (Ancien employé) –  Penticton, BC17 août 2019
I was an ASM I was barley trained, my manager was barely trained and off we went to open a new store. The manager refused to communicate with her management staff resulting in a lot of confusion. She fired most of her staff within the first 6 months myself included. No attempt at communication, never tried finding out why there were problems. They used their team as an excuse for her lack of training and understanding. The P.O.S is the most complex system I have worked on and theyre simply inefficient. Theres no cleaning checklist, nothing for staff to refer to.
Points positifs
great visual merchandiser
Points négatifs
brown noser manager, no training, poor communication, job security
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
stress and harrassment
warehouse shipper/receiver (Ancien employé) –  17 Keefer rd, st catharines ON20 juillet 2019
management was horrible and the way i was treated by the co worker i worked with.i was harrassed and had to quit from the stress.be careful working for this company.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
terrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
2/10 Reccomend
Key Holder (Ancien employé) –  Ontario18 juillet 2019
Firstly, You will not get a good pay for the amount of work and time you spend at Boathouse. They pay minimum wage but expect you to spend all your time there with no time off. Managment is NOT helpful. Your voice will not be heard. You will not be properly trained, managers are always leaving/terminated. There is a lack of leadership from the company. They do not show that they appreciate their employees. Do not work here.
Points positifs
Discount
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not fun
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Coquitlam, BC24 avril 2019
Got hired by a lovely manager who shortly left after hire, however the new manager was rude and expected too much for little pay.
Discounts were good but apparently calling in sick was not allowed and manager had a poor sense of how to manage the staff
Points positifs
discounts
Points négatifs
HR, managment
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun work environment, no room for improvement
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON25 février 2019
Its a good place to work if you have a good manager, which I did.
Manager was super flexible with work hours, time off requests and scheduling around your other commitments.

As a key holder you do a lot just to be paid only 15 cents more than sales associates. There is also no room for advancement passed key holder.
Points positifs
Discount (40% brand names/50% store brand), flexibility
Points négatifs
Pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
New management couldn’t hold onto original staff because of hidden agendas
Manger/ keyholder (Ancien employé) –  Coquitlam, BC11 février 2019
Got hired by a wonderful manager who left a month into my probation. We received a new manager from another store .New manager comes in and I get fired ten minutes in , because quote ‘ I don’t think you passed your probation” when I said I was only a month in I wasn’t being trained correctly , she replied ‘ I want my old staff’. I hear from former staff she’s fired two others in a week. Job seems to be a high turnover for bigoted managers seeking power and punishing staff for being mentally unwell.
Points positifs
Discounts
Points négatifs
Management, HR, discrimination
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Nice co workers and staff
Sales Associate/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Guelph, ON9 janvier 2019
Overall is not a bad place to work but the assistant manager is nkt the most pleasant person to be around the manager however is lovely and the rest of the staff is aswell
Points positifs
Fun work environment
Points négatifs
Assistant manager issues
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Decent workplace, reasonably fun environment, good people lots of friends made here.
Customer Services and Sales Representative (Ancien employé) –  Kamloops, BC25 décembre 2018
I feel that my time here was very valuable, I learnt to adapt to a new environment in a new country. The management were very task and performance based and this encouraged me to further develop my work ethic. I felt a culture of hard-working people and motivated staff was created. A typical day involved encouraging my team members to reach personal and team goals as well as being very engaged in customer service as well as ensuring the store was in mint condition for the ultimate customer experience
Points positifs
40% discount on all merchandise
Points négatifs
It wasn't very in line with my after university school plans
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Definitely no room for advancements
Assistant store manager (Ancien employé) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON28 octobre 2018
Worked as an ASM came back early from mat leave as SM was leaving applied for SM only to be told I'm not management material so felt more unappreciated than ever before really felt like i wasnt even considered for the manager role. Really seen what the SM was responsible for and very little direction as stores are not the same everywhere. No room for advancement as I feel they don't give you a chance to prove how well you could do . No visual team to provide feedback as visual is different from location to locations. The RM never advised that a manager was hired went on vacation so rumors ran wild definitely wasnt very professional in my opinion. Stayed 3 weeks as a stand in SM than put resumes out and left as I was accepted for a job gave my notice and got you need to do what's best for your family. So all staff is replaceable your job anyone can do and they don't mind a change of staff 2 managers gone in a course of a month should show something
Points positifs
Discount
Points négatifs
Your replaceable
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible management
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Cambridge, ON17 juillet 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job, was upon when i was first hired with the previous manager, one that followed workplace etiquette last year at Boathouse at the Cambridge Centre. Until management was replaced and the replacement was verbally abusive, sexist and racist towards employees, sometimes even customers. The manager completely disregarded workplace conduct and stopped scheduling some employees, i once went 3 months before receiving a shift, without verbally firing them, just removing names from the schedule with no notice, phone call, text message, anything. Every shift I had working at Boathouse was stressful and uncoordinated
Points positifs
40 % brand name clothing / shoes
Points négatifs
Short and sparse shifts, bad management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Personally was a waste of time.
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Oshawa, ON5 juin 2018
Co workers do nothing but spread gossip, management picked favourites and punished the ones she didn't care for. No opportunities to move up in the company because no one wants to due to management having you do part of her job as well.
Points positifs
Discount
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Starting Out
Store Manager (Employé actuel) –  Windsor, ON5 mars 2018
Great Starting out in retail management. Could have better training, better management hours for managers.

over all a great work environment, great staff great discount.
Points positifs
bonus giveback break for managers
Points négatifs
long holiday shifts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Much better places to work
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC27 février 2018
This company lacks in customer service! Staff and Management have no clue what they are doing. A thief easily could steal from their clueless staff. Clearly a training issue. No service exist. Company talks down to its staff.
Points positifs
Discounts
Points négatifs
lack professional, customer service and training
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace with a nice selection of clothes
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Nanaimo, BC9 septembre 2017
Boathouse is a great workplace for anyone who enjoys an outdoors/active lifestyle. The clothes we sell represent this lifestyle and we try to portray that lifestyle to our customers in order for them to be attracted to our work environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 4Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
very meh
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB29 mai 2017
didnt really do much just a really chill job. managemnet is very poor but overall a good experience
its like the easier job you could have but egt paid minimum wage
Points positifs
easy
Points négatifs
boring
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun work environment
Assistant Manager (Employé actuel) –  Sudbury, ON12 mars 2017
Boathouse is a great place to work, I learned a lot at boathouse, I learned how to make the store look "shop able" meaning making it look presentable for customers to shop in. I had awesome leaders that taught me how to motivate the staff to reach goals.
Points positifs
able to move up
Points négatifs
rude customers
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great culture, Great people!
Store Manager (Ancien employé) –  Ontario1 mars 2017
Boathouse is a great place to work. I have worked for large American companies in the past and boathouse was the first Canadian company I worked for. Wow, what a difference! You feel like a person and not just a number. I loved the people and culture, and the brands we carried were awesome. The discount was also super generous.

Sales weren't as easy as my past jobs. Boathouse customers have a higher service expectation, so as long as we put in the effort, we always made our budgets.

Compensation was fair. Hard work was rewarded. There were lots of staff incentive contests with amazing prizes.

Contrary to previous reviews the company is growing. They opened several stores while i was there, which is always comforting when you work in retail.

Unfortunately I had to move for personal reasons, or I'd still be there. overall, I'd recommend this company!!
Points positifs
Great people and culture. Generous discounts. Amazing incentives.
Points négatifs
Not as structured as other companies.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 14Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Horrible Upper Management, Compensation Low, Catty Head Office
Store Manager (Ancien employé) –  Ontario Canada15 février 2017
The only thing good about working for this company is the discount. The pay is so low-balled that you almost need the discount to even afford product.

Upper management are so catty, and claim to be "open" to all opinions and ideas, but only if they align with their opinions and ideas. They take advantage of everyone, and say that they're growing and there is opportunity for advancement, but this is just not true. They're closing twice as many stores as they're opening and they're entirely too cheap to chop up regions any further to create more RM positions.

Inventory and stock are so disorganized during shipments and season changes that a lot of time is spent just trying to figure out what you've received. Any product requests to the buyers aren't even considered, and hot ticket items are bought too late last the trend (adidas superstars anyone?) to even sell anymore.

Overall, this is a fun company if you're just part-time sales and don't mind being overworked for minimum wage. Anything other than that is soul-sucking and the company just testing you to see how much work you can do for little pay. Even the bonus structure is ridiculous for management. $38 for hitting budget one month. Thanks for the motivation.

From one former vet to a prospect: don't work here. The discount is great, but it's just not worth it to be treated like a slave.
Points positifs
Discount
Points négatifs
Low pay, long hours, no visual help, heavy stock, catty upper management, Human Resources ruled by an evil dictator
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 47Non 6Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Difficult in sales but positive in culture
Sales/Visual Associate (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON3 septembre 2016
I have been in boathouse for about 6 months and went through 3 managers. the first one was chill, the second one didnt know what he was doing and the third one gave a good kick in the butt but might have kicked a little too hard for some employees.
Points positifs
easy and fun culture
Points négatifs
difficult making sales because not a lot of customers come in
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8Non 5Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Boathouse/ Blackwell Stores. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,5
D'après 20 avis
51
45
34
22
18

Notes par catégorie

2,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,2Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,4Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise