Big Al's - Avis

Trouvé 19 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 73 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
worst workplace
Animal Caregiver (Volunteer) (Ancien employé) –  Kennedy, ON26 septembre 2018
the manager and staff was very rude to me and wouldnt really take me serious because i was volunteering here. wouldnt want to ever go back there. would always make me do what other staff didnt want to do.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun to work at, Terrible Management
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Kitchener, ON10 août 2018
I worked cash, I loved working with the customers and answering their questions. This is a really busy place so I was surprised to see the manager constantly making personal phone calls, playing games on his phone, going on Facebook, etc., all of this happening while I'm trying to stock, clean, put away an order, answer customer's questions and operating the till. All the managers have their jobs secured, I felt very expendable and I constantly got in trouble for things I didn't do. It's a very "smile and bare through" kind of place. If you bring anything to the manager's or owner's attention they don't do anything about it. If you express any ideas or try to show any sort of leadership they listen but it goes in one ear and out the other. I have health issues and realize that was hard on the store so they gave me less hours however upon other cashiers booking time off they scheduled me on days I didn't normally work without checking in with me first, which wouldn't matter too much but I book my doctors appointments and other appointments on days I know I don't work. I really liked my job at first until I realized some people were fake and it was all about the money and business rather than the employees and animals. I wish everyone worked more as a team and would receive more positive feedback rather than constant negative. Other employees and myself would point out sick animals or animals that are too small or fragile to be sold and nothing would happen, which then reflects back badly on us because people don't think we care and that we're cruel.

Aside from those negative
  plus... points there are a few positives. Most of the managers would help when you needed them to help answer a question. The customers are awesome and it's fun to connect with them and help them with the questions they have whether it be about fish, reptiles, or products for them. I appreciate the experience I had as a cashier and it helped me be more confident with customers, and I am more knowledgeable about the products customers require.

I think Big Al's needs to improve on animal care, employee care, better communication with employees in the front and back, possibly have a day when the managers and the employees go do something fun or some sort of competitive fun that both benefits the business and morale.
  moins
Points positifs
Customers, coworkers
Points négatifs
management, scheduling
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
First Job
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Oakville, ON1 mai 2018
Excellent place for teens to begin their first job. Learn alot either on the fish room floor or being a sales rep. Fun work environment if you into the hobby's such as reptiles or fish.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great beginner job
Customer Service (Employé actuel) –  Edmonton, AB24 octobre 2017
Worker there for years. little advancement and low wage. but very understanding managers. worked holidays.Summer BBQ. great place to learn about pets.
Points positifs
Christmas party
Points négatifs
low wage
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Place
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB10 octobre 2017
Fun atmosphere, met some great people that are still my friends to this day. Learned way more then I was expecting and also took up a hobby that I still do today,
Points positifs
Discounts
Points négatifs
Hard to get a raise
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Knowledgeable workers but understaffed
Retail representative/ General Labour (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON30 septembre 2017
My typical day revolved around cleaning the terrariums and customer service. I learned how to handle reptiles and little about how they live. The management was fairly good.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
I love working here! I love everything...
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON7 septembre 2017
We are all family in this workplace, It's just that I have to leave bc I'm going back to school... they don't have a afternoon shift! But over all 10 out of 10.. Supervisors and Managers are the best!!!!
Points positifs
Free barbecue when It's summer and free food at christmas party
Points négatifs
far from where I live
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great first job
Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON4 septembre 2017
Great job, all workers helped me to learn about aquatic creatures. I learned skills about how to manage a fast-paced environment and communicate with customers.
Points positifs
Great breaks
Points négatifs
Clean dirty animal cages
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
horrible workplace
Pet Care Associate (Employé actuel) –  Scarborough, ON17 juillet 2017
the pay is horrible, the managers are not the greatest. there is always drama. The scheduling is bad, its hard to get consistent hours. The good thing is you get to play with a lot of different animals.
Points positifs
animals
Points négatifs
horrible pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Livestock Associate (Employé actuel) –  Vaughan, ON7 février 2017
Big Al's is a great place to work. A typical day at work includes cleaning fish tanks, and helping out a variety of customers, with many different questions. Working at Big Al's involves facing new challenges everyday, and if you're up for that, it will be a great place to work.
Points positifs
Great management
Points négatifs
Understaffed at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Productive and fun work place.
Merchandiser/Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Newmarket, ON24 janvier 2017
Although a fun, great and easy workplace environment with great staff, there were minimal opportunities to rise in the company. Salaries are set with very minimal opportunity for a raise.
Points positifs
great environment, staff, and workplace.
Points négatifs
very limited opportunity for increased pay and rise in position in the company
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
not very fun
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  calgary, alberta12 janvier 2017
i did learn a lot from this job mostly about fish and how to look after them was gret to know all the things i learned from here, however it does not exist in calgary anymore it closed down
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Garbage
a (Ancien employé) –  Orleans, ON22 février 2016
I can't even begin to explain how horrid the working conditions, staff, and management were. Especially towards the animals.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Retail job
Cashier and Dry Stock (Ancien employé) –  Barrie, ON20 juillet 2014
Typical retail job, trained in many areas such as learning invoices and inventory
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overall job position
Customer Service Representative (part-time) (Ancien employé) –  Whitby, ON7 novembre 2013
At Big Al's, all the employees were very close so when a new member of the store came in, they weren't treated very fair. I only worked there for a year, I was let go because they said they were over staffed.
Points positifs
nice people, good pay, interesting atmisphere
Points négatifs
rude manager, takes adavtage of new employees
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun Animal Centered Career
Pet Care Associate (Ancien employé) –  Brampton,ON22 avril 2013
A typical day at work for me would be starting off with cleaning out a section of the animals depending on the day wether it was the birds,small animals or reptiles. Then i would either check expiry dates on food,clean shelves and front items or build bird cages. I learned alot from working here I learned to answer the phone with customers inquiring about thier pet, i learnt suggestive selling techniques,I learned the good and the bad of different brand names and which ones the store wanted me to sell the most of,And I learned to care for the animals and capture the animals if they got loose. The management at the store was great the store manager was always there for a few hours even on his days off and my supervisor was always attentive and answered any questions I had. My coworkers were good people most kept to themselves which is fine in my line of work thier i wasnt required to work in teams but individually,As to the hardest part of the job i'm no perfectionist but there wasnt really a hard part I thoroughly enjoyed my work and the atmosphere I was in.The most enjoyable part was looking after the animals I got to socialize them and pet them everyday and it always put a smile on my face.
Points positifs
discounts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Throught school
Cashier/Fish room Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON15 janvier 2013
Worked here part time throught my post secondairy education. Learnt many things about aquariums and the different species of fish.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun, informative, entertaining
Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB23 novembre 2012
A typical day at work was busy, and fast paced. Wow i learned about pond fish, salt water fish, and aquariums, filters fish food lighting and how to care for all these things. I also learned proper cleaning techniques for aquariums and filtration systems, how to set up a new fresh or salt water aquarium. Management was a little scattered but they got the job done. Co-workers were helpful and friendly and willing to teach. the hardest part about the job was dealing with the volume of customers. the most enjoyable part of this job was everything and anything. this had to be my favorite job, i enjoyed every part of this job.
Points positifs
everyday was a learning experience
Points négatifs
couldn't get the hours i wanted
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler

Voir plus d'avis pour Big Al's

Vous pourriez essayer :

Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Big Al's. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,3
D'après 73 avis
519
415
321
28
110

Notes par catégorie

3,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,6Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,0Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise