BC Liquor Distribution Branch - Avis

Trouvé 85 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 87 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
government union job
Customer Service Representative (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC3 août 2019
at first its a good job benefits take a long time to get and all the more senior staff do nothing all and expect all the new employees to stay on cashier and do all the work. would not recommend for someone looking for career
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
if you want to get discriminated this is your place
Warehouse Worker (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC29 juillet 2019
I would highly recommend not to work here because they like to discriminate people who have mental health issues, and if you want to work here thats your choice.They claim to be the Top employers in BC which is untrue, they dont deserve to even be on that list they deserve to be nowhere on google
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job while in School
Wholesale Distribution Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC13 juin 2019
The management is incredibly useless. Micromanagent is rampant and destroys the culture.

The job itself is incredibly boring. You sit and do data entry and answer calls from angry customers while a manager criticizes your every word. Multiple people have quit their first day because the job is so boring. You are paid hourly for the WCC positions, therefore are only paid for 7 hours per day.

There is absolutely no growth whatsoever. It's impossible to transfer departments and you'll be stuck doing the job you were hired for.
Points positifs
30 minutes paid break per shift, good entry level pay
Points négatifs
Incredibly boring, micromanaging
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Interesting workplace with funny characters
Salesperson (Ancien employé) –  Comox Valley, BC10 juin 2019
- Stocking Shelves
- Providing Suggestions to customers
- Cashing out customers
- Cleaning parts off the store
-Completing Liquor orders for commercial customers
Points positifs
Lots of different jobs allowed a variety in the work day
Points négatifs
Staff wasn't very friendly and seemed jaded
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Basic cashier job but with good benefits-- temporary position
Sales Associate/Cashier/Auxiliary Employee (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC21 mai 2019
Slow-paced type of job . While not doing customer service oriented work such as ringing in orders or helping customers find something. You'll be stocking and facing labels out . It's a chill atmosphere . As auxiliary though it sucks because I was getting 60+ hours a week around Christmas and then they don't call you for like 3 months after that . So if your comfortable living at your parents seize the opportunity to get a union job . But if you got bills to pay then auxiliary is not the job for u ! Make sure you get in permanent.
Points positifs
Lots of breaks, chill atmosphere, slow paced, good pay, good benefits (for senority )
Points négatifs
Slow paced, worrying about IDing people . Hard to get senority.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Have to work your way up - expect to work <8hrs a week initially
Sales Associate and Cashier (Ancien employé) –  BC8 mai 2019
Cons:
- Sometimes worked 0 hours a week, but cannot plan to do anything else as call-outs occur every morning with no planning ahead. Camping trip with friends? No. Sister’s wedding weekend? No.

- Impossible to plan any sort of life around work. You are expected to earmark all your time for them. Perfect for retiree maybe, but don’t expect to make much money here. The hourly rate is tempting but the hours just aren’t there, I was misled about how much I could expect to be working. In retrospect, I should have taken a lesser rate of pay at another job with guaranteed hours.

- Dealing with alcoholics is emotionally draining especially when they come in to grind you down daily.

- Astonishingly disorganized inventory and stocking system. Back rooms can be a nightmare and overstocking of product is a huge ergonomic health risk. Expect to injure your back. Stores I worked at ordered so much product it was impossible to do proper lifting in coolers and back room. Stock overflowed on to floor and often got buried. Extremely irritating especially when asked to look for something that inventory said we had. Needle in a haystack type situation.

- Most coworkers were pleasant, but due to union environment, some really nasty pieces of work were allowed to keep their jobs, and working alongside these unpleasant individuals made work a real displeasure.

- Some pressure to up-sell, internal company magazine constantly pressuring employees to push their peak performance higher aka selling more of a known carcinogen to the public. It’s booze, it sells itself, it’s toxic. This
  plus... wore on my conscience.


Pros:
- Managers were friendly, maybe a bit fake.

- Store is air conditioned.

- fair and balanced in its division of duties, everyone did a little bit of everything.

- Most coworkers were kind, happy people. Lifers could be super sour/abrasive.

- If you can handle working a what is essentially a part time job for 4-5 years to rack up the hours (some 1800 hours) to become a full-time employee, it may be a good job with good benefits. Expect to set aside all of your time for them with little in return other than a slightly higher than average hourly rate of pay, and extremely spotty shifts for many years.

Take away: Working your way up is not worth it, I would not recommend this job to a friend. Find a job at a normal liquor store that isn’t government, you get treated pretty terribly here as an employee. Scheduling benefits employer only, no benefits but paying into union from day 1.
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Seasonal Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC22 avril 2019
Excellent place to work, pay is good. About the hours as a temporary cashier you can take extra shift when is the opportunity, unfortunately is hard to get as a full time employee.
Points positifs
good pay
Points négatifs
only temporary job oportunity
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Warehouse needs proper air-conditioning
SALE ASSOCIATE (Ancien employé) –  Powell River, BC12 avril 2019
New manager was not accommodating to important family gatherings. Would not approve requested time off, even after proper union & government forms will filled out. The new manager also started to manipulate the schedule so associates would not qualify for proper pay during statutory holidays.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
long on call wait
Sales Associate/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Campbell River, BC9 avril 2019
a decent job but you'll be waiting by the phone. overall a good place to work for a single person not looking for full time work. but if you have a family its hard
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace with lots of things to learn.
Systems Operations Analyst (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC3 avril 2019
Working at BCLDB was a good experience for me. I have learned a lot of things while working there. As a Systems Operations Analyst, I have learned various production tools that are used to resolve the real time production issues for the smooth operations of the company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 5Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very relaxing
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC27 mars 2019
I work hard and am very productive, so usually I finish my own work two hours before clocking out. Most of the employees here take their time to do their work and you have to really mess up to get interviewed by your manager.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good transitional job
Sales Clerk (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC18 mars 2019
While it has a higher salary than most retail stores it is still retail. I would highly recommend it as a student job or a transitional job between careers but do not stay long term. Starting out is very difficult because there is no guaranteed work and it could be months between calls to come in (you're on call for the first 3-5 years). That said like any retail job it can be fun if you're working with the right people, or a nightmare if you're working with the wrong ones. It also can be a bit depressing seeing and serving the same alcoholics day to day and watching them decline.
Points positifs
flexible, higher pay than normal retail
Points négatifs
shift work, on call, no guaranteed hours, a bit depressing sometimes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent workplace with room to advance
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Chase, BC3 décembre 2018
I am very honoured to be a team member with BC Liquor. Always great to learn new product knowledge. Management is extremely supportive and helpful. There is nothing hard about this job. I enjoy working with my customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good part-time job as student, but probably not a company I would pursue a career with.
Sales Associate and Relief Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Richmond, BC30 novembre 2018
Lots of complacency among those who have worked there for a long time. My manager is great and has helped me a lot with gaining experience as a supervisor but from what I've heard, the company's treatment of managers is not the best. They have the ability to move you around to stores without much input from yourself.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Paid well, good benefits, if you have a regular position
warehouse worker/sales associate (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver Island, BC28 novembre 2018
good pay and benefits if you hold a regular position which takes about 10+ years to obtain. management is ineffective and turns it into a high school like atmosphere. Unless you "fit in" there is no advancement.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Company does not care for it's employees.
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC22 novembre 2018
My main issue with the company is that it takes 1827 hours within a 33 week pay period to get your benefits. My family lives in away from me and with that and pursuing my passion I have still not been able to get the benefits (which I am told are great) after over 2 years of working there. Due to this however I have gained multiple injuries that the company will not help me cover, and I can't continue to work there in the amount of pain I am in. I was on the phone with HR and asked if they could help me at all and they said they couldn't until I get my benefits.
Points positifs
Good benefits (I hear), decent pay.
Points négatifs
Management is incompetent, company puts itself before it's employees' well being.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great Job, Lovely environment, on call is tough
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Langley, BC16 octobre 2018
Overall lovely job, Great pay and benefits and the staff is wonderful but the only downside is being on call in my opinion. other than that it is a great job and i would recommend it.
Points positifs
everything
Points négatifs
on call hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
respectful and fun work environment
Co-op Client Computing Analyst (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC13 octobre 2018
Flexibility and variety in work .Lots of learning.
Ability to work with different department in same organisation.
Time to time appreciation from Mangers and supervisor.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 8Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Most depressing job ever - dont waste your time
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC24 septembre 2018
Don't even waste your time. the most depressing job ever.
First thing the customers are not nice as their are so many shipping orders mistakes (don't blame them for being angry) then while taking call after call from angry customers , you have to finish orders and they only time you get a talking to is when you make a mistake.
No recognition for good work done.
Employees are CONSISTENTLY COMPLAINING making working there very very uncomfortable, but because they have been there the longest, nobody says anything.
Oh and that's all while you get"trained". Management is not very good as they play favoritism. Don't even try asking for help as you will just be met by the same exact question you are trying to get helped with ... after getting herded back to your desk feeling more confused than before.
All while not getting benifits until a YEAR OF EMPLOYMENT which is 1865 hours . as most "normal" non government jobs get benifits after 300 hours or after probation.
Sure pay is good but say good bye to your happy life , Happy people & nice co-workers .
DONT EVEN BOTHER WASTE OF TIME
Points positifs
NONE
Points négatifs
UNHAPPY ENVIRONMENT, UNHAPPY CO-WORKERS, DEPRESSING JOB, WAIT A UNBELIEVABLY LONG TIME FOR BENIFITS 1 YEAR
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 36Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
fun place to work
order picker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC23 septembre 2018
everyone works hard and are there to help if need be.
Always learning something new.
Management are on top of changes and updates
Warehouse is nice and clean
Hard part of job is lifting boxes all day.
Finishing an order.
Points positifs
helpful co-workers
Points négatifs
graveyard
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 6Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise ?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez BC Liquor Distribution Branch. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 87 avis
519
431
315
210
112

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,1Direction
3,1Culture d'entreprise