BC Liquor Distribution Branch - Avis

Trouvé 90 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 92 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Pay is really good, but hours suck if auxillary
Building Security and Corporate Loss Prevention (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC14 octobre 2019
I was hired as auxillary and must say that hours are the biggest gripe I have. I went from having 24+ hrs a week to 0 hrs a month....

Co-workers are nice and varied, the job itself is not that hard and can be excitring if working at a busier branch.
Points positifs
Good pay, Nice environment, stree-free, laid back, good co-workers
Points négatifs
Hours are dicey if auxillary
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management is horrible
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Coquitlam, BC12 octobre 2019
Pay is barely above minimum wage you have no life due to lack of scheduling since the manager feels the need to make everyones life miserable when it's very easy to schedule every one with schedules that accommodate everyone
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible hours, cannot keep management/staff
Sales Associate BC Liquor Distribution Branch (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC21 septembre 2019
If you are called in you need to go. They can schedule you for no shifts, but you need to show up when they call.
High turnovers, management has no idea what they're doing. You don't get benefits unless you maintain a certain amount of hours for 1.5 years, which is impossible. Most of the staff have over jobs or go on EI.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
i would reccomend no one to work at this sh**hole
Warehouse Associate (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC16 septembre 2019
I came back from sick leave and then the next day they said we dont need you here!!! i think this place is one of the worst places to work for, the mangers are always confused, the machines dont work sometimes, and the supervisors act like they are CEO. i highly recommend everyone not to work here, you guys are better off working at any warehouse or stores,if i could i would give this place a -0 to work for this company is a huge disgrace.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good working environment and organizational culture
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC22 août 2019
Very helpful staff and managers. Room for growth and prosperity is available through patience. Shifts are not consistent, you may get more hours during summer and in December time.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Meh
Order Assembler (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC14 août 2019
Quite a negative place to work, management is really poor, feels like a prison at times. Don’t give sufficient time to get to the break room so coffee and lunch breaks are always a few minutes short. Have to work a minimum of 18 months just to become PART TIME! Only get your schedule a few days in advance of the next week.
Points positifs
7.5 hours shifts
Points négatifs
Many
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
government union job
Customer Service Representative (Employé actuel) –  Burnaby, BC3 août 2019
at first its a good job benefits take a long time to get and all the more senior staff do nothing all and expect all the new employees to stay on cashier and do all the work. would not recommend for someone looking for career
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
if you want to get discriminated this is your place
Warehouse Worker (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC29 juillet 2019
I would highly recommend not to work here because they like to discriminate people who have mental health issues, and if you want to work here thats your choice.They claim to be the Top employers in BC which is untrue, they dont deserve to even be on that list they deserve to be nowhere on google
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Job while in School
Wholesale Distribution Coordinator (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC13 juin 2019
The management is incredibly useless. Micromanagent is rampant and destroys the culture.

The job itself is incredibly boring. You sit and do data entry and answer calls from angry customers while a manager criticizes your every word. Multiple people have quit their first day because the job is so boring. You are paid hourly for the WCC positions, therefore are only paid for 7 hours per day.

There is absolutely no growth whatsoever. It's impossible to transfer departments and you'll be stuck doing the job you were hired for.
Points positifs
30 minutes paid break per shift, good entry level pay
Points négatifs
Incredibly boring, micromanaging
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Interesting workplace with funny characters
Salesperson (Ancien employé) –  Comox Valley, BC10 juin 2019
- Stocking Shelves
- Providing Suggestions to customers
- Cashing out customers
- Cleaning parts off the store
-Completing Liquor orders for commercial customers
Points positifs
Lots of different jobs allowed a variety in the work day
Points négatifs
Staff wasn't very friendly and seemed jaded
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Basic cashier job but with good benefits-- temporary position
Sales Associate/Cashier/Auxiliary Employee (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC21 mai 2019
Slow-paced type of job . While not doing customer service oriented work such as ringing in orders or helping customers find something. You'll be stocking and facing labels out . It's a chill atmosphere . As auxiliary though it sucks because I was getting 60+ hours a week around Christmas and then they don't call you for like 3 months after that . So if your comfortable living at your parents seize the opportunity to get a union job . But if you got bills to pay then auxiliary is not the job for u ! Make sure you get in permanent.
Points positifs
Lots of breaks, chill atmosphere, slow paced, good pay, good benefits (for senority )
Points négatifs
Slow paced, worrying about IDing people . Hard to get senority.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Have to work your way up - expect to work <8hrs a week initially
Sales Associate and Cashier (Ancien employé) –  BC8 mai 2019
Cons:
- Sometimes worked 0 hours a week, but cannot plan to do anything else as call-outs occur every morning with no planning ahead. Camping trip with friends? No. Sister’s wedding weekend? No.

- Impossible to plan any sort of life around work. You are expected to earmark all your time for them. Perfect for retiree maybe, but don’t expect to make much money here. The hourly rate is tempting but the hours just aren’t there, I was misled about how much I could expect to be working. In retrospect, I should have taken a lesser rate of pay at another job with guaranteed hours.

- Dealing with alcoholics is emotionally draining especially when they come in to grind you down daily.

- Astonishingly disorganized inventory and stocking system. Back rooms can be a nightmare and overstocking of product is a huge ergonomic health risk. Expect to injure your back. Stores I worked at ordered so much product it was impossible to do proper lifting in coolers and back room. Stock overflowed on to floor and often got buried. Extremely irritating especially when asked to look for something that inventory said we had. Needle in a haystack type situation.

- Most coworkers were pleasant, but due to union environment, some really nasty pieces of work were allowed to keep their jobs, and working alongside these unpleasant individuals made work a real displeasure.

- Some pressure to up-sell, internal company magazine constantly pressuring employees to push their peak performance higher aka selling more of a known carcinogen to the public. It’s booze, it sells itself, it’s toxic. This
  plus... wore on my conscience.


Pros:
- Managers were friendly, maybe a bit fake.

- Store is air conditioned.

- fair and balanced in its division of duties, everyone did a little bit of everything.

- Most coworkers were kind, happy people. Lifers could be super sour/abrasive.

- If you can handle working a what is essentially a part time job for 4-5 years to rack up the hours (some 1800 hours) to become a full-time employee, it may be a good job with good benefits. Expect to set aside all of your time for them with little in return other than a slightly higher than average hourly rate of pay, and extremely spotty shifts for many years.

Take away: Working your way up is not worth it, I would not recommend this job to a friend. Find a job at a normal liquor store that isn’t government, you get treated pretty terribly here as an employee. Scheduling benefits employer only, no benefits but paying into union from day 1.
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
Seasonal Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC22 avril 2019
Excellent place to work, pay is good. About the hours as a temporary cashier you can take extra shift when is the opportunity, unfortunately is hard to get as a full time employee.
Points positifs
good pay
Points négatifs
only temporary job oportunity
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Warehouse needs proper air-conditioning
SALE ASSOCIATE (Ancien employé) –  Powell River, BC12 avril 2019
New manager was not accommodating to important family gatherings. Would not approve requested time off, even after proper union & government forms will filled out. The new manager also started to manipulate the schedule so associates would not qualify for proper pay during statutory holidays.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
long on call wait
Sales Associate/Cashier (Ancien employé) –  Campbell River, BC9 avril 2019
a decent job but you'll be waiting by the phone. overall a good place to work for a single person not looking for full time work. but if you have a family its hard
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace with lots of things to learn.
Systems Operations Analyst (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC3 avril 2019
Working at BCLDB was a good experience for me. I have learned a lot of things while working there. As a Systems Operations Analyst, I have learned various production tools that are used to resolve the real time production issues for the smooth operations of the company.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 6Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Very relaxing
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Delta, BC27 mars 2019
I work hard and am very productive, so usually I finish my own work two hours before clocking out. Most of the employees here take their time to do their work and you have to really mess up to get interviewed by your manager.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 5Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good transitional job
Sales Clerk (Ancien employé) –  North Vancouver, BC18 mars 2019
While it has a higher salary than most retail stores it is still retail. I would highly recommend it as a student job or a transitional job between careers but do not stay long term. Starting out is very difficult because there is no guaranteed work and it could be months between calls to come in (you're on call for the first 3-5 years). That said like any retail job it can be fun if you're working with the right people, or a nightmare if you're working with the wrong ones. It also can be a bit depressing seeing and serving the same alcoholics day to day and watching them decline.
Points positifs
flexible, higher pay than normal retail
Points négatifs
shift work, on call, no guaranteed hours, a bit depressing sometimes
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent workplace with room to advance
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Chase, BC3 décembre 2018
I am very honoured to be a team member with BC Liquor. Always great to learn new product knowledge. Management is extremely supportive and helpful. There is nothing hard about this job. I enjoy working with my customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good part-time job as student, but probably not a company I would pursue a career with.
Sales Associate and Relief Supervisor (Employé actuel) –  Richmond, BC30 novembre 2018
Lots of complacency among those who have worked there for a long time. My manager is great and has helped me a lot with gaining experience as a supervisor but from what I've heard, the company's treatment of managers is not the best. They have the ability to move you around to stores without much input from yourself.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 1Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez BC Liquor Distribution Branch. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 92 avis
520
432
316
211
113

Notes par catégorie

3,2Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,5Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,0Direction
3,0Culture d'entreprise