Atira Women's Resource Society - Avis

Voir les 21 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Safe and creative space
Child and Youth Worker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC12 janvier 2020
Working with atira was an amazing experience. I had the opportunity to work with kind, understanding and overall great people. It was a bonus to work with the kids and see their adorable faces all week long.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Pays well. Fast pace
Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC2 janvier 2020
I left my job with Atira because there were high turnover with the program managers, I also felt my hands were tied in how far I could help those who were asking for it. If your passion is to support others with your whole heart and help with all your ability ,you may be disappointed working here.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
wonderful services/ unsupportive coordination
Intervenante et coordinatrice d'une (Ancien employé) –  variety of locations6 novembre 2019
At the time that I left this job, there had been at least 2 unsuccessful attempts to unionize the workers here. There was a general atmosphere of distrust in the administration. Employees in coordinator roles left or simply disappeared regularly. There was a sense that the admin did not trust or support their coordinators in making appropriate decisions. People were fired for unreasonable or unknown reasons (ie last day of probation when no legal reason is needed, not showing up for a meeting after working an overnight shift and being expected to arrive early in the morning ) Preaching the empowerment of women while limiting or excluding participants who voiced strong opinions. Perhaps it had changed as the programs and services have the potential to really stand out.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4NonSignaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unfortunate
Service Worker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC12 septembre 2019
When I first joined this company I was so eager to start and see what Atira was all about. I had come from another Social Service Agency and so I had an idea of what I was getting into but I wasn't prepared for what I found. The management at some of the shelters and housing sites is abhorrent. I was used to having management that was supportive and would get there hands dirty. I've found here the management are unsupportive, lazy and disorganized. At times, I've witnessed clients being treated unprofessionally.
The policies that I read at head office and at each site are outdated and don't reflect what's really happening. There is a lot of staff who are working double shifts voluntarily. At some sites there is no staff bathroom and staff do not drink the water because many say it has made them sick. Overall it has been really sad and disheartening working for an organization that has such great values on paper but doesn't practice them on principle.

In writing this review I also acknowledge that there is hardworking management and frontline staff throughout this company. I am speaking to the experiences I've had in a few sites at this company that have been unfortunate.
Points positifs
competitive wages, worthy cause, room for growth, training oppourtunities
Points négatifs
unprofessional management, uncomfortable work sites
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10NonSignaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast pace work environment
Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Downtown Eastside21 juillet 2019
At times is hectic but it’s not always like that. Every program is different and I recommend you are compassionate and non judgmental working in this field.
Points positifs
Decent pay and benefits
Points négatifs
Quick burn out
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 4Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
An challenging environment to gain life skills
Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC6 juillet 2019
Once established in the environment, it can give you the experience you need to work in a very diversified setting.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 3Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Challenging
SENIOR BUILDING SUPPORT MANAGER (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC22 avril 2019
When you love what you do, it does not seem like work.
The hardest part of the job is to not take your work home with you.
Loved supporting and being a voice for the Women and children, and to walk beside them through their life choices.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 2Signaler
1,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great motto but terrible management
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC18 mars 2019
The company has a great motto in addressing women who are vulnerable and being the best decision makers in their own lives; however, the management within the company is corrupt. When issues are brought up that have created a hostile and stressful environment from multiple people, they just sweep everything under the rug and don't address any problems. Did not feel supported by management when working here but the staff within the houses are great.
Points positifs
Vulnerable women have a place to stay
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
i was a employer here
cleaner / maintenance worker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC4 novembre 2018
Atira is a housing society in the downtown east side .A variety of different situations and experiences were involved in the everyday work related schedule. I was a painter for the SRO's [single room occupencies ] Which house a number of mentally challenged and low income people. A large variety of people with substance abuse issues & hard to house individuals. This was an experience like no other and challenged my strength in humanity,but i felt I grew as a person and it humbled me greatly.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Building Services Worker
Building Service Worker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC20 août 2018
I am employed on a relief basis for Atira. I am looking for more employment in the same field. I sweep and mop hallways and common areas. I also clean washrooms.
Points négatifs
stressful
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 4Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Loved my actual job
Support Worker-Transition House (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC9 mai 2018
A typical day involved activities from paperwork , general socialization , and fulfilling any of the clients needs

The management of the company is lacking in caring about their employees
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 35Non 2Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great traning days for employees
Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC5 avril 2018
I've learned so much about working with the public and also working with the vulnerable sector. Atira is a place of growth and opportunity. I love that they practice feminism where women support women- that's when great things happen!
Points négatifs
burnout
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 8Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
can be faced paced work environment with lots going on
Womens Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Surrey, BC22 janvier 2018
everyday is a new day going in with a fresh start and being open to anything that can go on. being supportive to coworkers and working as a team is very important. Being able to communicate and work with outside organization to educate and advocate so needs can be met.
Points positifs
being supportive to women and their needs
Points négatifs
working outside my communtiy
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 2Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Incredible experience of supporting others.
Housing Outreach Worker / Woman's Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC28 juillet 2017
As most support worker jobs, there are many contrasting days. If you enjoy the dynamic of handling what ever comes your way and supporting others to problem solve, this is a fantastic position for you. The culture with Atira is feminist, inclusive and anti-oppressive which is a challenge to find.
Points positifs
Excellent training, collaborative and dynamic environment.
Points négatifs
Can be high stress.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 4Signaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent coworkers; terrible management
Development Communications and Fundraising (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC27 avril 2017
The work that Atira does in the DTES and the Lower Mainland is incredible. The low-barrier approach and the fact that they house some of the hardest to house women in the Lower Mainland is amazing. The fact that they took over buildings that had some of the most violent things ongoing in there and transformed them to house women who experienced or are experiencing violence, making them a home, is awesome.
However, there's some management rhetoric and ongoings that I don't believe center the women at the work being done. I think that Atira is a terrible employer in terms of supporting the growth and well-being of its employees, and management is awful at taking feedback given by its employees that speak up to some of the unfair and unjust practices. I think that management operates in a gaslighty and fear mongering way towards its employees while touring feminist and anti-oppressive values.
In short, love the work that Atira does in the community, but would never encourage anyone to work there.
Points positifs
Excellent coworkers, super supportive
Points négatifs
Terrible management, no boundaries, no managerial skills
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 43Non 1Signaler
4,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Feministic, harm-reduction, anti-oppressive place of work
Women's Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC12 avril 2017
Front line support, providing emotional and physical support to women who have been affected by abuse and trauma. Some duties include; crisis intervention, conflict resolution, safety planning, advocacy, and referrals. This includes working in a harm reduction building and therefor knowledge of the realities of the Downtown Eastside is a must. Understanding the multiple barriers women face in the community and in our society as a whole is also essential.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 23Signaler
2,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Womens Support Worker
Womens Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Vanouver10 avril 2017
If you are a person of integrity empathy teamwork and believe in building on an individuals strengths ;do not work at Atiras newest shelter.
There is a sad working environment there fueled by lack of management strong cliques bulling and full force gossiping.The manager does not care nor listens to the workers.Things are contradicted all the time and policies only adhered to if it suits management.Expect to do hard labor like moving furniture up and down staircases.
The hourly wage is less than competing agencies.If you work part time expect to be attending meetings regularly on other weekdays so don't try to have another part time job next to that as these meetings are mandatory.
The meetings will have to be attended even if you work overnights who needs sleep eh!? Oh and a lot of the time you get notice maybe max a week in advanced..The workers do not receive any positive feedback at all its all negative.Shaming a worker in front of everyone else is sadly acceptable here.
Points positifs
the women that live there 3 people working there trying to be the change.
Points négatifs
No teamwork manangement dont care mandatory meetings so you cant keep another job on the side
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 42Non 3Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A good working environment, hands on, and constant movement.
Support Worker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC9 mars 2017
Being supportive to approximately 18 residence, and 12 Mentors in the Container units.

* offering life skills; cooking, laundry, cleaning etc
* being supportive when it comes to health and wellness
* having good communication with staff, networking communities, such as fraser health, and other sister buildings in the surrounding area.
* able to work under pressure when dealing with multiple tasks
* working with no judgement
* making appropriate calls to assist with housing, shelter, clinic's, or the hospital.
Working with Atira you have to be strong minded, act accordingly, and I have to say I definitely enjoy working with a well rounded team.
Points positifs
Wonderful team work
Points négatifs
the distance of a commute, from Surrey to Vancouver
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 11Signaler
5,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
excellent place to work at
Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Surrey, BC12 août 2015
A typical day at work included supporting moms, and babies with daily routines, such as, doctor's appointments, one-one counselling, advocating, empowering women to be resourceful with community resources, attending probation appointments, setting up goals, assisting with communal housing, assisting mom's with babies, daily hygiene, etc.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 13Signaler
3,0
Équilibre vie professionnelle/personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
working with females in SROs
Relief Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC10 février 2015
social support for marginalized women dealing with the negative social issues in the down town east side. You cook meals once a week, but basically assist the women to make healthy choices in their lives and direct them to resources if needed.
Points négatifs
on call shifts only
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 3Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail chez Atira Women's Resource Society ou de leurs entretiens d'embauche. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,4
D'après 21 avis
53
48
35
24
11

Notes par catégorie

3,4Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,4Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,1Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,9Direction
3,1Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu