Ashley Furniture HomeStore - Avis

Trouvé 34 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 1 208 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Did not enjoy
Delivery Driver (Ancien employé) –  London, ON9 octobre 2019
Management only communicated with us to give us discipline Never not once did they give us any credit for the great work we did. It’s the little things like that that helps the morale in the work place. I would not recommend this place at all!!!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High expectation, no support
Merchandising Manager (Ancien employé) –  GTA, ON10 septembre 2019
Started off ok, other than I had 4 days of training which was not even close to being enough. I was destined to fail from the get go. In the beginning, store I worked at had no store manager in place, the person I took over from left things an absolute mess, plus I had no senior manager in place for guidance. There was no immediate help within. I reached out multiple times for help which was unanswered. The expectations were extremely high, often left with multiple tasks to complete with not enough time to complete them. I was going in early and staying late just to attempt to get ahead. But often times you’re asked to stop what you’re doing to complete a task that seemed ridiculous for the amount of traffic the store got. Furniture is no emergency. Head office people were rude and when I encountered one in my early days, she blamed me for something I didn’t even do! Rather than welcome me to the company and explain the issue, she was accusatory and rude! I was firm in my response which I later found out I was considered “rude”. I refuse to be walked on regardless of who they are! When I finally got a senior manager, she did very little to support me, responding only with “we’ll help get you through it”. She was young and acted like she knew it all. Our personalities did not gel, that’s why I’m sure she treated me the way she did. I did not fit into her mould or the company’s for that matter. I have education, skills and talent and know how to put things together, but was told countless times to change this and change that, was never right. Store staff did support me and let  plus... me know things looked great. She gave very little positive feedback, which made being there even worse. I’d get reprimanded for following the plan! The furniture is high priced and quite frankly, was garbage. Oftentimes receiving items damaged which you had to jump through hoops to get rectified. Overall, the experience was very deflating, stressful and not worth the time or the pay!  moins
Points positifs
Discount, and that even was laughable
Points négatifs
All the rest
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 8NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Vernon, BC29 août 2019
I really enjoyed my job here, management was wonderful and the environment was more like a little family than anything.
I would recommend this job to anyone looking to expand their retail/customer experience.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 10Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
To demanding for rate of pay
Furniture delivery (Ancien employé) –  Greater Sudbury, ON28 août 2019
Job requires you to deliver furniture in areas that a delivery truck should not go. The sales people do not care about the delivery workers. Many times we have gotten stuck in snow on roads where there’s hardly anybody around. Wether it’s -30 or not your basically forced to go in fear of not having a job. Was not the job for me.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Don’t bother
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Abbotsford, BC9 août 2019
After being hired at Ashly’s in Abbotsford I was told and signed a contract stating I would be on training for 3 months well I had completed my on line training in the first 3 weeks which uotheemployees that already work there haven’t finished and after selling a 2000 dollar sofa of course I gave it to the salesman who was training me which is what I was supposed to do I was told today that I wasn’t working out no from what I’ve seen the owners are truly Homophobic that’s why I got let go i’ve been in the workforce for 40 years and I’m usually a good charge
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun staff, good product and cosy atmosphere.
Salesman/General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Dartmouth, NS2 août 2019
The Good:
-The immediate management, that being the assistant manager and manager were both terrific.
-The staff is friendly and fun to spend 8 hours a day with.
-Ashley makes a good mid range product which you can easily be proud to sell.
- The pay structure is good, giving you a base salary of X dollars. Anything commissions you produce exceeding X dollars is paid to you. You are guaranteed X dollars so you will not starve during slow periods.


Things to Consider :
A - This is commission driven sales, and commissions arent given until your sale is shipped.
B- The management will have your back most of the time, but particularly troublesome customers will get what they want eventually (even if they're wrong), usually at the cost of your commission. This happens more often than not, but it's not a regular occurrence.
C- If you cost the company more than your commission covers, they will lay you off during the slow season. This is true even if you have a warehouse of stuff waiting to get delivered (see point A)
- additionally; if the products on back order (no fault of yours) it still could affect your employment.
D - In the Atrium (where this ashley is located) there are 2 other stores, all owned by the same people. Ashley only carries Ashley products, but World wide next door carries a diverse range, including Ashley. This makes competing with them difficult.
- additionally; Ashley does not carry appliances or electronics.


Dont consider working here if you are thin skinned. Ive worked a number of sales jobs and I will say customers are a bit
  plus... more standoffish on average. Remember, furniture shoppers go to many stores and deal with many salespeople. It's never personal. You're just probably the 8th sales person today.




Summary-
You need to be passionate about the product you're selling and engage with the customers. The customers here are a particular breed, and demographic. I was successful in insurance sales, but not as much here.

If you have a passion for interior decorating, furniture and things like that, you can make good money here.

The customers are generally good people, but I found them more stand offish on average here. Again, this is usually the case with customers who've been shopping furniture all day. You're probably the 8th sales person and they're sick of seeing sales people.

If you're patient, thick skinned and have a passion for home decorating, or at the very least an interest. Ashley might be a good fit for you.

The Staff is terrific, and I cannot praise The management I had enough.
  moins
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
learn a lot about product knowledge, some downtime
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Burlington, ON30 juillet 2019
This company is great a training, some downtime and the pay isn't great. It's a fully commission job which makes it difficult to keep a positive outlook. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and designing their spaces.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great for starting in sales
Sales Representative (Ancien employé) –  Brantford, ON5 juillet 2019
A great start for any sales person to get their feet wet. Allows one to work with the public and be the start of their home decor adventure. Can be mentally tough at times
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 4Non 2Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good group of people
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON20 juin 2019
Good group of colleagues. Learned about the furniture business, manufacturing processes of furniture items, things that contribute to quality of product, and dealing with a multitude of diverse customers.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 7Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great group of people for the most part
Driver/Delivery (Ancien employé) –  Calgary, AB11 juin 2019
Management was the toughest to deal with. Always writing up the crew's.
Management just in the Warehouse was horrible more for the guy who sat in the office that overlooks everything and everyone, more considered a boss and not a leader. Supervisors not knowing their own jobs except for one that quit out of the blue which was a shock. Went from organized to chaos. Micro managing badly. No home/work life Balance.
Points positifs
Great people
Points négatifs
Long hours, not recognized for anything, no home/work life balance, bullied by mid upper management, forced to come in when sick.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Wage of fortune
Sales Associate (Employé actuel) –  Scarborough, ON30 mai 2019
it starts good, as they need you for their store and chores. No matter how much you work , it won't be enough. They have targets which can only be achieved by flying donkeys. Even the upper management knows that it's unattainable but still they will push you and compare you with anyone who has done , and trust me not many people achieve it.
the co workers are fantastic people to work with , but they all are chained as they are too afraid to speak.
The micro management is of surreal level, they take notice how much you eat, how much your wealth is back home , how many times you go for smoke etc. There is also a wandering manager who have absolutely no clue what product is and what he is doing, he doesn't even know how to use computer provided by the company, he is always late staff stays out in cold but if table turns he would boast how he used to be punctual. You basically need at least an hour to close the sale even if it's just a chair. Nobody knows how the wage comes , it's like WAGE OF FORTUNE. even managers don't know how to calculate wage or product specs they consult sales reps and then diminish them.
Go for it , if you like unnecessary adventure.
Points positifs
co workers
Points négatifs
everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst management I’ve ever seen
Delivery Driver (Ancien employé) –  Ontario16 mai 2019
They only care about landing their product, your run does not stop for anything. The product is cheaply made, the warehouse staff load damaged products on the truck for the drivers to constantly disappoint the customers with. Expected to land furniture in dangerous situations like lifting 300lb dressers overhead, and over banisters. Upper management across transportation, store and guest care belittles you to customers. The wage is lacklustre, not adequate for the physical and mental abuse you must endure to work here. No communication between guest care, transportation and store. Went a month without speaking to supervisors once. Guest care lets sales associates purposely mislead to sell product, making drivers have to go above and beyond call of duty. Often put in hostile situations because of sales people. A customer held my partner and I against our will for an hour and we were sent back multiple times after that. Toxic work environment.
Points positifs
No supervision
Points négatifs
Store abuses their power
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
laid back, fun place to work
MERCHANDISER (Ancien employé) –  Whitby, ON10 mai 2019
Lots of cleaning
Heavy lifting
Problem Solving
Inventory

Easy going sales staff and very knowledgeable on the products they sell. Warehouse manager and pretty easy going and able to work with your schedule.
Points positifs
lots of snacks
Points négatifs
hard for advancement
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible management
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC8 mai 2019
I worked at the Langley store and the manager was terrible. My co-workers were super nice to work with. I had more support from them, then the manager. You have to be on the ball with orders because if you make a mistake the manager will withhold your commission. Going to labor relations will not help either, as the documents signed at the beginning of employment state, management can withhold commissions for any reason. So, from day one you are hooped.
Points positifs
Nice environment
Points négatifs
Manager is greedy and only cares about the bottom line.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 1Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
productive and fun workplace
floor design (Ancien employé) –  Greater Sudbury, ON30 avril 2019
Amazing co-workers who can be approachable, great environment to work, grow and develop as an employee. Management was very understanding with any issues I had. hardest part of the job at time the store would be empty for a few hours not leaving you much option for things to do beside clean but that wasn't much of problem.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 1Non 5Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Overpriced product, horrible support
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Ontario4 avril 2019
Not only are the same products found in nearby stores at much better prices, but most of the time the stock is delayed and the product doesn’t get to your customers on time. If you are a salesperson they bump the stock to a different pay period to avoid you getting paid on it. Managers have no idea about the product they are selling, and customer service doesn’t exist. For how long they have been in the business, by far the worst company to sell for
Points positifs
Come and go as you please. No leader
Points négatifs
Everything
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Ashley Furniture HomeStore
15 avril 2019

Hello former TDG team member,

Thank you for your review of our company.

At TDG we are a proud licensee of the Ashley HomeStore brand, with 28 locations across Canada. Because of our licensee status we are able to offer our guests the best possible prices on Ashley HomeStore products.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest experience and minimize delays in the delivery of our product. A product may experience delays because of the logistics and variables involved in shipping, as the majority of our products are made in the United States and have to be shipped to our guests in Canada through one of our distribution centres.

We would love to have the opportunity to speak with you further to discuss your experience and learn how we can improve. Please call 1-877-834-6993 at your earliest convenience.

Thank you, and have a great day.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Trash management
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON17 janvier 2019
Very poor store management.nepotism,harassment very common practice.higher management don't have any control on store level, they rely on store management who people are dishonest & toxic.for any cost they want business but don't follow any work ethic.
unsafe place for the female worker. managers offered promotion to female worker for makes them happy personally.
Points positifs
Nothing
Points négatifs
Lowest income
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 40Non 2Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Cut Throat business
Assitant Administration/Multi-Tasker (Ancien employé) –  Courtenay, BC28 décembre 2018
Not a friendly environment to work in! It started off nice, but changed. I felt like it gets hostile to sell furniture and customers walks in and gets bombarded by sales people and gets apprehensive. The manager is nice, but all about the sales
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
horrible place to work
Manager (Ancien employé) –  GTA, ON29 octobre 2018
very high turnover rate all the way from upper management to sales associates. within the last year new VP, Director and couple of regionals if you wanna talk about culture.

expect to be forced to work long hours and extra days.
if you refuse they will present you with a admin job or warehouse work at a low pay so even if you fight for wrongful dismissal you can't get EI because it'll be refusal of work.

any customer can walk in any day and get better than employee discount.

as minimum wage went up they are reducing admin and warehouse staff hours and sales people are expected to do more admin and cleaning work!!!!!

free lunches when you are forced to work open to close twice a month are gone.

commission structure changed 3 times in the past couple of years and if you refuse to sign again you get presented with an offer for a different role so you don't get packaged out!!!!

if you don't hit your target for 2 month you are out of the door it's called MAS when you read your contract so be aware.

They expect you do go out and advertise ( NON PAID) on your days off!!!!

If you leave the company within 6 month you don't get paid for all of your sales that are not delivered, and if it's delivered they switch it under someone else's name so you still don't get paid.


Finally out of there :) with better pay and better environment with a better company
Points positifs
all gone with new upper management
Points négatifs
please read the comments
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 1Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Trash
Sales Associate (Ancien employé) –  Vernon, BC3 octobre 2018
Worst company ive ever worked for
Women are crude and snyde. No team atmosphere and exhausting! No breaks while the whip is being cracked and barely makimg 11.50 an hour. Brutal. Thankffully i left.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
All of it
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 3Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Ashley Furniture HomeStore. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,1
D'après 1 208 avis
5257
4268
3274
2179
1230

Notes par catégorie

2,8Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,9Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,7Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,8Direction
2,9Culture d'entreprise