Amica Senior Lifestyles - Avis

Voir les 81 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast-paced
Server (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, ON29 août 2019
This job is very fast-paced and one needs to be able to learn quickly because there is a lot to remember including fine dining set-up, chit sheets, serving, etc.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
8 septembre 2019

We agree - the dining room is a busy place to be! We hope you enjoyed your time with us honing valuable transferable skills.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Management is quick to overload workers
Executive Sous Chef (Ancien employé) –  Whitby, ON22 août 2019
pay is very low and management is reluctant to hire, they would rather overload employees. there is no work life balance. not for a family person. there is a heavy turnover. staff is nice
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
23 août 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review Amica.
With regard to wages, we recently conducted an industry compensation survey to ensure that we are leading the retirement living sector. We strive to create a healthy work/life balance for all of our team members and we're sorry you feel that this was not what you experienced in your time with us.
I would love to better understand your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at v.owen@amica.ca.
Valerie Owen Chief People Officer

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
great work environment
Externship (Ancien employé) –  Brampton, ON12 août 2019
working at Amica has thought me a multitude of skills that i have applied to my personal and work life. the residents are great and the work environment is excellent.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNon 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
16 août 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Amica Senior Lifestyles. It is terrific to hear that you had a positive work experience and that you enjoyed your time working with Amica residents. It's also great to hear you learned valuable skills at Amica that you now apply in your personal and work life.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave this review.

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun place to work
PSW (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, ON2 août 2019
I enjoyed my time at Amica in the Memory Care wing. But there Menander didn't know how's to do their job and were never PSW's or RN. So they didn't understand the job they were supposed to do
Points positifs
Good hours
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 2Signaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
5 août 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review Amica Stoney Creek. We are consulting with our local team and will reply soon regarding your comments.

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Hotel not a care home
Current RCP (Employé actuel) –  Amica on the Gorge7 juillet 2019
The residents and staff safety and well being is not a priority here. Benefits don't even compete to any other company that I have worked for.

There is very clear favoitism towards staff from management. Definately not the company that they made themselves out to be upon hire.

Most of the coworkers are fantastic although there is some bullying, laziness and stealing going on.
Points positifs
3.50 a meal
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 11NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
24 juillet 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Amica on the Gorge. We are consulting with our local team and will reply as soon as possible regarding your concerns.

Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
16 août 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your working experience at Amica On The Gorge. We strive to create an environment where our team members feel valued and where they can engage in meaningful work with competitive pay and benefits. Resident safety is also crucially important to us. To this end, we have been in touch with the Gorge leadership team regarding your concerns.

Amica's pro-active HR practices including our team member engagement survey, engagement task force, health and safety committee, whistleblower confidential service and resident satisfaction survey (encompassing) resident safety offer avenues for Amica employees to communicate their concerns to our leadership team.

If you would be willing to reach out to me directly to further discuss your comments, I can be reached at v.owen@amica.ca.

Valerie Owen, Chief People Officer
Amica Senior Lifestyles

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun workplace, sometimes stressful
Waitress (Employé actuel) –  Mississauga, ON3 juillet 2019
I learned valuable customer service skills, particularly with the elderly which is a valuable skill because the elderly have many special and specific needs which need to be remembered and cared for.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
16 juillet 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review Amica. It is wonderful to hear that you gained new skills and an enhanced understanding of the individual needs of our residents. I truly appreciate your feedback.

Valerie Owen, Chief People Officer
Amica Senior Lifestyles

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
it was great
Volunteer (Ancien employé) –  Barrie, ON12 mai 2019
my work experience was great, the environment was fantastic and the people were amazing. it was a great way to get myself out of my shell. i have absolutely no complaints
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 6Signaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
16 juillet 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Amica Little Lake. It's is great to hear you had such a positive experience. What a terrific team to work with.

Valerie Owen, Chief People Officer, Amica Senior Lifestyles

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Favouritism and absent/uncaring management.
Dining Room Server (Ancien employé) –  London, ON28 avril 2019
There's a handful of problematic people in an otherwise lovely bunch. Unfortunately a few bad attitudes can completely drag down a department and make work unbearable. It doesn't help if we're consistently short staffed and management won't deal with their core problems (cattiness among employees, inability to find new staff at the hiring rate, high turnover).
I experienced a personal issue and I was met with nothing with grief. I asked for access to our EAP and was told I would be given the information on my next shift. I was unable to attend work due to a personal issue, I was going through a mental health crisis. I was given nothing but grief and punishment.
I can say I'm happy to be free of Amica, but it did teach me alot, and I do miss a lot of my co-workers and most residents, but my mental health was more important.
Points positifs
co-workers
Points négatifs
managment, pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
24 juillet 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of Amica London. We are consulting with our local and regional teams about your serious concerns, and will respond soon.

Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
16 août 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Amica.

I am sorry to hear about your experience and how it led you to leave a job with residents and co-workers you cared about. We strive to create a work environment where our team members feel valued and supported, but you clearly did not feel this way.

If you would like to reach out to me to share more details about your experience, I can be reached at v.owen@amica.ca. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Valerie Owen, Chief People Officer
Amica Senior Lifestyles

3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
It was fine for the time being
Room Service Attendant (Ancien employé) –  Mississauga, ON22 mars 2019
It was a terribly easy job for me. Work culture is negative. Cliques already formed years ago so it will be hard if you are not the same ethnicity to fit in. It's purely about work. So go for the paycheck until you find something that fulfills you. No growth
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
29 mars 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am interested in speaking with you – if you would like to – about the residence where you worked and the culture you experienced. I can be reached at v.owen@amica.ca. Our company prides itself on promoting 6 of 10 department leaders from within the company, and we have active programs including Emerging Leaders to assist our team members in growing. I take your concerns seriously and I’d be pleased to speak with you if you are interested.
-Valerie Owen, Chief People Officer, Amica Seniors Lifestyles

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Poorly Managed
Personal Support Worker (Ancien employé) –  Stoney Creek, ON20 mars 2019
Residential Care Partners (PSWS) are expected to do hospice/palliative care, long term care, and memory care and a bunch of extras like dietary aide, housekeeping and pretty much anything else thrown onto our already hectic plate without so much as a thank you. Departments are over worked and under paid. No team moral. poorly managed.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24Non 1Signaler
Réponse officielle de Amica Senior Lifestyles
29 mars 2019

I apologize that you feel unappreciated and would value the opportunity to hear from you directly to better understand your experience. I can be reached at v.owen@amica.ca.
-Valerie Owen, Chief People Officer, Amica Seniors Lifestyles

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Unfair treatment of the management to the staff members. Unsafe to work.
Dining Room Supervisor (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC17 février 2019
It's not a good company to work with if you are looking for stable and permanent employment with a descent income. You need to bring your own working tools to be able to work properly. The management didn't care to the team member's complaints and grievances unless you are a friend of the managers. Lots of the employees are not happy, low morale and they are coming only because they need to earn money to bring foods for the family table.
Points positifs
Nothing is good
Points négatifs
Working long hours without break time and no overtime pay
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 25Non 2Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amica deals with Seniors Lifestyle Living
Senior Executive Assistant to CEO/CIO (Employé actuel) –  Toronto, ON12 février 2019
This was a contract position. Everything about the company was fantastic, from management to switchboard. Very professional and helpful. Great atmosphere for employees. Fun!
Points positifs
Events
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 10Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
former employee
Concierge (Ancien employé) –  Oakville, ON12 février 2019
I worked at Amica for a year as a concierge and the first thing I can say is the pay is terrible!!!, that is one reason why I left Amica. The management does not care about you at all especially if you do something wrong. The residents are lovely that was the only part of Amica I liked. My advice to you is look else where!
Points positifs
Residents
Points négatifs
terrible play, terrible hours, terrible management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 18NonSignaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
staff & residents Great !
Manager (Ancien employé) –  Markham, ON30 janvier 2019
good company, poor on-boarding ( assumed that YOU know every aspect of the position. ) management team very knowledgeable, help each other achieve goals. upper management too absorbed in their positions, not helpful. BEST ADVICE.....do NOT assume anything !!!
Points positifs
good staff
Points négatifs
general manager
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
goog place to work
Kitchen Staff (Ancien employé) –  Windsor, ON25 janvier 2019
nice place to work
nice people got to learn different jobs while working there.
Management wasn't the great as they choose favortires.
most enjoyable party was working with the residents
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a great atmosphere..
Dining Room Server (Employé actuel) –  Stoney Creek16 janvier 2019
There is no such thing as confidentiality there.
Staff is constantly belittled by management, and everyone gossips non stop.
Management has no problems singling out a certain person in front of a crowd.
Servers are the worst treated staff body. They are always told to help out other departments but as soon as they are short staffed, no one is ever available to help.
The overall atmosphere is negative and anxiety-provoking.
Points positifs
Sometimes we get fed
Points négatifs
Expected to work whenever asked.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 28NonSignaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good Organization
Director of Care and Wellness (Ancien employé) –  Toronto, ON6 décembre 2018
Good Support from Support/Head Office. Good Team overall. Culture is positive with very good Culinary Services and good Housekeeping Services.
Concierge Service are adequate however unavailable overnight.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 6Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Amica is a great place to work!
Life Enrichment Aide (Employé actuel) –  Whitby, ON16 novembre 2018
I have worked at Amica for several years and I have nothing but positive things to say. The residents truly make it an absolute delight. All the workers and the residents make the work place like home.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great place to work!
Administrative Concierge (Ancien employé) –  London, ON4 novembre 2018
I enjoyed working with the management and team at Amica. Very professional and personable.
The residents were the highlight of my day.
I would recommend anyone wanting to work at Amica to be prepared to work hard, be professional and know the meaning of confidentiality.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 11Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Excellent team work for a newly opened retirement community.
Resident Care Partner (Employé actuel) –  Victoria, BC20 octobre 2018
It is normal to have growing pains especially when a company just opened its retirement community- Amica at the Gorge. I commend all the team work of every department. We help each other and we go out of our way to not only help the residents but each other as well. We build each other's morale and support each other day by day.
Points positifs
Great Food! Did I mention great food? The company listens to their staff.
Points négatifs
A lot of walking. The place is humongous!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 2Non 10Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez Amica Senior Lifestyles. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,5
D'après 81 avis
532
412
314
210
113

Notes par catégorie

3,3Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,2Salaire / avantages sociaux
3,0Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
3,1Direction
3,2Culture d'entreprise