American Iron & Metal - Avis

Trouvé 37 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 40 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
This place is cancer
Driver (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON25 juillet 2019
If you like being worked to the bone, treated like a number and having seniority mean nothing...this is the place for you. They think throwing money at people solves any issue. They will promise bonuses to get you to do something and then try their best not to pay you (I know contradicting right?). There is a lot of labour involved in trucking...seems like they higher anyone with an AZ now..and when equipment is destroyed everyone's bonuses get affected...the cabs are really nice...but you will have to run if your truck isn't safe....and of you bring it up they will give you another unsafe truck...I honestly could keep going but dont want to waste anymore time
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7NonSignaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Good equipment, high turnover rate
Heavy Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON22 mai 2019
Typical day for a crane operator is to load trucks and railcars and sort material. Expect to be called on the radio every 5 mins and be micro managed within an inch of your life by the many white hats that drive around in vehicles all day waiting for you to make a wrong move or to simply change the original instructions you were given by someone else.

Traffic in the yard is absolutely nuts so expect to be stressed out moving your large crane through tight spaces while trying to drive around truck drivers that you can't communicate with who are trying to also navigate through the sea of obstacles.

Turn over rate is astronomical so make sure you don't wreck anything or damage a truck. Not showing up to work or being late will also get you fired.

Your coworkers don't care about you and will sell you out to save themselves whenever they can, nobody will own up to their own mistakes as its always someones else's fault.

On the bright side you will have a chef making you lunch everyday for a very low price that is taken off your pay cheque and at christmas the owner has raffles for big prizes.

Good Luck
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Tres bien
mecanicien industriel (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC6 mars 2019
Je pense que ce serait bien d'avoir un cheff mecano par quard de travail pour aider le superviseur de la maintenance
Points négatifs
Les mecanos d'agence ( ils sont pas compétant )
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bonne compagnie
Journalier de production (Ancien employé) –  Montreal-nord, QC18 février 2019
Ces vraiment une bonne compagnie beaucoup d'avantages et bon salaire.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 6Non 3Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Aim
General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON14 février 2019
AIM is a growing scrap metal recycling yard. Working on the maintenance team was great. I gained numerous skills and abilities to build my confidence.
Points positifs
Lunch program
Points négatifs
Health and safety
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 10Non 4Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Co workers and management are unwilling to train newer people on anything other than general work
General Labourer (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON7 janvier 2019
The management team claims to have your back until something comes up that requires them to actually do something. I was there for 1 year and within that time, despite staying late almost everyday and coming in on weekends no one was willing to teach me anything past the basic points and even just learning them was hard with the lack of leadership. Brought this up to my supervisor who told me that hed get me trained on the forklift, 4 months later still not a single word of training. The employees who have been there for years basically refuse to teach you anything because they’d rather have you do the hard work while they sit in the machines and drive around. When I tried asking my coworker what I should be doing during a maintenance on the machine I was working on he told me to go hide somewhere or something. Completely unprofessional company. The lunch program was the only decent part but even that was pretty much always chicken and salad. Forget about having juice with your lunch though because your coworkers take them from the fridge and bring them home and out in the factory with them. Also don’t leave anything in the fridge or in the change room that isn’t locked up, it’ll be gone by time you go back for it.
Points positifs
Lunch program
Points négatifs
Lack of leadership and overall professionalism
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 36NonSignaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Happiest I have ever been in 30+ years trucking
Lugger driver (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON22 décembre 2018
For the last 6 months since starting here I daily have to pinch myself that working as a lugger driver for american iron and metal isn't a dream. If you are a truck driver that enjoys a wee bit of physical work(chains/binders/tarping)combined with working with what has to be the friendliest and supportive of work mates/dispatchers then a.i.m. is the place for you!! Benefits after 90 days I believe are top notch. After 6 months their rrsp matching formulae is favourable. At 24$ an hour and overtime after 44 hours it is easy to see that a decent income can be had here. Regularly working 60 hours a week is easy when you love your job... 4$ a day for lunch prepared by an onsite chef is a wonderful added perk. Their onsite maintenance shop is staffed with talented friendly mechanics eagar to keep the equipment in good working order. Trucking for 30+ years I needed a change and I am so glad I did..
Points positifs
Numerous
Points négatifs
None
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 12Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
High Expectations with little to no recongition.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa West, ON31 octobre 2018
Managment has no leadership skills, very unorganized and forgetful. Zero regard for public and worker safety as well disregard for environmental regulations. I have seen illegal activity authorized from upper managment as well as accepting stolen materials. This company is not a good place to be employed as the only good thing I can say is I never had a issue with being paid. They do provide a lunch at a cost of $3.00 a day however the cook has bad hygene and the food improperly handled.
Points positifs
They do insist on taking your vacation time every year but not together so like 2 weeks together.
Points négatifs
Too many to list.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 1Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Growing Company
Sales (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON6 août 2018
A growing Company with great work atmosphere and lots of opportunity for advancement. Company benefits and pension plans, Great lunch program and bonus structure
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 5Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Over worked and under paid!
Logistics Coordinator/Dispatch (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON27 juillet 2018
They made it sound like a great place to work, until you get there and find out the dynamic.
Low end salary, horrible health benefits, poor attitude with co-workers.
Negative workers, bitter, and two faced. Drama and backstabbing evident across the board.

I lasted almost 3 weeks.... Dont waste your time!!!
Points positifs
Lunch program
Points négatifs
People, benefits, salary
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 34Non 2Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
If they had more hours available to me I'd still be there
Scale Operator (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON13 juillet 2018
It was a lot of hard work, but the people were fun, both customer and employees. Sadly my position didn't have any more hours available and I have a family to take care of, so I left to find a place that could offer more.
Points positifs
Cheap lunch program, fun enrivoment
Points négatifs
over staffed so no extra hours available.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 3Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
superb office for a metal recycling company, great experienced professionals and decent salary/bonuses
Senior Logistics (Employé actuel) –  Montréal, QC12 juillet 2018
I have been with AIM (headquarters) Montreal for more than 7 years, in Logistics Dept. I have to say this is the best metal recycling scrap company I have ever worked for. Office is superb considering we are in the metal industry. Great people to work with, Logistics Dept is a melting pot of races, it encompasses of more than 10 people from different countries under the wing of humorous, hard-working VP logistics. Such a great team. You will learn a lot and gain rich experience in terms of global/international trade and logistics (by truck, rail and sea/container). Decent salary, good seasonal bonuses and of course, fancy (restaurant-like) served lunches at the cafeteria subsidized by the company. People from different departments are also very helpful and cooperative.
Points positifs
too many to mention
Points négatifs
a little far from my house (west to east end) but not a hinder
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 9Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Comme en 1960
Électricien compagnon (Ancien employé) –  Montréal-Est, QC10 juin 2018
J'ai travaillé 3 mois pour cette entreprise au département électrique. Je ne suggère à PERSONNE de prendre un emplois pour cette compagnie. Le chef des électriciens fonctionne encore comme en 1960 soit à coup d'engueulade et de coups de pieds au c... Aucun principes de base de respect des employés... Et aucune esprit d'équipe... Bref ne perdez pas votre temps avec cet entreprise. Bonne chance!
Points positifs
AUCUN!
Points négatifs
TOUT!
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27Non 3Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Pour débutant
Technical Support (Employé actuel) –  Montréal-Est, QC24 avril 2018
Excellent endroit pour débuter. Autre que cela, la charge de travail est normal, quoique des fois....
Points positifs
Assurance travail
Points négatifs
Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 4Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Compagnie en évolution (J'espère)
Finance (Employé actuel) –  Montréal-Est, QC22 février 2018
Compagnie qui mériterais une mise au point. Les employés ont droit à des horaires variables tout dépendant du superviseur qu'ils ont. Aucune journée de maladie. Ce qu'y n'est pas pratique quand on sait que les médecins ne travaillent pas le soir.
Points positifs
Super bonne cafétéria à bon prix
Points négatifs
Aucune journée de maladie
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Bon endroit pour finir sa carriere de facon gratifiante
Magasinier/acheteur division garage (Ancien employé) –  Montréal-est26 janvier 2018
Le genre d emploi qui te permet d utiliser les connaissances accumulées au cours des années.
Points positifs
Beaucoup d autonomie
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 8Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A joy to work at
Driver/Operator (Employé actuel) –  Hamilton, ON18 décembre 2017
I have been here for a short while. So far it has been a great place to work at. Pay is decent work hours are good overtime is there for the taking. Lunch at the yard for our chef during the week and pizza on the weekends.
Dispatch is easy to work with. Management is very accessible.
Work with them and they work with you.
Best place I have been at in my 30+ years or truck driving
Points positifs
Good equipment, lunch program, good management
Points négatifs
Not enough bling in our trucks lol
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 9Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Usine poussièreux et bypass des lois en santé et sécurité
Trieur (Ancien employé) –  Montréal-Est, QC18 septembre 2017
Je n'ais jamais été aussi salle après mes quart de travail . Les douche étaient condamnés par manque de place. Pas de test de gaz pour les entré en espace clos et souvent les autres travailleur exécutait des travaux en hauteur sans harnais. Je ne recommande pas l'usine de Montréal Est ,
Points positifs
Rien
Points négatifs
Poussière partout
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 23Non 4Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Friendly Team Atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Ottawa, ON8 août 2017
American Iron and Metal LP is generous company with many perks, such as a meal plan and seasonal bonuses. There are many experienced workers from which to learn.
Points positifs
Lunch Program
Points négatifs
Dusty
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 5Signaler
3,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fast paced, great co workers, 24/7
AIM (Ancien employé) –  Hamilton, ON24 mai 2017
Very fast paced work environment. Takes a special individual to keep up to the pace.

Management wasn't team focused.

Employees you work directly with are fantastic people.

Hardest part of the job was not being involved in major changes that reflected your job requirements. More often then not you were the last person to find out that you would be taking on a new task.

Management thought they could bounce people around by changing shifts, or positions without notice.
Points positifs
Lunch program, benefits
Points négatifs
24/7 work, expected to answer calls & emails
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 9Non 3Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez American Iron & Metal. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

3,1
D'après 40 avis
58
411
37
25
19

Notes par catégorie

2,9Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
3,3Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,8Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,9Direction
2,8Culture d'entreprise