A Bread Affair - Avis

Trouvé 22 avis correspondant à votre recherche Voir les 23 avis
Trier par: Pertinence | Note | Date
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
A fast pace work environment with lots of room to expand
Baker (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC8 octobre 2019
It was a fun place to work with lots of ways to grow in experience as a baker and as a warehouse employee. Good management and a fast pace environment.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?OuiNonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do Not Work Here if You Value Your Sanity! (Updated)
Artisan Baker (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC13 avril 2019
Firstly, they force an averaging agreement on you and do not adhere to the provincial labour code on how to do it. You will be frequently shorted hours on your paycheck, or you will be scheduled additional days off because they use the "averaging agreement" as a way to make people believe they should be paid less because they "signed something" of which they never actually did sign.

Advancement is non-existent if you are not on the owners favourite people list. Doesn't matter how skilled or talented you are or how hard you work, If they do not like you, you will get nothing. They do very noticeably play favorites here. Not only that, but during the hiring process, they promised regular performance reviews. I didn't have a single one in my time there. None after probation (3 months) and after 6 months (offered benefits).

They need to work on their maintenance and pest control, but they are too cheap to maintain equipment properly, or provide equipment to streamline certain processes. As for pest control, there were mice and rats in the bakery for months and they didn't do anything actively about it until the health authority showed up and told them to do it. You can look it up publicly on the health authority website for Langley city.

The management part of this company is absolutely silly. They seem to think they're a fortune500 megacompany and they bog everything down with unnecessary bureaucracy, policies and such. Let's get real here: it is a medium format bakery. They only hurt themselves by making everything more convoluted and it adds a huge amount of unnecessary
  plus... overhead to an otherwise straightforward trade and working environment. They purposely make it hard for themselves, to simply say - and a lot of their decisions are dubious at best, mainly because they are devoid of common sense.

Morale here is the lowest I've ever seen in any workplace. People walk on eggshells when the owners are around because they (the owners) are emotionally volatile, threating and/or imposing. Everybody there might as well be a zombie with how unmotivated and underappreciated they are. You are not given any incentive to go above and beyond and try to help or just be good. If you do, you will get trampled on by management. Not only that, but if you do not finish your work ahead of schedule, no matter how much it is, you will get seriously reprimanded by management. People exist there to work as fast as they can and get out, even if it kills them by the end of the day.

Nobody on the floor truly cares about the product being made and it shows in both them and the product itself, and it's sad because after all that, it is still really tasty product. And that lack of care, and the fear or concerns the employees have never gets addressed in a professional manner.

If they have a criticism of your work or the way you do something, they won't tell you or help you fix it right away. They will let it happen for weeks and it builds a false impression that you are doing fine - but in reality, you're not. They just haven't come around to venting it all to you in one day yet. It is hard for people to learn and be good workers in places that do this because it is a bad example of a psychological learning process and it creates angst against the work and discourages learning overall.

They also keep (or kept) trying to hire an operations manager... But with the reputation that follows this company in what its working environment is like, no wonder they have difficulty attracting people who actually know how to manage a business and bakers that know their trade.

Because this business has issues finding good workers/bakers due to their reputation, cross training of staff is also minimal at best. That is also compounded by the fact that nobody is motivated there to ask to learn other stations/departments. People there, like zombies, exist to do one thing... Then go home.

If you want to get your foot in the door of the working world, this place is a great first job. That is it. Get the work experience you need and move up to better businesses. If you decide you like baking... Learn what you can here, then quickly move on to other bakeries where you will be appreciated more. Other real bakeries will serve you better.

Because of all these issues, and more, this company will be doomed to a constant revolving door of staff getting hired and quitting/being fired. They live in some type of fantasy land where they think they can't do any evil and they're always right. The only way to solve these issues, especially the averaging agreement issue, would be to take them to Court and have a watchdog over them... Or they could get bought out by someone who knows how to run an ethical and smart business and tell the management/owners to buzz off and never come back.

Their reputation is seriously damaged, as mentioned... And they don't want to solve it.

Pretty sad.
  moins
Points positifs
Competitive wages for entry level jobs/labour, excellent product and ingredients
Points négatifs
Everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 24NonSignaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Would not work again
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC28 janvier 2019
I would not recommend this company to anyone. In fact, I would adamantly avoid it. There’s no work life balance, the owners are difficult to deal with (too emotionally volatile, biased, play favourites) there’s no work culture, it’s super filthy in the production area all of the time. It’s not an pleasant environment to work in - not one part of it. Don’t be fooled.
Points négatifs
Long hours, no culture or friendly faces, monotonous work, not compensated well enough
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 25Non 1Signaler
2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
good people to your face,but behind your back is another story
Cleaner/dishwasher (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC3 décembre 2018
over work their employees, they dont care about your health and safety as long as the job gets done the way they want it, they dont care what happens to you. if you have any health problems, specially long term they will find any way to get rid of you, they will even lie to your face making you think their doing good but really their doing it just to get rid of you faster. they dont care about your well being as long as you do what your told.
Points positifs
employee discount on bread
Points négatifs
everything else
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 17Non 3Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Its your lifestyle
Pastry Chef (Employé actuel) –  Granville, YT20 octobre 2018
I wanna say if you are a pastry chef you know that this is not an easy job! as someone who experienced working in this fields, i know that if you are in a good and famous place with a high volume of customers everyday you wont have fixed days off and you have to face lots of deadlines and fast days cause as much as you have the experience there will still be lots of days that you can not anticipate some factors in them in the pastry industry.
At the same time, the owners of these companies have to face a huge amount of stress and responsibilities and checking hard on staff doesn't mean that they dont value their staff, it means they need you to be as responsible as them self's. which is all you want from your staff.
as someone who is here, whenever i needed a day off i sent an email and i always got it.
I like they way of training at the beginning and i feel all the staff are lovely and polite and the whole character of being a Family Oriented style of this company is something that i really enjoy which gives me the time to hang out with the people that i worked with out of the job and in fun times too.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 7Non 27Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Beware -
Office Administration, Order Desk (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC24 septembre 2018
Owners simply do not give a bleep about their employees. Employees are overworked and abused, walking on eggshells for 8 to 10 hours a day so as to not bring attention to themselves, since otherwise they'll get screamed at and loudly fired by the undiagnosed and unmedicated husband-and-wife owners. Just don't. It's not worth it.
Points positifs
free samples, lovely coworkers
Points négatifs
literally everything else.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 31Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

Really? It is not a reasonable belief to build an organic artisan bakery without a great team to help make it happen. We pay for our staff team additional education, for health and first aid certificates, we facilitate registration for the Red Seal Training programmes and provide for time off to attend classes.
Your personal attacks on individuals will not be commented on.
Clearly it did not work out for you. Let's wish you the best of success at your next position.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
You get pushed to the limits
Baker (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC21 août 2018
This is not a good place to work. You are not allowed to take any brakes even though you are working full time hours. Training is horrible. You get pushed to the limits, never a time to take water, heavy lifting and unreasonable demands. They don't even have a bun divider to cut buns. Expectations are too high for very little pay. Terrible hours. I don't recommend you to work in this place.
Points positifs
Good product
Points négatifs
You are selling your soul to the upper management for little money.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 3Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

As a baker, I appreciate your comments about the great quality of the product. As to your comments about breaks, we have breaks and our staff team is expected to take them. There are times that the breaks are moved to deal with the dough. As a baker, you would know that time and temperature control the flow of our artisan products. It is not a machine operator but rather an artisan baker that has success in our bakery.

As to selling your soul, I can assure you that we have no trade in souls and if you have lost your soul, maybe some searching will help you find it.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Worst place I’ve ever worked.
Farmers market /delivery driver (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC8 août 2018
Great products, I absolutely love the bread. I just cannot support such a horrible company. The owners wonder why they have so much turnover. But they fire people for work safe claims, for taking vacation and pretty much anyone who has a life outside working. They lie and there’s actually a whole website of people explaining their horrible stories of them working at the Bread Affair.
Points positifs
They have a great product.
Points négatifs
Horrible management, crazy amount of turnover.
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 43Non 3Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible Management...revolving door of employees
Administrative Assistant (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC27 juillet 2018
I liked the job and the people I was working with, management was just not ideal. I not only did Administrative duties, I also helped them managed their vehicles as well.
Points positifs
Awesome Co-Workers
Points négatifs
Long Hours, Little Pay, Poor Management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

We did have an individual employed with A Bread Affair several years ago that "volunteered" to help with vehicle maintenance. And while it did not work out for that person, the contribution to vehicle maintenance was neither encouraged nor of use as the individual did not have the skill set to perform those tasks.
I am truly sorry things did not work out for you, but I am sure that you will achieve success in the future. Its been a couple of years now, but we still wish you the best of success.

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Great product, poor company
Pastry Chef (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC9 juillet 2018
Warning for anybody thinking about applying:
Staff is very over worked and underappreciated. Overtime is not compensated- averaging agreement is in place but it is not followed properly. Hours are regularly missing (shorted) from pay cheques.
The owners/ managers are very hostile towards workers, especially if you dare ask for time off.

The only good things I can say is that they make the best bread in Vancouver, and they do pay a competitive wage.
Points positifs
Competitive wage, good discount, high quality products
Points négatifs
Mismanaged, long hours, unfair compensation
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 43Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

I am very concerned that you have stated overtime is not compensated. A Bread Affair literally pays thousands of hours of overtime each year. You would have signed an averaging agreement when you started and it was explained in detail the basis of the agreement.
Hours are logged on a time clock. If you believed hours were missing, you had access to the time clock records to see for yourself.
Owners are not involved in requesting time off. As you would have been aware, the Request for time off policy was included in your starting package. You need to send in a request for time off and it would have been dealt with by your Team Leader. Neither management or owners are team leaders. We have had, on many occasions individuals requesting time off outside of the process and they are consistently advised to follow procedure. This is likely the cause of your concern, as A Bread Affair grants over 90% of time off requests we receive!
I hope your next position works better for your lifestyle.

5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Organic Bakery heaven
baker (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, bc16 juin 2018
Im a huge fan of organic and non-gmo so this bakeshop was perfect fpr me. I ride my bike so no issues parking on GI. I usually worked the morning shift so i would enjoy getting off early. Good benefits, training, nice managers and staff. overall a very positive work experience.
Points positifs
amazing bread, staff
Points négatifs
none
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 5Non 37Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Give this place a chance
Customer Service Representative (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC15 juin 2018
If you like the smell of baked goods all day long then you will love this place! Right from the start they provide training and ongoing support, managers and staff are super friendly. Lots of room to move up if you work for it, good salary, and fun location (granville island!).
Points positifs
discounts, hours, benefits
Points négatifs
not a morning person so morning shift was hard for me
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 34Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Do the work, get rewarded
Cashier/Customer Service (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC13 juin 2018
First, I really don't understand some of the bad reviews on here. Obviously if you are lazy, don't show up on time or don't get your work done things wont go so well for you. That's a JOB people!

I had a great experience working for a bread affair, I absolutely love their high quality products and it's a product I feel good about selling. Yes the atmosphere is fast paced (you're working on granville island afterall) and your co-workers are fast paced but if you're not used to that kind of an environment then don't apply in the first place. During my time I thought all the customers were awesome and the staff were even better. I enjoy fast paced day and I feel more productive that way. The managers are great and provide all the training you need. I loved the employee discount because honestly the breads and baked goods are to die for. Hope this helps.
Points positifs
discounts, room to advancement, training, nice staff
Points négatifs
can be hard to find parking some days
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 3Non 24Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

Thank you for your kind words. With your attitude, success in the future is virtually certain.

2,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Not a place worth staying at
bakery clerk (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC19 mai 2018
The bakery has very, very high turnover and it's easy to see why once you work there. The management makes it clear they don't value their employees and are generally unpleasant to interact with. Getting time off is a nightmare. They try to squeeze as much work out of every staff member as possible so breaks are short and you're always on a time crunch. The whole interview process and training isn't very professional. All of the above contribute to a work culture that isn't the most positive/happy/supportive, saved only by some of my other cowokers that were there during my time. Also their clock in and clock out system definitely seems to round questionably, so independently logging hours is a must.

The positives were that the wages are decent, usually about average for any given position at a comparable bakery. The other bakery staff were great during my time, though many people will leave if you stay long enough. You can also feel good about the product, it is pretty high quality and the employee discount allows you to afford it. I got to work a few farmer's markets and those are pretty fun.
Points positifs
Employee Discount, Generally good product
Points négatifs
Management, Poor Culture
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 27Non 5Signaler
1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The owners were not professional
Office Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC12 mai 2018
This company is all about taking advantage. They have the highest turn over because their management is poorly run. They only need you if it will benefit them. If their employee asks for a time off because they have their own life too, you will immediately be let go. Do not even think about applying here. They run ads for the same position every month. What a joke.
Points positifs
None
Points négatifs
Poor management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 33Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

Thanks for the note. A Bread Affair is a growing organization and we are recruiting for additional staff. We work hard to find the right fit and our administration team has a responsibility to be accurate with the orders, formulas and distribution. We need to ensure individuals have the computer skills to work with our enterprise software.
As to time off, you would be aware of our request for time off policy and the process. It was part of your hire package. When our staff team request time off following that process, A Bread Affair grants it more than 90% of the time.

As an office Clerk in Langley, you would not have dealt with owners as part of your work at A Bread Affair. I do not understand how you would be able to make comments on their professionalism.

1,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Terrible management
Bakery Clerk (Ancien employé) –  Vancouver, BC21 mars 2018
They have high turn over, poor training and the work is generally underpaid. I get the feeling that management doesnt value their workers and would not recommend.
Points positifs
none
Points négatifs
bad management
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 39Non 4Signaler
Réponse officielle de A Bread Affair
2 octobre 2018

I am truly sorry you feel that way. With a minimum wage for any position in the bakery at $14./hour, and a $15.00 an hour minimum wage for our retail bakery clerks, perhaps working a retail position is not really something you want to do. Our wages are significantly above virtually every competitor.
I hope you will be able to find a better position for yourself.

4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Working at A Bread Affair
Production Worker (Ancien employé) –  Langley, BC21 mars 2017
Great atmosphere, fun co-workers, and always busy. Lots of room for advancement within the company and they will give you a chance to do so as you express interest.
Points positifs
Discounted bread
Points négatifs
short breaks
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 13Non 35Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Fun and friendly work
Production worker (Employé actuel) –  Langley, BC27 septembre 2016
A Bread Affair is an environment with fresh happy faces and a good aroma to be around for your shift. There are many different aspects to the bakery so your night is never boring. If you like to move around and work with your hands this is a job for you. I love my job and don't mind getting a little dirty (if you bake at home you already know with baking comes flour and with flour comes mess) managers are easy to talk to and they allow your schedual to be flexible. Sometimes shifts go a little past 12 pm on Langley location so living close or having a ride home will relieve stress about needing to find a ride home after work. I didn't know how to do any baking before this job and I have learnt a lot through it.
Points positifs
Stress free environment and not boring, have whole day to enjoy before work
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 14Non 47Signaler
5,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
Creative, fun, and inspirational work place!
Digital Marketing Specialist (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC26 août 2016
I really enjoy working for A Bread Affair! The co-workers are very easy to get along with and the owners are easy going and fair. I don't know why there are so many bad reviews about these guys but I have been working for ABA for almost 2 years now and I just don't get it. The Granville Island location is beautiful and there is always so many fun things going on. It is never a dull day here! The customers are pleasant and it is always busy which makes the time fly by! I am new to the city so working for ABA has helped me make so many new friends. The breads and pastries are delicious and I love that anything we don't sell gets donated. There is true heart behind this bakery and I want others to know that as well.
Points positifs
Great location, meet lots of new people, good hours
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 12Non 45Signaler
4,0
Equilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
Salaire / avantages sociaux
Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
Direction
Culture d'entreprise
The Company That You'll Be Happy To Be A Part Of
Baker (Employé actuel) –  Vancouver, BC25 août 2016
Browsing through the current Indeed reviews for this company, I can only see that information here is being very, very misconstrued. Not only does A Bread Affair provide genuinely delicious baked goods, but also offers a fantastic work environment full of smiling faces and good people.

First things first, one of the most difficult aspects of this job for me revolves around the early starts... as I am not a morning person, having to deal with shifts that begin in the wee hours of the day is something that takes a lot of getting used to. For anyone looking to get into the baking industry though, this is simply a fact of life. The mornings are honestly made a whole lot better by the friendly and encouraging staff. Everyone who works here is just incredibly upbeat and down to Earth, making sure the job gets done but having an absolute blast while doing it. Many of the customers that come in start to become regulars, something that occurs as a result of the loving workers as well as the fantastic food offerings.

In terms of pay, the hourly wage is quite respectable. For someone new to the industry I was not expecting a large sum of money, but can definitely see there being room for growth as the business continues to expand. If you are someone with previous baking experience there could certainly be a bright future for you here.

Another fantastic aspect of working (or simply stopping by for a bite) here revolves around the location. Granville Island is truly a beautiful place, and being able to roam around here is a phenomenal part of the job. On my days off I am finding
  plus... myself stopping by the shop more and more frequently, greeting my co-workers, eating some of my favourite foccacia, and enjoying the splendours that downtown Vancouver has to offer. The workspace itself is also very nice as the kitchen is clean and well maintained, with state of the art equipment. We also regularly get to participate in a farmer's market, which is a great change of scenery and pace. This post is intended to iterate the best parts of the job, and not serve as an advertisement of any kind, but I must say that it is gratifying to see the faces of strangers light up upon trying our products.

If you're looking for a fun, fast paced place to work, definitely come check us out!
  moins
Points positifs
Friendly Staff, Delicious Food
Points négatifs
Early Starts
Avez-vous trouvé cet avis utile?Oui 15Non 39Signaler
Profil attribué

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur le travail dans cette entreprise?

Posez une question au sujet du travail ou de l'entretien passé chez A Bread Affair. Notre communauté est prête à vous répondre.

Poser une question

Note globale

2,8
D'après 23 avis
57
43
30
24
19

Notes par catégorie

2,5Équilibre vie professionnelle / personnelle
2,7Salaire / avantages sociaux
2,6Sécurité de l'emploi / évolution de carrière
2,5Direction
2,7Culture d'entreprise

Avis selon le lieu